“Traditional Ally”: Trump will invite Russia to the G7 summit


US President Donald Trump decided to reschedule the G7 meeting from June to September 2020. According to information from the White House, the American leader also wants the leaders of Russia, South Korea, Australia and India to attend the meeting.


It should be noted that G7 is an unofficial international forum (club), uniting the UK, Germany, Italy, Canada, the USA, France and Japan. However, according to Trump, “this is a very outdated group of countries,” since the G7 does not now reflect “what is happening in the world.”

At the same time, White House Director of Strategic Communications Alyssa Farah, who previously worked as a Pentagon spokeswoman, clarified that the G7 meeting was needed so that the “traditional allies” could discuss “what to do with China.” Some media outlets have already hastened to characterize the upcoming meeting, calling it "friendship against China."

Before that, the official representative of the German federal government, Steffen Seibert, said that Chancellor Angela Merkel would not be able to personally attend the G7 summit, which was to be held in the summer in the US, "given the general situation with the COVID-19 pandemic." Seibert assured that Merkel "will continue to monitor developments."

At the same time, it is known that shortly before this, Trump and Merkel talked on the phone. During the conversation, according to the American and German media, the leaders "heatedly argued" about NATO, China and the Nord Stream-2 project.

It should be added that in August 2019, Trump took the initiative to return Russia to the club, again turning the permanent G7 format into G8. However, in December 2019, the U.S. Congress rejected this initiative. Then they said from Moscow that Russia has no desire to join this club. Russian President Vladimir Putin then said that he was not against the idea of ​​Trump, but stated that the era of the West was coming to an end.
Used photos: http://kremlin.ru/
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

5 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Valentine Offline
    Valentine (Valentin) 31 May 2020 10: 38
    +4
    • 4
    • 0
    And why do we need this “gangway”, where the United States is traditionally banked, and we only have a whipping boy’s accessory there, because we recently passed it.
  2. kriten Offline
    kriten (Vladimir) 31 May 2020 12: 28
    +2
    • 3
    • 1
    Trump's favorite hobby: invite Putin to a meeting, but before that, kick him like a dog who is tired of the table. Interesting - Putin was not enough two times ???
    1. Rashid116 Offline
      Rashid116 (Rashid) 2 June 2020 09: 53
      0
      • 0
      • 0
      Will anyone be surprised if a fairy tale explodes, sticking out his tongue, to the owner's foot?
  3. Bakht Offline
    Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 31 May 2020 14: 41
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    "The answer is no, as it is the British army's duty to fight as it is the German's"
  4. 123 Offline
    123 (123) 31 May 2020 22: 54
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Cheburashka looking for friends?

    also wants leaders to attend the meeting Russia, South Korea, Australia and India

    The geography of countries clearly says what Trump needs.
    God knows where to go, drink tea, take a photo, listen, how interesting it is to be friends against China, from strange people who harm us wherever they can?

«Традиционный союзник»: Трамп пригласит Россию на саммит G7


Президент США Дональд Трамп решил перенести встречу «Большой семерки» (G7) с июня на сентябрь 2020 года. По информации из Белого дома, американский лидер хочет также, чтобы на встрече присутствовали руководители России, Южной Кореи, Австралии и Индии.


Нужно отметить, что G7 – неофициальный международный форум (клуб), объединяющий Великобританию, Германию, Италию, Канаду, США, Францию и Японию. Однако по мнению Трампа – «это очень устаревшая группа стран», так как G7 сейчас не отражает того, «что происходит в мире».

При этом директор по стратегическим коммуникациям Белого дома Алисса Фарах, ранее работавшая пресс-секретарем Пентагона, уточнила, что встреча G7 нужна для того, чтобы «традиционные союзники» могли обсудить, «что делать с Китаем». Некоторые СМИ уже поспешили охарактеризовать будущую встречу, назвав ее «дружбой против Китая».

Перед этим официальный представитель федерального правительства Германии Штеффен Зайберт заявил, что канцлер Ангела Меркель не сможет лично принять участие в саммите G7, который должен был состояться летом в США, «учитывая общую ситуацию с пандемией COVID-19». Зайберт заверил, что Меркель «продолжит следить за развитием событий».

При этом известно, что незадолго до этого Трамп и Меркель пообщались по телефону. В ходе разговора, как утверждают американские и немецкие СМИ, лидеры «бурно спорили» по поводу НАТО, Китая и проекта «Северный поток-2».

Нужно добавить, что в августе 2019 года Трамп выступил с инициативой вернуть Россию в клуб, снова превратив постоянный формат G7 в G8. Однако в декабре 2019 года Конгресс США отклонил эту инициативу. После чего из Москвы заявили, что у России отсутствует желание присоединяться к этому клубу. Президент России Владимир Путин сказал тогда, что не против самой идеи Трампа, но констатировал, что эпоха Запада подходит к концу.
  • Использованы фотографии: http://kremlin.ru/
5 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Валентин Офлайн Валентин
    Валентин (Валентин) 31 мая 2020 10:38
    +4
    И зачем нам этот "сходняк", где традиционно банкуют США, и нам там уготован только приставной стульчик мальчика для битья, ведь мы это уже недавно проходили.
  2. kriten Офлайн kriten
    kriten (Владимир) 31 мая 2020 12:28
    +2
    Любимый конек Трампа: пригласить Путина на встречу, но перед этим пнуть его, как надоевшую у стола собачку. Интересно - Путину двух раз не хватило???
    1. Рашид116 Офлайн Рашид116
      Рашид116 (Рашид) 2 июня 2020 09:53
      0
      Кто-нибудь удивится, если сказочный рванет, высунув язык, к ноге хозяина?
  3. Bakht Офлайн Bakht
    Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 31 мая 2020 14:41
    +1
    «The answer is no, as it is the British army's duty to fight as it is the German's»
  4. 123 Офлайн 123
    123 (123) 31 мая 2020 22:54
    +1
    Чебурашка ищет друзей?

    хочет также, чтобы на встрече присутствовали руководители России, Южной Кореи, Австралии и Индии

    География стран однозначно говорит, что надо Трампу.
    Ехать черт знает куда, попить чайку, сделать фото, послушать, как интересно дружить против Китая, от странных людей, вредящих нам где только могут?