LauncherOne Launcher Launches First Aircraft Fails


The American company Virgin Orbit failed the first flight tests of its LauncherOne rocket, which starts from under the wing of the aircraft.


May 25 at 21.56 (Moscow time) modified Boeing 747 Cosmic Girl took off from the aerospace port of Mojave (California) with a rocket mounted on a pylon under the left wing. The discharge of the two-stage LauncherOne occurred over the Pacific Ocean, 150 km from the coast. 3 seconds after undocking, the rocket had to start the engine of the first stage, and after about 30 minutes the second stage with the payload was supposed to go into a given orbit. However, shortly after launch, Virgin Orbit announced that the tests had failed.

Recall that the development of the LauncherOne light class carrier began back in 2005. It is assumed that a two-stage rocket will be able to put into a low orbit up to 500 kg of payload. At the same time, thanks to the “air launch” scheme, the rocket manages to bypass the first 10 km of altitude with the highest atmospheric density, which can significantly save on fuel.


For the first time, a Boeing 747 Cosmic Girl with a rocket under its wing took to the skies in 2018. Then, already in 2019, the carrier reset was tested without turning on the engines. The tests that took place the day before should have been final, but something went wrong.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

5 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Cyril Offline
    Cyril (Kirill) 26 May 2020 12: 15
    -2
    • 2
    • 4
    Branson doesn’t get along with astronautics ... it's a pity.
  2. Arkharov Offline
    Arkharov (Grigory Arkharov) 26 May 2020 19: 44
    -1
    • 1
    • 2
    Yes, sort it out. The missile, I see, is not lost, it was not even launched, you never know what was diagnosed before launch.
    1. Syoma_67 Offline
      Syoma_67 (Semyon) 27 May 2020 19: 57
      -3
      • 0
      • 3
      And why did you decide that you should have launched it?
      1. Arkharov Offline
        Arkharov (Grigory Arkharov) 28 May 2020 07: 29
        -1
        • 0
        • 1
        We both seem to be wrong:

        Reset Two-Stage LauncherOne happened over the Pacific Ocean 150 km from the coast. 3 seconds after undocking, the rocket had to start the engine of the first stage, and after about 30 minutes the second stage with the payload was supposed to go into a given orbit.

        Although the video does not reach the launch.
  3. Potapov Offline
    Potapov (Valery) 27 May 2020 08: 59
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Bullshit question. That's why tests are carried out ...

Первый запуск ракеты-носителя LauncherOne с самолета завершился неудачей


Американская компания Virgin Orbit провалила первые летные испытания своей ракеты LauncherOne, стартующей из-под крыла самолета.


25 мая в 21.56 (МСК) модифицированный Boeing 747 Cosmic Girl взлетел с аэрокосмического порта Мохаве (Калифорния) с ракетой, закрепленной на пилоне под левым крылом. Сброс двухступенчатой LauncherOne произошел над Тихим океаном в 150 км от побережья. Через 3 секунды после отстыковки ракета должна была запустить двигатель первой ступени, а примерно через 30 минут вторая ступень с полезной нагрузкой должна была выйти на заданную орбиту. Однако вскоре после запуска в Virgin Orbit объявили о том, что испытания закончились неудачей.

Напомним, что разработка носителя легкого класса LauncherOne началась еще в 2005 году. Предполагается, что двухступенчатая ракета сможет выводить на низкую орбиту до 500 кг полезной нагрузки. При этом, благодаря схеме «воздушного старта», ракете удается миновать первые 10 км высоты с наибольшей плотностью атмосферы, что позволяет значительно сэкономить на горючем.


Впервые Boeing 747 Cosmic Girl с ракетой под крылом поднялся в небо в 2018 году. Затем, уже в 2019-м, был протестирован сброс носителя без включения двигателей. Испытания, состоявшиеся накануне, должны были стать завершающими, но что-то пошло не так.
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

5 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Cyril Офлайн
    Cyril (Кирилл) 26 мая 2020 12:15
    -2
    • 2
    • 4
    Не ладится у Брэнсона с космонавтикой...а жаль.
  2. Архаров Офлайн
    Архаров (Григорий Архаров) 26 мая 2020 19:44
    -1
    • 1
    • 2
    Да разберутся. Ракета, смотрю, не потеряна, ее даже не запустили, мало ли что перед стартом диагностировали.
    1. Сёма_67 Офлайн
      Сёма_67 (Семён) 27 мая 2020 19:57
      -3
      • 0
      • 3
      А с чего вы решили, что её должны были запустить?
      1. Архаров Офлайн
        Архаров (Григорий Архаров) 28 мая 2020 07:29
        -1
        • 0
        • 1
        Мы, похоже, оба не правы:

        Сброс двухступенчатой LauncherOne произошел над Тихим океаном в 150 км от побережья. Через 3 секунды после отстыковки ракета должна была запустить двигатель первой ступени, а примерно через 30 минут вторая ступень с полезной нагрузкой должна была выйти на заданную орбиту.

        Хотя на видео до пуска не доходит.
  3. Потапов Офлайн
    Потапов (Valery) 27 мая 2020 08:59
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Фигня вопрос. На то и испытания проводятся...