Expert: Kremlin’s stake on Middle East autocrats will not pay off


Attempts by the Russian authorities to assert their influence through the support of Middle Eastern dictators are doomed to failure, political analyst Dmitry Frolovskiy is convinced. His detailed opinion is published by the website of the Washington Institute of the Middle East Institute.


The publication notes that the collapse of the OPEC + agreement and the diplomatic impasse in Syria show the fragility of “Russia's conquests in the Middle East.” Building relationships with authoritarian leaders in the region based on a personalistic approach can be effective for a while, but in the long run, the Kremlin’s strategy will not be able to institutionalize these relations and, therefore, will not be able to protect them from failure.

Moreover, the Kremlin’s underestimation of the region’s instability could play a trick on him.

In accordance with the personalist regime of Russia, the external policy under President Vladimir Putin, she focused on building bridges with autocrats. The Middle East [...] turned out to be easy prey. [...] Known for its pragmatism and anti-Western position, Russia was considered effective and powerful enough to act as a counterweight to the United States, whose foreign policy over the past two decades has caused a comparison with a bull in a china shop. The speed with which the Kremlin entered the Middle East security agenda [...] is truly impressive, but they can also be signs of fragility

- noted in the author's article.

Russia's dependence on relations with authoritarian leaders and its clearly incorrect understanding of the rapidly changing nature of the Middle East can become the Achilles heel here, the expert believes. Although resembling authoritarian governments in the region gives the Kremlin some advantage, it is still an unpopular external force, with memories of the wars in Afghanistan and Chechnya.

The author believes that the Russian leadership treats the Arab countries as well as its own population, in other words, as something inappropriate for democracy. However, more and more ordinary Arabs can begin to perceive the Russian Federation as an external stronghold of authoritarianism in the region and consider it responsible for supporting autocratic and corrupt leaders.

Yes, the Kremlin’s approach can still bring geopolitical benefits in the coming years, as evidenced by Russia's growing military presence in Libya.

But the volatile dynamics of the region is able to turn all the games of the Russian Federation in this field into an expensive undertaking that brings costs both domestically and abroad.
  • Used photos: http://kremlin.ru/
11 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. gorenina91 Online gorenina91
    gorenina91 (Irina) 3 June 2020 06: 57
    0
    Expert: Kremlin’s stake on Middle East autocrats will not pay off
    Today, 06: 30

    - So, and there is no one else to bet on ... - Who else to bet on there ??? - At dervishes, camel drivers, petty crooks and scammers ???
  2. maiman61 Offline maiman61
    maiman61 (Yuri) 3 June 2020 10: 05
    +1
    In Syria, the situation does not normalize, because the United States, Turkey invaded Syria and occupied part of the territory of an independent state! If the invaders, the United States and Turkey had withdrawn from Syria, stopped financing and arming terrorists, then everything would have returned to normal instantly!
    1. Natan bruk Offline Natan bruk
      Natan bruk (Natan Bruk) 3 June 2020 19: 39
      -1
      To broaden his horizons - the Civil War there began even before the forces of other states appeared in Syria, and there is a simple explanation for this - the Alavite elite rule there, and the Alavites themselves are less than 20% there. All nishtyaki went mainly to them. The dissatisfied were pressed by Mukhabarat, Assad kept tightening the nuts, but this could not last forever. Here the thread broke and then it started ... Well, ISIS, before the heap, had dug in the eastern part of the country by that time. To understand all this “nightingale litter” and Kissel and Sheinin is not enough.
      1. maiman61 Offline maiman61
        maiman61 (Yuri) 8 June 2020 21: 51
        +1
        Your narrow horizons are not able to understand that the war in Syria is organized by the USA and Turkey! After all, you need to understand basic things!
        1. Natan bruk Offline Natan bruk
          Natan bruk (Natan Bruk) 9 June 2020 00: 36
          -2
          Well, such an “understanding” is only for those whose only source of information is Kisel TV.
          1. maiman61 Offline maiman61
            maiman61 (Yuri) 9 June 2020 07: 53
            +2
            You're wrong! I'm not watching a zombie. But elementary things are hard not to understand! The USA is the main enemy of all mankind. If they die, then there will be no limit to joy!
            1. Natan bruk Offline Natan bruk
              Natan bruk (Natan Bruk) 9 June 2020 10: 51
              -2
              Well, it’s only in your inflamed brain, not burdened by intelligence.
              1. maiman61 Offline maiman61
                maiman61 (Yuri) 9 June 2020 17: 28
                +1
                Do you even know this word - intelligence? Or found and inserted in the dictionary? And you went to hell with the USA.
                1. Natan bruk Offline Natan bruk
                  Natan bruk (Natan Bruk) 9 June 2020 19: 49
                  -2
                  Well, you, as a schoolboy, are excusable to be stupid. Maybe you grow up, get smarter.
  3. 123 Offline 123
    123 (123) 4 June 2020 20: 40
    0
    Replace the article in Russia to the United States, absolutely nothing will change. The next mantras - we are the most democratic, we are the most free, we are the most, and so on. It looks like auto-suggestion.
    The United States has poured blood over the entire Middle East and is trying to whitewash itself.
  4. Citizen Mѣshkov (Sergѣi) 5 June 2020 00: 54
    +1
    Of course, nothing will come of it, since the Kremlin has very primitive thinking. Having influenced the autocrats of the Middle East, they want to achieve an increase in oil prices. Instead of forgetting about oil, begin to develop science, production and agriculture. In the conditions of the built-up system of a “gas station state”, one should not expect otherwise.

Эксперт: ставка Кремля на автократов Ближнего Востока себя не оправдает


Попытки российских властей утвердить своё влияние через поддержку ближневосточных диктаторов обречены на провал, убеждён политолог Дмитрий Фроловский (Dmitriy Frolovskiy). Его развернутое мнение публикует сайт вашингтонского Института Ближнего Востока (Middle East Institute).


В публикации отмечается, что крах соглашения ОПЕК+ и дипломатический тупик в Сирии показывают всю хрупкость «завоеваний России на Ближнем Востоке». Построение отношений с авторитарными лидерами региона на основе персоналистского подхода может быть эффективным некоторое время, но в долгосрочной перспективе стратегия Кремля не сможет институционализировать эти отношения и, следовательно, не сможет защитить их от провала.

Более того, недооценка Кремлем нестабильности региона может сыграть с ним злую шутку.

В соответствии с персоналистским режимом России, внешняя политика при президенте Владимире Путине была сосредоточена на наведении мостов с автократами. Ближний Восток […] оказался легкой добычей. […] Известная своим прагматизмом и антизападной позицией, Россия считалась эффективной, и достаточно мощной, чтобы выступать в качестве противовеса Соединенным Штатам, внешняя политика которых за последние два десятилетия вызвала сравнение с быком в посудной лавке. Скорость, с которой Кремль вошел в повестку безопасности на Ближнем Востоке […] действительно впечатляют, но они также могут быть признаками хрупкости

- отмечается в авторской статье.

Зависимость России от отношений с авторитарными лидерами и ее явно неправильное понимание быстро меняющейся природы Ближнего Востока могут стать тут ахиллесовой пятой, полагает эксперт. Хотя сходство с авторитарными правительствами региона дает Кремлю некоторое преимущество, он все еще является непопулярной внешней силой, за которой тянутся воспоминания о войнах в Афганистане и Чечне.

Автор полагает, что российское руководство относится к арабским странам так же, как к своему собственному населению, иными словами, как к чему-то неподходящему для демократии. Однако все больше простых арабов могут начать воспринимать РФ как внешний оплот авторитаризма в регионе и посчитать ее ответственной за поддержку деспотичных и коррумпированных лидеров.

Да, подход Кремля все еще может принести геополитические выгоды в предстоящие годы, о чем говорит растущее военное присутствие России в Ливии.

Но изменчивая динамика региона способна превратить все игры РФ на этом поле в дорогостоящее начинание, приносящее издержки как внутри страны, так и за рубежом.
Использованы фотографии: http://kremlin.ru/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

11 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. gorenina91 Офлайн
    gorenina91 (Ирина) 3 июня 2020 06:57
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    Эксперт: ставка Кремля на автократов Ближнего Востока себя не оправдает
    Сегодня, 06:30

    - Так, а там больше и ставить не на кого... - На кого там ещё ставить??? - На дервишей, погонщиков верблюдов, мелких жуликов и мошенников???
  2. maiman61 Офлайн
    maiman61 (Юрий) 3 июня 2020 10:05
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    В Сирии не нормализуется обстановка, потому что в Сирию вторглись США, Турция и оккупировали часть территории независимого государства! Если бы оккупанты, США и Турция убрались из Сирии, перестали финансировать и вооружать террористов, то все моментально там бы нормализовалось!
    1. Natan Bruk Офлайн
      Natan Bruk (Natan Bruk) 3 июня 2020 19:39
      -1
      • 1
      • 2
      Для расширения кругозора - Гражданская война там началась ещё до того, как в Сирии появились силы других государств, и этому есть простое объяснение - там правит алавитская верхушка, а самих Алавитов там меньше 20%. Все ништяки шли в основном им. Недовольные прессовались Мухабаратом, Асад все закручивал гайки, но вечно это продолжаться не могло. Вот резьбу и сорвало, а потом уже понеслась... Ну и ИГИЛ до кучи к тому времени окопался в восточной части страны. Чтобы разбираться во всем этом «соловьиного помета» и Киселя с Шейниным недостаточно.
      1. maiman61 Офлайн
        maiman61 (Юрий) 8 июня 2020 21:51
        +1
        • 1
        • 0
        Твой узкий кругозор не в состоянии понять, что война в Сирии организована США и Турцией! Ведь надо понимать элементарные вещи!
        1. Natan Bruk Офлайн
          Natan Bruk (Natan Bruk) 9 июня 2020 00:36
          -2
          • 0
          • 2
          Ну, такое «понимание» только у тех, чей единственный источник информации - Кисель ТВ.
          1. maiman61 Офлайн
            maiman61 (Юрий) 9 июня 2020 07:53
            +2
            • 2
            • 0
            Ты ошибаешься! Я зомбоящик не смотрю. Но элементарные вещи трудно не понять! США - главный враг всего человечества. Если они сдохнут, то радости предела не будет!
            1. Natan Bruk Офлайн
              Natan Bruk (Natan Bruk) 9 июня 2020 10:51
              -2
              • 0
              • 2
              Ну, это только в твоих воспалённых мозгах, не отягощённых интеллектом.
              1. maiman61 Офлайн
                maiman61 (Юрий) 9 июня 2020 17:28
                +1
                • 1
                • 0
                Ты хоть знаешь это слово - интеллект? Или в словаре нашел и вставил? И пошли вы в ад вместе с США.
                1. Natan Bruk Офлайн
                  Natan Bruk (Natan Bruk) 9 июня 2020 19:49
                  -2
                  • 0
                  • 2
                  Ладно, тебе, как школьнику, простительно быть глупым. Может, вырастешь, поумнеешь.
  3. 123 Офлайн
    123 (123) 4 июня 2020 20:40
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    Заменить в статье Россия на США, ровным счетом ничего не поменяется. Очередные мантры - мы самые демократические, мы самые свободные, мы самые-самые и так далее. Похоже на самовнушение.
    США весь Ближний Восток кровью залили и пытаются себя обелить.
  4. Гражданинъ Мѣшковъ (Сергей Г) 5 июня 2020 00:54
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Разумеется, ничего не получится, так как у Кремля очень примитивное мышление. Повлияв на автократов Ближнего Востока, они хотят добиться повышения цены на нефть. Вместо того, чтобы забыв о нефти, начать развивать науку, производство и сельское хозяйство. В условиях выстроенной системы "государства бензоколонки" иного ожидать не стоит.