Opening the “Gas Corridor” to Europe, Baku set up the US bandwagon

Yesterday, May 29, 2018, a significant event took place. The so-called “Southern Gas Corridor” to Europe was inaugurated in the capital of Azerbaijan, Baku. Will the former Soviet republic compete with Gazprom on the European gas market?




The main goal of the Southern Gas Corridor is to reduce Russia's share in the blue fuel market and at the same time eliminate dependence on Nezalezhnaya as a transit country for Russian gas. The total length of the gas corridor could be 3500 kilometers due to the connection of the South Caucasus gas pipeline with the TANAP transit pipeline in Turkey and the TAP gas pipeline in Southern Europe. The Azerbaijani Shah Deniz gas field will be used as a resource base. The largest consumers will be Greece and Italy, later branches of the gas pipeline to neighboring Balkan countries can be created. The Southern Gas Corridor, together with the Turkish Stream, is turning Turkey into a major regional gas hub.

But is everything really smooth? Indeed, natural gas supplied from the former Soviet republic, in contrast to the expensive American liquefied gas, is in price a real competitor to Gazprom. Bulgaria and Greece will be able to get about a billion cubic meters of Azerbaijani fuel. The main sales market for Baku will still be more developed economics Italy and Greece.

Most likely, Azerbaijani gas will enter into competition not with Russian, but with American LNG. And here Baku will turn from an anti-Russian ally for Washington into a competitor with all the ensuing consequences. Gazprom’s main struggle with Azerbaijan will unfold over the Italian market. Considering the fact that electricity generation at the expense of coal-fired power plants is being curtailed in this country, the demand for “blue fuel” will increase, and gas from the Southern Corridor will simply close the increased demand.



There are also serious questions for Baku as a supplier, which has concluded extremely tough export agreements. Regardless of any circumstances, Azerbaijan has signed up to supply 16 billion cubic meters of gas. At the same time, the republic faced problems in developing the national resource base. It turns out an interesting situation: Baku drives its own gas to Europe, and since 2017 it has started buying gas from the Russian Federation for domestic consumption.

As a result of the current situation, in reality, Azerbaijan will be able to throw only about 10 billion cubic meters into the European market, and then from 2020. For comparison, Russia exported 160 billion cubic meters to the European Union and volumes are growing. Interestingly, according to the European Third Energy Package, Russia will also have the right to use the Southern Gas Corridor to 50% of its capacity. Investments by project participants, among which was not our country, are estimated at about $ 45 billion.
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.

Открыв «Газовый коридор» в Европу, Баку подставил подножку США

Вчера, 29 мая 2018 года, произошло знаменательное событие. В столице Азербайджана Баку был торжественно открыт так называемый «Южный газовый коридор» в Европу. Сможет ли бывшая советская республика составить реальную конкуренцию «Газпрому» на европейском газовом рынке?



Основная цель Южного газового коридора – сокращение доли России на рынке «голубого топлива» и одновременно ликвидация зависимости от Незалежной как транзитера российского газа. Общая протяженность газового коридора может составить 3500 километров за счет соединения Южнокавказского газопровода с транзитным трубопроводом TANAP в Турции и газопроводом TAP в Южной Европе. В качестве ресурсной базы будет использоваться азербайджанское месторождение газа Шах-Дениз. Крупнейшими потребителями будут Греция и Италия, в дальнейшем могут быть созданы ответвления газопровода в соседние балканские страны. «Южный газовый коридор» совместно с «Турецким потоком» превращает Турцию в крупный региональный газовый хаб.



Но так ли все гладко на самом деле? Действительно, поставляемый из бывшей советской республики природный газ, в отличие от дорогого американского сжиженного, по цене составляет реальную конкуренцию газпромовскому. Болгария и Греция смогут получить порядка миллиарда кубометров азербайджанского топлива. Основным рынком сбыта для Баку будут все же более развитые экономики Италии и Греции.

Вероятнее всего, азербайджанский газ вступит в конкуренцию не с российским, а с американским СПГ. И тут Баку из антироссийского союзника превратится для Вашингтона в конкурента со всеми вытекающими для него последствиями. Основная борьба «Газпрома» с Азербайджаном развернется за итальянский рынок. В учетом того, что в этой стране происходит сворачивание генерации электроэнергии за счет угольных электростанций, спрос на «голубое топливо» вырастет, и газ из «Южного коридора» просто закроет увеличившийся спрос.



Также есть серьезные вопросы к Баку как поставщику, который заключил крайне жесткие экспортные договоры. Независимо ни от каких обстоятельств, Азербайджан подписался поставить 16 миллиардов кубометров газа. При этом республика столкнулась с проблемами в освоении национальной ресурсной базы. Получается интересная ситуация: Баку гонит в Европу собственный газ, а для внутреннего потребления с 2017 года вновь начал покупать газ из Российской Федерации.

Как следствие сложившейся ситуации, реально на европейский рынок Азербайджан сможет выбросить лишь порядка 10 миллиардов кубометров, и то с 2020 года. Для сравнения, Россия экспортировала в Европейский союз 160 миллиардов кубов и объемы растут. Интересно, что согласно европейскому Третьему энергопакету, Россия также будет вправе использовать «Южный газовый коридор» на 50% его мощности. Инвестиции участников проекта, среди которых не было нашей страны, оцениваются в порядка 45 миллиардов долларов.
Автор: Сергей Маржецкий
Использованы фотографии: https://report.az/

Мнение редакции может не совпадать с точкой зрения автора публикации

Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Ctrl Enter
Читайте также
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти