North-South transport corridor: a bridge is built in Russia across the Volga-Don Canal


Spectacular photographs were published from the construction site of the newest automobile bridge across the Volga-Don Shipping Canal, being erected as part of the construction of the first stage of the bypass road around Volgograd. This object will become not only an important object of federal significance, but also a milestone in the creation of the North-South international transport corridor, which should connect the countries of Europe with the states of the Caspian basin and further with India.


Although work began only this fall, to date, hundreds of piles have already been driven and 13 of the 27 towers erected. In addition, the contours of the future bypass road are already clearly visible on the ground.

The span of the future bridge will be 1,3 kilometers, and the longest of its spans will reach 150 meters. The cost of the facility is about 5 billion rubles.

It is expected that limited traffic on the bridge will begin in 2022, and it will fully begin to function by 2024. According to media reports, work is progressing on schedule, and the necessary precautions have been taken in connection with the pandemic.



In addition to major international and federal significance, the bridge will also become an important part of local infrastructure. It is no secret that over the entire considerable length of the Volga-Don Shipping Canal, only three automobile bridges cross, and all of them were built in Soviet times. The new construction will also be able to partially solve the problem of the connectedness of the two shores of the waterway.

The highway bypassing Volgograd, of which the bridge will become a part, will be a four-lane highway illuminated along its entire length and including seven new interchanges. As expected, it will unite several federal highways at once: R-22 "Caspian", A-260 (Volgograd - Kamensk-Shakhtinsky - border with Ukraine) and R-228 (Syzran - Saratov - Volgograd).

Earlier projects included, in particular, the extension of the existing Third Longitudinal Railway, however, these plans were replaced by a completely new project.

Volgograd remains the only one-million-strong city in the country that does not have a full bypass route. As a result, all transit traffic went through the city streets, creating huge problems for the dilapidated infrastructure.

In addition to the construction from scratch of a new automobile bridge across the Volga-Don, an existing crossing located directly within the city will also be reconstructed. This design has been operating since the channel was commissioned in 1952 and was not designed for the traffic flow that passes through it today.
  • Photos used: Press Service of the Volgograd Region Administration
2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. gorenina91 Online gorenina91
    gorenina91 (Irina) 3 June 2020 17: 50
    0
    North-South transport corridor: a bridge is built in Russia across the Volga-Don Canal

    This object will become not only an important object of federal significance, but also a milestone in the creation of the North-South international transport corridor, which should connect the countries of Europe with the states of the Caspian basin and further with India.

    What other India ??? Most likely ...- through Kazakhstan, China will forward one of the threads of the Silk Road ... - well, then ... through Volgograd ...
    But China did sell one direction of the Silk Road ... through Russia ... - That’s what China has been bustling about ... lately ...
    - God grant ...- so that this is not so ... That I was mistaken ....
  2. Andrey_Mart Offline Andrey_Mart
    Andrey_Mart ((Owl)) 4 June 2020 08: 47
    0
    Bridges and roads need to be built.

Транспортный коридор «Север-Юг»: в России возводят мост через Волго-Донской канал


Эффектные фотоснимки были опубликованы со строительной площадки новейшего автомобильного моста через Волго-Донской судоходный канал, возводимого в рамках прокладки первого этапа объездной дороги вокруг Волгограда. Этот объект станет не только важным объектом федерального значения, но также и вехой в создании международного транспортного коридора «Север-Юг», который должен связать страны Европы с государствами каспийского бассейна и далее – с Индией.


Хотя работы начались лишь этой осенью, к настоящему времени уже забито сотни свай и возведены 13 из 27 опор. Кроме того, контуры будущей объездной дороги уже хорошо заметны на местности.

Длина пролета будущего моста составит 1,3 километра, а самый протяженный из его пролетов достигнет 150 метров. Стоимость объекта – порядка 5 миллиардов рублей.

Ожидается, что ограниченное движение по мосту начнется уже в 2022 году, а полностью он начнет функционировать к 2024. Согласно сообщениям СМИ, работы продвигаются по графику, а в связи с пандемией приняты необходимые меры предосторожности.



Помимо крупного международного и федерального значения, мост также станет важной частью местной инфраструктуры. Не секрет, что на всей немалой протяженности Волго-Донской судоходный канал пересекают только три автомобильных моста, и все из них построены ещё в советское время. Новое сооружение также сможет частично решить проблему связанности двух берегов водной магистрали.

Шоссе в обход Волгограда, частью которой станет мост, будет представлять собой четырехполосную трассу, освещенную на всем своем протяжении, и включающую в себя семь новых развязок. Как предполагается, она объединит сразу несколько федеральных автодорог: Р-22 «Каспий», А-260 (Волгоград – Каменск-Шахтинский – граница с Украиной) и Р-228 (Сызрань – Саратов – Волгоград).

Более ранние проекты предполагали, в частности, продление уже существующей Третьей продольной магистрали, однако эти планы были заменены совершенно новым проектом.

Волгоград остается единственным в стране городом-миллионником, не имеющим полноценной объездной трассы. В результате чего весь транзитный трафик шёл по городским улицам, создавая огромные проблемы для обветшавшей инфраструктуры.

Помимо строительства «с нуля» нового автомобильного моста через Волго-Дон, будет также реконструирован уже существующий переход, расположенный непосредственно в черте города. Данная конструкция действует с момента введения канала в строй в 1952 году и не была рассчитана на тот транспортный поток, который проходит по ней сегодня.
  • Использованы фотографии: Пресс-служба администрации Волгоградской области
2 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. gorenina91 Офлайн gorenina91
    gorenina91 (Ирина) 3 июня 2020 17:50
    0
    Транспортный коридор «Север-Юг»: в России возводят мост через Волго-Донской канал

    Этот объект станет не только важным объектом федерального значения, но также и вехой в создании международного транспортного коридора «Север-Юг», который должен связать страны Европы с государствами каспийского бассейна и далее – с Индией.

    С какой ещё Индией??? Скорее всего...- через Казахстан Китай пробросит одну из ниток "Шёлкового Пути" ... - ну, и дальше...через Волгоград...
    Продавил, всё же Китай одно направление этого "Шёлкового Пути"... через Россию... - Вот чего Китай так и засуетился...в последнее время...
    - Дай Боже...-чтобы это было не так... Чтобы Я ошиблась....
  2. Андрей_Mart Офлайн Андрей_Mart
    Андрей_Mart ((Филин)) 4 июня 2020 08:47
    0
    Мосты и дороги строить нужно.