Coronavirus puts an end to one of the most popular aircraft in the world


The Guardian newspaper reports that Virgin Atlantic, along with other aviation companies, refuses to operate all of its seven Boeing 747 aircraft due to their low cost. Four-engine aircraft consume too much fuel, so using them in an era of rampant coronavirus and passenger traffic crisis is an unacceptable luxury.


For 52 years, 1500 aircraft of this model were operated in the world, however economic The recession caused by the COVID-19 pandemic puts an end to this popular airliner. For example, the German airline Lufthansa in April refused to operate five Boeing 747s, while KLM announced in the airline from the Netherlands that it would switch to newer and less “gluttonous” twin-engine models. British Airways, remaining the largest operator of the Boeing 747, announced in April last year that all 28 aircraft of this model were withdrawn from the fleet.

4-engine airliners are gradually leaving the industry - new, twin-engine aircraft use less fuel and are more economical to maintain. Moreover, not every airport is able to accept such a large airliner as the Boeing 747, while the smaller Boeing 777 or Aibus A350 are only slightly inferior to the 747 in passenger capacity, while being superior in flight range.
Photos used: Boeing
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

2 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. The comment was deleted.
    1. The comment was deleted.
  2. Bulanov Offline
    Bulanov (Vladimir) 12 May 2020 16: 39
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    Europe generally needs to consider reviving passenger airships. Distances are small, fuel consumption too.
  3. orange Offline
    orange (ororpore) 12 May 2020 17: 00
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    All hope for the PD-35, otherwise the revival of the IL-96, conceived by the authorities in vain drank money.

Коронавирус ставит крест на одном из самым популярных самолетов в мире


Газета The Guardian сообщает, что Virgin Atlantic в ряду других авиационных компаний отказывается от эксплуатации всех своих семи самолетов Boeing 747 ввиду их низкой экономичности. Четырехдвигательные воздушные судна потребляют слишком много топлива, поэтому использовать их в эпоху разгула коронавируса и кризиса пассажирских перевозок – непозволительная роскошь.


В течение 52 лет в мире эксплуатировались 1500 самолетов этой модели, однако экономический спад, вызванный пандемией COVID-19, ставит крест на этом популярном лайнере. Так, немецкая авиакомпания Lufthansa в апреле отказалась от эксплуатации пяти Boeing 747, а в авиакомпании из Нидерландов KLM заявили о переходе на более новые и менее «прожорливые» двухдвигательные модели. British Airways, оставаясь самым крупным эксплуатантом Boeing 747, еще в апреле прошлого года сообщила о выводе из парка всех 28 самолетов этой модели.

4-двигательные лайнеры постепенно уходят из отрасли – новые, двухмоторные самолеты потребляют меньше топлива и более экономичные в обслуживании. Более того, не каждый аэропорт способен принять такой крупный лайнер как Boeing 747, в то время как менее габаритные Boeing 777 или Aibus A350 лишь немного уступают модели 747 в пассажировместимости, при этом превосходя в дальности полета.
Использованы фотографии: Boeing
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

2 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Комментарий был удален.
    1. Комментарий был удален.
  2. Буланов Офлайн
    Буланов (Владимир) 12 мая 2020 16:39
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    Европе вообще нужно подумать о возрождении пассажирских дирижаблей. Расстояния небольшие, расход топлива тоже.
  3. померанец Офлайн
    померанец (орорпора) 12 мая 2020 17:00
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Вся надежда на ПД-35, иначе возрождение Ил-96, задуманное властями напрасный попил денег.