NI: Tu-144 project failed due to air espionage errors in the USSR


The Soviet Union tried to design its own supersonic Concord - Tu-144. However, the project to create it actually failed due to possible errors in copying the drawings of the British-French liner, which the USSR aircraft designers did not fully understand. About this writes the American edition of The National Interest.


Part of the problems of the project was associated with the high level of the aerospace industry necessary to create a viable design for a supersonic jet airliner. According to one estimate, the design of the Tu-144 was 10-15 years ahead of the capabilities of the Soviet aerospace industry at that time. Perhaps a certain role was played by aviation espionage, since the similarities in the design of the Concord and Tu-144 are striking. However, due to a number of errors in the interpretation of the data, the Soviet supersonic aircraft did not achieve commercial success.

The brainchild of Tupolev made only 102 flights, only 55 of which carried passengers. Compared to Concord, the Tu-144 failed, taking precious time and money away from other projects. The British-French liner also had problems, but they were dictated by market reasons, not constructive flaws.

Thus, the Tu-144 was heavier than the Concord by 20 tons and approximately 360 cm longer. The tires of the Soviet aircraft included synthetic rubber, which was a structurally weak material and failed more often than its natural counterpart. Tu-144 engines were also underdeveloped, and the noise insulation of the cabin left much to be desired.
  • Photos used: Vlad Volkov / wikimedia.org
15 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. 123 Offline 123
    123 (123) 3 June 2020 15: 29
    +4
    According to one of the estimates, the design of the Tu-144 was 10-15 years ahead of the ability of the Soviet aerospace industry at that time
    Attention! , a certain role was played by aviation espionageBecause striking similarity in design Concord and Tu-144. However due to a number of errors in data interpretation Soviet supersonic plane and did not achieve commercial success.

    The level of analytics is off the charts. belay
    According to one estimate, that is, according to someone there, the Russian designers have not yet matured. Aircraft are similar, definitely, espionage. The key to commercial success is the correct interpretation of data. Of these shortcomings, the large length of the aircraft was particularly impressive. The original article about the engines says that their thrust is 2,7 tons more, but they are "less sophisticated."
    Unequivocally, the assistant seller of dates wrote.
    Article in the furnace. negative Professionals from The National Interest warm greetings. smile
    1. Bitter Offline Bitter
      Bitter (Gleb) 4 June 2020 00: 03
      +2
      American edition of The National Interest.

      The Soviet Union has not been around for thirty years, but some projects still cause overseas heartburn among partners overseas. Who and why needed to pour another tub of mud on a long-closed project? I think if he continued to fly and improve, then all childhood diseases would be eradicated and his characteristics improved.
      It seems that if the Americans were able to make such a machine at one time, then it would fly and partners would be able to convince the appropriate lanes for it to build and would have handed everyone a couple of pieces to reduce the unit price.
  2. Alexey Grigoryev (Alexey Grigoriev) 3 June 2020 17: 45
    +2
    The Tu-144 flew over the country, and since it was supersonic, the rumble stood, even the windows in the houses burst. And Concord flew over the ocean, no one heard him there. And in terms of economics, the Tu-144 was very expensive for people.
    1. goncharov.62 Offline goncharov.62
      goncharov.62 (Andrei) 3 June 2020 20: 01
      +1
      A couple of times he sat in Ust-Kamenogorsk. Glasses are whole since then. Blah blah blah ... eksperd ...
      1. Alexey Grigoryev (Alexey Grigoriev) 3 June 2020 20: 12
        +2
        He lands at a speed of 300 km per hour, and not at a super sound. Blah blah blah ... eksperd ...
        1. goncharov.62 Offline goncharov.62
          goncharov.62 (Andrei) 3 June 2020 20: 16
          +2
          So I saw it from my window, dear! And in the country, there are statistics of glass blown out from it? The question is not glass, alas. It is somewhat deeper. The question is in imperfect engines - he landed with almost dry tanks, and his flight was monitored at the very top every minute. And then the arguments are glass ...
    2. Bitter Offline Bitter
      Bitter (Gleb) 4 June 2020 00: 11
      +1
      ... the rumble stood, even the glass in the houses burst ...

      Did you work there as a glazier, according to requests from Aeroflot? It can be understood that information is first hand. wink
  3. bear040 Offline bear040
    bear040 3 June 2020 19: 54
    +3
    The Tu-144 failed because it was entrusted to the design of the Tupolev Design Bureau ... Not only was Tupolev himself far from a saint and very stubborn, as evidenced by the numerous Tu-104 disasters that happened due to his personal fault, he also pushed the transfer of the project The Tu-144 group, led by his son, who had no experience at that time for such a complex project ... If the Tu-144 project were transferred to the Myasishchev Design Bureau, or Sukhoi, I am sure this plane would still fly ... Sukhoi Design Bureau there was a T-4 missile carrier, on the basis of which it was quite possible to make a passenger plane ... Myasishchev Design Bureau had a perfectly suitable M-50 bomber, on the basis of which a completely reliable passenger aircraft could also be launched.
    1. nov_tech.vrn Offline nov_tech.vrn
      nov_tech.vrn (Michael) 3 June 2020 21: 53
      +2
      Supersonic planes were noisy, but they were not killed by design flaws, but because such a plane was not mastered beyond the puddle. And so they adopted standards for airports that Concord did not fit into, so the European plane lost its main market, where, thanks to the time of flight, it had its own iron niche. Economically, supersonic driving was not profitable. On flights to the USSR, the Tu-144 was also unprofitable and, due to the lack of demand on international airlines, the project was closed. Of course, the well-known disaster also played a role.
    2. michael Offline michael
      michael (michael) 4 June 2020 00: 27
      0
      T-4 was never completed, made several flights. Well, look at his midsection, even if the fuselage is freed from the fuel tanks, in a row you get 2, maybe 3 seats, i.e. there will be fewer passengers than in the An-24. Well, and what is the range without fuselage tanks, is there, unlike the Tu-144, a thinner wing, a deltoid, without capacious caissons?
      1. Don36 Offline Don36
        Don36 (Don36) 4 June 2020 04: 49
        +3
        The Tu-104 was made on the basis of the Tu-16 bomber and nothing, the passengers were placed ... If Tupolev was less stupid and listened more to test pilots, and there would be no such disasters with him ...
    3. Binder Offline Binder
      Binder (Miron) 4 June 2020 20: 49
      -1
      Quote: bear040
      Tu-144 failed because it was entrusted to design Tupolev Design Bureau.

      Tupolev Design Bureau has long had the experience of pirated copying of foreign aircraft, and in record time, on the instructions of Stalin, the Tu-4, a copy of the American B-29, was released at the time.
  4. michael Offline michael
    michael (michael) 4 June 2020 00: 22
    +5
    The article is completely illiterate, as are the comments. The main mistake in the design of the Tu-144 is that it was not made according to the usual semi-monocoque design, like the Concorde, with a frame and a riveted-glue joint of the skin, but according to the technology positioned before the party leadership as super-advanced - milled duralumin were hung on the frame on bolts panels. The technology was tested on a supersonic cruise missile of the Tupolev Design Bureau, you can google it. But what is suitable for a disposable military product, for a passenger liner, where safety and economy are important, is not suitable in principle. The Central Committee of the CPSU set Tupolev the task of surpassing the Concorde in order to fly faster and higher, his cruising speed turned out to be about 20% higher, i.e. entered the speed range where aerodynamic heating takes place. Well, since the energy costs are equal to the square of the speed, if it had the same engines as the Concorde, it would consume one and a half times more fuel per kilometer. Due to heating, the bolts and panels played, in addition to the violation of the geometry of the aircraft from the high-speed pressure, there were fuel leaks in flight from the caisson wing tanks, well, over time, depressurization is inevitable, the sealant ages and dries out. In such a situation, a disaster is just a matter of time. The assembly of the airframe using this technology was carried out with torque wrenches, with control of the tightening torque of each bolt, there are several thousand of them, then each must be controlled during operation. In general, the designers in the design bureau received orders and state awards and dropped the drawings to the serial plant in Voronezh - do it, guys, and we will ask. At the plant, in addition to the fact that it was necessary to design the interior, toilets and all the stuffing from scratch, about 2.5 thousand more changes were made to the drawings. The chief designer of the plant, Sokolov, went to Tupolev, they had a long conversation about optimizing the interaction of the serial plant with the design bureau, the latter returned to the plant as the head of the multiplying center. In general, the stupid program turned out, they transferred a lot of money for nothing. In my youth, I had the good fortune to climb on it, did not make an impression, the cabin is narrow, like that of the Tu-134, but longer and with tiny windows, it is extremely uncomfortable. It thundered not weakly, but no windows flew out, I can attest, by this parameter it was not much noisier than the MiG-25, somewhere on the same level with the Tu-22M. As for the old man Tupolev - when the pilots told him about the Tu-104 that this product still had all the control problems from the Tu-16 and therefore it was dangerous to carry passengers on it, he replied that the plane was good, they just didn’t know how to fly it. to fly. Well, the fact that, like Yakovlev, broke through the transfer of his chair to his son, a mediocrity, says a lot.
  5. Sergey Klyushev Offline Sergey Klyushev
    Sergey Klyushev (Sergey Klyushev) 4 June 2020 20: 27
    +2
    Rave. Flights began earlier than the competitor. Tu's maximum thrust was higher than that of Concord. Cruising speed is higher and landing speed is not 300 km / h, but lower. And so on and so forth. Operation has been discontinued due to low profitability. Ticket for 80 rubles. in those years not everyone could afford. In general, authors need to learn materiel.
  6. Egor 7b7 Offline Egor 7b7
    Egor 7b7 25 June 2020 08: 18
    0
    American edition of The National Interest.

    You can not read further.

NI: Проект Ту-144 провалился из-за ошибок авиационного шпионажа в СССР


Советский Союз пытался сконструировать свой собственный сверхзвуковой «Конкорд» – Ту-144. Однако проект по его созданию фактически провалился из-за возможных ошибок в копировании чертежей британо-французского лайнера, которые не до конца понимали аэроконструкторы СССР. Об этом пишет американское издание The National Interest.


Часть проблем реализации проекта была связана с высоким уровнем авиакосмической индустрии, необходимой для создания жизнеспособной конструкции сверхзвукового реактивного авиалайнера. Согласно одной из оценок, конструкция Ту-144 на 10–15 лет опережала способности советской аэрокосмической промышленности в то время. Возможно, определенную роль здесь сыграл авиационный шпионаж, поскольку в глаза бросается схожесть в дизайне «Конкорда» и Ту-144. Однако из-за ряда ошибок в интерпретации данных, советский сверхзвуковой самолет так и не достиг коммерческого успеха.

Детище Туполева совершило лишь 102 рейса, только 55 из которых перевозили пассажиров. В сравнении с «Конкордом», Ту-144 потерпел фиаско, отняв при этом драгоценные время и деньги от других проектов. У британо-французского лайнера тоже имелись проблемы, но они были продиктованы рыночными причинами, а не конструктивными недостатками.

Так, Ту-144 был тяжелее «Конкорда» на 20 т и длиннее примерно на 360 см. В состав шин советского самолета входил синтетический каучук, который был структурно слабым материалом и выходил из строя чаще, чем его натуральный аналог. Двигатели Ту-144 были также недоработаны, а шумоизоляция салона оставляла желать лучшего.
Использованы фотографии: Vlad Volkov/wikimedia.org
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

15 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. 123 Онлайн
    123 (123) 3 июня 2020 15:29
    +4
    • 6
    • 2
    Согласно одной из оценок, конструкция Ту-144 на 10-15 лет опережала способности советской аэрокосмической промышленность в то время
    Возможно, определенную роль здесь сыграл авиационный шпионаж, поскольку в глаза бросается схожесть в дизайне «Конкорда» и Ту-144. Однако из-за ряда ошибок в интерпретации данных советский сверхзвуковой самолет так и не достиг коммерческого успеха.

    Уровень аналитики просто зашкаливает. belay
    Согласно одной из оценок, то есть по мнению кого-то там, русские конструкторы еще не доросли. Самолеты похожи, однозначно, шпионаж. Залог коммерческого успеха - правильная интерпретация данных. Из перечисленных недостатков особенно впечатлила большая длинна самолета. В оригинале статьи про двигатели написано, что тяга у них больше на 2,7 тонн, но они "менее изысканные".
    Писал однозначно помощник продавца фиников.
    Статью в топку. negative Профессионалам из The National Interest горячий привет. smile
    1. Bitter Офлайн
      Bitter (Глеб) 4 июня 2020 00:03
      +2
      • 3
      • 1
      американское издание Тхе Натионал Интерест.

      Советского Союза нет уж как лет тридцать, но некоторые проекты до сих пор вызывают у заокеанских партнёров острую изжогу. Кому и зачем понадобилось вылить очередной ушат грязи на давно закрытый проект? Думаю, если бы он и дальше летал и совершенствовался, то все детские болезни были бы искоренены и характеристики улучшены.
      Кажется, если бы такую машину сумели в свое время сделать американцы, то она летала бы до сих пор и партнёров сумели бы убедить подходящие полосы для него построить и всучили бы всем по паре штук, для снижения штучной цены.
  2. Алексей Григорьев (Алексей Григорьев) 3 июня 2020 17:45
    +2
    • 4
    • 2
    Ту-144 летал над страной, а так как он сверхзвуковой, грохот стоял, аж стекла в домах лопались. А Конкорд летал над океаном, там его никто не слышал. Да и по экономике Ту-144 был очень дорогой для людей.
    1. goncharov.62 Офлайн
      goncharov.62 (Андрей) 3 июня 2020 20:01
      +1
      • 3
      • 2
      Пару раз он садился в Усть-Каменогорске. Стекла целые с тех пор. Бла-бла-бла... "експерд"...
      1. Алексей Григорьев (Алексей Григорьев) 3 июня 2020 20:12
        +2
        • 2
        • 0
        Он на посадку заходит на скорости 300 км в час, а не на сверх звуке. Бла-бла-бла... "експерд" ...
        1. goncharov.62 Офлайн
          goncharov.62 (Андрей) 3 июня 2020 20:16
          +2
          • 3
          • 1
          Так я это видел из своего окна, дорогуша! А по стране статистика вылетевших стекол от него есть? Вопрос ведь не в стеклах, увы. Он несколько глубже. Вопрос в несовершенстве двигателей - он садился уже с почти сухими баками, и полет его отслеживали на самом верху поминутно. А то аргументы - стекла...
    2. Bitter Офлайн
      Bitter (Глеб) 4 июня 2020 00:11
      +1
      • 3
      • 2
      ...грохот стоял, аж стекла в домах лопались...

      А Вы там стекольщиком работали, по заявкам от Аэрофлота? Можно так понимать, что информация из первых рук. wink
  3. медведь040 Офлайн
    медведь040 3 июня 2020 19:54
    +3
    • 8
    • 5
    Ту-144 провалился потому, что его доверили конструировать ОКБ Туполева... Мало того, что сам Туполев был далеко не святой и весьма твердолобый, о чем свидетельствуют многочисленные катастрофы Ту-104, случившиеся по его личной вине, так он еще продавил передачу проекта Ту-144 группе, которой руководил его сын, не имевший в то время опыта для такого сложнейшего проекта... Если бы проект Ту-144 передали ОКБ Мясищева, или Сухого, уверен, этот самолет сейчас еще летал бы... У ОКБ Сухого был ракетоносец Т-4, на базе которого вполне можно было сделать пассажирский самолет... ОКБ Мясищева имело вполне летнопригодный бомбардировщик М-50, на базе которого тоже мог бы выйти вполне надежный пассажирский самолет.
    1. nov_tech.vrn Офлайн
      nov_tech.vrn (Михаил) 3 июня 2020 21:53
      +2
      • 5
      • 3
      Сверхзвуковые самолеты были шумными, но убиты они были не конструктивными недоработками, а потому, что за лужей такой самолет не осилили. И поэтому приняли стандарты для аэропортов, в которые Конкорд не вписывался, так европейский самолет потерял основной свой рынок, где он имел, благодаря времени перелета, свою железную нишу. Экономически сверхзвук стало гонять не выгодно. На рейсах в СССР Ту-144 тоже был убыточен и в связи с отсутствием спроса на международных авиалиниях проект был прикрыт. Конечно, сыграла свою роль и известная катастрофа.
    2. michael Офлайн
      michael (michael) 4 июня 2020 00:27
      0
      • 1
      • 1
      Т-4 так и не довели, сделали несколько полетов. Ну и посмотрите, какой у него мидель, даже если фюзеляж освободить от топливных баков, в ряду получится 2, может 3 кресла, т.е. пассажиров будет меньше, чем в Ан-24. Ну и какая дальность будет без фюзеляжных баков, там, в отличие от Ту-144 более тонкое крыло, дельтавидное, без емких баков-кессонов?
      1. Дон36 Офлайн
        Дон36 (Дон36) 4 июня 2020 04:49
        +3
        • 5
        • 2
        Ту-104 сделали на базе бомбардировщика Ту-16 и ничего, пассажиров разместили...Если бы Туполев меньше тупил и больше слушал летчиков-испытателей, и катастроф бы с ним таких не было...
    3. Биндюжник Офлайн
      Биндюжник (Мирон) 4 июня 2020 20:49
      -1
      • 0
      • 1
      Цитата: медведь040
      Ту-144 провалился потому, что его доверили конструировать ОКБ Туполева.

      У КБ Туполева давно имелся опыт пиратского копирования зарубежной авиатехники, в рекордные сроки по заданию Сталина в своё время был выпущен Ту-4 - копия американского В-29.
  4. michael Офлайн
    michael (michael) 4 июня 2020 00:22
    +5
    • 5
    • 0
    Статья совершенно безграмотная, как и комментарии. Основная ошибка в конструкции Ту-144 в том, что он был сделан не по обычной полумонококовой конструкции, как Конкорд, с каркасом и клепано-клеевым соединением обшивки, а по технологии, позиционированной перед партийным руководством как суперпередовая - на каркас на болтах навешивались фрезерованные дюралевые панели. Технология была отработана на сверхзвуковой крылатой ракете КБ Туполева, можете погуглить. Но то, что подходит для одноразового военного изделия, для пассажирского лайнера, где имеют значение безопасность и экономика, не подходит в принципе. ЦК КПСС поставило Туполеву задачу переплюнуть Конкорд, чтобы лететь быстрее и выше, крейсерская скорость у него получилась выше примерно на 20%, т.е. вошли в диапазон скоростей, где имеет место аэродинамический нагрев. Ну и поскольку затраты энергии равны квадрату скорости, имей он такие же движки, как у Конкорда, расходовал бы топлива в полтора раза больше на километр. Из-за нагрева болты и панели играли, помимо нарушения геометрии самолета от скоростного напора имели место утечки топлива в полете из кессонных баков крыла, ну и со временем неизбежна разгерметизация, герметик стареет и усыхает. При такой ситуации катастрофа - это всего лишь вопрос времени. Сборка планера по такой технологии велась динамометрическими ключами, с контролем момента затяжки каждого болта, их несколько тысяч, потом каждый надо контролировать в процессе эксплуатации. В общем, конструктора в КБ получили ордена и государственные премии и сбросили серийному заводу в г.Воронеже чертежи - делайте, ребята, а мы спросим. На заводе, помимо того, что пришлось с нуля проектировать салон, туалеты и всю начинку, внесли еще около 2.5 тыс. изменений в чертежи. Главный конструктор завода Соколов ездил к Туполеву, был у них долгий разговор об оптимизации взаимодействия серийного завода с КБ, на завод последний вернулся начальником множительного центра. В общем, бестолковая программа получилась, перевели огромные деньги впустую. Я в юности имел счастье полазить по нему, впечатления не произвел, салон узкий, как у Ту-134, но длиннее и с крохотными иллюминаторами, крайне неуютно. Гремел он неслабо, но никакие окна не вылетали, могу засвидетельствовать, по этому параметру он был ненамного шумней МиГ-25, где-то на одном уровне с Ту-22М. А что касается старика Туполева - когда еще по Ту-104 летчики сказали ему, что у этого изделия остались все проблемы с управляемостью от Ту-16 и поэтому возить на нем пассажиров опасно, тот ответил, что самолет хороший, просто они не умеют на нем летать. Ну и тот факт, что, как и Яковлев, пробил передачу своего кресла сыну, бездарю, о многом говорит.
  5. Сергей Клюшев (Сергей Клюшев) 4 июня 2020 20:27
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Бред. Полеты начались раньше, чем у конкурента. Максимальная тяга у Ту была выше, чем у Конкорда. Крейсерская скорость выше, а посадочная - не 300 км/час, а ниже. И пр., и пр. Эксплуатация прекращена по причине низкой рентабельности. Билет за 80 руб. в те годы мог себе позволить не каждый. Вообще, авторам надо учить матчасть.
  6. Егор 7b7 Офлайн
    Егор 7b7 25 июня 2020 08:18
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    американское издание The National Interest.

    Дальше можно не читать.