How Putin Forever Changed Russia


May 7, 2020 marks exactly 20 years since Vladimir Putin became president of Russia. Over the past two decades, Putin has strengthened his power and strengthened Russia's role on the world stage. To understand how Putin has forever changed Russia and its place in the world over the past years, and what may happen in the future, the American journal Foreign Policy decided to find out from leading scientists, journalists and experts.


Susan B. Glasser, an American journalist, said that if she had been asked 20 years ago whether Putin would become the “longest-living” Russian leader since Joseph Stalin, she would have answered with incredulous silence or laughed out loud.

It sometimes seems to me that Russians look at Vladimir Putin in the same way that most of the world looks at the United States. That is, they are grateful for what he did for them in an increasingly distant past; they are ambivalent, and in some cases deeply alarmed, when it comes to relatively recent actions; and they are anxious about the future. On the other hand, they see no alternative to him.

- says in turn the journalist Olga Oliker.

She explained that the foreign policy goals pursued by "Putin's Russia" are no different from the historical Russian, Soviet, and imperial foreign policy goals. It was Putin who provided economic the revival of Russia and the return of this country to the world stage.

In her opinion, the last two decades were not unique in terms of economic ups and downs, everything was quite natural. The real change that Putin has made is to create a system that is extremely dependent on him personally. And this, by definition, will last only as long as he is in power.

Journalist Irina Borogan is confident that states and the balance of power between them determine international relations. Leaders don't matter. Russia emerged from the collapse of the USSR as a weak state and was forced to carry out what the most powerful country on the planet dictated - the United States. Today, Russia has recovered and again turned into a great power, facing other players. This confrontation would happen with or without Putin.

The most significant change in Russia that needs to be identified with Putin can be considered the lack of understanding of freedom of speech and democracy among young Russians who grew up under his rule, the journalist is sure.

At the same time, Putin, acting on the world stage rudely but consistently, demonstrated that Russia could violate the rights of its citizens and other persons without serious consequences on the part of the EU or the OSCE. Russia sent troops to Syria, despite the discontent of the US and the EU, and regained its influence in the Middle East, without spending too many resources. Russia has also signed defense contracts with Turkey, a NATO member state, bypassing the US opinion that it would be impossible to imagine 20 years ago, Irina Borogan believes.

External Expert policy Angela Stent, in turn, said that under Putin, Russia became a centralized, authoritarian state and returned as a global player, competing with the United States for influence in the world. Russia, uniting with China, is trying to create a post-Western global order. As a skilled “judoka”, Putin was able to realize his strategy using the weaknesses of the West and the lack of strategy for his leader - the United States.
Used photos: http://mil.ru/
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

13 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. camo ridges Online
    camo ridges (Michael) 9 May 2020 18: 59
    -1
    • 7
    • 8
    These chatterboxes, like Irina Borogan, are simply unable to comprehend and appreciate the truly occurred changes in Russia after Putin came to the supreme power. To say that if anything else would have happened the same thing means absolutely not understanding either the current situation in the country or the mood of the Russians, who no longer thought about the former greatness of Russia, thought that it was buried forever, and strove only for an elementary survival. Therefore, it is safe to say without fear that present-day Russia is Putin’s manual assembly, which he has been scrupulously engaged in for twenty years. Only a man exclusively gifted by nature could achieve such a result, simply put - a genius. I am not afraid of this word as applied to our current president, for only genius could cope with all the hardships of that time. And not any other, as all kinds of borogans squeak like, hardly understanding what they are talking about ...
    1. Oleg Rambover Offline
      Oleg Rambover (Oleg Rambover) 9 May 2020 20: 09
      +2
      • 6
      • 4
      What do you think, if not for such an oil situation, Putin’s successes were the same? How do you feel about the African level of inequality that Russia achieved under it? The weak point of such regimes (in addition to general inefficiency) is a change of power. I am with some apprehension waiting for his departure.
    2. cmonman Offline
      cmonman (Garik Mokin) 10 May 2020 00: 09
      0
      • 5
      • 5
      Only a man exclusively gifted by nature could achieve such a result, simply put - a genius.

      I hope you say it, kneeling and turning to face the red corner - his portrait. And at the same time wish him, his children (yourselves somehow survive), his relatives (your mother-in-law will recover, your parents cough and stop) all the best, health, and, most important, happiness in his personal life !!!
    3. Rashid116 Online
      Rashid116 (Rashid) 10 May 2020 11: 01
      +1
      • 2
      • 1
      Notably licked.
      1. Rashid116 Online
        Rashid116 (Rashid) 10 May 2020 11: 03
        +1
        • 2
        • 1
        Sorry, not to you, but to the slime above.
    4. Andrei Maksimenko (Andrei Maksimenko) 10 May 2020 16: 23
      0
      • 1
      • 1
      What changes are you writing ??? The government and the President of the Russian Federation, as he held consultations with the IMF (Americans) 30 years ago on the issues of governing the country, continues to conduct them at present.
      You count. If Stalin had consulted with Hitler on the management of the USSR.)))
    5. beeper Offline
      beeper 10 May 2020 21: 05
      +2
      • 3
      • 1
      Yes, comrade aka Kamo Gryadeshi, from the side the fate of the Russian Federation was so sad and was seen in the gangster-Deriban “saints of the 90s”!
      The beginning of the presidency of Vladimir Putin was slurred at first (although everyone in the post-Soviet space remembered him, being the prime minister said, inspiring, because the fighting, winged phrase: "We will wet the bandits even in the outhouse" good ) Although after that there was something “jokingly” offensively told the American television interviewer: “She drowned (about the Kursk)”, but your President quickly understood everything, got used to it in a new place and corrected himself - he began to rake a little - to clean the EBN's “stables” from the “seven-bankers” "and other evil spirits ...
      Then it became more and more fun to observe you, Russian affairs, especially after the Munich speech in February 2007!
      A troubled temporary worker, a liberal iPhone-player, Medvedev, in his presidency, instilled a little pessimism into our Russian hearts with his frank “troughs” before the Westerners, but a successful reflection of the pro-American Georgian aggression on 08.08.08/XNUMX/XNUMX. in the raid, the ukronazists again instilled optimism in the partial empathy! yes
      And when Vladimir Putin, contrary to liberal Bolotnaya and formidable public warnings of arrogant "hegemons", was re-elected President of Russia, it became clear that Russia would be saved ....

      So that the role of the Person in History and VV Putin means a lot, their state deeds have already been recorded at a place of honor in its World Tablets, as well as in the Areopagus of the Most Outstanding Historical Persons, good no matter what the different pro-Washington Libershavka or the gundelie are trying to denigrate and belittle!
      All these bears labeled, fuck and others will be forgotten, their names will be erased in Human Memory, and Putin’s name will remain! yes
      Although, at the very beginning of the presidency of V.V. Putin, I underestimated him, ugly in appearance, so Vladimir Vladimirov, in general, unexpectedly pleasantly surprised me (and in February 2014 and, indirectly, I saved my life - I never forget this, even if a person later becomes a fierce enemy to me, I always remember good and good answer, as I always remember those who threatened to kill me and caused me evil!) smile Russia saved from the imminent (already inherent in the "holy 90s" EBNom companions !!!) disaster in the early 2000s and began to slowly, painstakingly, to steer - to divert from the edge of the abyss!
      I, an outsider, are incredibly pleased with the picture of the Renaissance of the Greatness of Russia, the indigenous part of our common Fatherland! Alive and Strong, Our Russian Fatherland will flourish - it is not for nothing that our lives, as well as the lives of our ancestors!
      Good luck to Russia, comrades Putin, Kamo Gryadeshi and all the adequate Russians !!! good
  2. Putin needs another 20 years to bring Russia into the people!
  3. Accidentally Offline
    Accidentally 10 May 2020 07: 42
    -1
    • 1
    • 2
    The question is - if a revolution occurs under the leadership of Putin, against the Putin regime ... the reaction of the people ??????
  4. jura-19 Offline
    jura-19 (Yura) 10 May 2020 08: 50
    +1
    • 3
    • 2
    With Putin the next stop is the DPRK.
  5. Igor Pavlovich Offline
    Igor Pavlovich (Igor Pavlovich) 10 May 2020 09: 57
    -2
    • 3
    • 5
    They used to say that the USSR in its development lagged behind the West by 20-30 years. With Putin, Russia, indeed, FOREVER lagged behind ...
  6. Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 10 May 2020 10: 47
    +2
    • 4
    • 2
    In the 2000s, Americans (or Arabs) raised the price of oil from 20 to 100 (2008) - 140 (2014) bucks (especially for Putin).
    Of course, with the price of oil 3-5 times higher than under Yeltsin, Putin earned money and put things in order. In its own way, in a capitalistic way.
    There have been many billionaires, pensions have been optimized, prices and utilities are growing by leaps and bounds.

    And from the age of 14, oil and gas, not like under Yeltsin’s 20 bucks, but anyway, "there is no money, but you hold on."
    And GDP every year is alarmed by the rise in price of gasoline and the lack of development of the real economy.
  7. Arkharov Offline
    Arkharov (Grigory Arkharov) 10 May 2020 13: 21
    -2
    • 0
    • 2
    Only hardly for the better.

Как Путин навсегда изменил Россию


7 мая 2020 года исполнилось ровно 20 лет, как Владимир Путин стал президентом России. За два прошедших десятилетия, Путин укрепил свою власть и усилил роль России на мировой арене. Чтобы понять, как Путин навсегда изменил Россию и ее место в мире за прошедшие годы, и что может произойти в будущем, американский журнал Foreign Policy решил выяснить у ведущих ученых, журналистов и экспертов.


Американская журналистка Susan B. Glasser заявила, что, если бы ее 20 лет назад спросили, станет ли Путин самым «долгоживущим» российским лидером со времен Иосифа Сталина, то она бы ответила недоверчивым молчанием, либо громко рассмеялась.

Мне иногда кажется, что россияне смотрят на Владимира Путина так же, как большая часть мира смотрит на Соединенные Штаты. То есть они благодарны за то, что он сделал для них во все более отдаленном прошлом; они амбивалентны, а в некоторых случаях глубоко встревожены, когда дело касается относительно недавних действий; и они трепетно относятся к будущему. С другой стороны, они не видят ему альтернативы

– говорит в свою очередь журналистка Olga Oliker.

Она пояснила, что внешнеполитические цели, которые преследует «путинская Россия», ничем не отличаются от исторических российских, советских и имперских внешнеполитических целей. Именно Путин обеспечил экономическое возрождение России и возвращение этой страны на мировую арену.

По ее мнению, последние два десятилетия не были уникальными в плане экономических взлетов и падений, все было достаточно закономерно. Реальное изменение, которое произвел Путин, заключается в создании системы, чрезвычайно зависимой от него лично. И это по определению продлится лишь до тех пор, пока он будет у власти.

Журналистка Irina Borogan уверена, что государства и баланс сил между ними определяют международные отношения. Лидеры не имеют значения. Россия вышла из развала СССР как слабое государство и была вынуждена выполнять то, что диктовала самая сильная страна на планете – США. Сегодня Россия восстановилась и снова превратилась в великую державу, столкнувшись с другими игроками. Эта конфронтация случилась бы с Путиным или без него.

Самым значительным изменением в России, которое нужно отождествлять с Путиным, можно считать отсутствие у молодых россиян, выросших уже при его власти, понятий свободы слова и демократии, уверена журналистка.

При этом Путин, действуя на мировой арене грубо, но последовательно, продемонстрировал, что Россия может нарушать права своих граждан и других лиц без серьезных последствий со стороны ЕС или ОБСЕ. Россия направила войска в Сирию, несмотря на недовольство США и ЕС, и восстановила свое влияние на Ближнем Востоке, не затрачивая при этом слишком много ресурсов. Россия также подписала оборонные контракты с Турцией, государством-членом НАТО, минуя мнение США, что было бы невозможно представить еще 20 лет назад, считает Irina Borogan.

Эксперт по внешней политике Angela Stent в свою очередь заявила, что при Путине Россия стала централизованным, авторитарным государством и вернулась в качестве глобального игрока, конкурируя с США за влияние в мире. Россия, объединяясь с Китаем, пытается создать постзападный глобальный порядок. Как искусный «дзюдоист», Путин сумел реализовать свою стратегию, используя слабости Запада и отсутствие стратегии у его лидера – США.
  • Использованы фотографии: http://mil.ru/
13 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. камо грядеши (Михаил) 9 мая 2020 18:59
    -1
    Эти балаболки, вроде Ирины Бороган, просто неспособны осмыслить и оценить по-настоящему происшедшие перемены в России после того, как пришёл к верховной власти Путин. Говорить о том, что при любом другом произошло бы то же самое - значит абсолютно не понимать ни сложившейся тогда ситуации в стране, ни настроения россиян, которые уже не думали о былом величии России, считали, что оно навсегда похоронено, и стремились лишь к элементарному выживанию. Посему можно без боязни ошибиться утверждать, что нынешняя Россия - это его, Путина, ручная сборка, которой он скрупулёзно занимается вот уже двадцать лет. Лишь человек, исключительно одарённый от природы, мог добиться такого результата, попросту говоря - гений. Я не боюсь этого слова в применении к нашему действующему президенту, ибо сладить со всеми тогдашними невзгодами мог только гений. А не любой другой, как походя верещат всяческие бороганы, вряд ли соображая, о чем толкуют...
    1. Oleg Rambover Офлайн Oleg Rambover
      Oleg Rambover (Oleg Rambover) 9 мая 2020 20:09
      +2
      Как вы думаете, если бы не такая нефтяная конъюнктура, успехи Путина такими же были? Как вы относитесь к африканскому уровню неравенства, достигнутому Россией при нем? Слабое место таких режимов (помимо общей неэффективности) это смена власти. Я с некоторым опасением жду его ухода.
    2. cmonman Офлайн cmonman
      cmonman (Гарик Мокин) 10 мая 2020 00:09
      0
      Лишь человек, исключительно одарённый от природы, мог добиться такого результата, попросту говоря - гений.

      Надеюсь, что говорите это, стоя на коленях и повернувшись лицом к красному углу - его портрету. А заодно пожелайте ему, его детям (ваши сами как-то выживут), его родственникам (ваша тёща сама выздоровеет, родители покашляют и перестанут) всех благ, здоровья, и, самое главное, счастья в личной жизни!!!
    3. Рашид116 Офлайн Рашид116
      Рашид116 (Рашид) 10 мая 2020 11:01
      +1
      Знатно лизнул.
      1. Рашид116 Офлайн Рашид116
        Рашид116 (Рашид) 10 мая 2020 11:03
        +1
        Простите, не вам, а тому лизоблюду выше.
    4. Andrei Maksimenko Офлайн Andrei Maksimenko
      Andrei Maksimenko (Andrei Maksimenko) 10 мая 2020 16:23
      0
      О каких изменениях ты пишешь??? Правительство и Президент РФ, как проводил 30 лет назад консультации с МВФ (американцами) по вопросам управления страной, так и в настоящее время продолжает проводить.
      Ты прикинь. Если бы Сталин проводил консультации с Гитлером, по вопросам управления СССР.)))
    5. пищак Офлайн пищак
      пищак 10 мая 2020 21:05
      +2
      Да, товарищ aka Камо Грядеши, со стороны так печально судьба Российской Федерации и виделась в бандитско-дерибанские "святые 90-е"!
      Начало президентства В.В.Путина было невнятным поначалу (хотя все на постсоветском пространстве помнили его, будучи премьером сказанную, вдохновляющую, потому что боевую, крылатую фразу: "Бандитов будем мочить даже в сортирах" good ). Хотя после этого и было сказанное американскому телеинтервьюеру "шутливо" невпопад: "Она утонула (про "Курск")", но ваш Президент быстро всё понял, освоился на новом месте и исправился - начал понемногу разгребать - чистить ЕБНовские "конюшни" от "семибанкирщины" и прочей нечисти...
      Потом за вами, за российскими делами, стало наблюдать всё веселее-особенно после Мюнхенской речи в феврале 2007!
      Мутный временщик, либерал-"айфонщик", Медведев в президентской роли вселил в наши русские сердца толику пессимизма своими откровенными "прогибами" перед западоидами, но успешное отражение проамериканской грузинской агрессии 08.08.08., торжествующее возвращение в Севастополь гордого МРК "Мираж" и обхезавшиеся на рейде укронацисты опять вселили оптимизм в неравнодушных сопереживателей! yes
      А уж когда В.В.Путин, вопреки либерастической Болотной и грозным публичным предостережениям обнаглевших "гегемонов", был вновь избран Президентом России-стало понятно, что Россия спасётся....

      Так что очень много значит роль Личности в Истории и В.В.Путин, своими государственными деяниями уже записан на почётном месте в её Всемирных Скрижалях, как и в Ареопаге самых Выдающихся Исторических Личностей, good что бы там сейчас разные профашингтонские либершавки ни гундели, пытаясь очернить и принизить!
      Все эти мишки меченые, ебны и прочие забудутся, их имена будут стёрты в Людской Памяти, а имя Путина останется! yes
      Хотя, в самом начале президентской деятельности В.В.Путина, и я его, невзрачное с виду, "дзю-до" недооценивал, так что Владимир Владимирыч, в целом, меня неожиданно приятно удивил (а в феврале 2014 и, косвенным образом, жизнь мне спас - я такого никогда не забываю, даже если человек мне потом лютым врагом станет, добро помню всегда и добром отвечаю, как и всегда помню тех, кто меня убить грозился и причинил зло!) smile Россию спас от неминуемой (заложенной ещё в "святые 90-е" ЕБНом сотоварищи!!!) катастрофы в начале 2000-х и начал потихоньку, кропотливо, выруливать - отводить от края пропасти!
      Меня, постороннего наблюдателя, несказанно радует картина Возрождения Величия России, коренной части нашего общего Отечества! Жива и Крепка, Процветать будет наша Русская Отчизна - недаром будут и наши жизни, как и жизни наших предков!
      Успехов России и вам, товарищи Путин, Камо Грядеши и все адекватные россияне!!! good
  2. Путину надо еще лет 20, чтобы Россию вывести в люди!
  3. Kazara Офлайн Kazara
    Kazara 10 мая 2020 07:42
    -1
    Вопрос - если произойдет революция под руководством Путина, против режима Путина... реакция народа??????
  4. юра-19 Офлайн юра-19
    юра-19 (юра) 10 мая 2020 08:50
    +1
    С Путиным следующая остановка КНДР.
  5. Игорь Павлович (Игорь Павлович) 10 мая 2020 09:57
    -2
    Раньше говорили, что СССР в своем развитии отставал от Запада лет на 20 - 30. С Путиным Россия отстала, действительно, НАВСЕГДА...
  6. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 10 мая 2020 10:47
    +2
    Американцы (или арабы) в 2000-х подняли цену на нефть от 20 до 100 (2008) - 140 (2014) баксов (специально для Путина).
    Конечно, с ценой нефти в 3-5 раз больше, чем при Ельцине, Путин и денег заработал, и порядок навел. По-своему, по-капиталистически.
    Миллиардеров вон стало много, пенсии оптимизировали, цены и ЖКХ растут как на дрожжах.

    А с 14 года нефть-газ того, не как при Ельцине в 20 баксов, но все-равно "денег нет, но вы держитесь".
    И ВВП каждый год встревожен подорожанием бензина и отсутствием развития реальной экономики.
  7. Архаров Офлайн Архаров
    Архаров (Григорий Архаров) 10 мая 2020 13:21
    -2
    Только вряд ли в лучшую сторону.