The Diplomat: Chinese industrial espionage is more dangerous for the US than Soviet


The problem of industrial espionage between the West and the East has existed since Soviet times. About what is the difference between the approaches to borrowing other people's “know-how” from the USSR and China, and why China is much more dangerous for the United States in this regard, The Diplomat argues.


Posted by Robert Farley, Associate Professor at Patterson School of Diplomacy and International Trade, citing a 1982 CIA report that during the Cold War, the Soviet Union actively sought to acquire American Technology. Our intelligence then collected information through all possible channels: scientific and technical exchange through organizations belonging to ideological communists in Western countries; firms located in the Eastern bloc; agents embedded in technology commercial companies and political structure.

As the author of the article notes, the USSR was in a more comfortable position than the PRC now, since it had a whole intelligence network of Eastern European countries at its disposal. But this was hidden and his weakness. In those days of the confrontation between the two systems, Moscow was more interested in the military technologies of the West, as well as ways to optimize the military-industrial complex. Because of this, the Soviet economy increasingly lagging behind in the civilian field.

Modern China is more dangerous for the United States, because it is to a much greater extent interested in civilian technologies, which it is able to quickly introduce into production. Beijing’s main advantage over Moscow today is that China is a “world workshop”: a significant part of global production chains are already in the PRC, Chinese universities and students are on the very front line of science and technology.

The Diplomat concludes that China’s central position in the global economy and its interest in military and civilian technologies makes it more dangerous for the United States in terms of industrial espionage than the USSR in its time.
Photos used: https://pixabay.com/
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

The Diplomat: Китайский промышленный шпионаж опаснее для США, чем советский


Проблема промышленного шпионажа между Западом и Востоком существовала с советских времен. О том, в чем состоит разница между подходами к заимствованию чужих «ноу-хау» со стороны СССР и КНР, и почему Китай для США в данном отношении гораздо опаснее, рассуждает издание The Diplomat.


Автор публикации Роберт Фарли, доцент Школы дипломатии и международной торговли имени Паттерсона, указывает со ссылкой на доклад ЦРУ от 1982 года, что во времена «Холодной войны» Советский Союз активно стремился приобрести американские технологии. Наша разведка тогда собирала информацию по всем возможным каналам: научно-технический обмен через организации, принадлежащие идейным коммунистам в западных странах; фирмы, расположенные в Восточном блоке; агентуру, внедренную в технологические коммерческие компании и политические структуры.

Как отмечает автор статьи, СССР находился в более комфортном положении, чем КНР сейчас, поскольку к его услугам была целая разведывательная сеть стран Восточной Европы. Но в этом была сокрыта и его слабость. В те времена противостояния двух систем Москву больше интересовали военные технологии Запада, а также способы оптимизации работы ВПК. Из-за этого советская экономика все быстрее отставала в гражданской области.

Современный Китай для США опаснее, поскольку его в гораздо большей степени интересуют именно гражданские технологии, которые он способен максимально быстро внедрить в производство. Главное преимущество Пекина перед Москвой сегодня состоит в том, что Китай является «мировой мастерской»: значительная часть глобальных производственных цепочек уже находится в КНР, китайские университеты и студенты находятся на самой передней линии науки и технологий.

The Diplomat приходит к выводу, что центральное положение Китая в мировой экономике и его интерес равно к военным и гражданским технологиям, делает его более опасным для США с точки зрения промышленного шпионажа, чем в свое время СССР.
Использованы фотографии: https://pixabay.com/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти