Ethiopian dam of contention: the armies of Egypt and Sudan are fully operational


Ethiopia continues to build the An-Nahda (Renaissance) hydroelectric power station on the Blue Nile River, which causes great concern, outrage, and sometimes irritation in Sudan and Egypt, which are directly dependent on the flow of this water artery. According to Arab and African sources, the armies of these three states have already been put on full alert, as negotiations have ended to no avail.


It should be noted that Ethiopia’s 110 million people are in dire need of electricity and the hydraulic construction under construction should partially correct the current situation. However, this dam could provoke a real war between Egypt and Sudan against Ethiopia. She has already become a dam of contention. Cairo and Khartoum argue that the construction of the dam will lead to a reduction in the amount of water (shallowing) in the lower reaches of the Nile.

Ethiopian Foreign Minister Guido Andargacheu said his country “does not see obstacles to the start of the dam.” And the head of the Ethiopian government, Abiy Ahmed, proposed starting “filling the first stage,” which will allow collecting up to 18,4 billion cubic meters. m of water in the dam reservoir for two years.

The total volume of the reservoir will be 74 billion cubic meters. m, therefore, in arid and desert Egypt and Sudan, they reasonably worry that their water supply will deteriorate sharply. Lack of water can also lead to droughts, crop failures, ruin and starvation. 100 million people live in Egypt, and more than 40 million people in Sudan (not to be confused with the Republic of South Sudan).


Cairo and Khartoum have already reported that Addis Ababa is "playing with fire." And if the army of Sudan, after years of wars with Chad and the division of the country into two parts, does not pose a great threat to Ethiopia, the army of Egypt, without a doubt, is one of the most powerful on the African continent and represents a formidable force.

In addition, other Arab countries, where they well understand the price of fresh water, can come out on the side of Egypt and Sudan. We must not forget that a significant number of Ethiopians work in Saudi Arabia and the UAE and may lose their jobs. It is difficult to predict how this crisis will end, but we will be watching with interest the development of events.
Photos used: https://www.amc.af.mil/
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

15 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Observer2014 Online
    Observer2014 23 May 2020 11: 38
    -2
    • 0
    • 2
    Ethiopian dam of contention: the armies of Egypt and Sudan are fully operational

    It's time to go to the kitchen for a snack! laughing It’s fun to watch the battle of the titans. Does our military-industrial complex guess to raise money on this battle?

    the army of Egypt, without a doubt, is one of the most powerful on the African continent and is a formidable force.

    Of course it does. yes Who are you worried about? Any thoughts on this? Well, it’s clear that Egypt is dear to the heart of the Russian layman as a resort. But still? Personally, I am for the Egyptians. Ethiopians are black any more. Etc. laughing
    1. Arkharov Offline
      Arkharov (Grigory Arkharov) 23 May 2020 14: 43
      -1
      • 1
      • 2
      Ethiopians should be closer to us: Pushkin, etc. But the Egyptians are some kind of bespontovye, the country is big, but not a single war in the foreseeable past really won. It seems to me that the Ethiopians are more beaten.
      1. Observer2014 Online
        Observer2014 23 May 2020 14: 51
        -1
        • 0
        • 1
        Quote: Arkharov
        Ethiopians should be closer to us: Pushkin, etc. But the Egyptians are some kind of bespontovye, the country is big, and not a single war in the foreseeable past really won. It seems to me that the Ethiopians are more beaten.

        laughing A.S. Pushkin really outweighs not just Africa ... yes But the Ethiopians are some very very black all the same. The Egyptians are somehow more Nashi, or something. Although who knows. There is a speaker. There are resorts. repeat laughing
        1. Arkharov Offline
          Arkharov (Grigory Arkharov) 23 May 2020 14: 58
          -1
          • 1
          • 2
          Not to the resorts to us now. But Pushkin is "our everything," as you know. But they had an emperor quite recently, until 1975, and the Egyptians had been talking about the pharaohs for 2500 years, as they had forgotten. Well, "to taste and color, there is no comrade", as you know (an old Russian proverb).
          1. Observer2014 Online
            Observer2014 23 May 2020 15: 06
            -2
            • 0
            • 2
            Quote: Arkharov
            Not to the resorts to us now. But Pushkin is "our everything," as you know. But they had an emperor quite recently, until 1975, and the Egyptians had been talking about the pharaohs for 2500 years, as they had forgotten. Well, "to taste and color, there is no comrade", as you know (an old Russian proverb).

            Well, this is unlikely. It seems that the Russians are ready to rest, no matter what. And for the resorts in the extreme places of humanity namba van. Now, if the Ethiopians drown somehow not really. laughing hi
      2. Natan bruk Offline
        Natan bruk (Natan Bruk) 23 May 2020 19: 44
        -2
        • 1
        • 3
        And here the fact is that Ethiopians are not Arabs. Although I am not racist and against the Arabs as a people, I have nothing, but they are different peoples and different mentalities. Here, on the Promised, every day I am in contact with both of them. In the event of a conflict, I would rather bet on Ethiopians. The amount of weapons is not the most important thing.
        1. Arkharov Offline
          Arkharov (Grigory Arkharov) 24 May 2020 09: 32
          -1
          • 1
          • 2
          Absolutely right. And in general, among Ethiopians there are many Christians, there are Jews. There is religious freedom prescribed in the Constitution of Ethiopia. Ethiopia does not have a state religion and religious parties are prohibited from forming political parties.
  2. 123 Online
    123 (123) 23 May 2020 11: 46
    +3
    • 4
    • 1
    The dam problem is quite serious. If you block the Nile, Egypt simply will not.
    We must be able to negotiate. The Mongols, for example, also intended to build a dam, but the problem is that the Selenga flows into Lake Baikal. This is a disaster for the lake. Naturally, in the "West" instantly found money for a "good purpose" and started talking about energy independence from the "gas station".
    They found a way out, there will be a new gas pipeline passing through the territory of Mongolia, a thermal power station will appear instead of a hydroelectric station.
    For Africa, there is also a simple way out. Arabs citizens take off and Rosatom builds for this money the Ethiopians of nuclear power plants. As a result, everyone is happy. Ethiopians stop burning torches, Nile crocodiles do not need to retrain as monitor lizards, the Egyptians can still grow dates, not a camel thorn.
    It’s not at all difficult to come up with this, but it is not known how interested the neighbors are in maintaining peace in the region.
    1. Observer2014 Online
      Observer2014 23 May 2020 11: 57
      -2
      • 0
      • 2
      The dam problem is quite serious. If you block the Nile, Egypt simply will not.

      yes Yes. True, Neil will need to be redirected somewhere. And these Ethiopians don’t have enough funds for this event.

      We must be able to negotiate. The Mongols, for example, also intended to build a dam, but the problem is that the Selenga flows into Lake Baikal. This is a disaster for the lake. Naturally, in the "West" instantly found money for a "good purpose" and started talking about energy independence from the "gas station".

      Well of course you need. Thank God that Baikal is far from the Nile. laughing And even at the mention of the "gas station" goosebumps. laughing hi drinks
    2. Natan bruk Offline
      Natan bruk (Natan Bruk) 23 May 2020 20: 10
      -1
      • 2
      • 3
      Why would the Arabs take off for the Ethiopians? So that they do not build a dam? That's right to disperse. In the East, another philosophy of life.
      1. 123 Online
        123 (123) 24 May 2020 15: 04
        +3
        • 3
        • 0
        Why would the Arabs take off for the Ethiopians? So that they do not build a dam?

        Well, if their war in the neighborhood is more comfortable, they may not go off.

        That's right to disperse. In the East, another philosophy of life.

        This is the philosophy of death. Greed does not lead to beaver. Maybe that's why you constantly fight with your philosophy?
        1. Natan bruk Offline
          Natan bruk (Natan Bruk) 24 May 2020 21: 53
          -2
          • 0
          • 2
          Our philosophy is completely different. We fight from time to time, because we have no other choice, we have to cool some hotheads, but at the same time always offer peace. And it came to many. Of the 4 neighbors with Egypt and Jordan, the world - diplomatic relations, trade, tourism, Gulf monarchies are increasing contacts and are approaching full-fledged diplomatic relations. Outright enemies - Syria, punished for its aggression (and it was offered territorial concessions in exchange for peace, although the defeated must ask for peace, but they refused) and Lebanon, which is completely in the hands of Hezbollah terrorists, which has a parallel army and terrorizes everyone who does not agree with the order she enters. Christians, for example, are almost gone. But once there was half the population. And the fact that in the East they prefer the war to the same “folding” for their neighbor, especially not the Arab, there is no doubt. Well, there are other concepts.
          1. 123 Online
            123 (123) 24 May 2020 22: 28
            +2
            • 2
            • 0
            Our philosophy is completely different. We fight from time to time because we have no other choice

            There is always a choice.

            some hotheads have to be cooled, but peace has always been offered. And it came to many.

            Firstly, under youI meant the Middle East. Secondly, if you offer conditions, and they are rejected all the time, apparently, they are not acceptable. Maybe you should analyze the situation, find the root cause and try to come to a compromise?

            Outright enemies - Syria, punished for its aggression (and it was offered territorial concessions in exchange for peace, although the vanquished should ask for peace, but they refused)

            A lot of time has passed since then, have you tried to make peace anymore?

            Lebanon, completely in the hands of Hezbollah terrorists, having a parallel army and terrorizing everyone who does not agree with the order it imposes. Christians, for example, are almost gone. But once there was half the population.

            Civil war is always blood, as a rule, those who are not afraid to pour it come to power, and often they also confront an external threat. Maybe you shouldn’t climb there from abroad? As for the demographic population, to be honest, I don’t remember the proportions. From a book read back in the Soviet period, for some reason, a proportion of about 25% of Christians was put aside. Apparently I'm wrong.

            And the fact that in the East they prefer the war to the same “folding” for their neighbor, especially not the Arab, there is no doubt. Well, there are other concepts.

            For some reason, I have no doubt about it.
  3. Barmaley_2 Offline
    Barmaley_2 (Barmaley) 24 May 2020 01: 19
    -1
    • 1
    • 2
    The Egyptians are such warriors .... Therefore, the Ethiopians nevermind.
  4. The comment was deleted.
  5. Dear sofa expert. 24 May 2020 16: 51
    +3
    • 3
    • 0
    .. And the head of the Ethiopian government, Abiy Ahmed, proposed starting "filling the first stage", which will allow collecting up to 18,4 billion cubic meters. m of water in the dam reservoir for two years.

    The total volume of the reservoir will be 74 billion cubic meters. m

    It's not about who is stronger than anyone. There is more - who is right.
    In March 2015, Ethiopia, Egypt and Sudan concluded an agreement on this dam, the main condition of which was the reservoir filling speed for 10 years. Judging by the above figures, the period may turn out to be much shorter, which will affect the creation of a water shortage for lower lying Egypt and Ethiopia, and most importantly - violates the agreement. This is the essence of the conflict. Apparently - the right is on the side of Egypt and Sudan. The rest is emotions.

Эфиопская плотина раздора: армии Египта и Судана приведены в полную боеготовность


Эфиопия продолжает возводить ГЭС «Ан-Нахда» («Возрождение») на реке Голубой Нил, чем вызывает сильное беспокойство, возмущение, а порой и раздражение в Судане и Египте, напрямую зависящих от стока этой водной артерии. Как сообщают арабские и африканские источники, армии этих трех государств уже приведены в полную боевую готовность, так как переговоры закончились безрезультатно.


Нужно отметить, что 110-миллионная Эфиопия остро нуждается в электроэнергии и строящееся гидротехническое сооружение должно отчасти поправить сложившуюся ситуацию. Однако эта плотина может спровоцировать настоящую войну Египта и Судана против Эфиопии. Она уже стала плотиной раздора. Каир и Хартум утверждают, что возведение плотины приведет к сокращению количества воды (обмелению) в нижнем течении Нила.

Глава МИД Эфиопии Гидо Андаргачеу заявил, что его страна «не видит препятствий для начала работы плотины». А руководитель правительства Эфиопии Абий Ахмед предложил начать «заполнение первой очереди», которая позволит собрать до 18,4 млрд куб. м воды в водохранилище плотины в течение двух лет.

Полный объем водохранилища составит 74 млрд куб. м, поэтому в засушливых и пустынных Египте и Судане обоснованно переживают, что их водоснабжение резко ухудшится. Нехватка воды также может привести к засухам, неурожаям, разорениям и голоду. В Египте проживает 100 млн человек, а в Судане (не путать с Республикой Южный Судан) более 40 млн человек.


Из Каира и Хартума уже сообщили, что Аддис-Абеба «играет с огнем». И если армия Судана, после многолетних войн с Чадом и разделения страны на две части, не представляет большой угрозы для Эфиопии, то армия Египта, без сомнения, является одной из мощнейших на африканском континенте и представляет собой грозную силу.

Кроме того, на стороне Египта и Судана могут выступить и другие арабские страны, где хорошо понимают цену пресной воды. Не нужно также забывать, что значительное число эфиопов трудятся в Саудовской Аравии и ОАЭ и могут потерять работу. Чем закончится этот кризис, предугадать сложно, но мы будем с интересом наблюдать за развитием событий.
Использованы фотографии: https://www.amc.af.mil/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

15 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Наблюдатель2014 23 мая 2020 11:38
    -2
    • 0
    • 2
    Эфиопская плотина раздора: армии Египта и Судана приведены в полную боеготовность

    Пора идти на кухню за закуской! laughing Прикольно наблюдать за битвой титанов. Наш ВПК денег догадается поднять на этом побоище?

    армия Египта, без сомнения, является одной из мощнейших на африканском континенте и представляет собой грозную силу.

    Конечно, представляет. yes За кого переживаем? Есть мысли по этому поводу? Ну, то понятно, что Египет дорог сердцу российского обывателя как курорт. Но всё же? Лично я за египтян. Эфиопы чёрные какие-то более. И всё такое. laughing
    1. Архаров Офлайн
      Архаров (Григорий Архаров) 23 мая 2020 14:43
      -1
      • 1
      • 2
      Эфиопы нам должны быть ближе: Пушкин и т.д. А египтяне какие-то беспонтовые, страна большая, а ни одну войну в обозримом прошлом толком не выиграла. Мне кажется, эфиопы побоевитее.
      1. Наблюдатель2014 23 мая 2020 14:51
        -1
        • 0
        • 1
        Цитата: Архаров
        Эфиопы нам должны быть ближе: Пушкин и т.д. А египтяне какие-то беспонтовые, страна большая, а ни одну войну в обозримом прошлом толком не выиграли. Мне кажется, эфиопы побоевитее.

        laughing А.С. Пушкин реально перевешивает не то что Африку... yes Но эфиопы какие-то очень сильно чёрные всё же. Египтяне как-то более нашинские, что-ли. Хотя кто его знает. Там АС. Тут курорты. feel laughing
        1. Архаров Офлайн
          Архаров (Григорий Архаров) 23 мая 2020 14:58
          -1
          • 1
          • 2
          Не до курортов нам сейчас. А Пушкин - это "наше все", как известно. Зато у них император совсем недавно, до 1975 года был, а у египтян о фараонах уже 2500 лет, как позабыли. Ну а "на вкус и цвет, товарища нет", как известно (старинная русская пословица).
          1. Наблюдатель2014 23 мая 2020 15:06
            -2
            • 0
            • 2
            Цитата: Архаров
            Не до курортов нам сейчас. А Пушкин - это "наше все", как известно. Зато у них император совсем недавно, до 1975 года был, а у египтян о фараонах уже 2500 лет, как позабыли. Ну а "на вкус и цвет, товарища нет", как известно (старинная русская пословица).

            Ну это навряд ли. Такое ощущение, что россияне готовы поотдыхать, несмотря ни на что. И за курорты в экстремальных местах человечества намба ван. Вот если за эфиопов топить как-то не очень. laughing hi
      2. Natan Bruk Офлайн
        Natan Bruk (Natan Bruk) 23 мая 2020 19:44
        -2
        • 1
        • 3
        А тут дело в том что эфиопы не арабы. Хотя я не расист и против арабов, как народа, ничего не имею, но это разные народы и разные ментальности. Здесь, на Обетованной, каждый день контактирую и с теми, и с другими. Я бы тоже в случае конфликта скорее поставил на эфиопов. Количество оружия не самое главное.
        1. Архаров Офлайн
          Архаров (Григорий Архаров) 24 мая 2020 09:32
          -1
          • 1
          • 2
          Абсолютно верно. И вообще, среди эфиопов много христиан, есть иудеи. Существует свобода вероисповедания, прописанная в Конституции Эфиопии. В Эфиопии не существует государственной религии и запрещено создание политических партий по религиозному признаку.
  2. 123 Офлайн
    123 (123) 23 мая 2020 11:46
    +3
    • 4
    • 1
    Проблема плотин довольно серьезная. Если перекрыть Нил, Египта просто не будет.
    Надо уметь договариваться. Монголы, например, тоже собирались строить плотину, но проблема в том, что Селенга впадает в Байкал. Это катастрофа для озера. Естественно, на "Западе" моментально нашлись деньги на "благую цель" и заговорили про энергетическую независимость от "бензоколонки".
    Выход нашли, будет новый газопровод, проходящий через территорию Монголии, вместо ГЭС появится ТЭЦ.
    Для Африки тоже есть простой выход. Граждане арабы скидываются и Росатом строит за эти деньги эфиопам АЭС. В итоге довольны все. Эфиопы перестают жечь лучины, нильским крокодилам не надо переквалифицироваться в варанов, египтяне по-прежнему могут выращивать финики, а не верблюжью колючку.
    Додуматься до этого совсем не сложно, но вот насколько заинтересованы соседи в сохранении мира в регионе - неизвестно.
    1. Наблюдатель2014 23 мая 2020 11:57
      -2
      • 0
      • 2
      Проблема плотин довольно серьезная. Если перекрыть Нил, Египта просто не будет.

      yes Да. Правда, Нил нужно будет перенаправить куда-нибудь. А у этих эфиопов средств на это мероприятие не хватит.

      Надо уметь договариваться. Монголы, например, тоже собирались строить плотину, но проблема в том, что Селенга впадает в Байкал. Это катастрофа для озера. Естественно, на "Западе" моментально нашлись деньги на "благую цель" и заговорили про энергетическую независимость от "бензоколонки".

      Ну конечно, нужно. Слава Богу, что Байкал далеко от Нила. laughing А то уже при упоминании про "бензоколонку" мурашки по телу. laughing hi drinks
    2. Natan Bruk Офлайн
      Natan Bruk (Natan Bruk) 23 мая 2020 20:10
      -1
      • 2
      • 3
      С чего бы это арабы скидывались для эфиопов? Чтобы те не строили плотину? Вот прям разогнались. На Востоке другая философия жизни.
      1. 123 Офлайн
        123 (123) 24 мая 2020 15:04
        +3
        • 3
        • 0
        С чего бы это арабы скидывались для эфиопов? Чтобы те не строили плотину?

        Ну если их война по соседству больше устраивает, могут не скидываться.

        Вот прям разогнались. На Востоке другая философия жизни.

        Это философия смерти. Жадность до бобра не доводит. Может, Вы поэтому со своей философией постоянно воюете?
        1. Natan Bruk Офлайн
          Natan Bruk (Natan Bruk) 24 мая 2020 21:53
          -2
          • 0
          • 2
          Философия-то у нас совсем другая. Мы время от времени воюем, потому что у нас нет другого выбора, приходится остужать некоторые горячие головы, но при этом всегда предлагали мир. И до многих это дошло. Из 4 соседей с Египтом и Иорданией мир - дипотношения, торговля, туризм, монархии Залива увеличивают контакты и приближаются к полноценным дипотношениям. Откровенных врагов - Сирия, наказанная за свою агрессию (а ей предлагали территориальные уступки в обмен на мир, хотя просить мира должен побеждённый, но они отказались) и Ливан, полностью находящийся в руках террористов Хезболлы, имеющей параллельную армию и терроризирующую всех, кто не согласен с насаждаемым ею порядком. Христиан, например, там почти не осталось. А ведь когда-то было половина населения. А то, что на Востоке предпочтут войну тому же «скидыванию» для своего соседа, тем более не араба, можно не сомневаться. Ну другие там понятия.
          1. 123 Офлайн
            123 (123) 24 мая 2020 22:28
            +2
            • 2
            • 0
            Философия-то у нас совсем другая. Мы время от времени воюем, потому что у нас нет другого выбора

            Выбор есть всегда.

            приходится остужать некоторые горячие головы, но при этом всегда предлагали мир. И до многих это дошло.

            Во-первых, под вы, я подразумевал Ближний Восток. Во-вторых, если предлагаете условия, а их все время отвергают, видимо, они не приемлемы. Может, стоит проанализировать ситуацию, найти первопричину и попробовать прийти к компромиссу?

            Откровенных врагов - Сирия, наказанная за свою агрессию (а ей предлагали территориальные уступки в обмен на мир, хотя просить мира должен побеждённый, но они отказались)

            С тех пор прошло много времени, больше помириться не пробовали?

            Ливан, полностью находящийся в руках террористов Хезболлы, имеющей параллельную армию и терроризирующую всех, кто не согласен с насаждаемым ею порядком. Христиан, например, там почти не осталось. А ведь когда-то было половина населения.

            Гражданская война - это всегда кровь, к власти, как правило, приходят те, кто не боится ее лить и зачастую они же и противостоят внешней угрозе. Может, не стоило туда лезть из-за границы? Что касается демографического населения, если честно, пропорции не помню. Из книги, прочитанной еще в советский период, в памяти почему-то отложилась пропорция примерно в 25% христиан. Видимо, я ошибаюсь.

            А то, что на Востоке предпочтут войну тому же «скидыванию» для своего соседа,тем более не араба, можно не сомневаться. Ну другие там понятия.

            Почему-то я в этом не сомневаюсь.
  3. Barmaley_2 Офлайн
    Barmaley_2 (Barmaley) 24 мая 2020 01:19
    -1
    • 1
    • 2
    С египтян такие вояки.... Поэтому эфиопам по фигу всё.
  4. Комментарий был удален.
  5. .. А руководитель правительства Эфиопии Абий Ахмед предложил начать «заполнение первой очереди», которая позволит собрать до 18,4 млрд куб. м воды в водохранилище плотины в течение двух лет.

    Полный объем водохранилища составит 74 млрд куб. м.

    Дело не в том, кто кого сильнее. Тут больше - кто прав.
    В марте 2015 года Эфиопия, Египет и Судан, заключили по поводу этой плотины соглашение, главным условием которого была скорость заполнения водохранилища в течение 10 лет. Судя по указанным выше цифрам - срок может оказаться намного короче, что скажется на создании дефицита воды для ниже лежащих Египта и Эфиопии, а главное - нарушает заключенную договорённость. Здесь и есть суть конфликта. Судя по всему - право на стороне Египта и Судана. Остальное - эмоции.