Media: China is preparing a collapse of the US dollar


Beijing is ready to start selling American securities (government bonds), which will provoke a collapse of the US dollar. It is reported by the South China Morning Post, Hong Kong's oldest English-language newspaper.


The publication writes that China is the holder of $ 1,1 trillion of US government bonds and is now considering the possibility of reducing its investment in these securities. This happened after the intensification of the “verbal war” between Washington and Beijing over the coronavirus, which caused tension in bilateral relations.

According to analysts of the publication, the possible actions of Beijing can create serious problems in the US government bond market. Indeed, now Washington is actively increasing the issuance of these securities to finance programs to combat the COVID-19 pandemic and its consequences (economic crisis).

It is emphasized that such a risky and radical step is likely to damage the reputation of the United States and cast doubt on the ability of this country to pay its bills (debts) in the eyes of investors around the world. It is explained that such a measure in Beijing is seen as extreme, and China will try to put pressure on the United States in another way.

In turn, Deloitte China chief economist Xu Sitao told the publication that China and Russia are discussing the possibility of not using the US dollar, which Washington uses as a weapon on the world market.

I must add that recently in Washington they decided scare Beijing is a possible “punishment for coronavirus,” in the form of refusal to repay US debt. The Americans suspected the Chinese that they misinformed the international community and were hiding information about the coronavirus. From Beijing, it was then stated that China has taken an open and responsible position from the very beginning of the COVID-19 epidemic and does not hide information from the international community about this dangerous infection.
  • Photos used: https://pixabay.com/
Ad
The publication is looking for authors in the news and analytical departments. Requirements for applicants: literacy, responsibility, efficiency, inexhaustible creative energy, experience in copywriting or journalism, the ability to quickly analyze text and check facts, write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. The work is paid. Contact: [email protected]
17 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 9 May 2020 10: 43
    +2
    Yeah, how not to believe the Chinese.
    Russia has recently sold 100 billion bonds - has the dollar even fallen slightly?

    USD 73,40 while the exchange rate is still rising against the ruble.
  2. Oleg Rambover Offline Oleg Rambover
    Oleg Rambover (Oleg Rambover) 9 May 2020 12: 41
    -2
    If the Chinese want to commit economic suicide, then yes, they can bring down.
  3. Igor Pavlovich Offline Igor Pavlovich
    Igor Pavlovich (Igor Pavlovich) 9 May 2020 13: 05
    -5
    How masterfully words are selected in the article.
  4. GRF Offline GRF
    GRF 9 May 2020 13: 21
    +2
    It all depends on who will buy them and how.
    These American "treasures", exchanged for American dollars, are a bottomless sea. If there is a default on them, then the current American government will suffer (it will retire to a well-deserved retirement), the next, most likely, will declare as Poroshenko - for the debts of the previous ones is not responsible. And the holders of "treasures" do not see the dollar, having exchanged them for government papers, they will not see it, and therefore cannot bring it down in any way. Moreover, if these paper "treasures" are bought by the Japanese, Germans, Indians and others. The worst option - the redemption of the Fed's "treasures" (in fact, the exchange of one piece of paper for another, such as much more valuable) is unlikely to happen, because it is in this case that the dollar will collapse, i.e. there are not so many goods and services in the world that it would be possible to spend all the Chinese dollars (after all, China also needs to get rid of them) without raising prices, you mean, causing hyperinflation and the depreciation of the dollar. But even in this case, there is no catastrophe for America. They will carry out a denomination, where 1 lem of the current bucks will be equal to one new one and that's it. Another popular method is to freeze accounts, i.e. it is "legal" to rob. America will not sell its resources, production, real estate for its own money, well, not for this, it printed pieces of paper and exchanged them for resources, production, real estate of the aborigines, in order to return the tribute to the aborigines previously paid by them for American "treasures" ...
    America violates its obligations so much that its reputation will not suffer from this either, it is such an exceptional one.
    1. Orange big Offline Orange big
      Orange big (Max) 9 May 2020 13: 38
      +2
      It all depends on how adequately Americans behave. And then it seems that the roof they finally left.

      NEW YORK, May 7. / TASS /. The fate of the Soviet Union is destined for China in the event that it does not abandon its authoritarian regime in favor of Western policy. With such a warning on Thursday, US Secretary of State Michael Pompeo spoke in the author’s broadcast of Steve Gruber.

      https://tass.ru/mezhdunarodnaya-panorama/8421521
      1. GRF Offline GRF
        GRF 9 May 2020 13: 53
        +2
        America has already received a gesheft and is unlikely to want to get rid of it. They made a mistake with the Chinese, “you, priest, wouldn’t be chasing cheapness (labor. Power)”, but it’s not too late to catch up (China is failing on many trade issues). Further, they take out production facilities (machine tools, managers) to the maximum, and then they will shamelessly fine all buyers of Chinese, for violating American intellectual property, and it does not matter that it is no longer there.
        But China knows the fate of the USSR, since the Americans were deceived, they will probably be able to do it again.
        Whether the world will survive the new "Cuban crisis" - I don't know, two monkeys with grenades - this sadness can touch many ...
        1. Bulanov Offline Bulanov
          Bulanov (Vladimir) 9 May 2020 15: 19
          +3
          Well, the Americans will take out the machines, but will they pay their citizens, like the Chinese? Then Sanders will definitely come to the presidency! Is it possible that they will begin expanding their gulag in the States for cheap slave force for prisoners of blacks and Mexicans?
          If China does not find its traitors in the CCP, the US will not do anything with them. And in the USSR they would not have done it, but alas, during the collapse of the USSR - the word "Patriot" was a dirty word ...
          1. GRF Offline GRF
            GRF 9 May 2020 15: 56
            +2
            Machine tools are exported to Vietnam, Cambodia, Ukraine is bustling, offering itself ...
            America will, as before, provide intellectual services (so that there is a reason for sanctions), educate, amuse / entertain, elites offer real estate for overseas elites (for reins), produce weapons, and conduct financial and legal affairs around the world ... They they don’t want to change this, therefore they will raise the price tag even more for themselves, for their beloved ones, for the sake of prestige. Well, there is no cheap. And Trump will not do anything against the economy here, he is a businessman, but also a politician - therefore he says a lot.
            As for the traitors among the Chinese - yes, enough, depending on how to count and what to mean by that. The disagreement in the media that survived the views of Tiananmen was more likely to be held back than changed, and the whole of Taiwan and the Chinese were Chinese who think differently. And the local oligarchs who do business with the West, although they are silent now, can also say their own thing.
            But at the same time, the hope for China that it will not easily deflate, seeing their collective boycotts of Western and Japanese manufacturers, their philosophy and discipline remains ...
            As for the USSR, in my opinion, its problems, which caused it to collapse, remain, even though the state has decreased, but the "system" has changed, and they are calling themselves patriots more and more ...
    2. cmonman Offline cmonman
      cmonman (Garik Mokin) 9 May 2020 17: 46
      -1
      It all depends on who will buy them and how.

      It is already known who will buy back - the USA.

      However, according to some experts, China's dumping of even the entire US national debt will not lead to any collapse of the dollar, since the US Federal Reserve will buy it "to the last cent." What is $ 1,1 trillion. US government debt, which is owned by China, against the background of the fact that the Fed has bought $ 2,5 trillion in government bonds over the past month and a half. and continues to engage in such redemption. On the other hand, the dumping of the US national debt by China may lead to a chain reaction that cannot but affect the American economy.

      “China has threatened the United States with deliverance from American debt”

      https://topwar.ru/171025-kitaj-prigrozil-ssha-izbavleniem-ot-amerikanskih-cennyh-bumag.html
  5. stef13ch Offline stef13ch
    stef13ch (Yadykin) 9 May 2020 16: 14
    +2
    And I do not hesitate to ask: "Who, for example, will buy what the Chinese are going to sell" ..?
    1. cmonman Offline cmonman
      cmonman (Garik Mokin) 9 May 2020 17: 07
      -3
      Here is one observer's view of the world after coronavirus:

      Michael Clarke believes that the Asian bias in the world will not stop after the pandemic, but, most likely, its negative impact on the economies of these countries will be felt for a whole decade. the problems of the coronavirus, and in national reassessments of resilience and supply chains that are so heavily dependent on China, ”he said. It is too early to speculate on what the international system will be like after the pandemic. It can be argued that the sense of duty to the state and the solidarity shown in World War II became part of the post-war order of life. It would be great if something similar happened now, but this is hardly worth expecting.

      And if China throws off $ 1.1 trillion of securities, the United States will print $ 1.1 trillion and buy up its own securities. There will be slight inflation, but it will be possible to survive.
      1. isofat Offline isofat
        isofat (isofat) 9 May 2020 17: 17
        +1
        Quote: cmonman
        Here is one observer's view of the world after coronavirus

        Garikagain opinion. In this case, how can I evaluate the source of information? Or are you just publishing gossip?
        1. cmonman Offline cmonman
          cmonman (Garik Mokin) 9 May 2020 17: 34
          -3
          Fill in Google the first phrase of the quote Michael Clark thinks the Asian bias in the world and find the source / article. Your comment about the article does not interest me.
          Your ignorance of the possibility of the Internet in the search for the source complements my opinion about ....
          1. isofat Offline isofat
            isofat (isofat) 9 May 2020 17: 51
            +3
            smile Garik, do not be offended and leave your arrogance. Be friendlier to your readers, do not forget to specify a link.

            PS You are from a country that has proven itself on the bad side, whether it is true or not, it will depend on your behavior on the site.
      2. 123 Offline 123
        123 (123) 10 May 2020 00: 16
        +3
        And if China throws off $ 1.1 trillion of securities, the United States will print $ 1.1 trillion and buy up its own securities. There will be slight inflation, but it will be possible to survive.

        You are experiencing inflation easily, because it was thrown off on others and it was not reflected on the dollar exchange rate. If the dollar starts to fall in price, it is less interesting as a reserve currency and an international means of payment, an unstable rate leads to a decrease in demand for the dollar. And China is not introducing digital yuan next week. China's share in international trade (approximate figures) is 20%, trade for the yuan is about 2%, they will translate trade into yuan. This is approximately - 15% of trade for dollars. It becomes not the dominant means of payment, but only one of the currencies. The possibility of pressure on market participants is sharply reduced. If they cannot impose a dollar, demand for it is still declining. And so in a spiral. In the long run, this is a fiasco. yes
        And then the troops, they say, slowly began to withdraw from Saudi Arabia. America is not interested in their oil, in its bulk. If the "roof" leaves, they can start trading not for dollars, because the main buyer refuses oil, they will have to sell it to China, which is the yuan.
        In general, Gaddafi is a petty rascal compared to the Chinese, which is why the situation on the seas has worsened. All these "graters" off the Spartly Islands, American destroyers in the Barents Sea (trying to block the northern sea route). But breaking China like Libya is unlikely to be strong enough.
  6. Nikolay Malyugin (Nikolai Malyugin) 10 May 2020 06: 26
    +1
    By purchasing in large quantities the currency of a state, you either help the economy of that state, or you have a desire to collapse this currency. I see no other way.
  7. Here we are whining with all my heart!

СМИ: Китай готовит обвал американского доллара


Пекин готов начать продавать американские ценные бумаги (гособлигации), что спровоцирует обвал курса доллара США. Об этом сообщает South China Morning Post, старейшая англоязычная газета Гонконга.


Издание пишет, что Китай является держателем $1,1 трлн гособлигаций США и сейчас рассматривает возможность сокращения своих вложений в эти ценные бумаги. Это произошло после усиления «словесной войны» между Вашингтоном и Пекином по поводу коронавируса, что вызвало напряженность в двухсторонних отношениях.

Как уточняют аналитики издания, возможные действия Пекина могут создать серьезные проблемы на рынке гособлигаций США. Ведь сейчас Вашингтон активно наращивает выпуск этих ценных бумаг для финансирования программ по борьбе с пандемией COVID-19 и ее последствиями (экономическим кризисом).

Подчеркивается, что подобный рискованный и радикальный шаг вероятнее всего нанесет ущерб репутации США и поставит под сомнение способность этой страны платить по своим счетам (долгам) в глазах инвесторов всего мира. Поясняется, что подобная мера в Пекине рассматривается, как крайняя, и Китай постарается надавить на США другим способом.

В свою очередь, главный экономист Deloitte China Сюй Ситао рассказал изданию, что Китай и Россия обсуждают возможность отказа от использования доллара США, который применяется Вашингтоном на мировом рынке в качестве оружия.

Нужно добавить, что недавно в Вашингтоне решили припугнуть Пекин возможным «наказанием за коронавирус», в виде отказа от возвращения долгов США. Американцы заподозрили китайцев, что те дезинформируют международную общественность и скрывают информацию о коронавирусе. Из Пекина тогда заявили, что Китай с самого начала эпидемии COVID-19 занимает открытую и ответственную позицию и не скрывает информацию от международной общественности об этой опасной инфекции.
  • Использованы фотографии: https://pixabay.com/
17 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 9 мая 2020 10:43
    +2
    Ага, как не верить китайцам.
    Вот Россия 100 миллиардов облигаций продала недавно - доллар хоть чуть упал?

    USD 73,40 пока курс по-прежнему выросший к рублю.
  2. Oleg Rambover Онлайн Oleg Rambover
    Oleg Rambover (Oleg Rambover) 9 мая 2020 12:41
    -2
    Если китайцы хотят совершить экономическое самоубийство, тогда да, могут обрушить.
  3. Игорь Павлович (Игорь Павлович) 9 мая 2020 13:05
    -5
    Как виртуозно в статье подбираются слова.
  4. GRF Офлайн GRF
    GRF 9 мая 2020 13:21
    +2
    Все зависит от того, кто и как будет их выкупать.
    Этих американских "сокровищ", обменянных на американские баксы, бездонное море. Если по ним произойдет дефолт, то пострадает действующее американское правительство (в отставку уйдет на заслуженную пенсию), следующее, скорее всего, заявит как Порошенко - за долги предыдущих не в ответе. А бакс держатели "сокровищ" как не видят, обменяв их на бумажки правительства, так и не увидят, а следовательно, никак его обрушить не смогут. Тем более, если эти бумажные "сокровища" перекупят японцы, германцы, индейцы и прочие. Самый худший вариант - выкуп "сокровищ" ФРС (по сути, обмен одних бумажек на других, типа, гораздо более ценных) вряд ли произойдет, потому что именно в этом случае и произойдет обвал доллара, т.е. в мире нет столько товаров и услуг, чтобы можно было, потратив все китайские доллары (ведь от них Китаю тоже нужно избавиться), не взвинтив цены, тобишь, вызвав гиперинфляцию и обесценение доллара. Но и в этом случае никакой катастрофы для Америки нет. Проведут деноминацию, где 1 лям текущих баксов будет равен одному новому и все. Другой популярный способ - арестовать счета, т.е. "законно" ограбить. Продавать свои ресурсы, производства, недвижимость Америка за свои же деньги не будет, ну не для этого она печатала бумажки и обменивала их на ресурсы, производства, недвижимость аборигенов, чтоб вернуть аборигенам ранее отданную ими дань за американские "сокровища"...
    Америка столько нарушает свои обязательства, что ее репутация и от этого тоже не пострадает, вот такая она исключительная.
    1. Orange Big Офлайн Orange Big
      Orange Big (Макс) 9 мая 2020 13:38
      +2
      Все зависит от того, насколько адекватно будут себя вести американцы. А то создается впечатление, что крыша у них окончательно уехала.

      НЬЮ-ЙОРК, 7 мая. /ТАСС/. Судьба Советского Союза уготована Китаю в том случае, если он не откажется от своего авторитарного режима в пользу политики в русле Запада. С таким предупреждением выступил в четверг госсекретарь США Майкл Помпео в авторской радиопередаче Стива Грубера.

      https://tass.ru/mezhdunarodnaya-panorama/8421521
      1. GRF Офлайн GRF
        GRF 9 мая 2020 13:53
        +2
        Америка уже получила гешефт и вряд ли от него пожелает избавиться. С китайцами ошиблись, "не гонялся бы ты, поп, за дешевизной (раб. силы)", но еще не совсем поздно спохватились (прогинается же Китай по многим торговым вопросам). Далее по максимуму вывозят производства (станки, менеджеров), ну а далее будут безбожно штрафовать всех покупателей китайского, за нарушение американской интеллектуальной собственности, и не важно, что ее там уже и нет.
        Но Китай знает судьбу СССР, раз американцев обманули, то, наверно, смогут и еще раз.
        Переживет ли мир новый "кубинский кризис" - не знаю, две обезьяны с гранатами - эта печалька может многих коснуться...
        1. Буланов Офлайн Буланов
          Буланов (Владимир) 9 мая 2020 15:19
          +3
          Ну вывезут американцы станки, а платить своим гражданам, как китайцам, будут? Тогда точно в президенты придет Сандерс! Разве что расширять свой ГУЛАГ в Штатах начнут, за дешевую раб.силу заключенных негров и мексиканцев?
          Если у Китая своих предателей в КПК не найдется, то ничего с ними США не сделают. И в СССР бы не сделали, но увы, при развале СССР - слово "Патриот" было ругательным...
          1. GRF Офлайн GRF
            GRF 9 мая 2020 15:56
            +2
            Станки во Вьетнам вывозят, Камбоджу, Украина суетится, себя предлагая...
            Америка будет, как и прежде, оказывать интеллектуальные услуги (чтоб был повод для санкций), обучать, веселить/развлекать, элит недвижимость для заморских элит предлагать (для узды), производить оружие, да вести финансовые и юридические дела всего мира... Они не хотят это менять, поэтому еще сильнее поднимут ценник на себя, любимых, престижа ради. Хорошо ж дешево не бывает. И Трамп здесь ничего против экономики не сделает, он же бизнесмен, но и политик - поэтому много что говорит.
            По поводу предателей среди китайцев - да, хватает, смотря как считать и что под этим подразумевать. Разноголосица в СМИ, пережившие Тяньаньмэнь взгляды, скорее, притаили чем изменили, да целый Тайвань с Гонконгом китайцев, которые думают по-другому. А местные олигархи, которые ведут бизнес с Западом, хоть сейчас и молчат, но сказать свое тоже могут.
            Но при этом надежда на Китай, что он легко не сдуется, видя их коллективные бойкоты западных да японских производителей, их философию да дисциплину остаётся...
            Что касаемо СССР, то на мой взгляд, его проблемы, из-за чего он развалился, остались, хоть государство уменьшилось, да "строй" сменился, да патриотами себя все больше величают...
    2. cmonman Офлайн cmonman
      cmonman (Гарик Мокин) 9 мая 2020 17:46
      -1
      Все зависит от от того, кто и как будет их выкупать.

      Уже известно, кто выкупит - США.

      Однако, по мнению некоторых экспертов, сброс Китаем даже всего американского госдолга ни к какому краху доллара не приведет, поскольку Федеральная резервная система США скупит его "до последнего цента". Что такое $1,1 трлн. госдолга США, которым владеет Китай, на фоне того, что ФРС за последние полтора месяца скупила гособлигаций на $2,5 трлн. и продолжает заниматься таким выкупом. С другой же стороны, сброс госдолга США Китаем может привести к цепной реакции, что не сможет не отразиться на американской экономике.

      “Китай пригрозил США избавлением от американского долга”

      https://topwar.ru/171025-kitaj-prigrozil-ssha-izbavleniem-ot-amerikanskih-cennyh-bumag.html
  5. stef13ch Офлайн stef13ch
    stef13ch (Ядыкин) 9 мая 2020 16:14
    +2
    А я не постесняюсь спросить: "А кто, к примеру, будет покупать то, что китайцы собрались продавать"..?
    1. cmonman Офлайн cmonman
      cmonman (Гарик Мокин) 9 мая 2020 17:07
      -3
      Вот мнение одного обозревателя о мире после коронавируса:

      Майкл Кларк считает, что азиатский уклон в мире после пандемии не прекратится, но, скорее всего, ее негативное воздействие на экономику этих стран будет ощущаться целое десятилетие."Китай в долгосрочной перспективе проиграет от этого кризиса, как в вопросе политических реакций на подход к решению проблемы коронавируса, так и в национальных переоценках устойчивости и цепочек поставок, которые так сильно зависят от Китая", - сказал он. Сейчас слишком рано делать предположения, какой будет международная система после пандемии. Можно утверждать, что чувство долга перед государством и солидарность, проявленные во Второй мировой войне, стали частью послевоенного устройства жизни. Было бы замечательно, если бы что-то подобное случилось и сейчас, но вряд ли стоит этого ожидать.

      А если Китай скинет $1.1трлн ценных бумаг, то США напечатает $1.1трлн и скупит свои же бумаги. Появится легкая инфляция, но её можно будет пережить.
      1. isofat Онлайн isofat
        isofat (isofat) 9 мая 2020 17:17
        +1
        Цитата: cmonman
        Вот мнение одного обозревателя о мире после коронавируса

        Гарик, опять мнение. В данном случае, как я могу оценить источник информации? Или вы просто сплетни публикуете?
        1. cmonman Офлайн cmonman
          cmonman (Гарик Мокин) 9 мая 2020 17:34
          -3
          Забейте в гугл первую фразу цитаты Майкл Кларк считает, что азиатский уклон в мире и найдёте источник/статью. Ваш коммент о статье меня не интересует.
          Ваше незнание возможности интернета в поиске первоисточника дополняет моё мнение о ....
          1. isofat Онлайн isofat
            isofat (isofat) 9 мая 2020 17:51
            +3
            smile Гарик, не обижайтесь и оставьте своё высокомерие. Будьте дружелюбнее к своим читателям, не забывайте указывать ссылку.

            P.S. Вы из страны, зарекомендовавшей себе с плохой стороны, правда это или нет, будет зависеть и от вашего поведения на сайте.
      2. 123 Офлайн 123
        123 (123) 10 мая 2020 00:16
        +3
        А если Китай скинет $1.1трлн ценных бумаг, то США напечатает $1.1трлн и скупит свои же бумаги. Появится легкая инфляция, но её можно будет пережить.

        Инфляция у вас переживается легко, потому что ее скидывали на других и на курсе доллара она не отражалась. Если доллар начнет дешеветь, он менее интересен, как резервная валюта и международное платежное средство, неустойчивый курс ведет к снижению спроса на доллар. А Китай не следующей неделе вводит цифровой юань. Доля Китая в международной торговле (цифры приблизительные) 20%, торговля за юани около 2%, они будут переводить торговлю в юани. Это примерно - 15% торговли за доллары. Он становится не доминирующим платежным средством, а лишь одной из валют. Возможность давления на участников рынка резко снижается. Если не могут навязать доллар, спрос на него еще снижается. И так по спирали. В перспективе это фиаско. yes
        А тут еще войска, говорят, потихоньку начали выводить из Саудовской Аравии. Америка не заинтересована в их нефти, своей навалом. Если уходит "крыша", они могут начать торговать не за доллары, ведь основной покупатель отказывается от нефти, придется продавать ее Китаю, а это юань.
        В общем, Каддафи по сравнению с китайцами мелкий шалунишка, именно поэтому обострилась ситуация на морях. Все эти "терки" у островов Спартли, американские эсминцы в Баренцевом море (примеряются как бы северный морской путь перекрыть). Но вот порвать Китай как Ливию вряд ли силенок хватит.
  6. Николай Малюгин (Николай Малюгин) 10 мая 2020 06:26
    +1
    Приобретая в больших количествах валюту какого-нибудь государства, вы либо помогаете экономике этого государства, либо есть желание обвалить эту валюту. Другого пути не вижу.