The hunt for the "dark tankers": the US is preparing for the oil blockade of Venezuela


Having failed a vague attempt at a coup d'état in Venezuela, the Americans are now taking seriously to Caracas, trying to drive out the remains economic base. Apparently, President Donald Trump sent a navy to the Caribbean not so much to fight drug trafficking as to catch "dark tankers" smuggling Venezuelan oil.


The other day, the Foreign Ministry of this Latin American country issued a statement that the United States began to "pursue" its tankers.

The affairs of Venezuela, which has the richest oil reserves in the world, are, to put it mildly, not in the best way. A country whose 90% export consists of hydrocarbon sales was hit by US sanctions that closed the US market to it. Then it was hit by the oil war between Saudi Arabia and Russia, as well as a general drop in global demand due to the pandemic and global quarantine. The storages are full to get rid of oil, Caracas is forced to sell it at a price lower than $ 5 per barrel to the few that they are ready to take it, despite the risk of secondary sanctions by the United States.

If you call a spade a spade, this is a real economic disaster. Somehow, keeping the regime of President Nicolas Maduro afloat is helped by deliveries abroad according to “gray schemes”. The United States names China, India, and even Russia as buyers of Venezuelan oil. However, Rosneft chose to “take its feet” out of Venezuela, dumping its assets in this country to a company owned by the Russian government.

These schemes involve the so-called "dark tankers" (dark tankers). These are vessels owned by small companies, sailing under a convenient flag, for example, Liberian, with the Automatic Identification System (AIS) disabled. Approaching the Caribbean, such a tanker turns off the AIS and "disappears", lost among others. When he reached Venezuela and was filled with oil, he left and only after that turned on the system again.

A logical question arises: are such precautions capable of tricking the United States? technological Opportunities allow them and their allies to track even such “dark tankers” that they have shown when hunting for ships smuggling Iraqi oil around the turn of the century. Apparently, now in Washington they decided to stop turning a blind eye to this "dark business", covering the last loophole for Caracas.

At the first stage, a blacklist of ships violating US sanctions will be compiled. The next step will be an exemplary capture: a warship will require the tanker captain to stop moving, and then a special forces group will be lowered from his helicopter to the deck. Washington has already sent its fleet to the shores of Venezuela, it seems, precisely for the implementation of such a sea blockade.
Photos Used: US Navy
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

11 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. 123 Offline
    123 (123) 19 May 2020 11: 54
    0
    • 4
    • 4
    At the first stage, a blacklist of ships violating US sanctions will be compiled. The next step will be an exemplary capture: a warship will require the tanker captain to stop moving, and then a special forces group will be lowered from his helicopter to the deck.

    We will be watching with interest the development of events, some islanders have already tried to engage in such pirate fishing. Enthusiasm quickly passed. But some people don’t understand the first time, they think their untouchables are tankers or missiles flying to their military bases are not stored in memory?

    1. Arkharov Offline
      Arkharov (Grigory Arkharov) 19 May 2020 17: 27
      -7
      • 0
      • 7
      Typical pirate capture, pure Somalia, only with a helicopter. It’s a pity, not even a single corvette was nearby, a couple of minutes would be enough to splash these freaks and send them to the bottom together with their motorboats.
  2. Dear sofa expert. 19 May 2020 13: 06
    0
    • 2
    • 2
    ... The next step will be a model capture ..

    And what will they do with the captured cargo? Noble return back to Venezuela? Or, like bandits, will share all these looted "democratic values" between members of the gang?
  3. Rostislav Offline
    Rostislav (Rostislav) 19 May 2020 15: 39
    +3
    • 5
    • 2
    And on what basis will a military ship stop and search vehicles in neutral waters? Penguins began to trade in privateer certificates?
    Absolutely “exclusive” shores are lost.
  4. Bulanov Offline
    Bulanov (Vladimir) 19 May 2020 16: 58
    +3
    • 5
    • 2
    ... a warship will require the captain of the tanker to stop moving, and then a special forces group will be lowered from the helicopter to his deck.

    Only here other scenarios may appear:
    1) A group of special forces can be fired from machine guns by specially taken guards.
    2) A submarine accompanying the tanker may be located under the tanker.
    3) In the event of a capture, the captain or team may undermine or set fire to the tanker and blame the Americans who landed on the tanker for this. I think that this special forces did not sign the fire on a tanker.
    4) Maybe, in general, everything is completely uncontrollable.
    1. Arkharov Offline
      Arkharov (Grigory Arkharov) 19 May 2020 17: 31
      -5
      • 0
      • 5
      Cool, of course, especially with the boat. Whose tank will she be interested in and each tanker will be escorted to her destination in a similar way? The epic will be out of stupidity, fantasticness and the cost of the epic.
      1. Bulanov Offline
        Bulanov (Vladimir) 19 May 2020 17: 43
        +4
        • 5
        • 1
        For Arkharov: Have you ever fished for fishing? If yes, then you know that it does not always bite, even when you lavishly lay the bait generously. In addition, these are good submarine exercises. And whose she is - it does not matter if she goes unnoticed. And what will the commandos do if she emerges?
        And for the shooting of special forces from machine guns and the tanker undermining the captain, in case of capture, you have no objections, as I understand it?
        1. Arkharov Offline
          Arkharov (Grigory Arkharov) 19 May 2020 19: 19
          -3
          • 0
          • 3
          Great ideas, I liked everything, even about the submarine, World War 3, etc. I would have thrown you with 10 similar ones. Just a little crazy.
          1. Bulanov Offline
            Bulanov (Vladimir) 19 May 2020 21: 55
            0
            • 1
            • 1
            With the mad not for me ...
            1. Arkharov Offline
              Arkharov (Grigory Arkharov) 20 May 2020 16: 46
              -1
              • 0
              • 1
              And who is the author of that wonderful “set” of the most base Hollywood scripts?
  5. It is necessary to drown amers, definitely!

Охота за «темными танкерами»: США готовятся к нефтяной блокаде Венесуэлы


Провалив невнятную попытку государственного переворота в Венесуэле, американцы теперь взялись за Каракас всерьез, стремясь выбить из-под него остатки экономической базы. Судя по всему, президент Дональд Трамп отправил военный флот в Карибское море не столько для борьбы с наркотрафиком, сколько для отлова «темных танкеров», контрабандой вывозящих венесуэльскую нефть.


На днях МИД этой латиноамериканской страны распространил заявление о том, что Соединенные Штаты начали «преследовать» ее танкеры.

Дела Венесуэлы, обладающей богатейшими запасами нефти в мире, идут, мягко говоря, не самым лучшим образом. Страна, чей экспорт на 90% состоит из продаж углеводородного сырья, пострадала от американских санкций, которые закрыли для нее рынок США. Затем по ней ударила нефтяная война между Саудовской Аравией и Россией, а также общее падение мирового спроса из-за пандемии и глобального «карантина». Хранилища переполнены, чтобы избавиться от нефти, Каракас вынужден продавать ее по цене ниже 5 долларов за баррель тем немногим, что готовы ее брать, несмотря на риск вторичных санкций со стороны США.

Если называть вещи своими именами, это настоящая экономическая катастрофа. Еще как-то поддерживать на плаву режиму президента Николаса Мадуро помогают поставки за рубеж по «серым схемам». В качестве покупателей венесуэльской нефти Соединенные Штаты называют Китай, Индию и даже Россию. Впрочем, «Роснефть» предпочла «унести ноги» из Венесуэлы, сбросив свои активы в этой стране на компанию, принадлежащую правительству РФ.

В данных схемах задействованы так называемые «темные» танкеры» (dark tankers). Это суда, принадлежащие небольшим компаниям, идущие под удобным флагом, например, либерийским, с отключенной Автоматической идентификационной системой (АИС). Подойдя к Карибскому бассейну, такой танкер выключает АИС и «исчезает», затерявшись среди других. Дойдя до Венесуэлы и залившись нефтью, он отходит и только после этого вновь включает систему.

Возникает закономерный вопрос, способны ли такие меры предосторожности обмануть США? Технологические возможности позволяют им и их союзникам отслеживать даже такие «темные танкеры», что они продемонстрировали, охотясь за судами, вывозящими контрабандой иракскую нефть на рубеже века. Судя по всему, теперь в Вашингтоне решили перестать закрывать глаза на этот «темный бизнес», прикрыв Каракасу последнюю лазейку.

На первом этапе будет составлен черный список из судов, нарушающих американские санкции. Следующим шагом будет образцово-показательный захват: военный корабль потребует от капитана танкера прекратить движение, а после на его палубу с вертолета будет спущена группа спецназа. Вашингтон уже направил к берегам Венесуэлы свой флот, похоже, именно для осуществления такой морской блокады.
Использованы фотографии: U.S. Navy
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

11 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. 123 Офлайн
    123 (123) 19 мая 2020 11:54
    0
    • 4
    • 4
    На первом этапе будет составлен черный список из судов, нарушающих американские санкции. Следующим шагом будет образцово-показательный захват: военный корабль потребует от капитана танкера прекратить движение, а после на его палубу с вертолета будет спущена группа спецназа.

    Будем с интересом следить за развитием событий, некоторые островитяне уже пробовали подобным пиратским промыслом заниматься. Энтузиазм быстро прошел. Но некоторые с первого раза не понимают, думают, их танкеры неприкасаемые или ракеты, летящие на их военные базы, в памяти не откладываются?

    1. Архаров Офлайн
      Архаров (Григорий Архаров) 19 мая 2020 17:27
      -7
      • 0
      • 7
      Типичный пиратский захват, чистое Сомали, только с вертолетом. Жалко, ни одного хотя бы корвета поблизости не было, пары минут хватило бы приводнить этих уродов и вместе с их моторками отправить на дно.
  2. ...Следующим шагом будет образцово-показательный захват..

    А что будут делать с захваченным грузом? Благородно возвращать назад в Венесуэлу? Или, как бандиты, поделят все эти награбленные «демократические ценности» между членами шайки?
  3. Ростислав Офлайн
    Ростислав (Ростислав) 19 мая 2020 15:39
    +3
    • 5
    • 2
    И на каком это основании в нейтральных водах военный корабль будет транспорт останавливать и досматривать? Пингвины каперскими свидетельствами торговать начали?
    Совсем "исключительные" берега потеряли.
  4. Буланов Офлайн
    Буланов (Владимир) 19 мая 2020 16:58
    +3
    • 5
    • 2
    ...военный корабль потребует от капитана танкера прекратить движение, а после на его палубу с вертолета будет спущена группа спецназа.

    Только здесь могут появиться и другие сценарии:
    1) Группу спецназа может обстрелять из пулеметов специально взятая охрана.
    2) Под танкером может находиться подводная лодка, сопровождающая танкер.
    3) В случае захвата, капитан или команда может подорвать или поджечь танкер и обвинить в этом американцев, высадившихся на танкер. Думаю, что этот спецназ тушить пожар на танкере не подписывался.
    4) Может, вообще пойти всё совершенно неуправляемо.
    1. Архаров Офлайн
      Архаров (Григорий Архаров) 19 мая 2020 17:31
      -5
      • 0
      • 5
      Круто, конечно, особенно с лодкой. Чья она, интересно, будет и каждый танкер будет подобным образом сопровождаться к месту назначения? Эпическая будет по глупости, фантастичности и стоимости эпопея.
      1. Буланов Офлайн
        Буланов (Владимир) 19 мая 2020 17:43
        +4
        • 5
        • 1
        Для Архаров: Вы рыбу на удочку ловили когда-нибудь? Если да, то знаете, что не всегда клюет, даже когда приманку щедро закладываешь. Кроме того, это неплохие учения для подлодки. А чья она - неважно, если останется незамеченной. И что будут делать спецназовцы, если она вынырнет?
        А по расстрелу спецназа из пулеметов и подрыва танкера капитаном, в случае его захвата, у Вас возражений нет, как я понимаю?
        1. Архаров Офлайн
          Архаров (Григорий Архаров) 19 мая 2020 19:19
          -3
          • 0
          • 3
          Идеи замечательные, все понравились, даже про подлодку, 3-ю мировую войну и т.д. Я бы вам еще с 10-к аналогичных подкинул. Только немного безумные.
          1. Буланов Офлайн
            Буланов (Владимир) 19 мая 2020 21:55
            0
            • 1
            • 1
            С безумными не ко мне...
            1. Архаров Офлайн
              Архаров (Григорий Архаров) 20 мая 2020 16:46
              -1
              • 0
              • 1
              А кто же автор того вышерасположенного замечательного "набора" из самых низкопробных голливудских сценариев?
  5. Топить надо амеров, однозначно!