The Telegraph: Why Dagestan experienced an unprecedented outbreak of COVID-19


Coronavirus has become a real disaster in one of the most densely populated regions of Russia, forcing President Vladimir Putin to promise unprecedented assistance to the inhabitants of Dagestan. Correspondents of The Telegraph are trying to understand why a new virus claimed the lives of several hundred people in this region of the North Caucasus.


Putin admitted that the outbreak in Dagestan is so terrible that "emergency response" measures are needed. He promised to supply medical supplies and help from the military. On Tuesday, when emergency responders went to Dagestan, Russian Prime Minister Mikhail Mishustin was discharged from the hospital. He spent three weeks there fighting the coronavirus.

According to The Telegraph, Dagestan, a region with a population of three million people, turned out to be ideal soil for the spread of the epidemic. Health care is one of the most underfunded in the Russian Federation. Many health workers die due to lack of personal protective equipment. People usually live in large cohesive communities, which implies close communication. With the end of Ramadan approaching on Saturday, doctors fear new outbreaks of coronavirus in this Muslim region.

According to health officials, in Dagestan there are only 1500 tests for detecting COVID-19 per day, which barely cover the need for testing of health workers. In Moscow, with a population of four times more, more than 40000 are made daily.
Photos used: https://www.pexels.com/
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

2 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. gorenina91 Offline
    gorenina91 (Irina) 20 May 2020 13: 23
    -2
    • 1
    • 3
    The Telegraph: Why Dagestan experienced an unprecedented outbreak of COVID-19

    - Personally, I do not believe in any special and "unprecedented outbreak of COVID-19" in Dagestan ... - Most likely - there, as in all Russian regions, the situation is no more and no less ... - Simply, as always, this region is trying to drag the blanket over itself and achieve even greater preferences and subsidies ...
  2. GRF Offline
    GRF 20 May 2020 13: 26
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Why in Britain with amazing medicine from 250138 during these months only 1099 recovered?

    Why does the telegraph not write about the measures taken?
    I could advise! Although your advice (looking at your situation) would be terrible. But we would know that it’s definitely not worth doing ...

    Why, why - because a pandemic, perhaps the telegraph is not in the know ...

The Telegraph: Почему в Дагестане случилась беспрецедентная вспышка COVID-19


Коронавирус стал настоящей катастрофой в одном из самых густонаселенных регионов России, заставив президента Владимира Путина обещать беспрецедентную помощь жителям Дагестана. Корреспонденты издания The Telegraph пытаются понять, почему в этом районе Северного Кавказа новый вирус унес жизни нескольких сотен человек.


Путин признал, что вспышка в Дагестане настолько ужасна, что необходимы меры «экстренного реагирования». Он пообещал поставку медицинских средств и помощь от военных. Во вторник, когда сотрудники аварийно-спасательных служб отправлялись в Дагестан, премьер-министр России Михаил Мишустин был выписан из больницы. Он провел там три недели, борясь с коронавирусом.

По мнению The Telegraph, Дагестан, регион с населением в три миллиона человек, оказался идеальной почвой для распространения эпидемии. Здравоохранение здесь является одним из самых недофинансируемых в РФ. Многие медицинские работники гибнут из-за отсутствия средств индивидуальной защиты. Люди обычно живут большими сплоченными общинами, что предполагает тесное общение. С приближением конца Рамадана в субботу медики опасаются новых вспышек коронавируса в этом мусульманском регионе.

По словам представителей здравоохранения, в Дагестане проводится всего 1500 тестов на выявление COVID-19 в день, которые едва покрывают необходимость тестирования работников здравоохранения. В Москве с населением в четыре раза больше делают более 40000 ежедневно.
Использованы фотографии: https://www.pexels.com/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

2 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. gorenina91 Онлайн
    gorenina91 (Ирина) 20 мая 2020 13:23
    -2
    • 1
    • 3
    The Telegraph: Почему в Дагестане случилась беспрецедентная вспышка COVID-19

    - Лично Я не верю в какую-то особую и "беспрецедентную вспышку COVID-19" в Дагестане... - Скорее всего - там так же, как и во всех российских регионах, дело обстоит - ни больше и не меньше... - Просто, как всегда - этот регион пытается перетянуть одеяло на себя и добиться ещё больших преференций и субсидий...
  2. GRF Офлайн
    GRF 20 мая 2020 13:26
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Почему в Британии с изумительной медициной из 250138 за эти месяцы выздоровело только 1099?

    Почему телеграф не пишет про принимаемые меры?
    Мог бы и посоветовать! Хотя ваши советы (глядя на вашу ситуацию) были бы ужасны. Но мы бы знали, что делать точно не стоит...

    Почему, почему - потому что пандемия, возможно телеграф не в курсе...