Break NATO in a week: the US remembers the secret plan of the Soviet Army


During the Cold War, the Soviet Army had a terrifying plan - to defeat NATO in a week, writes The National Interest, an American magazine.


There was a lot of discussion about how NATO could defeat the USSR and its allies under the Warsaw Pact in World War III, which, fortunately, did not take place. But in order for the North Atlantic Alliance not to be defeated, it was necessary to fulfill four main tasks: to gain air superiority and maintain it, to maintain the accessibility of sea routes to North America, to preserve the territorial integrity of Germany and to prevent the use of nuclear weapons. The failure of any of them meant that NATO most likely would not be able to win the war.

According to the Soviet secret plan, the use of nuclear weapons was a key element in crushing NATO for seven days and ensuring the victory of the USSR / Warsaw block. The possible scenario was part of a top-secret military simulation exercise that was developed in 1979 to determine how quickly the US-led Alliance can be defeated. Nuclear bombing along with a quick invasion were identified as decisive for any offensive.

Secret Soviet documents were published by the Polish government in 2005. This was done in order to "draw a line under the communist past of the country" and "enlighten the Polish public about the old regime."

The plan was known as the “seven days before the Rhine River” and was formulated even when US President Jimmy Carter and Soviet leader Leonid Brezhnev discussed the issue of easing tensions. According to the plan, a significant part of Europe would be devastated. The cities of Germany, Belgium, the Netherlands, Denmark and Italy would be subjected to nuclear bombing. In response, NATO might have destroyed Prague and Warsaw.

The plan did not provide for an invasion of France, since at that time it was not a member of NATO. The bulk of the land war would fall on German territory. The purpose of this plan was to reach the Rhine as soon as possible. However, not all countries of the Warsaw Pact agreed to this. The Czechoslovak military considered him too optimistic, because France’s possible use of nuclear weapons and a number of other factors that could slow down the Soviet offensive were not taken into account.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

4 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Valentine Offline
    Valentine (Valentin) 19 May 2020 16: 38
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    How much humanity exists on planet Earth, so much it plays war games, first with batons, and now with nuclear weapons.
  2. Bulanov Offline
    Bulanov (Vladimir) 19 May 2020 17: 02
    +3
    • 3
    • 0
    It is time for France to leave NATO again, before it’s too late. The second time Russia may not take them as winners.
  3. 123 Offline
    123 (123) 19 May 2020 17: 13
    +3
    • 3
    • 0
    In response, NATO might have destroyed Prague and Warsaw.

    Was their reputation so bad already? How many years have passed, but nothing has changed, people are still looking for problems. Karma?
  4. Dear sofa expert. 20 May 2020 22: 48
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    ... Secret Soviet documents were published by the Polish government in 2005 ..

    In my opinion, this could have been stopped.

Разбить НАТО за неделю: в США вспомнили о секретном плане Советской Армии


Во время «холодной войны» у Советской Армии был ужасающий план – разбить НАТО за неделю, пишет американский журнал The National Interest.


Было много дискуссий о том, как НАТО могло бы победить СССР и его союзников по Варшавскому договору в Третьей мировой войне, которая, к счастью, так и не состоялась. Но чтобы Североатлантический альянс не был разбит, нужно было выполнить четыре основные задачи: завоевать превосходство в воздухе и поддерживать его, сохранить доступность морских путей сообщения с Северной Америкой, сохранить территориальную целостность ФРГ и не допустить применения ядерного оружия. Провал любой из них означал, что НАТО, скорее всего, не удастся выиграть войну.

Согласно секретному советскому плану, применение ядерного оружия было ключевым элементом для сокрушения НАТО в течение семи дней и обеспечения победы СССР/Варшавского блока. Возможный сценарий был частью сверхсекретных военных имитационных учений, которые были разработаны в 1979 году, чтобы определить, насколько быстро можно победить Альянс во главе с США. Ядерные бомбардировки наряду с быстрым вторжением были определены как решающие для любого наступления.

Секретные советские документы были опубликованы польским правительством в 2005 году. Это было сделано для того, чтобы «подвести черту под коммунистическим прошлым страны» и «просветить польскую общественность о старом режиме».

План был известен как «семь дней до реки Рейн» и был сформулирован еще тогда, когда президент США Джимми Картер и лидер СССР Леонид Брежнев обсуждали вопрос о разрядке напряженности. Согласно плану, значительная часть Европы была бы опустошена. Ядерной бомбардировке подверглись бы города Германии, Бельгии, Нидерландов, Дании и Италии. В ответ НАТО, возможно, уничтожило бы Прагу и Варшаву.

План не предусматривал вторжение во Францию, поскольку на тот момент она не входила в НАТО. Основная часть наземной войны пришлась бы на территорию Германии. Цель этого плана была в том, чтобы достичь Рейна в кратчайшие сроки. Однако не все страны Варшавского договора были согласны с этим. Чехословацкие военные считали его слишком оптимистичным, ведь не учитывалось возможное применение ядерного оружия Францией и ряд других факторов, которые могли замедлить советское наступление.
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

4 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Валентин Офлайн
    Валентин (Валентин) 19 мая 2020 16:38
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Сколько человечество существует на планете Земля, столько оно и играет в войнушки, сначала дубинками, а теперь и ядерным оружием.
  2. Буланов Офлайн
    Буланов (Владимир) 19 мая 2020 17:02
    +3
    • 3
    • 0
    Пора Франции снова выходить из НАТО, пока еще не поздно. Второй раз их Россия может и не взять в победители.
  3. 123 Офлайн
    123 (123) 19 мая 2020 17:13
    +3
    • 3
    • 0
    В ответ НАТО, возможно, уничтожило бы Прагу и Варшаву.

    У них уже тогда репутация была настолько плохой? Сколько лет прошло, а ничего не меняется, люди по-прежнему себе проблемы ищут. Карма?
  4. ...Секретные советские документы были опубликованы польским правительством в 2005 году..

    По-моему, на этом можно было бы и остановиться.