Germany was outraged by disrespect for the Russians on the occasion of Victory Day


Former German Interior Minister 87-year-old Gerhart Baum cannot understand why Russian President Vladimir Putin was not invited to an official memorial event at the Reichstag building on the occasion of the 75th anniversary of the Victory over Nazism. He said this in an interview with German radio station Deutschlandfunk.


Famous German public and political The activist, a person who survived World War II, a member of the Social Democratic Party and a lawyer, was sincerely outraged by the disrespect shown to the Russians on the occasion of Victory Day. He emphasized that the celebrations must be perceived regardless of the current situation with the COVID-19 pandemic, because we are talking about historical memory and the Russian people who liberated Berlin at the cost of incredible casualties.

The Russians liberated Berlin with incredible casualties. The battle for Berlin on the Oder alone cost the lives of 40 thousand Russian soldiers, as many died in Berlin

- said Baum.

Therefore, I have great respect for the Russian liberators and their families. Almost every Russian family suffered losses

- added Baum.


Baum emphasized that the Second World War, which he witnessed, became the largest in history. She took more than 60 million human lives. Moreover, almost half of this amount is the lives of the inhabitants of the USSR. He is sure that it was the capture of the Reichstag and the liberation of Berlin by the Red Army that led to the surrender of Nazi Germany, which should not be forgotten.

He recalled how he met the end of the war as a refugee. As death, hunger and destruction reigned everywhere. Baum's father died in the war, but a new life began for himself and his surviving relatives.

He admits that the entire generation of Germans was injured. In his opinion, the current quarantine due to COVID-19 is nothing compared to the complete collapse of the current order that happened then.

Baum expressed the conviction that modern democracy can be convincing only if the Germans will always remember the past liberation from Nazism. Therefore, he supports the incumbent president of Germany, Frank-Walter Steinmeier, who called on him to regularly pay tribute to the horrors of war and liberation from them.

In his opinion, modern thinking, which assumes that everything was not so bad during the Third Reich, was also extremely dangerous, and that the Germans actually turned out to be victims. From his point of view - this is just awful.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

4 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Uh! Near the Reichstag, across the entire East European shelup, porous buttocks itch, and in Russia the ambition does not order itching!
  2. VID Offline
    VID (Vera Dogut) 10 May 2020 14: 15
    +2
    • 3
    • 1
    If there were more like Baum. Still, there are decent people.
  3. boriz Offline
    boriz (boriz) 10 May 2020 22: 54
    +4
    • 4
    • 0
    As always, it is retired politicians who are distinguished by surprising sanity.
  4. Bitter Offline
    Bitter (Gleb) 11 May 2020 10: 31
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    ... indignant with disrespect for the Russians on the occasion of Victory Day

    The problem, probably, lies in the fact that in the wake of the “Russians go,” both in Europe and in the Americas, they are not referring to Russians as a nationality, but to everyone who was represented at that time by the “bloody” Soviet regime.
    Modern Russian politicians are trying to grab some preferences for the rising "empire", and perhaps this is what causes some "misunderstanding and non-recognition" from other countries.
    After all, he defeated the Nazis and liberated Europe by the joint efforts of all peoples, namely the Soviet Union. America, England and resistance groups in other countries, of course, participated and made a significant contribution to the victory, but it was the Soviet Army that was the force that actually turned the neck of fascism both in Europe and in the Far East.

В Германии возмутились из-за неуважения к русским по случаю Дня Победы


Бывший глава МВД Германии, 87-летний Герхарт Баум не может понять, почему президента России Владимира Путина не пригласили на официальное памятное мероприятие у здания Рейхстага, посвященное 75-й годовщине Победы над нацизмом. Об этом он сообщил в интервью немецкой радиостанции Deutschlandfunk.


Известный немецкий общественный и политический деятель, человек, переживший Вторую мировую войну, член СДП и адвокат, искренне возмутился проявленному неуважению к русским по случаю Дня Победы. Он подчеркнул, что торжества необходимо воспринимать независимо от нынешней обстановки с пандемией COVID-19, ведь речь идет об исторической памяти и русских людях, освободивших Берлин ценой невероятных человеческих жертв.

Русские освободили Берлин с невероятными человеческими жертвами. Одна только битва за Берлин на Одере стоила жизни 40 тыс. русских солдат, в Берлине погибли ещё столько же

- сказал Баум.

Поэтому я с большим уважением отношусь к русским освободителям и их семьям. Почти каждая русская семья понесла потери

- добавил Баум.


Баум подчеркнул, что Вторая мировая война, свидетелем которой он был, стала крупнейшей в истории. Она забрала больше 60 млн человеческих жизней. При этом почти половина из этого количества - жизни жителей СССР. Он уверен, что именно взятие Рейхстага и освобождение Берлина Красной армией привело к капитуляции нацистской Германии, о чем забывать нельзя.

Он вспомнил, как встретил окончание войны в качестве беженца. Как повсюду царили смерть, голод и разрушения. Отец Баума погиб на войне, но для него самого и его выживших родственников началась новая жизнь.

Он признает, что все поколение немцев оказалось травмировано. По его мнению, нынешний карантин из-за COVID-19 - ничто по сравнению с произошедшим тогда полным крахом действовавшего порядка.

Баум выразил убеждение, что современная демократия может быть убедительной, только если немцы всегда будут помнить о прошлом освобождении от нацизма. Поэтому он поддерживает действующего президента Германии Франк-Вальтера Штайнмайера, призвавшего регулярно отдавать дань памяти ужасам войны и освобождению от них.

По его мнению, крайне опасно и современное мышление, допускающее, что во времена Третьего рейха все было не так уж и плохо, и что немцы на самом деле оказались жертвами. С его точки зрения – подобное просто ужасно.
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

4 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Э! Возле Рейхстага у всей восточно-европейско шелупени поротые попочки чешутся, а при России чесаться гонор не велит!
  2. VID Офлайн
    VID (Вера Догут) 10 мая 2020 14:15
    +2
    • 3
    • 1
    Если бы побольше было таких, как Баум. Всё-таки там и порядочные люди.
  3. boriz Онлайн
    boriz (boriz) 10 мая 2020 22:54
    +4
    • 4
    • 0
    Как всегда, именно отставные политики отличаются удивительным здравомыслием.
  4. Bitter Офлайн
    Bitter (Глеб) 11 мая 2020 10:31
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    ...возмутился проявленному неуважению к русским по случаю Дня Победы

    Проблемка, наверное, заключается и в том, что на волне "русские идут", как в Европе, так и в Америках, имеются в виду не русские как национальность, а все, кто был в те времена представлен "кровавым" советским режимом.
    Современные российские политики пытаются урвать некие преференции для поднимающейся с колен "империи", и возможно именно это вызывает некоторое "непонимание и непризнание" со стороны других стран.
    Ведь победил фашистов и освободил Европу совместными усилиями всех народов, именно Советский Союз. Америки, Англии и группы сопротивления в других странах, конечно, участвовали и внесли свой весомый вклад в победу, но именно Советская Армия была той силой, которая фактически свернула фашизму шею как в Европе, так и на Дальнем Востоке.