Polish pilot: I've been flying Soviet technology all my life, and it has saved my life more than once


Today, Poland is a state unfriendly to Russia, but during the times of the USSR and the Warsaw Pact everything was different. Marian Novotnik, a pilot with great experience, told about how it was then to work at LOT (Polskie Linie Lotnicze) and represent the Polish People’s Republic to the Western world.


The Pole recalls Soviet cars with great warmth.

In those days, they flew to Moscow policy, to Western Europe - businessmen, across the Atlantic - artists, ordinary Poles to rest - to the Balkans. The LOT company used Soviet-made IL-62 and IL-62M aircraft. The first flights across the Atlantic were impossible without refueling, so the Soviet engineers made the IL-62M model more economical and put on the liner an additional fuel tank in the tail with a capacity of 2,5 tons.

The most difficult were flights across the Atlantic Ocean. For navigation, the Omega system was then used, the navigator was the second most important person on board after the captain. The crew consisted of five people, in a modern Dreamliner, thanks to the automation, two pilots are enough.


Novotnik says that it was very difficult to become a pilot then. While still at school, he became interested in aircraft modeling. In 1953, Marian entered a flying school in Deblin. The selection was very tough: out of 1500 candidates, only 100 accepted, and only 66 could finish. Classes lasted 10 hours a day, very good physical shape was required. Upon completion, the pilot received the right to control the IL-10 attack aircraft. After that, he retrained on the IL-28 jet bombers that only appeared in the air forces.

In 1967, Novotnik went to work in the Polish airline LOT, where he flew the next 30 years, visiting everywhere from Alaska to Australia. Regarding the quality of the Soviet equipment Polish pilot responds very complementary:

I must admit that all my aviation life, which lasted almost half a century, I flew Soviet-made cars, having been in the air for 16 thousand hours. These reliable and robust aircraft have saved my life more than once, forgiving mistakes.
Photos Used: Steve Swayne / Flickr
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

1 comment
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. GRF Offline
    GRF 8 May 2020 05: 30
    +4
    • 4
    • 0
    Previously, 5 people were employed, now 2. And the remaining three, you see, have nothing to do with Soviet huts ...
    I have great hope, your comrades are Polish comrades and (many of you have not lost your memory and conscience) pensioners ...

Польский пилот: Я всю жизнь летал на советской технике, и она не раз спасала мою жизнь


Сегодня Польша является недружественным по отношению к России государством, но во времена СССР и Варшавского договора все было иначе. О том, каково было работать тогда в компании LOT (Polskie Linie Lotnicze) и представлять западному миру Польскую Народную Республику, рассказал порталу Onet Мариан Новотник, пилот с огромным стажем.


Поляк с большой душевной теплотой вспоминает советские машины.

В Москву в те времена летали политики, в Западную Европу – бизнесмены, через Атлантику – художники, простые поляки на отдых – на Балканы. Компания LOT использовала самолеты советского производства Ил-62 и Ил-62М. Первые полеты через Атлантику были невозможны без дозаправки, поэтому модель Ил-62М советские инженеры сделали более экономичной и поставили на лайнер дополнительный топливный бак в хвосте емкостью 2,5 тонны.

Самыми сложными были полеты через Атлантический океан. Для навигации тогда использовалась система Omega, навигатор был вторым по важности человеком на борту после капитана. Экипаж самолета состоял из пяти человек, в современном Dreamliner благодаря автоматике достаточно двух пилотов.


Новотник рассказывает, что стать пилотом тогда было очень сложно. Еще в школе он увлекся авиамоделированием. В 1953 году Мариан поступил в авиашколу в Демблине. Отбор был очень жестким: из 1500 кандидатов приняли всего 100, а закончить смогли только 66. Занятия длились по 10 часов в день, требовалась очень хорошая физическая форма. По окончании пилот получил право управления штурмовиком Ил-10. После он переучился на только появившиеся в воздушных войсках реактивных бомбардировщиках Ил-28.

В 1967 году Новотник перешел на работу в польскую авиакомпанию LOT, где и пролетал последующие 30 лет, побывав везде, от Аляски до Австралии. По поводу качества советской техники польский пилот отзывается весьма комплементарно:

Я должен признать, что всю свою авиационную жизнь, длившуюся почти полвека, я летал на машинах советского производства, пробыв в воздухе 16 тысяч часов. Эти надежные и крепкие самолеты не раз спасали мне жизнь, прощая ошибки.
  • Использованы фотографии: Steve Swayne/Flickr
1 комментарий
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. GRF Онлайн GRF
    GRF 8 мая 2020 05:30
    +4
    Раньше было занято 5 человек, теперь 2. А оставшиеся трое, видать, от нечего делать хают советское...
    Большая у меня надежда, на ваши мемуары товарищи польские и (много ведь вас память и совесть не потерявших) пенсионеры...