Russia is preparing a competitor to the Suez Canal

In the near future, the world expects the emergence of a new North-South transport corridor that will connect Russia with India. Experts are already saying that over time, the new route could seriously compete with the Suez Canal. A transport corridor with a total length of 7,2 thousand kilometers will connect St. Petersburg with the Indian port of Mumbai (Bombay).




The benefits of the route have long been spoken in both Russia and India. After all, it will allow unhindered delivery of goods from India, as well as Iran and a number of other countries to Russia and further to the countries of Western Europe.

Trade relations between Russia and India are developing, but until recently, the absence of a direct transport corridor has been a serious obstacle to even greater intensification. Indian imports enter Russia through Europe and China. But these are very long and expensive routes. Moreover, a number of perishable goods, including the same tropical fruits, are not so lucky. Loads to the European part of Russia are delivered from India by sea - to the Suez Canal, then through the entire western part of Europe to St. Petersburg. The duration of the delivery of goods from Mumbai to Moscow due to such a long route is 40 days. Of course, such a complicated path of goods cannot but hinder the deepening of trade ties between countries.

What does the new route offer? Firstly, it is much faster delivery. Experts say that the delivery of goods from India will be 30-40% faster. Instead of 35-40 days following through the Suez Canal, the new road will take only 17 days. The goods will go from Mumbai to the Iranian port of Bender Abbas, from Bender Abbas to Baku, Astrakhan and further to Moscow and St. Petersburg. Thus, three types of transport will be involved in their delivery at once - maritime, railway and automobile.

The main task in the construction of a new path remains the development and improvement of transport infrastructure. In Iran, the construction of railway lines connecting Rasht and Qazvin with the city of Astara in Azerbaijan is nearing completion. The road from Qazvin to the port of Bandar Abbas has already been built. At three years, experts estimate the time period that Iran will need to complete the construction of the last section of the corridor between Astara and Rasht. American sanctions against Iran will not be able to affect the launch of the corridor.

Thanks to the corridor, Russia and India will be able to increase the volume of trade in traditional goods, including food, light industry products. Now the basis of trade relations between the two countries is the supply of Russian weapons to India, but after the launch of the route the situation will change. India will be able to sell a huge number of its demanded goods in Russia, and Russia will have the opportunity to increase the supply of agricultural products and other goods to India, Iran and the countries of the Near and Middle East and the Asia-Pacific region. By the way, not only Russia and India will benefit from the new North-South route, but also Azerbaijan and Iran, economic and the transport infrastructure of which the North-South corridor will also have a very positive effect.
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
1 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. pafegosoff Offline pafegosoff
    pafegosoff (Arkhip Pafegosov) 8 June 2018 09: 07
    0
    "... - The train rises smoothly into the air, flies over the river and descends exactly on the rails.
    “And where will his wings be?”
    - An eternal question. No wings. Air bag. The locomotive starts up a powerful jet of exhaust steam and steam, steam ... "
    (Stove benches. V. Shukshin)

Сайту «Репортёр» требуются авторы. Требования: грамотность, неиссякаемая творческая энергия, опыт в копирайтинге или журналистике, умение анализировать и писать сжато и интересно. Работа оплачивается. Образцы своих свежих материалов высылайте по адресу: topcor.ru@gmail.com

Россия готовит конкурента Суэцкому каналу

В ближайшем будущем мир ждет появление нового транспортного коридора «Север – Юг», который свяжет Россию с Индией. Эксперты уже говорят о том, что новый маршрут может со временем составить серьезную конкуренцию Суэцкому каналу. Транспортный коридор общей протяженностью в 7,2 тыс. километров свяжет Санкт-Петербург с индийским портом Мумбаи (Бомбей).



О выгоде маршрута давно говорят и в России, и в Индии. Ведь он позволит беспрепятственно доставлять грузы из Индии, а также Ирана и ряда других стран в Россию и далее в страны Западной Европы.


Торговые отношения между Россией и Индией развиваются, но до последнего времени серьезным препятствием для еще большей интенсификации является отсутствие прямого транспортного коридора. Индийский импорт поступает в Россию через Европу и Китай. Но это очень долгие и дорогие маршруты. Более того, целый ряд скоропортящихся товаров, включая те же тропические фрукты, таким долгим путем не повезешь. Грузы в Европейскую часть России доставляются из Индии по морю – до Суэцкого канала, затем через всю западную часть Европы в Санкт-Петербург. Продолжительность доставки грузов из Мумбаи в Москву из-за такого длинного маршрута составляет 40 суток. Конечно, столь сложный путь товаров не может не препятствовать углублению торговых связей между странами.

Что предлагает новый маршрут? Во-первых, это куда более быстрая доставка. Специалисты говорят, что доставка товаров из Индии станет быстрее на 30-40%. Вместо 35-40 суток следования через Суэцкий канал новая дорога займет всего 17 дней. Товары будут следовать из Мумбаи в иранский порт Бендер-Аббас, из Бендер-Аббаса – в Баку, Астрахань и далее в Москву и Санкт-Петербург. Таким образом, в их доставке будут задействованы сразу три вида транспорта – морской, железнодорожный и автомобильный.

Главной задачей в рамках строительства нового пути остается развитие и совершенствование транспортной инфраструктуры. В Иране завершается строительство железнодорожных веток, связывающих Решт и Казвин с городом Астара в Азербайджане. Дорога от Казвина до порта Бендер-Аббас и так уже построена. В три года оценивают специалисты тот временной отрезок, который потребуется Ирану для завершения строительства последнего участка коридора между Астарой и Рештом. На запуск коридора не смогут повлиять и американские санкции против Ирана.

Благодаря коридору Россия и Индия смогут увеличить объемы торговли традиционными товарами, включая продовольствие, продукцию легкой промышленности. Сейчас основу торговых связей двух стран составляют поставки российского вооружения в Индию, но после запуска маршрута ситуация изменится. Индия сможет реализовывать в России огромное количество своих востребованных товаров, а Россия получит возможность увеличения поставок сельскохозяйственной продукции и других товаров в Индию, Иран и страны Ближнего и Среднего Востока и Азиатско-Тихоокеанского региона. Кстати, выиграют от нового маршрута «Север – Юг» не только Россия и Индия, но и Азербайджан и Иран, на экономической и транспортной инфраструктуре которых коридор «Север – Юг» тоже скажется очень позитивно.
Автор: Илья Полонский
Использованы фотографии: http://vseperevozki.com/

Мнение редакции может не совпадать с точкой зрения автора публикации

Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Ctrl Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 1
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. pafegosoff Офлайн
    pafegosoff (Архип Пафегосов) 8 июня 2018 09:07
    0
    "...— Поезд плавненько поднимается в воздух, перелетает реку и опускается точно на рельсы.
    — А где же крылья у него будут?
    — Вечный вопрос. Никаких крыльев. Воздушная подушка. Паровоз пускает под себя мощную струю отработанного пара и по пару, по пару…"
    (Печки-лавочки. В.Шукшин)