World media: Russians in the Arctic are very serious


In the West, they unexpectedly became preoccupied with Russia's activity in the Arctic, which clearly shows a number of publications on this topic. These texts analyze the activities of the Russian Federation in the region and the response to it from the opposing powers.


In particular, the Washington Times writes that while President Donald Trump’s administration is struggling to effectively counter Russian and Chinese naval and naval operations in the Arctic, analysts and several lawmakers say Washington will need to allocate more resources. In general, the United States does not have a long-term plan of action in the North.

In contrast, Russia and China are promoting their strategies that portray the Arctic as the key to their 21st century projects.

- emphasizes the newspaper.

Against this background, specialists in the region directly say that over the past three years the White House has missed the opportunity to clearly explain to the American public why the Arctic is so important for the United States.

The possibility of a military clash between the United States and Russians in the northern polar latitudes is written by William Craig Reed on the portal Military Times. Recalling the history of the Kursk submarine that died in 2000, the author suggests that the current campaign of the squadron of American and British warships or similar acts can also put the world on the brink of a great war.

It is noted that in terms of capabilities, Russia can boast of more than 40 icebreakers, some of which operate on nuclear power, while the United States has only one ship of this class, quite average in terms of capabilities, at the disposal of the local Coast Guard.

The Russian Federation is armed with dozens of submarines patrolling the Arctic waters, while the United States has only three Sivulf class submarines that can float through polar ice. Recently, as stated in the article, some US officials have expressed concern about this imbalance and called for "showing" Putin that he does not have undeniable control over the Arctic.

Concerned about recent Russian exercises in the Arctic, writes website of Canadian Broadcasting Corporation CBC. While the world's attention is focused on a pandemic and global recession, Russia decided to demonstrate power with the help of spectacular videos of airborne assault on the Franz Josef Land archipelago.

Rob Huebert, a defense expert at the University of Calgary, suggested that this demonstration of opportunities to capture the Arctic island is Russia's clear message to NATO.

Russians are very serious when they say that they have become a power in the Arctic region

- Mr. Hubert believes.
Used photos: http://mil.ru/
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

3 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Bulanov Offline
    Bulanov (Vladimir) 12 May 2020 16: 43
    0
    • 2
    • 2
    This Arctic special forces, in which case, will be able to defend Antarctica. After all, her Russia did not seem to be selling to America?
  2. Dmitry S. Offline
    Dmitry S. (Dmitry Sanin) 12 May 2020 16: 43
    +3
    • 5
    • 2
    I would like to see the returning landing of African-American fur seals somewhere in Antarctica ....
  3. In addition to the polar special forces, it is necessary to create the Polar Fleet, now the Northern Passage - a strategic highway no worse than the Panama and Suez Canals!

Мировые СМИ: Русские в Арктике настроены очень серьезно


На Западе неожиданно озаботились активностью России в Арктике, что наглядно показывает целый ряд публикаций на данную тему. В этих текстах анализируется деятельность РФ в регионе и ответ на неё со стороны противостоящих держав.


В частности, Washington Times пишет, что хотя администрация президента Дональда Трампа изо всех сил пытается эффективно противостоять российским и китайским военно-морским и морским действиям в Арктике, считают аналитики и несколько законодателей, которые говорят, что Вашингтону потребуется выделять больше ресурсов. В общем же, Соединенные Штаты не имеют долгосрочного плана своих действий на Севере.

В противовес этому, Россия и Китай продвигают свои стратегии, которые изображают Арктику как ключ к собственным проектам 21 века

– подчеркивает газета.

На этом фоне специалисты по региону прямо говорят, что за последние три года Белый дом упустил возможность четко разъяснить американской общественности, почему Арктика имеет такое значение для США.

О возможности военного столкновения Соединенных Штатов с россиянами в северных полярных широтах пишет Уильям Крейг Рид (William Craig Reed) на портале Military Times. Вспоминая историю погибшей в 2000 году подводной лодки «Курск», автор предполагает, что нынешний поход эскадры американских и британских военных кораблей или подобные ему акты, также может поставить мир на грань большой войны.

Отмечается, что в плане возможностей Россия может похвастаться более чем 40 ледоколами, часть из которых работает на атомной тяге, в то время как у США есть только один корабль подобного класса, достаточно средний по возможностям, находящийся в распоряжении местной Береговой охраны.

На вооружении у РФ находятся десятки подводных лодок, патрулирующих арктические акватории, в то время как у США – лишь три подводных лодки класса «Сивулф», что способны всплыть сквозь полярный лед. В последнее время, как утверждается в статье, некоторые американские чиновники выразили озабоченность по поводу этого дисбаланса и призвали «показать» Путину, что он не обладает неоспоримым контролем над Арктикой.

С беспокойством о недавних российских учениях в Арктике пишет вэб-сайт канадской радиовещательной корпорации CBC. В то время как внимание мира приковано к пандемии и глобальной рецессии, Россия решила продемонстрировать мощь при помощи впечатляющих видеозаписей воздушного десанта на архипелаг Земли Франца-Иосифа, отмечается в заметке

Роб Хьюберт (Rob Huebert), эксперт в области обороны в Университете Калгари, высказал мнение, что эта демонстрация возможностей по захвату арктического острова, является однозначным посланием России к НАТО.

Русские настроены очень серьезно, когда говорят, что стали державой в арктическом регионе

– полагает г-н Хьюберт.
  • Использованы фотографии: http://mil.ru/
3 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Буланов Офлайн Буланов
    Буланов (Владимир) 12 мая 2020 16:43
    0
    Этот арктический спецназ, в случае чего, и Антарктиду отстоять сможет. Ведь её Россия Америке, вроде, не продавала?
  2. Дмитрий С. Офлайн Дмитрий С.
    Дмитрий С. (Дмитрий Санин) 12 мая 2020 16:43
    +3
    Хотелось бы посмотреть на ответный десант афроамериканских морских котиков где-нибудь в Антарктиде....
  3. Помимо полярного спецназа надо и Полярный Флот создавать, нынче Северный Проход - стратегическая магистраль, не хуже Панамского и Суэцкого каналов!