"Academician Chersky" changed ownership: two scenarios


According to media reports, the Akademik Chersky pipe-laying vessel changed its owner. From the balance sheet of Gazprom Fleet, it transferred to the regional structure of the domestic monopolist, Samara Thermal Energy Property Fund (STIF), which is engaged in real estate management.


Obviously enough, this was done to avoid sanctions against the head office, but is this simple trick capable of tricking American lawmakers?

Such close attention has been drawn to Academician Chersky because it is the only Russian vessel capable of completing the Nord Stream-2 gas pipeline abandoned by Western contractors. The Swiss company prudently chose not to mess with the United States, which imposed sanctions against pipeline builders. The Fortuna and Defender pipe-laying barges available in the Baltic Sea do not meet the requirements of the Danes in whose waters the rest of the pipeline is laid, because they are not equipped with a dynamic positioning system. To complete the Nord Stream-2 on its own, Gazprom had to drive Chersky from the Far East for several months, winding with a hare and constantly changing the point of arrival.

And now the ship in place, located in the German port, where it is being finalized. Unfortunately, this is far from all of his problems. American lawmakers immediately promised to impose new sanctions in the event that a state corporation attempts to complete the offshore section of the pipeline on its own. The main intrigue is what specific limitations it will be.

Judging by the measures taken by Gazprom, its management expects them to be “light”. In this scenario, "Academician Chersky" will be on the list of SDN, compiled by the United States. After that, the ship will be denied access to any type of foreign service, which, in general, is not fatal. Also, the Samara Fund, whose authorized capital is 123 million rubles, its assets in the United States will be arrested, and the leadership will not be able to enter this country. They will complete the construction of Nord Stream-2, and the initiators of the sanctions regime will be able to shrug, saying that they did everything possible, but the cunning Miller and Putin outplayed them again.

But there is another option, immeasurably tougher. The Americans themselves are well able to play such games, so simply transferring the ship from one legal entity to another will not work. Sanctions apply not only to the owners of the pipe-laying vessel, but also to those who sold it or leased it. Senators Ted Cruz and Djinn Shahin announced that they are preparing a new bill with US restrictive measures against Nord Stream-2. This means that the sanctions regime can be radically expanded, right up to measures directly in relation to Gazprom.

Such a scenario, directed against the Russian state corporation and its European buyers, will undoubtedly cause a sharp aggravation of relations between Berlin and Washington. Nevertheless, the time for such a "collision" from the United States was chosen rather successful. In Germany, the construction of the first LNG terminal in the city of Brunsbüttel has already begun, the launch is expected in 2022. The Germans are also thinking about the possibility of a gradual transition from gas to hydrogen, for which the ground-based infrastructure of the Nord Stream and Nord Stream-2 can be involved, which we detail told earlier. On the European market as a whole, there is an oversupply of cheap gas due to a whole range of factors: a warm winter, packed to capacity to the last year against the backdrop of transit negotiations between Gazprom and Naftogaz UGS, a general decrease in consumption due to the coronavirus pandemic.

At the same time, shale oil and gas producers in the USA are experiencing serious problems. The extraction of "black gold" allowed to subsidize shale gas, which was enough for the domestic market and export. Now the cost of production is growing, and production volumes are falling. Removing any significant share of Gazprom from the European market in order to increase quotes could be a real salvation for the US energy sector, for which President Trump is behind the mountain.

In the near future it will become clear whether it turned out to be enough to change the owner of the "Academician Chersky" to outwit the Americans.
2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. olpin51 Offline olpin51
    olpin51 (Oleg Pinegin) 3 June 2020 16: 52
    0
    You might think that the US won't come up with anything. Yeah, of course.
  2. aleksandrmakedo Offline aleksandrmakedo
    aleksandrmakedo (Dubovitsky Victor Kuzmich) 9 June 2020 21: 55
    +2
    It's not about tricks. The point is the legal inviolability of the transaction. The court does not evaluate intentions, but the result. The result is that sanctions can overtake a company with a penny asset, with which nothing can be taken. If you have only an old rusty bicycle, then you can’t take a brand new Mercedes from you. Just because you don’t have it. It is not possible to extend sanctions to the mother’s office, which has spun off this trifle, as well as to Russia as a whole or to planet Earth.

«Академик Черский» сменил владельца: два сценария развития ситуации


Как сообщают СМИ, судно-трубоукладчик «Академик Черский» сменило владельца. С баланса ООО «Газпром флот» оно перешло к региональной структуре отечественного монополиста, Самарскому теплоэнергетическому имущественному фонду (СТИФ), занимающемуся управлением недвижимостью.


Достаточно очевидно, что это сделано во избежание санкций против головной конторы, но вот способен ли этот нехитрый трюк обмануть американских законодателей?

Столь пристальное внимание к «Академику Черскому» привлечено потому, что оно является единственным российским судном, способным достроить брошенный западными подрядчиками газопровод «Северный поток-2». Швейцарская компания благоразумно предпочла не связываться с США, которые ввели санкции против строителей трубопровода. Имеющиеся на Балтике трубоукладочные баржи «Фортуна» и «Дефендер» не соответствуют требованиям датчан, в чьих водах прокладывается оставшаяся часть газопровода, поскольку не оснащены системой динамического позиционирования. Для достройки «Северного потока-2» своими силами «Газпрому» пришлось несколько месяцев гнать «Черского» с Дальнего Востока, петляя зайцем и постоянно меняя пункт прибытия.

И вот судно на месте, находится в немецком порту, где производится его окончательная подготовка. К сожалению, это далеко не все его проблемы. Американские законодатели сразу пообещали ввести новые санкции в случае попытки госкорпорации достроить морскую часть трубопровода своими силами. Главная интрига заключается в том, какие конкретно ограничения это будут.

Если судить по мерам, предпринимаемым «Газпромом», в его руководстве рассчитывают, что они будут «лайтовыми». При таком раскладе «Академик Черский» попадет в список SDN, составленный Соединенными Штатами. После этого судно будет лишено доступа к любому виду иностранного обслуживания, что, в целом, не смертельно. Также под санкции попадет Самарский фонд, чей уставной капитал составляет 123 миллиона рублей, его активы в США будут арестованы, а руководство не сможет въехать в эту страну. «Северный поток-2» достроят, а инициаторы санкционного режима смогут развести руками, заявив, что сделали все возможное, но хитроумные Миллер и Путин их опять переиграли.

Но есть и другой вариант, неизмеримо более жесткий. Американцы прекрасно сами умеют играть в такие игры, поэтому простой передачей судна от одного юридического лица другому обойтись не получится. Под санкции подпадают не только владельцы судна-трубоукладчика, но и те, кто его продали или сдали в аренду. Сенаторы Тед Круз и Джинн Шахин объявили, что готовится новый законопроект с ограничительными мерами США против «Северного потока-2». Это означает, что санкционный режим может быть радикально расширен, вплоть до мер непосредственно в отношении «Газпрома».

Такой сценарий, направленный против российской госкорпорации и ее европейских покупателей, несомненно вызовет резкое обострение отношений между Берлином и Вашингтоном. Тем не менее, время для такого «наезда» со стороны США выбрано довольно удачное. В Германии уже начато строительство первого СПГ-терминала в городе Брунсбюттель, запуск ожидается в 2022 году. Также немцы подумывают о возможности постепенного перехода с газа на водород, для чего может быть задействована наземная инфраструктура «Северного потока» и «Северного потока-2», о чем мы подробно рассказывали ранее. На европейском рынке в целом сегодня наблюдается переизбыток дешевого газа из-за целого комплекса факторов: теплая зима, набитые под завязку за прошлый год на фоне транзитных переговоров «Газпрома» и «Нафтогаза» ПХГ, общее снижение потребления из-за пандемии коронавируса.

При этом серьезные проблемы испытывают производители сланцевой нефти и газа в США. Добыча «черного золота» позволяла дотировать и сланцевый газ, которого хватало для внутреннего рынка и экспорта. Теперь себестоимость производства растет, а объемы добычи падают. Убрать любым способом с европейского рынка значительную долю «Газпрома» для повышения котировок может стать настоящим спасением для американского энергетического сектора, за которого горой стоит президент Трамп.

В ближайшее время станет понятно, оказалось ли достаточным сменить владельца «Академика Черского», чтобы перехитрить американцев.
2 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. olpin51 Офлайн olpin51
    olpin51 (Олег Пинегин) 3 июня 2020 16:52
    0
    Можно подумать, что США ничего не придумают. Ага, как же.
  2. aleksandrmakedo Офлайн aleksandrmakedo
    aleksandrmakedo (Дубовицкий Виктор Кузьмич) 9 июня 2020 21:55
    +2
    Дело тут не в хитрости. Дело в юридической неприкосновенности сделки. Суд оценивает не намерения, а результат. Результат таков, что санкции могут настигнуть фирму с копеечным активом, с которой ничего взять нельзя. Если вы располагаете только старым ржавым велосипедом, то отобрать у вас новенький мерседес нельзя. Просто потому, что его у вас нет. Распространить санкции на материнскую контору, отпочковавшую эту мелочь, так же, как на Россию в целом, или на планету Земля, нельзя.