Is Armageddon close? How dangerous is an approaching asteroid to Earth


Thanks to Hollywood, everyone is familiar with the potential threat that space objects pose to Earth. These are “Armageddon”, “Clash with the abyss”, “Asteroid”, “Melancholy”, “I am looking for a friend at the end of the world” and other films of different quality. By the way, according to the author of the lines, the most popular and sincere is the last of the listed: there is nothing heroic in it, and no one is saving the planet at the last moment.


According to NASA experts, literally tomorrow, June 6, a large asteroid will fly near the Earth, and this event gives reason to think about a lot.

This space object is called 163 348 (2002 NN4), which indicates its poor knowledge. By tradition, astronomers give proper names to meteorites, asteroids and comets that are familiar to them: Goba and Allende, West and Pallas, Enke and Halley. If the space wanderer remains unpredictable, he gets a hard-to-remember digital number. What is known about him at the moment?

The size of the object can reach from 250 m to half a kilometer, mass - up to 3 billion tons, speed - 11 kilometers per second. In the event of an asteroid collision with the Earth, an explosion will occur, comparable in power to several atomic bombs dropped by the Americans on Japanese cities in 1945. In the event that 2002 NN4 falls into the ocean, then a strong tsunami will form. Astronomers say the asteroid’s orbit is predictable. Why is it still potentially capable of colliding with our planet, although experts observing its trajectory say that it will fly at a distance of 5,1 million kilometers from Earth?

The uninvited guest also revolves around the Sun, as does the Earth, but its orbit in some places crosses ours, as it will happen tomorrow. The problem may be that the luminary entered in the next period of instability. The sun is a powerful source of energy. The stellar wind consists of particles of matter that are capable of not only actively acting on the surrounding interstellar matter, transmitting the strongest kinetic energy to it, but also directly affecting cosmic bodies, including asteroids. Under the action of solar radiation, the surface sections of the asteroids are heated unevenly, which can lead to a change in the speed of their rotation around its axis and a change in the trajectory of movement.

However, most likely, tomorrow everything will be fine, and the asteroid will safely proceed past a few million kilometers from us. But what will happen in the next cycles if the trajectory of the movement of this cosmic body really changes? Yes, and not one thing in it. According to astronomers, there are about 8 thousand potentially dangerous objects for the Earth. Is there any real, and not a “cinematic” plan to prevent a possible catastrophe?

Also try to think for a moment who and how would spend the last 3 weeks, knowing for sure that this is the end. Perhaps the visit 163 348 (2002 NN4) is not so much a reason for panic, but just a good reason to take a fresh look at your own life?
Photos used: https://www.needpix.com/
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

7 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 5 June 2020 12: 22
    -2
    • 1
    • 3
    And the specifics? How close will it go? What time is it? Muzzle beat neighbors or is it too early?
    And all sorts of

    In the event of an asteroid collision with the Earth, an explosion will occur, comparable in power to several atomic bombs ...

    - it's ..... not about asteroids, but about meteors.
    Chelyabinsk to some extent Hiroshim, but under NG 2018 at 6 Hiroshim off the coast of the Far East.
    1. Marzhecki Online
      Marzhecki (Sergei) 5 June 2020 12: 41
      0
      • 1
      • 1
      Quote: Sergey Latyshev
      And the specifics? How close will it go? What time is it? Muzzle beat neighbors or is it too early?

      Read the NASA press release. I personally survived Chelyabinsk.
      1. Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 5 June 2020 16: 43
        0
        • 2
        • 2
        There is no reference to NASA's release in the article.

        Only anonymous experts there are telling someone something.
        But obviously not for us, since without specifics.
    2. It is possible and necessary to beat the muzzle to neighbors! Just not to death!
  2. ric Offline
    ric (Vitali) 5 June 2020 12: 40
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Do not frighten, the Earth’s atmosphere will tear this asteroid to pieces, and the remains will burn out before reaching the Earth’s surface.
  3. It is necessary to serve a prayer for salvation!
  4. Observer2014 Offline
    Observer2014 5 June 2020 19: 47
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Is Armageddon close? How dangerous is an approaching asteroid to Earth

    And here in the backyard of the site dvizhuha! And the most interesting here! Hello colleagues! I'm with you! drinks All from the heart for good! yes Tomorrow is Saturday. And I really like you all. And that asteroid is not the worst misfortune of our house. Mlyn, z "bagel" for the first time plus. wink laughing
    1. The comment was deleted.

«Армагеддон» близок? Насколько опасен для Земли приближающийся астероид


Благодаря Голливуду, все знакомы с потенциальной угрозой, которую представляют для Земли космические объекты. Это «Армагеддон», «Столкновение с бездной», «Астероид», «Меланхолия», «Ищу друга на конец света» и прочие фильмы разного качества. К слову, по мнению автора строк, самый народный и душевный – это последний из перечисленных: ничего героического в нем нет, и никто планету в последний момент не спасает.


Как сообщают специалисты НАСА, буквально завтра, 6 июня, неподалеку от Земли пролетит крупный астероид, и это событие дает поводы задуматься о многом.

Данный космический объект называется 163 348 (2002 NN4), что говорит о его слабой изученности. По традиции астрономы дают имена собственные метеоритам, астероидам и кометам, которые хорошо им знакомы: Гоба и Альенде, Веста и Паллада, Энке и Галлея. Если же космический странник остается непредсказуемым, он получает трудно запоминаемый цифровой номер. Что же о нем известно на данный момент?

Размеры объекта могут достигать от 250 м до полукилометра, масса – до 3 миллиардов тонн, скорость движения – 11 километров в секунду. В случае столкновения астероида с Землей произойдет взрыв, сопоставимый по мощности с несколькими атомными бомбами, сброшенными американцами на японские города в 1945 году. В том случае, если 2002 NN4 упадет в океан, то образуется сильнейшее цунами. Астрономы заявляют, что орбита астероида предсказуема. Почему же он все-таки потенциально способен столкнуться с нашей планетой, хотя наблюдающие за его траекторией движения специалисты говорят, что он пролетит на расстоянии в 5,1 миллиона километров от Земли?

Незваный гость также вращается вокруг Солнца, как и Земля, но его орбита местами пересекает нашу, как это произойдет завтра. Проблема может заключаться в том, что светило вступило в очередной период нестабильности. Солнце – это мощнейший источник энергии. Звездный ветер состоит из частиц вещества, которые способны не только активно воздействовать на окружающее межзвездное вещество, передавая ему сильнейшую кинетическую энергию, но и влиять непосредственно на космические тела, включая астероиды. Под действием солнечного излучения участки поверхности астероидов прогреваются неравномерно, что может приводить к изменению скорости их вращения вокруг своей оси и изменению траектории движения.

Впрочем, скорее всего, завтра все будет хорошо, и астероид благополучно проследует мимо в нескольких миллионах километров от нас. Но вот что будет в следующие циклы, если траектория движения этого космического тела действительно изменится? Да и не в нем одном дело. По оценкам астрономов, насчитывается порядка 8 тысяч потенциально опасных для Земли объектов. Есть ли какой-то реальный, а не «киношный» план по предотвращению возможной катастрофы?

Также попробуйте на минутку задуматься, кто и как провел бы последние 3 недели, точно зная, что это конец. Быть может, визит 163 348 (2002 NN4) – это не столько причина для паники, сколько просто хороший повод свежим взглядом оценить свою собственную жизнь?
7 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 5 июня 2020 12:22
    -2
    А конкретика? Как близко пройдет? Во сколько часов? Морду бить соседям или пока рано?
    А всякие

    В случае столкновения астероида с Землей произойдет взрыв, сопоставимый по мощности с несколькими атомными бомбами...

    - это..... не о астероидах, а о метеорах.
    Челябинский в сколько-то долей Хиросим, да под НГ 2018 в 6 Хиросим у берегов ДВ.
    1. Маржецкий Онлайн Маржецкий
      Маржецкий (Сергей) 5 июня 2020 12:41
      0
      Цитата: Сергей Латышев
      А конкретика? Как близко пройдет? Во сколько часов? Морду бить соседям или пока рано?

      Читайте пресс-релиз НАСА. Челябинский я лично пережил.
      1. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 5 июня 2020 16:43
        0
        Нет никакой ссылки на релиз НАСА в статье.

        Только Анонимные специалисты там кому-то что-то сообщают.
        Но явно не нам, раз без конкретики.
    2. Бить морду соседям можно и нужно! Только не до смерти!
  2. ric Офлайн ric
    ric (Виталий) 5 июня 2020 12:40
    +2
    Не пугайте, атмосфера Земли разорвёт на части этот астероид, а остатки сгорят, не долетев поверхности Земли.
  3. Надо отслужить молебен во спасение!
  4. Наблюдатель2014 5 июня 2020 19:47
    0
    «Армагеддон» близок? Насколько опасен для Земли приближающийся астероид

    А тут на заднем дворе сайта движуха! И самое интересное тут! Привет коллеги! Я с вами! drinks Всем от души по плюсу! yes Завтра суббота. И вы реально мне все нравитесь. И тот астероид не самая беда бедовая нашего дома. Млин, z "рогалику" в первый раз плюсанул. wink laughing
    1. Комментарий был удален.