Russia will remain the leader in the European gas market despite US actions


By the end of the year there will be a record drop in gas demand, and up to 150 billion cubic meters of gas will leave the market. So experts say the International Energy Agency (IEA). What, then, expects Russia, whose budget substantially depends on oil and gas exports?


If during the crisis of 2008-2009, demand fell by 2%, then in 2020 this figure will already be 4%, IEA analysts write in their report:

In 2020, demand in the global natural gas market may experience the largest shock in history ... An unprecedented drop in demand is expected, a new type of coronavirus pandemic will hit an already weakened market.

Global slowdown trend economics outlined before the coronavirus pandemic, but COVID-19 exacerbated the situation. Total demand fell, respectively, decreased production and the need for hydrocarbon fuel. In addition, the climate factor had a very serious impact.

Last winter was abnormally warm, even in harsh Russia, plus temperatures were observed. As a result, much less gas was needed during this heating season, which is why European underground gas storage facilities could not use up their accumulated reserves. If such winters become frequent, the inevitable transformation awaits the global gas market. According to the IEA, if earlier the growth in demand for "blue fuel" was estimated at 1,8% per year, now it will be no more than 1,5% at best.

The general trend to reduce gas consumption is tentatively calculated for the next five years, but analysts agree that a gradual recovery process is also inevitable. The key question is who will be able to take advantage of this. Agency calculations show that the main cream will be able to skim the United States and Russia.

Before the coronavirus crisis, American producers were actively increasing their LNG exports to Southeast Asia and Europe, where Russian gas was squeezed by hook or by crook. Washington’s pressure on the Nord Stream 2 gas pipeline is only intensifying, with new sanctions coming in, Poland has joined the fight against Gazprom.

Nevertheless, Russia will be able to maintain key positions in the European market, precisely thanks to the developed pipeline infrastructure. In this way, gas supplies allow consumers to provide a more comfortable price, while LNG prices on exchanges constantly jump up and down. At certain points, it is even cheaper than the pipeline, but mostly more expensive. For example, now American LNG in Europe is so expensive that buyers refuse it, even taking into account the risk of being fined, which we discuss in detail told earlier.

Despite the general drop in demand and pressure from the United States, Russia will be able to remain one of the largest players in the European gas market. The position of the leading EU countries, in particular Germany, will greatly contribute to this, well aware of the need to diversify supplies and the harmfulness of energy dependence on the United States, the idea of ​​which is nurtured in the White House. It is very indicative that Berlin is fighting for Nord Stream-2, even considering a certain package of measures against either its ally or occupier.
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

Россия останется лидером на газовом рынке Европы несмотря на действия США


До конца года произойдет рекордное падение спроса на газ, а с рынка уйдет до 150 миллиардов кубометров газа. Так считают эксперты Международного энергетического агентства (МЭА). Что же в таком случае ожидает Россию, бюджет которой существенно зависит от нефтегазового экспорта?


Если во время кризиса 2008-2009 годов спрос упал на 2%, то в 2020 году эта цифра составит уже 4%, пишут в своем докладе аналитики МЭА:

В 2020 году спрос на мировом рынке природного газа может испытать крупнейший шок в истории… Ожидается беспрецедентное падение спроса, пандемия коронавируса нового типа поражает и без того ослабленный рынок.

Общий тренд на замедление мировой экономики наметился еще до пандемии коронавируса, но COVID-19 ситуацию усугубил. Упали общие объемы спроса, соответственно, снизились объемы производства и необходимость в углеводородном топливе. Кроме того, очень серьезное влияние оказал климатический фактор.

Минувшая зима оказалась аномально теплой, даже в суровой России наблюдались плюсовые температуры. В результате, в этот отопительный сезон понадобилось гораздо меньше газа, поэтому европейские ПХГ не смогли израсходовать накопленные запасы. Если такие зимы станут частым явлением, мировой газовый рынок ждут неизбежные трансформации. По оценкам МЭА, если раньше рост спроса на «голубое топливо» оценивался на уровне в 1,8% в год, то теперь он составит не более 1,5% в лучшем случае.

Общий тренд на снижение потребления газа предварительно рассчитан на ближайшие пять лет, однако аналитики сходятся на том, что процесс постепенного восстановления также неизбежен. Ключевой вопрос, кто сумеет этим воспользоваться. Расчеты агентства показывают, что основные сливки смогут снять США и Россия.

До коронавирусного кризиса американские производители активно наращивали объемы экспорта своего СПГ как в Юго-Восточную Азию, так и в Европу, где всеми правдами и неправдами теснили российский газ. Давление Вашингтона в отношении газопровода «Северный поток-2» только усиливается, на подходе новые санкции, к борьбе против «Газпрома» подключилась Польша.

Тем не менее Россия сможет сохранить ключевые позиции на европейском рынке, именно благодаря развитой трубопроводной инфраструктуре. Поставки газа таким образом позволяют обеспечивать потребителям более комфортную цену, а цены на СПГ на биржах постоянно скачут то вверх, то вниз. В определенные моменты он бывает даже дешевле трубопроводного, но в основном дороже. Например, сейчас американский СПГ в Европе стоит настолько дорого, что покупатели отказываются от него, даже принимая во внимание риск попасть на штрафные санкции, о чем мы подробно рассказывали ранее.

Несмотря на общее падение спроса и давление со стороны США, Россия сможет остаться одним из крупнейших игроков на европейском газовом рынке. Немало поспособствует этому и позиция лидирующих стран ЕС, в частности, Германии, прекрасно осознающих необходимость диверсификации поставок и вредность энергетической зависимости от США, идею которой лелеют в Белом доме. Весьма показательно, как Берлин бьется за «Северный поток-2», даже рассматривая некий пакет мер против своего то ли союзника, то ли оккупанта.
Использованы фотографии: gazprom.com
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти