Rivalry with the United States: Russia is ready to adapt the Su-35 to NATO


Russia and the United States are long-standing competitors in the global arms market. US manufacturers hold their share with tricky tricks like technical standardization. But now the domestic military-industrial complex is ready to take a radical step, having adjusted its Su-35 fighters, sold for export, to NATO avionics standards.


What are the pros and cons of this approach?

The reason for talking on this topic was given by Mahathir Mohamad, the former Prime Minister of Malaysia, who revealed to the ignorant many interesting nuances regarding the purchase and acquisition of American military aircraft. The former head of state said that Malaysia, which owns the F-18 Hornet fighters, which cost her quite a lot, actually does not have the opportunity to reprogram them, since control is still in Washington’s hands:

You must contact the United States to post a program for any raid on foreign countries, for example ... We can only fly them at an air show. We cannot use them to deal with any other country, because we will not get the source code.

Moreover, it turns out that the Americans are demanding an explanation from their customers regarding their purchase of ammunition for the aircraft they have already bought. Amazing frankness policy inevitably, many buyers of US defense products, as well as participants in joint arms production programs, should think. The question is, why do we need such a weapon that can only be used with the approval of Uncle Sam?

For such statements on a retired politician of a very respectable age, the press has already labeled a not quite adequate person. But there is a rational grain in it. It is no secret that the United States restricts competitors' access to their traditional markets due to narrow technical standards. Poor states, such as Malaysia or Indonesia, if they acquire both American and Russian combat aircraft, are forced to simultaneously maintain two sets of control infrastructure, which is unprofitable and inconvenient to operate. It is problematic to refuse persistent arms sellers from Washington, so you have to choose some supplier as the main one.

Many foreign customers were previously interested in the possibility of adapting Russian aviation to NATO standards. And finally, Rosoboronexport expressed its readiness to do this for Indonesia in relation to the batch of Su-35 fighters. The famous American publication Military Watch responded to the message, confirming that this step will simplify the deal with the island state. How should you relate to this information?

On the one hand, the adaptation of Russian military aircraft to NATO avionics standards will seriously expand its sales markets due to the lower cost of domestic aircraft compared to American ones. On the other hand, in the future, the Su-35, excellent 4 ++ generation fighters, which will be used by potential enemy pilots both for training purposes and during a possible conflict, may appear in the NATO Air Force.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

1 comment
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Observer2014 Offline
    Observer2014 4 June 2020 18: 27
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    But now the domestic military-industrial complex is ready to take a radical step, having adjusted its Su-35 fighters, sold for export, to NATO avionics standards.

    Well, customize. After all, you need to sell. To buy all consumer goods. As well as high-tech equipment. For all branches of the Russian capitalist economy.

Соперничество с США: в России готовы адаптировать Су-35 под НАТО


Россия и США являются давними конкурентами на мировом рынке вооружений. Американские производители держат свою долю при помощи хитроумных уловок, вроде технической стандартизации. Но теперь отечественный ВПК готов пойти на радикальный шаг, подогнав свои истребители Су-35, продаваемые на экспорт, под стандарты авионики НАТО.


Какие же плюсы и минусы есть у такого подхода?

Повод заговорить на эту тему дал Махатхир Мохамад, бывший премьер-министр Малайзии, который открыл для несведущих много любопытных нюансов, касающихся покупки и приобретения американских боевых самолетов. Экс-глава государства поведал, что Малайзия, владеющая истребителями F-18 Hornet, которые обошлись ей достаточно дорого, фактически не имеет возможности их перепрограммировать, поскольку контроль по-прежнему сохраняется в руках Вашингтона:

Вы должны обратиться к Соединенным Штатам для размещения программы для любого рейда на зарубежные страны, например… Мы можем летать на них только на авиашоу. Мы не можем использовать их для борьбы с любой другой страной, потому что мы не получим исходный код.

Более того, оказывается, американцы требуют объяснений у своих клиентов по поводу приобретения ими боеприпасов к уже купленным ими самолетам. Потрясающая откровенность политика поневоле должна заставить задуматься многих покупателей продукции оборонки США, а также участников совместных программ по производству вооружений. Спрашивается, зачем нужно такое оружие, которое можно использовать только с одобрения Дяди Сэма?

За подобные высказывания на отставного политика весьма почтенного возраста пресса уже повесила ярлык не вполне адекватного человека. Но рациональное зерно в этом имеется. Не секрет, что США ограничивают доступ конкурентов на свои традиционные рынки за счет узких технических стандартов. Небогатые государства, вроде Малайзии или Индонезии, если приобретают одновременно и американскую, и российскую боевую авиацию, вынуждены содержать параллельно два комплекта управляющей инфраструктуры, что выходит накладно и неудобно в эксплуатации. Отказать настойчивым продавцам оружия из Вашингтона проблематично, поэтому приходится какого-то поставщика выбирать как основного.

Многие иностранные заказчики ранее интересовались возможностью адаптации российской авиации под стандарты НАТО. И вот Рособоронэкспорт, наконец, выразил готовность это сделать для Индонезии в отношении партии истребителей Су-35. Известное американское издание Military Watch отозвалось на сообщение, подтвердив, что данный шаг упростит сделку с островным государством. Как же стоит относиться к этой информации?

С одной стороны, адаптация российской боевой авиации под стандарты авионики НАТО серьезно расширит ее рынки сбыта благодаря более низкой стоимости отечественных самолетов в сравнении с американскими. С другой стороны, в перспективе в составе ВВС НАТО могут появиться Су-35, прекрасные истребители поколения 4++, которые будут использованы пилотами потенциального противника как в учебных целях, так и в ходе возможного конфликта.
1 комментарий
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Наблюдатель2014 4 июня 2020 18:27
    0
    Но теперь отечественный ВПК готов пойти на радикальный шаг, подогнав свои истребители Су-35, продаваемые на экспорт, под стандарты авионики НАТО.

    Ну подгоните. Ведь нужно продавать. Чтобы весь ширпотреб закупать. А также высокотехнологичное оборудование. Для всех отраслей российского капиталистического хозяйства.