The Diplomat: Pakistan would like friendship with Russia


An overview article on bilateral relations between Russia and Pakistan and their prospects in connection with the global pandemic of the coronavirus is published by the popular international resource The Diplomat.


The historical background for reconciliation is extremely difficult. Pakistan’s close ties with America and the West as a whole during the Cold War, especially during the time Soviet troops entered Afghanistan, sowed distrust and hostility between the two states. However, in recent years, the Eurasian powers have left some of the contradictions aside, and the COVID-19 pandemic could accelerate the reconciliation process, the article says.

In the recent past, natural disasters have become an incentive to strengthen ties. After the devastating earthquake of 2005 that devastated the whole of northern Pakistan, Russia was one of the first countries to offer their help. Following this, the two sides established trade relations, and even began to interact at the military level, which until recently seemed impossible.

Can a global pandemic further strengthen ties between the two countries? Somewhat. Pakistani ambassador to Russia Shafkat Ali Khan recently explored the possibility of purchasing mechanical ventilation from Moscow to help Pakistan's fragile healthcare system cope with the COVID-19 pandemic. In addition, Khan also expressed a desire to expand contacts between peoples, including the possibility of sending a large number of Pakistani students to study at Russian universities.

However, the publication notes, it would be too simple to assume that the pandemic and Pakistan’s obvious interest in developing closer ties with Russia would be enough to strengthen relations.

Bilateral trade is still at a much lower level than it could. Russia also continues to support its traditional ally, India. Just last month, the Indian ambassador in Moscow announced that he was expecting supplies of S-400 anti-aircraft systems on time, despite a pandemic. In addition, Russia wants to sell New Delhi three more Kilo class submarines.

In addition, bilateral contacts are spoiled by Pakistan’s refusal to recognize Armenia, and this country is one of the Kremlin’s closest allies. The position of Islamabad regarding the Transcaucasian republic is unlikely to change in the near future.

In the aggregate, all these difficult circumstances can prevent the two powers from establishing closer interaction.
Photos used: Russian Ministry of Defense
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

6 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. 123 Online
    123 (123) 12 May 2020 22: 34
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    In addition, bilateral contacts are spoiled by Pakistan’s refusal to recognize Armenia, and this country is one of the Kremlin’s closest allies. The position of Islamabad regarding the Transcaucasian republic is unlikely to change in the near future.

    I really didn’t think that they could surprise me with something, but it turned out. yes Author Respect. good What Armenia doesn’t like hot Pashtun guys? belay In general, I asked ash, and then googel, it turns out that Azerbaijan took the loss of Nagorno-Karabakh so to heart. Their sadness on this occasion is immeasurable. fellow Well, of course, they found a solution, if there is no Armenia, there is no problem. smile It’s about like there is no coronavirus in Turkmenistan. laughing Considering that a pandemic is being considered as an occasion to improve relations, I began to fear whether they were expecting a plague or something worse to ask for help from the allies. They really have a peculiar logic. what
    If we recall Afghanistan, the question arose - but simply cooperation will not suit them? Let them just buy weapons a little, so that the Indians do not wander too much. I think this is enough.
    1. Astronaut Offline
      Astronaut (San Sanych) 13 May 2020 01: 31
      +1
      • 1
      • 0
      It’s about like there is no coronavirus in Turkmenistan.

      Given that Turkmenistan is a closed country, and that even permission to leave the country is necessary, a low spread of the virus is possible.
      1. 123 Online
        123 (123) 14 May 2020 19: 10
        +2
        • 2
        • 0
        Given that Turkmenistan is a closed country, and that even permission to leave the country is necessary, a low spread of the virus is possible.

        Perhaps so, only a little hard to believe. If I am not mistaken, there are three “oases” left - Greenland, North Korea and Turkmenistan. But the borders there are not like Kim’s equipped and there are no sea open spaces around the perimeter. Do not close the border tightly.
  2. Sergey Latyshev Offline
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 12 May 2020 23: 54
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    I would like to. While there is a chance to snatch IVL.
    But he would like much more friendship with everyone else.
  3. Nikolay Malyugin (Nikolai Malyugin) 13 May 2020 06: 00
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    This Pakistan-India-China triangle is very difficult to figure out. Whether business Ukraine.
  4. Pakistan has good oranges ....

The Diplomat: Пакистан хотел бы дружбы с Россией


Обзорную статью о двусторонних отношениях между Россией и Пакистаном и их перспективах в связи с глобальной пандемией коронавируса публикует популярный международный ресурс The Diplomat.


Исторический фон для примирения крайне непрост. Тесные связи Пакистана с Америкой и Западом в целом во время холодной войны, особенно в период ввода советских войск в Афганистан, посеяли недоверие и враждебность между двумя государствами. Однако в последние годы державы Евразии оставили в стороне некоторые из противоречий, и пандемия COVID-19 могла бы ускорить процесс примирения, отмечается в статье.

В недавнем прошлом стихийные бедствия уже становились стимулом для укрепления связей. После разрушительного землетрясения 2005 года, опустошившего весь северный Пакистан, Россия была одной из первых стран, что предложили свою помощь. Вслед за этим две стороны наладили торговые связи, и даже начали взаимодействовать на уровне военных, что ещё недавно казалось невозможным.

Может ли глобальная пандемия послужить дальнейшему укреплению связей между двумя странами? В некотором роде. Посол Пакистана в России Шафкат Али Хан недавно изучил возможность покупки аппаратов ИВЛ у Москвы, чтобы помочь неустойчивой системе здравоохранения Пакистана справиться с пандемией COVID-19. Кроме того, Хан также выразил желание расширить контакты между народами, включая возможность отправки большого количества пакистанских студентов для обучения в российских университетах.

Однако, отмечается в публикации, было бы слишком просто предполагать, что пандемии и очевидного интереса Пакистана к развитию более тесных связей с Россией будет достаточно для укрепления отношений.

Двусторонняя торговля все еще находится на куда более низком уровне, чем могла бы. Также Россия продолжает оказывать поддержку своему традиционному союзнику – Индии. Буквально в прошлом месяце индийский посол в Москве заявил, что он ожидает поставок зенитных комплексов С-400 в обозначенные сроки – несмотря на пандемию. Кроме того, Россия хочет продать Нью-Дели еще три подводные лодки класса Кило.

Кроме того, двусторонние контакты портит отказ Пакистана признать Армению, а эта страна является одним из ближайших союзников Кремля. Позиция Исламабада в отношении закавказской республики вряд ли изменится в ближайшее время.

В совокупности, все эти непростые обстоятельства могут помешать двум державам наладить более тесное взаимодействие.
Использованы фотографии: Министерство обороны России
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

6 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. 123 Офлайн
    123 (123) 12 мая 2020 22:34
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Кроме того, двусторонние контакты портит отказ Пакистана признать Армению, а эта страна является одним из ближайших союзников Кремля. Позиция Исламабада в отношении закавказской республики вряд ли изменится в ближайшее время.

    Вот уж не думал, что чем-то могут удивить, но получилось. yes Автору респект. good Армения-то чем не устраивает горячих пуштунских парней? belay В общем, я спросил у ясеня, а потом у гугела, они, оказывается, потерю Азербайджаном Нагорного Карабаха так близко к сердцу приняли. Печаль их по данному поводу безмерна. fellow Ну и естественно нашли решение, нет Армении - нет проблемы. smile Это примерно как коронавируса нет в Туркмении. laughing Учитывая, что поводом для улучшения отношений рассматривают пандемию, стал опасаться, не ждут ли они чумы или чего похуже, чтобы в союзники напроситься. Уж больно у них логика своеобразная. what
    Если еще вспомнить Афганистан, возник вопрос - а просто сотрудничество их не устроит? Пускай просто оружие понемногу покупают, чтобы индусы особо не кочевряжились. Думаю, этого достаточно.
    1. Астронавт Офлайн
      Астронавт (Сан Саныч) 13 мая 2020 01:31
      +1
      • 1
      • 0
      Это примерно как коронавируса нет в Туркмении.

      С учетом того, что Туркмения закрытая страна, и что там даже на выезд из страны надо получить разрешение, вполне возможно слабое распространение вируса.
      1. 123 Офлайн
        123 (123) 14 мая 2020 19:10
        +2
        • 2
        • 0
        С учетом того, что Туркмения закрытая страна, и что там даже на выезд из страны надо получить разрешение, вполне возможно слабое распространение вируса.

        Возможно и так, только слабо верится. Если не ошибаюсь, осталось три "оазиса" - Гренландия, КНДР и Туркмения. Только вот границы там не как у Кима оборудованы и морских просторов по периметру не наблюдается. Наглухо границы не перекрыть.
  2. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 12 мая 2020 23:54
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Хотел бы хотел. Пока шанс есть ИВЛ урвать.
    Но дружбы со всеми остальными он хотел бы гораздо больше.
  3. Николай Малюгин (Николай Малюгин) 13 мая 2020 06:00
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    В этом треугольнике Пакистан-Индия-Китай разобраться очень сложно. То ли дело Украина.
  4. У Пакистана апельсины хорошие....