Why cobalt is important and why Russia is rapidly increasing its production


Russia has launched an isotope business development program that will increase the presence of our cobalt-60 producers from 15% to 30%. This is an important and timely decision, since the aforementioned isotope has become extremely popular all over the world.


Despite the efforts of science fiction writers who call cobalt-60 the stuffing for the “dirty cobalt bomb,” this isotope has found a very worthy application. For example, in a cobalt gun - a medical device that helps in the fight against malignant tumors, or in gamma knives used for radiosurgery of tumors in the brain.

But today, the demand for cobalt-60 has increased many times over. And the reason for this was the new type of coronavirus pandemic.

Now in our country all the free capacities are involved in the production of masks, gloves and protective suits. However, before all these products reach medical facilities, they must undergo thorough sterilization. The latter is carried out using special emitters and the aforementioned isotope. This mission was undertaken by Rosatom, which today has already disinfected 20 million masks and 300 thousand transport systems.

The radioactive nuclide of the chemical element of cobalt is extracted using special reactors located mainly in nuclear power plants. In Russia, the Kursk, Leningrad and Smolensk stations are involved in isotope production.

However, soon Beloyarsk NPP will join them, the reactor of which provides a large neutron flux and allows you to get isotopes faster. Thanks to her, we plan to double our share in the global market of radionuclides.

It is worth noting that the development of the isotope business means not only the production of cobalt-60, but also many other radioactive nuclides used in various industries. At the same time, our country has enough experience to crowd out competitors in this market.

  • Photos used: https://www.piqsels.com/
4 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. AICO Offline AICO
    AICO (Vyacheslav) 19 May 2020 20: 16
    0
    In "Poseidon" add a cobalt shell - "frying" will be what you need, for two hundred years the grass will not grow !!!
  2. Dmitry S. Offline Dmitry S.
    Dmitry S. (Dmitry Sanin) 20 May 2020 12: 47
    0
    Quote: AICO
    In "Poseidon" add a cobalt shell - "frying" will be what you need, for two hundred years the grass will not grow !!!

    The most unpleasant thing is the ocean currents and the water cycle in nature. All this cobalt shell will spread evenly over the entire globe ... Have you ever thought about the concept of "purity of a nuclear explosion"? Why do they strive to make the stuffing of atomic bombs so that the decay products are short-lived isotopes? Think before proposing such radical solutions.
    1. AICO Offline AICO
      AICO (Vyacheslav) 20 May 2020 22: 11
      +2
      The proposal, in fact, is not mine, but academician Sakharov. And the fact that it’s time to put them in a stall for a long time, even by such radical methods is a fact, the banks have long been lost, only there is nobody to put, since there are no tights !!!
  3. GRF Offline GRF
    GRF 21 May 2020 06: 57
    0
    Great achievements.

    To the delight of people and enemies in spite.

    We go further ...

Чем важен кобальт и почему Россия стремительно наращивает его производство


Россия запустила программу развития изотопного бизнеса, которая позволит увеличить присутствие наших производителей кобальт-60 с 15% до 30%. Это важное и своевременное решение, так как вышеупомянутый изотоп стал крайне востребованным во всем мире.


Несмотря на старания писателей-фантастов, которые называют кобальт-60 начинкой для «грязной кобальтовой бомбы», данный изотоп нашел себе весьма достойное применение. Например, в кобальтовой пушке – медицинской установке, которая помогает в борьбе со злокачественными опухолями, или в гамма-ножах, используемых для радиохирургии опухолей в головном мозге.

Но сегодня востребованность в кобальте-60 возросла многократно. И причиной тому стала пандемия коронавируса нового типа.

Сейчас в нашей стране под производство масок, перчаток и защитных костюмов задействованы все свободные мощности. Однако прежде, чем вся эта продукция попадет в медучреждения, она должна пройти тщательную стерилизацию. Последняя как раз и проводится с помощью специальных излучателей и вышеупомянутого изотопа. Данную миссию взял на себя «Росатом», который на сегодняшний день уже обеззаразил 20 млн масок и 300 тыс. транспортных систем.

Радиоактивный нуклид химического элемента кобальта добывается с помощью специальных реакторов, расположенных преимущественно в составе АЭС. В России производством изотопа занимаются Курская, Ленинградская и Смоленская станции.

Однако в скором времени к ним присоединится Белоярская АЭС, реактор которой обеспечивает большой нейтронный поток и позволяет получать изотопы быстрее. Именно благодаря ей мы и планируем увеличить нашу долю на мировом рынке радионуклидов вдвое.

Стоит отметить, что под развитием изотопного бизнеса подразумевается не только производство кобальта-60, но и многих других радиоактивных нуклидов, используемых в самых разных отраслях. При этом наша страна имеет достаточно опыта, чтобы потеснить конкурентов на данном рынке.

Использованы фотографии: https://www.piqsels.com/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

4 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. AICO Офлайн
    AICO (Вячеслав) 19 мая 2020 20:16
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    В "Посейдон" добавить кобальтовую оболочку - "поджарка" будет что надо, лет двести трава расти не будет!!!
  2. Дмитрий С. Офлайн
    Дмитрий С. (Дмитрий Санин) 20 мая 2020 12:47
    0
    • 2
    • 2
    Цитата: AICO
    В "Посейдон" добавить кобальтовую оболочку - "поджарка" будет что надо, лет двести трава расти не будет!!!

    Самое неприятное - океанские течения и круговорот воды в природе. Вся эта кобальтовая оболочка равномерно распространится по всему земному шару... Никогда не задумывались о понятии "чистота ядерного взрыва"? Почему стремятся делать начинку атомных бомб так, чтобы продуктами распада были короткоживущие изотопы? Подумайте, прежде чем предлагать столь радикальные решения.
    1. AICO Офлайн
      AICO (Вячеслав) 20 мая 2020 22:11
      +2
      • 2
      • 0
      Предложение, вообще-то, не моё, а академика Сахарова. А то, что их в стойло давно пора поставить, даже такими радикальными методами - факт, берега давно потеряли, только ставить некому, ко-ко нет в трико!!!
  3. GRF Офлайн
    GRF 21 мая 2020 06:57
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Отличные достижения.

    На радость людям и врагам назло.

    Едем дальше...