Military Watch spoke about the special squadron "Aggressors" as part of the USSR Air Force


To train Soviet pilots to fight American F-15 fighters, a special squadron on the MiG-29 was created as part of the USSR Air Force, which was located at the 1521st air base. About this writes the American edition of Military Watch.


In 1976, the US Air Force entered service with all-weather fourth-generation fighter F-15 Eagle ("Eagle"), designed to gain superiority in the air. They proved their effectiveness in 1982, when the Israeli Air Force neutralized the Syrian MiG-23 and MiG-21 fighters. Soviet aircraft were much lighter than the American F-15s and did not have comparable air-to-air missiles, which gave Israel an advantage. In terms of combat capabilities, the F-15 remained unsurpassed among fighters of the Air Forces of the West until 2005, until the F-22 Raptor entered service.

In response to the threat posed by the F-15, the USSR began developing a new generation of heavy fighters. In the first half of the 80s, three fighter jets — the Su-27, MiG-31, and MiG-25PD (the upgraded MiG-25) —were immediately armed with the USSR. They had a number of advantages over the F-15.

Despite the fact that the USSR already possessed a class of specialized heavy jet aircraft capable of handling the F-15, Moscow decided to take additional precautions to protect its fleet. The main threats came from 700 F-15 US Air Force and 200 F-15 Japan Air Force deployed near the Russian Far East. So there was a squadron of Soviet "aggressors", where military pilots flew on the fourth-generation fighter MiG-29, painted under American planes, to simulate the F-15 in a training battle. This allowed other units to gain experience with the F-15 and to develop suitable tactics.

This very accurately reflected what the US Air Force itself was doing at that time, using Soviet aircraft, such as the MiG-23 and MiG-21, purchased from states such as Egypt and Indonesia, for similar training for pilots. And when the parties did not have the opportunity to get the aircraft of a potential enemy, they used planes with similar capabilities. The MiG-29 was much more maneuverable than the F-15, it climbed faster, but flew a little slower and lower. That is, the MiG-29 was suitable for simulating the F-15.

The training of the "aggressors" was carried out at the 1521st air base, where pilots usually flew two sorties per day against their "enemy". The drawings on the fighters made it possible to visually distinguish the "aggressor", because often the training was conducted on the MiG-29 from both sides.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

2 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. 123 Offline
    123 (123) 9 May 2020 13: 09
    +3
    • 3
    • 0
    The drawings on the fighters made it possible to visually distinguish the "aggressor", because often the training was conducted on the MiG-29 from both sides.

    I don’t know how it was with the "aggressors", I saw an air regiment withdrawn from Germany, the Mig-29s looked quite usual there, but the Mig-23s were painted full-length, there were shark jaws and eagles, and why not It was. The guys were already keen on airbrushing. laughing
    1. isofat Offline
      isofat (Sergei) 9 May 2020 14: 59
      +5
      • 5
      • 0

      Happy Great Victory Day!

Military Watch рассказало о специальной эскадрильи «Агрессоры» в составе ВВС СССР


Для обучения советских летчиков бороться с американскими истребителями F-15 в составе ВВС СССР была создана специальная эскадрилья на МиГ-29, размещавшаяся на 1521-й авиабазе. Об этом пишет американское издание Military Watch.


В 1976 году в ВВС США поступили на вооружение всепогодные истребители четвертого поколения F-15 Eagle («Орел»), предназначенные для завоевания превосходства в воздухе. Они доказали свою эффективность в 1982 году, когда ВВС Израиля нейтрализовали сирийские истребители МиГ-23 и МиГ-21. Советские самолеты были намного легче американских F-15 и не имели сопоставимых ракет класса «воздух-воздух», что дало Израилю преимущество. По своим боевым возможностям F-15 оставался непревзойденным среди истребителей ВВС стран Запада до 2005 года, пока на вооружение не поступили F-22 Raptor.

В ответ на угрозу, исходящую от F-15, СССР начал разработку нового поколения тяжелых истребителей. В первой половине 80-х годов на вооружение СССР поступили сразу три истребителя – Су-27, МиГ-31 и МиГ-25ПД (модернизированный МиГ-25). Они обладали рядом преимуществ перед F-15.

Несмотря на то, что СССР уже обладал целым классом специализированных тяжелых реактивных самолетов, способных справиться с F-15, в Москве решили принять дополнительные меры предосторожности для защиты своего флота. Основные угрозы исходили от 700 F-15 ВВС США и 200 F-15 ВВС Японии, развернутых вблизи российского Дальнего Востока. Так появилась эскадрилья советских «агрессоров», где военные летчики летали на истребителях четвертого поколения МиГ-29, раскрашенных под американские самолеты, чтобы имитировать F-15 в учебном бою. Это позволило другим подразделениям получить опыт борьбы с F-15 и разработать подходящую тактику.

Это очень точно отражало то, что делали сами ВВС США в то время, используя советские самолеты, такие как МиГ-23 и МиГ-21, приобретенные у таких государств, как Египет и Индонезия, для аналогичного обучения летчиков. А когда у сторон не было возможности получить самолеты вероятного противника, они использовали самолеты со схожими возможностями. МиГ-29 был гораздо маневренней F-15, он быстрее набирал высоту, но летал немного медленнее и ниже. То есть МиГ-29 подходил для имитации F-15.

Подготовка «агрессоров» проводилась на 1521-й авиационной базе, где летчики обычно совершали два боевых вылета в день против своего «противника». Рисунки на истребителях позволяли визуально отличить «агрессора», ведь часто тренировки проводились на МиГ-29 с обеих сторон.
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

2 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. 123 Офлайн
    123 (123) 9 мая 2020 13:09
    +3
    • 3
    • 0
    Рисунки на истребителях позволяли визуально отличить «агрессора», ведь часто тренировки проводились на МиГ-29 с обеих сторон.

    Не знаю, как там с "агрессорами", видел авиаполк, выведенный из Германии, Миг-29 там выглядели вполне обычно, а вот Миг-23 - те была разрисованы в полный рост, там и челюсти акул, и орлы, и чего только не было. Парни уже тогда аэрографией увлекались. laughing
    1. isofat Офлайн
      isofat (Сергей) 9 мая 2020 14:59
      +5
      • 5
      • 0

      С Днём Великой Победы!