Heir to the Caspian Monster: Does Russia Need a New WIG?


The Russian multi-purpose ekranoplan A-050 Chaika, which is due to be commissioned later this year, has been dubbed the successor of the Caspian Monster in the press. The once formidable, but “buried alive” Soviet ekranoplan “Lun” can find a new life in more modern forms. But is modern Russia needed?


The need for the creation of such “hybrids” arose for the first time back in the 60s of the last century, when heavy anti-ship missiles appeared in the USSR. At that time, equipping long-range bombers with such weapons was impractical because of their limited carrying capacity, and the ships did not fit due to the low speed. So, the Soviet designers had the idea of ​​creating a “flying ship”, the testing of which in the mid-60s caused a real panic in the Pentagon.

By 1972, the USSR had already created a serial landing ekranoplan "Eaglet", capable of transferring up to 200 marines or 2 armored vehicles at a distance of up to 1500 km, while developing a speed of up to 400 km / h. Then, in 1983, the legendary Lun was created, created on the basis of the Caspian Monster project. The ekranoplan, armed with six Moskit anti-ship missiles and capable of launching them on the go, could become a formidable weapon, but in the end fell victim to the Gorbachev regime.

The modern A-050 Chaika is capable of carrying up to 9 tons of cargo or transporting up to 100 people at a distance of up to 5000 km, while developing a speed of up to 450 km / h. It is assumed that the ekranoplan can be equipped with a supersonic Indian-Russian missile PJ-10 BrahMos (version of the Onyx). However, is the resurrection of the "Caspian monster" relevant in our time?

The Russian caliber "Caliber" confidently hits targets at a distance of 1500 km, and the aviation hypersonic "Dagger" will reach 3000 km altogether. Consequently, the need for percussion machines like The Seagull today is very controversial.

However, there is a positive point: the magnificent idea of ​​Soviet engineers did not "die" with the USSR. So, the developments used in the modern version of the “Caspian Monster” can still be implemented in a completely different direction.

7 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 1 June 2020 13: 40
    0
    USA in panic - Russians created Sea Monster

    But the orderlies will not come .....

    Unfinished Seagull - a purely civilian low-power vessel, not adapted for launching from the wing.
    And for the "diving at the start of the rockets" the imagination of the journalist was not enough.
  2. sgrabik Offline sgrabik
    sgrabik (Sergei) 1 June 2020 15: 26
    +1
    As always, in this article, obvious nonsense is passed off as smart thoughts. It is quite possible to create on the basis of an ekranoplan a high-speed strike vessel with a large number of Zircon anti-ship missiles on board, a kind of US Navy AUG killer. Such a ship would pose a much greater danger to the enemy and would have greater combat effectiveness than the same missile frigate or even a destroyer, which are very slow-moving in comparison with an ekranoplan.
  3. Winnie Offline Winnie
    Winnie (Winnie) 1 June 2020 15: 34
    0
    Does Russia Need a New WIG?

    Would be needed, would have been built long ago.
  4. gorenina91 Offline gorenina91
    gorenina91 (Irina) 1 June 2020 15: 55
    -1
    Heir to the Caspian Monster: Does Russia Need a New WIG?

    - Russia needs a new ekranoplan (like the old one too) ... - And Russia needs it in the Caspian, first of all, not against "distant foes"; but he is needed primarily against the "bakhtiar states", which today portray Russia's allies in the CSTO; but at any moment they are ready to go over to the side of the enemy of Russia ... - These "albatrosses" will be very useful for them; when the "bakhtiars" openly go over to the side of Russia's enemies ...
  5. bonifacius Offline bonifacius
    bonifacius (Alex) 1 June 2020 22: 25
    +3
    Each of the five Russian fleets should have such a "unit", at least a couple of them as an emergency rescue ship. How useful they would be when the Komsomolets submarine suffered an accident and in several more emergencies at sea.
  6. Citizen Mѣshkov (Sergѣi) 2 June 2020 00: 42
    0
    It’s better to send this money to help dying Russian villages and towns!
  7. candidate Offline candidate
    candidate (candidate) 3 June 2020 18: 13
    0
    The website korabel.ru has an article by Viktor Sokolov "It is possible, but not necessary" (in the "news" section). A comparative analysis of the use of ekranoplanes as a transport vessel is given. Recommend.

Наследник «Каспийского монстра»: нужен ли России новый экраноплан?


Российский многоцелевой экраноплан А-050 «Чайка», который должен поступить в эксплуатацию уже в этом году, в прессе окрестили преемником «Каспийского монстра». Некогда грозный, но «похороненный заживо» советский экраноплан «Лунь» может обрести новую жизнь в более современных формах. Но нужен ли он современной России?


Впервые потребность в создании подобных «гибридов» возникла еще в 60-х годах прошлого века, когда в СССР появились тяжелые противокорабельные ракеты. На тот момент, оснащение таким оружием дальних бомбардировщиков было нецелесообразным по причине их ограниченной грузоподъемности, а корабли не подходили из-за низкой скорости хода. Так, у советских конструкторов зародилась идея создания «летающего корабля», испытания которого в середине 60-х годов вызвала настоящую панику в Пентагоне.

К 1972 году в СССР был создан уже серийный десантный экраноплан «Орленок», способный перебрасывать до 200 морских пехотинцев или 2 бронемашины на расстояние до 1500 км, развивая при этом скорость до 400 км/ч. Затем, в 1983 году, был заложен легендарный «Лунь», созданный на основе проекта «Каспийский монстр». Экраноплан, вооруженный шестью ПКР «Москит» и способный запускать их на ходу, мог стать грозным оружием, но в итоге пал жертвой «горбачевского» режима.

Современный А-050 «Чайка» способен нести на себе до 9 тонн груза или перевозить до 100 человек на расстояние до 5000 км, развивая при этом скорость до 450 км/ч. Предполагается, что экраноплан могут вооружить сверхзвуковой индийско-российской ракетой PJ-10 BrahMos (версия «Оникса»). Однако актуально ли воскрешение «Каспийского монстра» в наше время?

Российская ОКР «Калибр» уверенно поражает цели на удалении в 1500 км, а авиационный гиперзвуковой «Кинжал» и вовсе достанет за 3000 км. Следовательно, необходимость в ударных машинах вроде «Чайки» сегодня выглядит весьма спорной.

Впрочем, есть и положительный момент: великолепная идея советских инженеров не «умерла» вместе с СССР. А значит наработки, использованные в современной версии «Каспийского монстра», еще могут быть реализованы в совершенно другом направлении.

Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

7 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 1 июня 2020 13:40
    0
    • 2
    • 2
    США в панике - русские создали «Морского монстра»

    Но санитары уже не приедут.....

    Непостроенная Чайка - сугубо гражданское маломощное судно, никак неприспособленное к пускам с крыла.
    А для "ныряющих при старте ракет" фантазии у журналюг не хватило.
  2. sgrabik Офлайн
    sgrabik (Сергей) 1 июня 2020 15:26
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Как всегда, в этой статье очевидные глупости выдаются за умные мысли. Вполне можно создать на базе экраноплана ударное быстроходное судно с большим количеством ПКР "Циркон" на борту, эдакого убийцу АУГ ВМС США. Такое судно представляло бы гораздо большую опасность для противника и имело бы большую боевую эффективность, чем тот же ракетный фрегат или даже эсминец, которые весьма тихоходны по сравнению с экранопланом.
  3. Винни Офлайн
    Винни (Винни) 1 июня 2020 15:34
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    нужен ли России новый экраноплан?

    Был бы нужен, давно бы построили.
  4. gorenina91 Офлайн
    gorenina91 (Ирина) 1 июня 2020 15:55
    -1
    • 1
    • 2
    Наследник «Каспийского монстра»: нужен ли России новый экраноплан?

    - России нужен новый экраноплан (как и старый - тоже) ... - И нужен он России на Каспии в первую очередь не против "дальних супостатов"; а нужен он в первую очередь против "бахтияровсих государств", которые сегодня изображают союзников России в ОДКБ; но в любой момент готовы переметнуться на сторону противника России... - Вот для них эти "альбатросы" очень и пригодятся; когда "бахтияры" открыто переметнутся на сторону врагов России ...
  5. bonifacius Офлайн
    bonifacius (Alex) 1 июня 2020 22:25
    +3
    • 3
    • 0
    Подобный "агрегат" должен иметь каждый из пяти российских флотов, как минимум по паре штук в качестве аварийно-спасательного корабля. Как бы они пригодились, когда терпела аварию подлодка "Комсомолец" и в ещё нескольких аварийных случаях на море.
  6. Гражданинъ Мѣшковъ (Сергей Г) 2 июня 2020 00:42
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    Лучше эти деньги направить на помощь погибающих российских деревень и посёлков!
  7. кандидат Офлайн
    кандидат (кандидат) 3 июня 2020 18:13
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    На сайте korabel.ru есть статья Виктора Соколова "Можно, но не нужно" (в разделе "новости"). Дан сравнительный анализ применения экранопланов в качестве транспортного судна. Рекомендую.