The sad fate of the Turkish Stream: the gas pipeline remains almost empty


Turkey has replaced Russian pipeline gas with LNG, which is why the Turkish Stream project, worth $ 7 billion, has a sad fate, writes the Bulgarian edition of Mediapool.


Ankara prefers to import LNG, which is now cheaper than Gazprom. This is happening against the backdrop of the economic crisis and the cooling of relations between Turkey and Russia due to conflicts with the Russian military in Syria and the actions of Wagner mercenaries in Libya.

Deliveries by Russian Gazprom to the Turkish state-owned gas pipeline operator BOTAS and private companies in March 2020 fell to 210 million cubic meters. m, that is, they fell 7 times compared with the same period in 2019, and compared with March 2018 - 14 times. In March 2019, Gazprom supplied 1,418 billion cubic meters. m, and in the first quarter of 2018 - 8,8 billion cubic meters. m or 2,93 billion cubic meters. m per month. This is evidenced by the data of the Federal Customs Service of Russia.

Turkey recently ranked second among Gazprom’s largest customers, but now it has moved to the top ten countries and buys gas in almost the same volume as Armenia (193 million cubic meters per month) and even less than Lithuania (272 million cubic meters). m). In 2019, Ankara increased LNG imports by 13% to 9,1 million tons. The largest suppliers were Algeria (4,3 million tons), Qatar (1,8 million tons), Nigeria (1.8 million tons) and the United States (0,8, XNUMX million tons).

At the end of 2019, pipeline gas supplies from Russia to Turkey fell by 35% to 15 billion cubic meters. m, which is the worst indicator for a decade. As a result, the Blue Stream and Turkish Stream gas pipelines remain virtually empty.

The trend towards an increase in the share of LNG in Turkey continues in 2020. For the first quarter of this year, LNG accounts for 44% of all deliveries, of which almost 40% is LNG from the United States (1,2 million tons).

The contract for the supply of Russian gas to Turkey between BOTAS and Gazprom expires in 2021, and Ankara plans to get a discount from Moscow. So the clouds over Gazprom are gathering.
Used photos: gazprom.com
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

2 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. GRF Offline
    GRF 21 May 2020 11: 35
    0
    • 2
    • 2
    Well, how much money is in someone else's pocket? But there could be this "trifle" in your ...
    Sounding the future according to the current situation is somehow shallow, for the descendants of Vanga.

    And today, tomorrow, not everyone can watch. Rather, not only everyone can watch, few can do it.
  2. AlexanderIT Offline
    AlexanderIT (Alexander) 22 May 2020 14: 17
    -1
    • 1
    • 2
    I didn’t understand about the clouds .. Yes, supplies were reduced by 35% to 15 billion cubic meters. m, while the Yankees grew by 13% - up to 9,1 million tons. ... The numbers are not comparable ... The author, I think, NEVER bothered not only with some kind of data analysis, but also, it seems, with elementary arithmetic is at odds ... Ankara imported 1650 times more Russian gas (Carl - 1650 !!) more than overseas LNG. This is what speaks of the choice ..

Печальная судьба «Турецкого потока»: газопровод остается практически пустым


Турция заменила российский трубопроводный газ на СПГ, поэтому проект «Турецкий поток», стоимостью $7 млрд, ждет печальная судьба, пишет болгарское издание Mediapool.


Анкара предпочитает импортировать СПГ, который сейчас стоит дешевле, чем «газпромовский». Это происходит на фоне экономического кризиса и охлаждения отношений Турции к России из-за конфликтов с российскими военными в Сирии и действий наемников «Вагнера» в Ливии.

Поставки российского «Газпрома» для турецкой госкомпании-оператора газопроводов BOTAS и частных компаний в марте 2020 года сократились до 210 млн куб. м, то есть они упали в 7 раз по сравнению с аналогичным периодом 2019 года, а по сравнению с мартом 2018 года – в 14 раз. В марте 2019 года «Газпром» поставил 1,418 млрд куб. м, а в первом квартале 2018 года - 8,8 млрд куб. м или 2,93 млрд куб. м в месяц. Об этом свидетельствуют данные Федеральной таможенной службы России.

Недавно Турция занимала второе место среди крупнейших клиентов «Газпрома», но теперь она переместилась во вторую десятку стран и покупает газ почти в том же объеме, что и Армения (193 млн куб. м в месяц) и даже меньше Литвы (272 млн куб. м). В 2019 году Анкара увеличила импорт СПГ на 13% - до 9,1 млн т. Крупнейшими поставщиками были Алжир (4,3 млн т), Катар (1,8 млн т), Нигерия (1.8 млн т) и США (0,8 млн т).

По итогам 2019 года поставки трубопроводного газа из России в Турцию сократились на 35% - до 15 млрд куб. м, что является худшим показателем за десятилетие. В результате газопроводы «Голубой поток» и «Турецкий поток» остаются практически пустыми.

Тенденция к увеличению доли СПГ в Турции продолжается и в 2020 году. За первый квартал этого года на СПГ приходится 44% всех поставок, из которых почти 40% - СПГ из США (1,2 млн т).

Контракт на поставки российского газа в Турцию между BOTAS и «Газпромом» истекает в 2021 году, и Анкара планирует получить скидку у Москвы. Так что тучи над «Газпромом» сгущаются.
  • Использованы фотографии: gazprom.com
2 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. GRF Офлайн GRF
    GRF 21 мая 2020 11:35
    0
    Ну и сколько денег в чужом кармане? А ведь могла быть эта "мелочь" в вашем...
    Озвучивать будущее по текущей конъюнктуре как-то мелко, для потомков Ванги.

    А сегодня в завтрашний день не все могут смотреть. Вернее, смотреть могут не только лишь все, мало кто может это делать.
  2. АлександрIT Офлайн АлександрIT
    АлександрIT (Александр) 22 мая 2020 14:17
    -1
    Не понял про тучи.. Да, поставки сократились на 35% - до 15 млрд куб. м, а у янки выросли ажно на 13% - до 9,1 млн т. ... Числа не сопоставимые... Автор, я думаю, НИКОГДА не утруждал себя не токмо каким-нибудь анализом данных, но и, похоже, с элементарной арифметикой не в ладах... Анкара импортировала российского газа в 1650 раз (Карл - в 1650 !!) больше, чем заморского СПГ. Вот это и говорит о выборе..