American expert: the US has nothing to oppose to 40 Russian icebreakers


The US Navy’s campaigns in the Barents Sea will not help Washington in the “battle” for the Arctic with Moscow, since it has nothing to oppose to 40 Russian icebreakers. This is stated in an article by an American expert, retired US captain Jerry Hendrix, published by National Review.


Washington has neglected the Arctic for a very long time and can no longer compete with Moscow for influence in this resource-rich region of the planet. Hendricks urged not to overestimate campaign US Navy ships to the shores of Russia, first committed in more than three decades, amid missed opportunities.

Four ships maneuvering in the ice-free Barents Sea will not cancel decades of neglect and lack of investment in the types of ships the US needs to protect its interests in the Arctic region

- he states.

Henders is confident that the US lacks the required number of icebreakers, as well as ships and ice-class vessels, making it impossible to implement Washington’s plans to develop and use the shipping capabilities of the Arctic Ocean.

He pointed out that Russia does not miss its chance and strengthens its influence and power in the Arctic, constantly expanding its presence in this strategically important region. Moscow is actively exploiting the Northern Sea Route, thanks to which the path from Europe to Asia and vice versa is significantly reduced. Now Russia uses it to deliver LNG to consumers.

With 40 icebreakers in its arsenal, Moscow is ahead of all Arctic powers

- he added.

In addition, Russia plans to acquire nine new nuclear-powered icebreakers by 2035, some of which will be equipped with weapons designed for use in the Arctic. Russia has many ships and vessels of other types that can be successfully used in such harsh conditions. And now in the Arctic, no country can compete with Russia.

At the same time, the “equipment” of the USA upsets the expert. The United States has only three icebreakers. Moreover, only two are functional, “one heavy and one medium”. And in the Arctic there are no naval bases from which operations in the region could be supported. At the same time, the number of submarines capable of operating in the Arctic is steadily declining. Therefore, the US needs to take urgent measures to finally keep up with Russia in the development of this region, the value of which will increase.
Used photos: http://mil.ru/
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

5 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Dear sofa expert. 14 May 2020 21: 35
    -1
    • 0
    • 1
    ... all arctic powers ..

    This is strong!) And how many of them, by the way?
  2. By God, it’s time for Russia to acquire the Polar Fleet - a new place has arisen for the brawler - the Northern Passage!
  3. Dmitry S. Offline
    Dmitry S. (Dmitry Sanin) 15 May 2020 09: 35
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    Let's bring the situation to the point of absurdity: the United States is hiring Russian icebreakers to escort aircraft carriers to its shores ...
    1. We will conduct them - by the method of Ivan Susanin.

Американский эксперт: США нечего противопоставить 40 ледоколам России


Походы ВМС США в Баренцево море не помогут Вашингтону в «битве» за Арктику с Москвой, так как ему нечего противопоставить 40 ледоколам России. Об этом говорится в статье американского эксперта, капитана ВМС США в отставке Джерри Хендрикса, опубликованной изданием National Review.


Вашингтон очень долго пренебрегал Арктикой и теперь не может соперничать с Москвой за влияние в этом богатом ресурсами регионе планеты. Хендрикс призывал не переоценивать поход кораблей ВМС США к берегам России, впервые совершенный за более чем три десятилетия, на фоне упущенных возможностей.

Четыре корабля, маневрирующие в свободном ото льда Баренцевом море, не отменят десятилетия пренебрежения и отсутствия инвестиций в типы судов, необходимых США для защиты своих интересов в Арктическом регионе

- констатирует он.

Хендерс уверен, что отсутствие у США нужного количества ледоколов, а также кораблей и судов ледового класса, делают невозможным реализацию планов Вашингтона по освоению и использованию судоходных возможностей Северного Ледовитого океана.

Он указал, что Россия не упускает свой шанс и укрепляет влияние и мощь в Арктике, неустанно наращивая свое присутствие в этом стратегически важном регионе. Москва активно эксплуатирует Севморпуть, благодаря которому значительно сокращается путь из Европы в Азию и обратно. Сейчас Россия использует его для доставки потребителям СПГ.

Имея в арсенале 40 ледоколов, Москва опережает все арктические державы

- добавил он.

Кроме того, Россия планирует обзавестись девятью новыми атомными ледоколами к 2035 году, некоторые из которых будут оснащены оружием, предназначенным для эксплуатации в Арктике. У России немало кораблей и судов других типов, которые могут успешно использоваться в таких суровых условиях. И сейчас в Арктике соперничать с Россией не может ни одна страна.

При этом «экипировка» США огорчает эксперта. У США имеется лишь три ледокола. Причем работоспособны лишь два, «один тяжелый и один средний». А в Арктике нет никаких военно-морских баз, с которых можно было бы поддерживать операции в регионе. При этом численность подлодок, способных действовать в Арктике, неуклонно сокращается. Поэтому США нужно принимать срочные меры, чтобы окончательно не отстать от России в освоении этого региона, ценность которого будет возрастать.
Использованы фотографии: http://mil.ru/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

5 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. ...все арктические державы..

    Это сильно!) А сколько их, кстати?
  2. Ей Богу, России пора обзаводиться Полярным Флотом - новое место возникло для драчки - Северный Проход!
  3. Дмитрий С. Офлайн
    Дмитрий С. (Дмитрий Санин) 15 мая 2020 09:35
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    Доведём ситуацию до абсурда: США нанимают российские ледоколы для проводки авианосцев к её берегам...
    1. Мы их проведем - методом Ивана Сусанина.