A step away from the water war: Ethiopia deployed S-300 in anticipation of an Egyptian attack


Deployment of the Ethiopian S-300 near the hydropower plant under construction. Photos from the event


Northeast African countries are one step away from a large-scale water war. In anticipation of a joint attack between Egypt and Sudan, Ethiopia is deploying S-300PMU1, Pantsir-S1 S-125M1 anti-aircraft missile systems to the north-west of the country so that they are closer to Vozrozhdenie HPP (in Amharic Hidase, according to Arabic "An-Nahda").

It should be noted that this hydroelectric station, located in the Benishangul-Gumuz region, near the border with Sudan on the Blue Nile River (the right tributary of the Nile River), should become the most powerful hydraulic engineering structure in all of Africa. Commissioning is scheduled for the current year (gradual filling of the reservoir is already underway). The power plant will be able to generate 6,45 GW of electricity.


Egypt and Sudan, naturally, are not enthusiastic about the prospect of encountering a significant shortage of water, which will lead to serious, if not catastrophic, economic, environmental and social problems. Khartoum and Cairo have repeatedly requested, and later demanded, that Addis Ababa cease construction.

It got to the point that the armies of Egypt and Sudan were are given on high alert. This became an ultimatum to the Ethiopians - the last argument of the Egyptians and Sudanese. Ethiopia responded by building up air defense forces in the dam region, in anticipation of an attack from Egypt and Sudan, which could attempt to bomb the dam without a land invasion.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

4 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Dear sofa expert. 26 May 2020 15: 06
    -1
    • 1
    • 2
    Ethiopia responded by building up air defense forces in the dam region, in anticipation of an attack by the Egyptian and Sudanese air forces, which might try to bomb the dam without a land invasion.

    This is if from the air. And if the torpedo is launched?
    1. 123 Online
      123 (123) 26 May 2020 15: 48
      +2
      • 2
      • 0
      This is if from the air. And if the torpedo is launched?

      Judging by the photograph, so far only "martyrs" can be launched.
      1. Dear sofa expert. 26 May 2020 16: 14
        +1
        • 2
        • 1
        Yes, I joked) there are rapids on the western side of the dam.
        1. 123 Online
          123 (123) 26 May 2020 17: 28
          0
          • 1
          • 1
          I understood yes and also tried.

В шаге от войны за воду: Эфиопия развернула С-300 в ожидании нападения Египта


Развертывание эфиопских С-300 недалеко от строящейся ГЭС. Фото с места события


Страны северо-восточной Африки находятся в шаге от крупномасштабной войны за воду. В ожидании совместного нападения Египта и Судана, Эфиопия перебрасывает на северо-запад страны зенитно-ракетные комплексы С-300ПМУ1, «Панцирь-С1» С-125М1, чтобы они были поближе к ГЭС «Возрождение» (по-амхарски «Хидасэ», по-арабски «Ан-Нахда»).

Нужно отметить, что эта ГЭС, расположенная в регионе Бенишангуль-Гумуз, возле границы с Суданом на реке Голубой Нил (правом притоке реки Нил), должна стать самым мощным гидротехническим сооружением во всей Африке. Ввод в эксплуатацию намечен на текущий год (постепенное заполнение водохранилища уже ведется). Электростанция сможет вырабатывать 6,45 ГВт электроэнергии.


Египет и Судан, естественно, не в восторге от перспективы столкнуться с существенной нехваткой воды, которая приведет к серьезным, если не сказать катастрофическим, экономическим, экологическим и социальным проблемам. Хартум и Каир неоднократно просили, а позднее требовали, чтобы Аддис-Абеба прекратила стройку.

Дошло до того, что армии Египта и Судана были приведены в повышенную боевую готовность. Это стало ультиматумом эфиопам – последним аргументом египтян и суданцев. Эфиопия в ответ нарастила силы ПВО в регионе плотины, в ожидании нападения авиации Египта и Судана, которые могут попытаться разбомбить плотину без сухопутного вторжения.
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

4 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Эфиопия в ответ нарастила силы ПВО в регионе плотины, в ожидании нападения авиации Египта и Судана, которые могут попытаться разбомбить плотину без сухопутного вторжения..

    Это если с воздуха. А если торпеду пустят?
    1. 123 Офлайн
      123 (123) 26 мая 2020 15:48
      +2
      • 2
      • 0
      Это если с воздуха. А если торпеду пустят?

      Судя по фотографии, пока только "шахидоверблюдов" можно запустить.
      1. Да я пошутил) там пороги с западной стороны плотины.
        1. 123 Офлайн
          123 (123) 26 мая 2020 17:28
          0
          • 1
          • 1
          Я понял yes и тоже попытался.