Expert: Syria becomes “new Afghanistan” for Russia


Syria is increasingly similar for Russia to the same “swamp” that Afghanistan has become for the Soviet Union, writes former Indian diplomat MK Bhadrakumar (MK Bhadrakumar) on the Indian Punchline portal.


The author of the article points out the fact that the Syrian leader Bashar Assad is by no means a Russian protege, and the interests of the two countries do not always coincide. The President of the SAR is obsessed with the idea of ​​restoring the sovereignty and territorial integrity of his country. The Kremlin, on the contrary, pursues several goals at the same time, including those not directly related to the situation in this Arab republic.

In particular, a demonstration of power meant the return of post-Soviet Russia to the Eastern Mediterranean, emphasizing Moscow’s intention to play the role of arbiter in Middle Eastern affairs. All this should also serve as a bridge to the restoration of ruined relations with the United States and Europe.

Turning the war into a “swamp”, as it was in Afghanistan, is the last thing Moscow wants. However, overseas have other plans in this regard.

The author notes that in a recent speech, the US Special Envoy for Syria openly boasted that his mission was to ensure that Russian troops ultimately leave the region.

Such provocative remarks and ridicule should be viewed with concern in Moscow, the author believes. On the one hand, Turkey and the United States have already blocked for Russia the chances of a military triumph in Syria, and on the other hand, Assad will definitely not agree to anything less than a complete victory.

Russian society will never agree with the Afghan scenario in Syria, and the whole point of military intervention in 2015 will sooner or later undergo a thorough analysis if the current impasse remains as it is.

However, the Russian economy came under pressure from the events that followed the pandemic of the coronavirus Covid-19, which led to a sharp drop in oil demand. As a result, revenues from oil exports fell significantly.

In fact, Russia continues to wait for constructive participation from the United States, but Washington is not interested in cooperating with Moscow. Russia is a “toxic entity,” the article says.

The US wants the Russian Federation to curtail military bases in Syria, since they consider the Russian presence in the Mediterranean unacceptable

- the Indian expert notes.

The sooner Moscow recognizes this geopolitical reality, the easier it will be for the “Westerners” from among the Russian elite to get rid of their illusions, Mr. Bhadrakumar believes.
  • Photos used: Ministry of Defense of the Russian Federation
Ad
The publication is looking for authors in the news and analytical departments. Requirements for applicants: literacy, responsibility, efficiency, inexhaustible creative energy, experience in copywriting or journalism, the ability to quickly analyze text and check facts, write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. The work is paid. Contact: [email protected]
14 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. Binder Offline Binder
    Binder (Miron) 16 May 2020 07: 16
    -3
    A true vision of the situation is demonstrated by this Indian diplomat with an unpronounceable surname.
    1. A.Lex Offline A.Lex
      A.Lex (Secret information) 16 May 2020 21: 17
      +1
      Miroon ... Well, I understand why this Indian writes such nonsense ... But why do you need this?
      This minister of "two masters" has at least two misconceptions about the presence of the Russian Federation in Syria:
      1. Disposal of bandos from the Russian Federation in the service of daish (banned in the Russian Federation) who came to "have fun".
      2. An opportunity to show the force to the same measurements (that was done very on time).
      To this one could add the desire of the leadership of the Russian Federation, just to arrange for the "city-on-a-hill" this very "Afghanistan" (which, in part, was done).
      And regarding "Afghanistan" for the Russian Federation ... we have ONLY two bases there, not more than forty (as in the DRA). That's enough for us to be PRESENT there ... just. I'm not talking about the MTR - they do not have permanent bases there.
      1. Binder Offline Binder
        Binder (Miron) 16 May 2020 21: 40
        -1
        You, mister good, have written complete nonsense, forgive the old man for his frankness.
        The main task of the Russian military in the former. Syria was set completely different - to prevent the construction of a thick gas pipe from the Gulf to the Mediterranean Sea so that Putin’s friends from Gazprom would not lose money from the appearance of a strong competitor in the European gas market. The situation today has changed dramatically and Russian godfathers would be happy to get out of the Syrian swamp, but this is a very complicated matter. They already don’t give a damn about Assad, and they don’t need bases, just a hassle, and the economic situation of the Russian Federation is getting worse every day.
        1. A.Lex Offline A.Lex
          A.Lex (Secret information) 16 May 2020 22: 13
          0
          ..... ndaaa .... how are you running ..... fool
        2. andrew42 Offline andrew42
          andrew42 (Andrei) 22 May 2020 13: 06
          +1
          No, I'm sorry, it's you, Bindyuzhnik, who are talking outright nonsense. We have nothing to poke around with the interests of the Russian oligarchy. There is no enthusiasm for them, this is true. But in addition to the new nobility, which has now dominated the power of Russia, there is also Russia itself, if not a state, then a country. I know what you are driving at, as in the 90s on Posner's TV shows - to change your snickering bar for overseas utilizers. Dudki! Nothing will come of it. We have already gone through this. And we'll figure it out ourselves with our bars, and Syria has nothing to do with it, and let the Western "democratizers" keep their distance altogether, otherwise they will rage, and not because of "love for Putin", but for Mother Russia.
  2. Valery Valeriev Offline Valery Valeriev
    Valery Valeriev (Valery Valeriev) 16 May 2020 10: 44
    +3
    Prophesying something about Russia has become the fun of stupid expert strategists.
    1. cmonman Online cmonman
      cmonman (Garik Mokin) 16 May 2020 19: 02
      -2
      Valery, but you have a “prophecy,” that is, a vision of how-permanently-Russia-there. If for a long time, then “Afghanistan”, and if you leave now, without changing the situation, then “why-climbed”. The author is right ...
      Can you share how to create a “happy-end” for Russia in Syria?
      1. A.Lex Offline A.Lex
        A.Lex (Secret information) 16 May 2020 21: 21
        +4
        ... American Garik, this is Syria for you like Afghanistan. We are there ... just present. You are like a virus on the planet - crap everywhere where you do not appear or where you are not present.
  3. 123 Online 123
    123 (123) 16 May 2020 12: 55
    +1
    Another date merchant.
    1. A.Lex Offline A.Lex
      A.Lex (Secret information) 16 May 2020 21: 23
      +2
      123 no. He just works for America - just look at his publications (wherever he works ... including in the Russian Federation).
  4. ric Offline ric
    ric (Vitali) 16 May 2020 17: 39
    +4
    This expert is better to study the Kama Sutra. Indians do it well.
  5. Observer2014 Offline Observer2014
    Observer2014 16 May 2020 20: 17
    -1
    Expert: Syria becomes “new Afghanistan” for Russia

    No. And there is nothing close. No subculture has arisen about this. "Coffins" if they fly home, they are compensated by money. And this is, perhaps, the main thing so that there is no unnecessary reason for conversation. The closest warriors there ... yes
    1. Bitter Offline Bitter
      Bitter (Gleb) 17 May 2020 19: 50
      +1
      "Coffins" if they fly home, they are compensated by money. And this is perhaps the main thing ...

      Brrr ..., that's all universal values, all in one phrase .. good
      Monument to the dead pilot put in Syria, why? Tomorrow the regime will change and again there will be resentment against some Turkoman or someone else. You have to carry yours with you. If you put your monuments somewhere, then this should be a clear sign for everyone - this is also ours, we are here forever. And do not scatter bros, as it has become fashionable in the last 30 years, blaming them at the same time for infidelity. sad
  6. The comment was deleted.
  7. andrew42 Offline andrew42
    andrew42 (Andrei) 22 May 2020 12: 55
    +2
    The Indian diplomat does not know a damn thing about the Afghan war waged by the Soviet contingent in the 80s. If I knew, I would not compare with today's Syria. Firstly, in the territories of Syria, protected and liberated from bandits and mercenaries, the population there is extremely friendly towards the Russian military. Nobody shoots in the back, unlike those Afghan villages. Secondly, if Gorbachev had not collapsed the Soviet Union and betrayed Najibullah (I put it simplistically), it is not known how the Soviet "Afghan mission" would have ended - they would have stood there much better than the current Americans in Iraq and Afghanistan, that's for sure. Thirdly, in Syria, the Russian military has an excellent opportunity to test new weapons and test the skills / techniques of modern warfare. Such a landfill is worth a lot. Plus a demonstration to the third world of an illustrative example of how national states can resist completely the rude world Jewocracy. Fourth, and most importantly, the arrival of Russia in Syria is a harsh pruning of one of the tentacles of the American Kaganate, which nullified the 20-year-old efforts of the "Atlantists" to create a single belt of aggressive fanatical pseudo-Islamic states on the American leash from Afghanistan to Tunisia. All the efforts of the American hegemonists, from the occupation of Iraq to the defeat of Libya, were all stopped by one single Russian arrival in Syria. This is a very painful blow. Indirectly, thanks to the stubbornness of Syria and Russia, the independent states of Iran, Egypt stand and will stand, and there Libya will eventually break out of the Western noose. I will not write about the economic interests of the parties - it will take a long time. And these are the consequences, not the primary cause. The main thing is that the American Kaganate has gotten a hand in Syria, Venezuela, Yemen, Libya does not work out, it did not work out in Afghanistan. When the parasite's tentacles are cut off, it begins to devour itself - the formula "money - war - money stroke" stops working. This is the point.

Эксперт: Сирия становится для России «новым Афганистаном»


Сирия все более похожа для России на то же самое «болото», которым для Советского Союза стал Афганистан, пишет бывший индийский дипломат М. К. Бхадракумар (M. K. Bhadrakumar) на портале Indian Punchline.


Автор статьи указывает на тот факт, что сирийский лидер Башар Асад отнюдь не является российским ставленником, и интересы двух стран не всегда совпадают. Президент САР одержим идеей восстановления суверенитета и территориальной целостности своей страны. Кремль же, напротив, преследует несколько целей одновременно, в том числе и не связанных непосредственно с ситуацией в этой арабской республике.

В частности демонстрация мощи означала возвращение постсоветской России в Восточное Средиземноморье, подчеркивая намерение Москвы играть роль арбитра в ближневосточных делах. Все это также должно было послужить мостом к восстановлению разрушенных отношений с Соединенными Штатами и Европой.

Превращение войны в «болото», как это было в Афганистане – последнее, чего хочет Москва. Однако за океаном имеют на этот счет другие планы.

Автор отмечает, что в недавнем выступлении специальный посланник США по Сирии открыто похвастался, что его миссия состоит в том, чтобы российские войска в конечном итоге ушли из региона.

Такие провокационные высказывания и насмешки должны с тревогой рассматриваться в Москве, полагает автор. С одной стороны, Турция и США уже заблокировали для России шансы на военный триумф в Сирии, а с другой стороны, Асад точно не согласится на что-либо меньшее, чем полная победа.

Российское общество никогда не согласится с афганским сценарием в Сирии, и весь смысл военного вмешательства в 2015 году рано или поздно подвергнется тщательному анализу, если нынешний тупик останется таким, как он есть.

Вместе с тем, и сама российская экономика оказалась под давлением из-за событий, последовавших за пандемией коронавируса Covid-19, которая привела к резкому падению спроса на нефть. Как следствие, значительно упали доходы от экспорта нефти.

По сути, Россия продолжает ждать конструктивного участия со стороны США, но Вашингтон не заинтересован в сотрудничестве с Москвой. Россия является «токсичным субъектом», говорится в статье.

США хотят, чтобы РФ свернула военные базы в Сирии, поскольку они считают русское присутствие в Средиземном море неприемлемым

– отмечает индийский эксперт.

Чем раньше Москва признает эту геополитическую реальность, тем легче буде «западникам» из числа российской элиты избавиться от своих иллюзий, считает г-н Бхадракумар.
Использованы фотографии: Минобороны РФ
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

14 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Биндюжник Офлайн
    Биндюжник (Мирон) 16 мая 2020 07:16
    -3
    • 5
    • 8
    Верное видение ситуации демонстрирует этот индийский дипломат с непроизносимой фамилией.
    1. A.Lex Офлайн
      A.Lex (Секретная информация) 16 мая 2020 21:17
      +1
      • 2
      • 1
      Мироон...Ну мне-то понятно, зачем данный индиец пишет подобную чушь...Но вам-то это зачем?
      У этого служителя "двух господ" МИНИМУМ два заблуждения по поводу присутствия РФ в Сирии:
      1. Утилизация бандосов из РФ на службе у даиш (запрещ. в РФ), приехавших "поразвлечься".
      2. Возможность показать свою силу тем же aмepaм (что было сделано очень вовремя).
      Сюда можно было бы добавить и желание руководства РФ, как раз, устроить для "града-на-холме" этот самый "Афганистан" (что, частично, и удалось сделать).
      А по поводу "Афганистана" для РФ...у нас там ВСЕГО две базы, а не более сорока (как в ДРА). Нам этого достаточно, чтобы ПРИСУТСТВОВАТЬ там...всего лишь. Про ССО я не говорю - у них нет там постоянных баз.
      1. Биндюжник Офлайн
        Биндюжник (Мирон) 16 мая 2020 21:40
        -1
        • 1
        • 2
        Вы, господин хороший, полную чушь написали, уж простите старика за откровенность.
        Основная задача российских военных в бывш. Сирии была поставлена совершенно иная - воспрепятствовать строительству толстой газовой трубы из Залива к Средиземному морю, чтобы друзья Путина из Газпрома не потеряли деньги от появления на европейском газовом рынке сильного конкурента. Ситуация нынче кардинально изменилась и российские паханы были бы рады вылезти из сирийского болота, однако это дело весьма сложное. Им уже и на Асада наплевать, и базы нафиг не нужны - одна морока, да и экономическое положение РФ ухудшается с каждым днем.
        1. A.Lex Офлайн
          A.Lex (Секретная информация) 16 мая 2020 22:13
          0
          • 1
          • 1
          .....ндааа....как у вас всё запущено..... fool
        2. andrew42 Офлайн
          andrew42 (Андрей) 22 мая 2020 13:06
          +1
          • 1
          • 0
          Нет уж, простите, это вы, Биндюжник, несете откровенную чушь. Нечего нам тыкать интересами российской олигархии. Восторгов от них нет, это верно. Но кроме нового барства, оседлавшего на сегодня власть России, есть еще сама Россия, если не государство, то страна. Я знаю, к чему вы клоните, как в 90-е на познеровских телешоу, - сменить своих зажравшихся бар на заокеанских утилизаторов. Дудки! Не выйдет у Вас ничего. Это мы уже проходили. А со своими барами сами разберемся, и Сирия тут ни при чем, а западные "демократизаторы" пусть вообще держатся подальше, а то огребут, и отнюдь не из-за "любви к Путину", а за Россию-матушку.
  2. Валерий Валериев (Валерий Валериев) 16 мая 2020 10:44
    +3
    • 5
    • 2
    Напророчить что-либо про Россию стало забавой неумных экспертов-стратегов.
    1. cmonman Офлайн
      cmonman (Гарик Мокин) 16 мая 2020 19:02
      -2
      • 1
      • 3
      Валерий, но ведь и у вас есть “пророчество”, т.е. видение на как-надолго-Россия-там. Если надолго, то “Афганистан”, а если выходить-сейчас, без изменения ситуации, то “зачем-влезли”. Автор прав...
      Можете поделиться, как создать “happy-end” для России в Сирии?
      1. A.Lex Офлайн
        A.Lex (Секретная информация) 16 мая 2020 21:21
        +4
        • 4
        • 0
        ...американец Гарик, это для вас Сирия как Афган. Мы же там ...просто присутствуем. Вы же как вирус на планете - гадите всюду, где не появитесь или где не присутствуете.
  3. 123 Офлайн
    123 (123) 16 мая 2020 12:55
    +1
    • 4
    • 3
    Еще один торговец финиками.
    1. A.Lex Офлайн
      A.Lex (Секретная информация) 16 мая 2020 21:23
      +2
      • 2
      • 0
      123, нет. Он просто работает на aмepoв - достаточно посмотреть на его публикации (где бы он ни работал...в том числе и в РФ).
  4. ric Офлайн
    ric (Виталий) 16 мая 2020 17:39
    +4
    • 4
    • 0
    Этот эксперт лучше пусть камасутру изучает. У индусов это хорошо получается.
  5. Наблюдатель2014 16 мая 2020 20:17
    -1
    • 0
    • 1
    Эксперт: Сирия становится для России «новым Афганистаном»

    no И близко ничего нет. Никакой субкультуры не возникло по этому поводу. "Гробы" если и летят домой, то компенсируются деньгами. А это, пожалуй, главное, чтобы не возникало лишнего повода для разговоров. У самого из близких там воев... yes
    1. Bitter Офлайн
      Bitter (Глеб) 17 мая 2020 19:50
      +1
      • 1
      • 0
      "Гробы" если и летят домой, то компенсируются деньгами. А это, пожалуй, главное...

      Бррр..., вот и все общечеловеческие ценности, всё в одной фразе.. good
      Памятник погибшему лётчику поставили в Сирии, зачем? Завтра режим сменится и снова будут обиды на каких-нибудь туркоманов или ещё кого. Своё надо носить/уносить с собой. Если ставить где-нибудь свои памятники, то это должно быть для всех чётким знаком - это тоже наше, мы тут навсегда. А не разбрасываться братушками, как это стало модно в последние лет 30, обвиняя их же при этом в неверности. sad
  6. Комментарий был удален.
  7. andrew42 Офлайн
    andrew42 (Андрей) 22 мая 2020 12:55
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Индийский дипломат ни черта не знает о той афганской войне, которую вел советский контингент в 80-х годах. Если бы знал, то не сравнивал бы с нынешней Сирией. Во-первых, на территориях Сирии, защищенных и освобожденных от бандитов и наемников, там население крайне доброжелательно относится к российским военным. В спину никто не стреляет, в отличие от тех афганских кишлаков. Во-вторых, если бы Горбачев не развалил Советский Союз и не предал Наджибуллу (упрощенно формулирую), неизвестно, чем бы закончилась советская "афганская миссия", - стояли бы там намного лучше, чем нынешние американцы в Ираке и Афгане, это уж точно. В-третьих, в Сирии российские военные имеют отличную возможность обкатки новых вооружений и проверки навыков/приемов ведения современной войны. Такой полигон дорогого стоит. Плюс демонстрация третьему миру наглядного примера, как можно национальным государствам противостоять вконец охамевшей мировой жидократии. В-четвертых, и это главное, приход России в Сирию, - это жесткая обрезка одного из щупалец Американского Каганата, что свело на нет 20-летние усилия "атлантистов" по созданию единого пояса агрессивных фанатичных псевдо-исламских государств на американском поводке от Афганистана до Туниса. Все усилия американских гегемонистов от оккупации Ирака до разгрома Ливии, - все это купировано одним единственным приходом России в Сирию. Это очень болезненный удар. Косвенно благодаря упорству Сирии и России, стоят и будут стоять независимые государства Ирана, Египта, а там и Ливия со временем вырвется из западной удавки. Про экономические интересы сторон писать не буду, - это долго. И это последствия, а не перво-причина. Главное, что Американский Каганат получил по ручонкам в Сирии, в Венесуэле, в Йемене, в Ливии не складывается, в Афгане не сложилось. Когда паразиту отсекают щупальца, он начинает жрать сам себя, - формула "деньги - война - деньги штрих" перестает работать. Вот в чем суть.