American Press: Belarus Turns West


When Belarus ordered the first batch of American oil earlier this month, it was not just a deal, but also a loud message for Moscow that “allied” Minsk was on the path to strengthening its ties with the West, The Washington Post writes.


The article notes that all these years, President of the Republic Alexander Lukashenko opposed the Kremlin’s desire to unite the two countries, instead preferring to get cheap energy. Therefore, when the parties failed in December to agree on a new oil price at which Moscow would sell it to Minsk, Russia temporarily cut supplies.

In response, Lukashenko promised to diversify oil suppliers by purchasing black gold from Azerbaijan, Norway and Saudi Arabia, while simultaneously benefiting from the collapse of prices for this type of raw materials caused by coronavirus. Also, a batch of oil will be purchased overseas - in the United States.

US Secretary of State Mike Pompeo, who on this occasion verbally encouraged Minsk, saying that it "strengthens Belarusian sovereignty and independence." A senior official visited the capital of Belarus in early February, which was the first trip to Belarus by a senior American diplomat after Lukashenko came to power. Then, in April, the two countries officially restored diplomatic relations.

The first order for 80 tons of oil in the United States is likely to be a test of logistics capabilities. It is expected that a tanker carrying raw materials will arrive at the port of Lithuania in early June, and Poland will also act as an intermediary. If everything goes smoothly, new deliveries may follow the first purchase.

According to analysts, the transportation of oil through the Baltic neighbors may lead to an improvement in relations between Belarus and these countries in the long term

- says the Washington Post article.

But in the short term, as noted, disagreements with Russia could have consequences for Lukashenko, who is on his sixth presidential term in August. Economic Belarus’s well-being is still closely connected with Russia, and Minsk is at too much risk.

In addition, the two capitals perceive the coronavirus pandemic differently. In March, Lukashenko criticized Moscow’s decision to close the border between the two countries as a precaution, calling officials of the eastern neighbor "hot heads." In addition, the crew of the Russian First Channel was expelled from the country, making material that the local authorities did not like.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

14 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Vyacheslav Moscow 23 May 2020 22: 26
    +2
    • 4
    • 2
    ... Belarus ordered the first batch of American oil earlier this month ...

    - ha, ha, ha !!! How many of these first lots have already been - and you will not remember: Iranian, Venezuelan, Norwegian, or Saudi ... But for some reason, every time the collective farmer returned to Russian oil.
  2. 123 Offline
    123 (123) 23 May 2020 23: 49
    +5
    • 6
    • 1
    American Press: Belarus Turns West

    The naive American press is not aware that Lukashenko, as a hut on chicken legs, as soon as he understands that there will be no free money, turns to the forest in front, to his interlocutor ... I believe everyone knows the tale. winked
    1. Pivander Offline
      Pivander (Alex) 24 May 2020 16: 04
      0
      • 0
      • 0
      Well, you yourself said that the Americans don’t know. So, not all. laughing
      1. 123 Offline
        123 (123) 24 May 2020 16: 27
        +2
        • 2
        • 0
        Well, you yourself said that the Americans don’t know. So not all

        I meant that the “press” does not know who Lukashenko is. Knowledge of Russian folklore is not necessary for them. That's just Lukashenko will interact with completely different people, but they do not believe in fairy tales. The story can be sad.
  3. Valentine Offline
    Valentine (Valentin) 24 May 2020 07: 19
    +2
    • 3
    • 1
    Russia is already tired of this chameleon with its oil scams, and he sees it perfectly, and will follow the direct path in the footsteps of Mr. Yanukovych, but Rostov is not rubber.
    1. Natan bruk Offline
      Natan bruk (Natan Bruk) 24 May 2020 07: 27
      -3
      • 1
      • 4
      And people do not bother to write the same nonsense about Rostov. Which Rostov? Who will do the “revolution”, to overthrow the Old Man? The people there are very politically inert, they will have a maximum in the kitchens, and only “zmagars” will be active, so they will only applaud the turn to the West.
      1. Valentine Offline
        Valentine (Valentin) 24 May 2020 09: 53
        +2
        • 3
        • 1
        Quote: Natan Bruk
        ... and only “zmagars” are active, so they will only applaud the turn to the West.

        So it’s just that these “zmagars”, which are tens of thousands in Belarus, will bring the ten millionth country to their knees, as happened in Ukraine, and they will move to the West, which doesn’t need them at all, and if necessary, then just for the sake of confronting Russia. You look with a sober look at Ukraine, there is a civil war, almost no major industries remain, the economy is destroyed, education, health care and social affairs are nothing to say - and all this they could do in 6 years, this is incomprehensible to the mind, so tear apart your country, giving it to the Americans. But Yeltsin did exactly the same thing with Russia, surrendering all of Russia with its people to the same USA with giblets, and for 20 years now we have been pulling ourselves out of the crap we found ourselves in after that. And we, the Russians, do not want our Belarus to become our worst enemy ..... Why does not Father Butka want to unite our peoples together, live together, build his new state, everyone is afraid to lose his chair under various contrived occasions, such as enslavement of Russian Belarusians, and after all we lived before that in one great country peacefully and happily, and now we have become invaders and enemies.
        1. Natan bruk Offline
          Natan bruk (Natan Bruk) 25 May 2020 12: 52
          -4
          • 0
          • 4
          First you think - what do the "zmagars" want? Turning West? So if the "Old Man" decides to do so, they will only applaud him. After all, in Ukraine, it was precisely pro-Western forces who overthrew Yanukovych, and pro-Russian were quietly sitting. Indeed, in the Crimea, if it had not been for the special operation, nothing special would have happened, well, the anti-Maidan activists would have acted like they were back in the days of Meshkov, and that would have ended it. And in the Donbass, nothing would have really started if Girkin hadn’t come there with his “eagles” after the Crimea and muddied the “uprising” there. So Lukashenko is not in danger. But why he doesn’t want to unite, it’s understandable - the president and governor of the province are two different things. They lived together peacefully, yes, but everything changes, everything has a beginning and an end, and now, to live peacefully, you have to live separately, and in the way everyone wants to. Well, at least in the foreseeable future.
      2. Dear sofa expert. 25 May 2020 00: 46
        +2
        • 2
        • 0
        Who will do the “revolution”, to overthrow the Old Man? The people there are very politically inert ..

        Do you really believe that the orange revolutions are carried out by the people?)
        1. Natan bruk Offline
          Natan bruk (Natan Bruk) 25 May 2020 12: 58
          -4
          • 0
          • 4
          Here it is necessary to look at things objectively - the bulk of the people in Belarus are inert, and the zmagars are active. What they want is a turn to the West. So why should they overthrow Lukashenko, if he does just that, they will just be completely in favor. And ordinary people will not go anywhere much, as in Russia in 1991.
  4. Igor Pavlovich (Igor Pavlovich) 24 May 2020 10: 34
    -3
    • 0
    • 3


    It turns out that this method no longer works. tongue
  5. Serge Tixiy Offline
    Serge Tixiy (Serge Tixiy) 24 May 2020 11: 20
    +2
    • 3
    • 1
    Belarus turns to the West

    - if this is so, then Belarus is turning to "Ukrainization" ... i.e. the transfer of tiny markets to new Western "friends", the destruction of industry, the destruction of agriculture, as a competitor to Western farmers. As a result, the degradation of state structures in the chair of Lukashenko will be driven by American and European officials, which, however, is one and the same. Citizens of Belarus will run in all directions .... One thing is good, in Belarus it is not so easy to start a civil war. But Western "friends" can do anything.
  6. Nikolay Malyugin (Nikolai Malyugin) 24 May 2020 19: 01
    +1
    • 2
    • 1
    I recall the press conference of Khrushchev. They spoke about the independence of the republics of the USSR. He was asked what would happen if Ukraine joins France. Khrushchev replied that in a year Ukraine and France would be part of the USSR. I do not like reasoning "by eye".
  7. Vyacheslav Moscow 25 May 2020 15: 54
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    American press: Belarus turns to the West.

    - the collective farmer is not as stupid as the American press. To leave Russia, this means losing the means for the existence of a subsidized collective farm called Belarus. And who in the West needs the last dictator of Europe? By hook or by crook to force Russia to pay is his task for today.
    And the collective farmer will end in the same way as Ceausescu.

Американская пресса: Белоруссия поворачивается к Западу


Когда Беларусь заказала первую партию американской нефти в начале этого месяца, это была не просто сделка, но также и громкое сообщение для Москвы о том, что «союзный» Минск идет по пути укрепления своих связей с Западом, пишет газета The Washington Post.


В статье отмечается, что все эти годы президент республики Александр Лукашенко противодействовал стремлению Кремля объединить две страны, вместо этого предпочитая получать дешевые энергоносители. Поэтому, когда стороны не смогли в декабре договориться о новой цене на нефть, по которой Москва продает её Минску, Россия временно сократила поставки.

В ответ Лукашенко пообещал диверсифицировать поставщиков нефти, закупив черное золото в Азербайджане, Норвегии и Саудовской Аравии, одновременно извлекая выгоду из вызванного коронавирусом обвала цен на этот вид сырья. Также партия нефти будет закуплена за океаном – в Соединенных Штатах.

Госсекретарь США Майк Помпео, который по данному поводу словесно поощрил Минск, сказав, что это «укрепляет белорусский суверенитет и независимость». Высокопоставленный чиновник посетил столицу РБ ещё в начале февраля, что стало первой поездкой в Беларусь высшего американского дипломата после прихода к власти Лукашенко. Затем в апреле две страны официально восстановили дипломатические отношения.

Первый заказ на 80 000 тонн нефти в США, вероятно, является проверкой возможностей логистики. Ожидается, что танкер, перевозящий сырье, прибудет в порт Литвы в начале июня, а Польша также выступит в качестве посредника. Если все пойдет гладко, за первой закупкой могут последовать новые поставки.

По мнению аналитиков, транспортировка нефти через прибалтийских соседей может привести к улучшению отношений Белоруссии с этими странами в долгосрочной перспективе

- говорится в статье Washington Post.

Но в краткосрочной перспективе, как отмечается, разногласия с Россией могут иметь последствия для Лукашенко, который идет на свой шестой президентский срок в августе. Экономическое благополучие Беларуси по-прежнему тесно связано с Россией, и Минск слишком рискует.

Кроме того две столицы по-разному воспринимают пандемию коронавируса. В марте Лукашенко раскритиковал решение Москвы закрыть границу между странами в качестве меры предосторожности, назвав чиновников восточного соседа «горячими головами». Помимо этого, из страны была изгнана съемочная группа российского Первого канала, сделавшая материал, не понравившийся местным властям.
14 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Вячеслав Москва 23 мая 2020 22:26
    +2
    …Беларусь заказала первую партию американской нефти в начале этого месяца…

    – ха, ха, ха!!! Сколько уже было этих первых партий - и не упомнишь: и иранская, и венесуэльская, и норвежская, и саудовская… Но почему-то каждый раз колхозник возвращался к российской нефти.
  2. 123 Офлайн 123
    123 (123) 23 мая 2020 23:49
    +5
    Американская пресса: Белоруссия поворачивается к Западу

    Наивная американская пресса не в курсе, что Лукашенко, как избушка на курьих ножках, как только понимает, что халявных денег не будет, поворачивается к лесу передом, к собеседнику... Полагаю, сказку все знают. winked
    1. Пивандер Офлайн Пивандер
      Пивандер (Алекс) 24 мая 2020 16:04
      0
      Ну ты же сам сказал, американцы не знают. Значит, не все. laughing
      1. 123 Офлайн 123
        123 (123) 24 мая 2020 16:27
        +2
        Ну ты же сам сказал, американцы не знают. Значит не все

        Я имел ввиду, что "пресса" не знает, кто такой Лукашенко. Знание русского фольклора для них не обязательно. Вот только взаимодействовать Лукашенко будет совсем с другими людьми, а они в сказки не верят. История может грустной получиться.
  3. Валентин Офлайн Валентин
    Валентин (Валентин) 24 мая 2020 07:19
    +2
    России уже надоел этот хамелеон со своими нефтяными афёрами, и он это прекрасно видит, и пойдёт прямым путём по стопам пана Януковича, но ведь Ростов-то не резиновый.
    1. Natan Bruk Офлайн Natan Bruk
      Natan Bruk (Natan Bruk) 24 мая 2020 07:27
      -3
      И не надоедает же людям писать те же глупости про Ростов. Какой Ростов? Кто «революции» делать будет, Батьку свергать? Народ там очень политически инертен, максимум на кухнях побухтят, а активны исключительно «змагары», так они будут только аплодировать повороту на Запад.
      1. Валентин Офлайн Валентин
        Валентин (Валентин) 24 мая 2020 09:53
        +2
        Цитата: Natan Bruk
        ...а активны исключительно «змагары»,так они будут только аплодировать повороту на Запад.

        Так вот то-то и оно, что эти "змагары", которых в Беларуси несколько десятков тысяч, поставят на колени десятимиллионную страну, как это произошло на Украине, и двинут на Запад, которому они совсем не нужны, а если и нужны, то только ради противостоянию России. Вы посмотрите трезвым взглядом на Украину, там идёт гражданская война, почти никаких крупных производств не осталось, экономика разрушена, про образование, здравоохранение и социалку и говорить нечего - и всё это они смогли сотворить за каких-то 6 лет, это же уму непостижимо, так раздерибанить свою страну, отдав её на откуп американцам. А ведь точно так же с Россией поступил и Ельцин, сдав с потрохами всю Россию с её народом тем же США, и вот уже мы 20 лет вытаскиваем сами себя из того дерьма, в котором очутились после этого. И мы, россияне, не хотим, чтобы и наша Беларусь превратилась в злейшего нам врага.....Почему Бацька не хочет объединить наши народы вместе, жить вместе, строить своё новое государство, всё боится потерять своё кресло под разными надуманными поводами, типа порабощения русскими белорусов, а ведь жили мы до этого в одной великой стране мирно и счастливо, а теперь мы стали захватчиками и врагами.
        1. Natan Bruk Офлайн Natan Bruk
          Natan Bruk (Natan Bruk) 25 мая 2020 12:52
          -4
          Вы сначала подумайте - чего хотят «змагары»? Поворота на Запад? Так если «Батька» решит так и делать, они ему только аплодировать будут. На Украине ведь Януковича свергли именно прозападные силы, а пророссийские тихо сидели. Ведь и в Крыму, если бы не спецоперация, ничего бы особенного не произошло, ну повыступали бы антимайдановцы вроде того, как было ещё во времена Мешкова, и на этом бы все кончилось. Да и в Донбассе бы ничего особо бы не началось, если бы Гиркин после Крыма не пришёл туда со своими «орлами» и не замутил там «восстание». Так что Лукашенко ничего не грозит. Ну а почему он не хочет объединяться, так это понятно - президент и губернатор провинции это разные вещи. Жили вместе мирно, да, но все меняется, у всего есть начало и конец, и теперь, чтобы жить мирно, придётся жить раздельно, и так, как каждый хочет. Ну по крайней мере, в обозримом будущем.
      2. Кто «революции» делать будет, Батьку свергать? Народ там очень политически инертен..

        Вы правда верите, что оранжевые революции совершаются народом?)
        1. Natan Bruk Офлайн Natan Bruk
          Natan Bruk (Natan Bruk) 25 мая 2020 12:58
          -4
          Тут надо объективно смотреть на вещи - основная масса народа в Беларуси инертна, а активны именно змагары. То, чего они хотят - поворот на Запад. Так зачем им свергать Лукашенко, если он именно это сделает, они как раз будут всецело «за». А обычный народ никуда особо выходить не будет, как и в России в 1991-м.
  4. Игорь Павлович (Игорь Павлович) 24 мая 2020 10:34
    -3


    Оказывается, этот метод уже не действует. tongue
  5. Serge Tixiy Офлайн Serge Tixiy
    Serge Tixiy (Serge Tixiy) 24 мая 2020 11:20
    +2
    Белоруссия поворачивается к Западу

    - если это так, то Белоруссия поворачивает к "украинизации"... т.е. передача и так крохотных рынков сбыта новым западным "друзьям", уничтожение промышленности, уничтожение сельского хозяйства, как конкурента западных аграриев. Как следствие, деградация государственных структур, в кресле Лукашенко страной будут рулить американские и еврочиновники, что впрочем, одно и то же. Граждане Белоруссии побегут во все стороны.... Одно радует, в Белоруссии не так просто развязать гражданскую войну. Но западные "друзья" всё могут.
  6. Николай Малюгин (Николай Малюгин) 24 мая 2020 19:01
    +1
    Я вспоминаю пресс-конференцию Хрущева. Там шла речь о самостоятельности республик СССР. Ему задали вопрос, что будет, если Украина присоединится к Франции. Хрущев ответил, что через год Украина вместе с Францией будет в составе СССР. Не люблю я рассуждения "на глазок".
  7. Вячеслав Москва 25 мая 2020 15:54
    +1
    Американская пресса: Белоруссия поворачивается к Западу.

    - колхозник не такой глупый, как американская пресса. Уйти от России, это значит потерять средства для существования дотационного колхоза под названием ”Беларусь”. Да и кому на Западе нужен последний диктатор Европы? Всеми правдами и неправдами заставить Россию платить – вот его задача на сегодня.
    А кончит колхозник так же, как и Чаушеску.