"Gasoline from the air" begin to produce in Germany


Yale University PhD startup Rob McGinnins Prometheus Fuels received financial and organizational support from BMW i Ventures (a division of BMW). We are talking about investments of $ 12,5 million, which will be invested in the project now.


The essence of the development, which interested the German concern, is the synthesis of a complete analogue of gasoline, the raw material for the production of which is carbon filtered from the air. It is worth noting that the financing of the project by BMW’s “daughter” turned out to be timely, since the launch of the production of “new-old” fuel is scheduled for the second half of this year.

For BMW, the Prometheus Fuels startup is an extremely interesting, and most importantly, profitable solution. First, fuel is extracted from CO2 in the air. Consequently, subsequent emissions during its combustion are automatically “reset”, which fully fits into the modern “environmental doctrine”. According to Dr. McGinnins, the transition of all cars to his "gasoline from the air" will reduce carbon dioxide emissions into the atmosphere by as much as 25%.

Secondly, and most importantly, the new fuel is molecularly identical to gasoline obtained from oil refining. This means that the concern will not have to upgrade existing cars with internal combustion engines. Moreover, thanks to the “environmentally friendly” fuel from Prometheus Fuels, BMW can wait a bit with reorienting production to electric cars, which will save a lot of money to the German auto giant.
  • Photos used: Calinex / wikipedia.org
13 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. steelmaker Offline steelmaker
    steelmaker 11 June 2020 13: 42
    -5
    Interesting technology. China and Canada are also mastering it. And in Russia, as usual - why do it when you can buy it! Hucksters!
    1. aleksandrmakedo Offline aleksandrmakedo
      aleksandrmakedo (Dubovitsky Victor Kuzmich) 11 June 2020 13: 51
      +4
      And why did she become so interesting to you? The fact that CO² = 0,3% in the atmosphere, and if converted to carbon, it will become vanishingly small? To provide this fuel on an industrial scale, we need installations similar to those described in the novel "Air Seller" by A. Belyaev.
      Do we need new debiles that protect the environment and care about the disappearance of the protective properties of gas, which is the building material of all living things, starting with plants? Or for you, no matter what the foreigner gazed at - perfume?
      What makes the lack of education in the brain. Coal in the world - wood - with a solid content of the very useful as much as you want. Buy methane - why is it not clean fuel that produces water and the same СО² when burning? We will sell. Let's finish the pipe-2, that's enough for everything.
  2. steelmaker Offline steelmaker
    steelmaker 11 June 2020 13: 58
    -4
    That is why all the talented scientists and talented youth from Russia are trying to leave !! And the project costs only $ 12 million. And let them leave, we don’t need this! Will the state be richer? You are full of such clever fans in the government too.
  3. aleksandrmakedo Offline aleksandrmakedo
    aleksandrmakedo (Dubovitsky Victor Kuzmich) 11 June 2020 14: 11
    +2
    Quote: steel maker
    That is why, from Russia, all talented scientists and talented youth are trying to leave !! And the project costs only $ 12 million. And let them leave, we don’t need this! Will the state be richer? You are full of such clever fans in the government too.

    A project costs a lot more. Two or three orders of magnitude to bring it to a semi-industrial installation.
    I apologize for my last post, carbon dioxide is not 0,3%, but 0,03%. 0,3 - the maximum permissible content that poisons a person.
    They do not go abroad because they pay a lot. Project implementation there is simpler and more affordable. But, from the fact that the projectors are dumped here, in a sense, not bad. Let the mediocrity strain in their congress, ignoramus and local USEshnikov.



    There are a dime a dozen. Cheering for Aibolit and Limpopo.

    Dry theory, my friend, and the tree of life is forever green

    Goethe. Faust.

    Your name was not called your development. They called my name. The unified extraction panel for the equipment of the mine ventilation complex. A design consisting of 14 items and having more than 2,5 thousand assembly options.
    I'm not a spotlight. I am a constructor. And I'm proud of it.
  4. aleksandrmakedo Offline aleksandrmakedo
    aleksandrmakedo (Dubovitsky Victor Kuzmich) 11 June 2020 15: 00
    +2
    Quote: steel maker
    That is why all the talented scientists and talented youth from Russia are trying to leave !! And the project costs only $ 12 million. And let them leave, we don’t need this! Will the state be richer? You are full of such clever fans in the government too.

    If you have enough patience and brains - read, learn the basics.
    It is here for those who have not attended high school. Absolutely.

    https://bezgin.su
    1. Rum rum Offline Rum rum
      Rum rum (Rum rum) 11 June 2020 19: 13
      +2
      If such a technology does appear, then the plants will be installed on the chimneys of the TPP. That is, BMWs want to split the quota for CO with the CHP. What energy will be used to produce this miracle of fuel? It would not have been necessary to increase emissions of CO for its production.
      That is: its production requires more energy (and therefore emissions) than just making gasoline from oil.
  5. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 11 June 2020 15: 26
    -3
    In fact, the article clearly changed everything.

    ... the concern will not have to modernize the existing cars with internal combustion engines "," BMW can postpone the reorientation of production to electric vehicles "," and most importantly, a profitable solution. ".....

    The author is a director of BMW ??? Since everyone knows better than them ??
  6. Bakht Online Bakht
    Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 11 June 2020 21: 22
    +4
    I heard that from g ... but you can make candy. But from the air - gasoline ...? It is good that in Nazi Germany they did not think of this.
  7. aleksandrmakedo Offline aleksandrmakedo
    aleksandrmakedo (Dubovitsky Victor Kuzmich) 11 June 2020 22: 18
    +3
    Quote: Rum Rum
    If such a technology does appear, then the plants will be installed on the chimneys of the TPP. That is, BMWs want to split the quota for CO with the CHP. What energy will be used to produce this miracle of fuel? It would not have been necessary to increase emissions of CO for its production.
    That is: its production requires more energy (and therefore emissions) than just making gasoline from oil.

    You can estimate how much CO² a large CHP plant produces. Collecting this stuff will reduce the efficiency of heat (energy) generation. For if you hang something on the pipes, then the resistance to the flow will increase. Hundreds of thousands of tons of this not noble gas and tens of thousands of tons of "gasoline" generated annually. Plus the cost of equipment, specialists, reagents, ... Gasoline factories that produce millions of tons of product per year. And this self-made. Somehow not impressive ...
  8. aleksandrmakedo Offline aleksandrmakedo
    aleksandrmakedo (Dubovitsky Victor Kuzmich) 11 June 2020 22: 19
    +2
    Quote: Bakht
    I heard that from g ... but you can make candy. But from the air - gasoline ...? It is good that in Nazi Germany they did not think of this.

    What for? They made gas from coal. There, in coal, there is much more of that carbon .....
  9. Georgievic Offline Georgievic
    Georgievic (Georgievic) 12 June 2020 01: 20
    +2
    What a stupid thing! Well, how much air should be driven through the unit in order to condense 0.3% CO2 !!! Roughly speaking, the efficiency of the installation will be somewhere around 1% !! Smacks of a scam!
  10. aleksandrmakedo Offline aleksandrmakedo
    aleksandrmakedo (Dubovitsky Victor Kuzmich) 12 June 2020 18: 08
    +4
    Quote: Georgievic
    What a stupid thing! Well, how much air should be driven through the unit in order to condense 0.3% CO2 !!! Roughly speaking, the efficiency of the installation will be somewhere around 1% !! Smacks of a scam!

    It smacks of defense of a dissertation at the expense of budget expenditures. There are many ways to generate electricity. For example, a squirrel wheel attached to a generator. A crowd of squirrels ..... What is worse than this wit? Unless the wheel will give 12 million.
  11. race Offline race
    race (Yaroslav) 15 June 2020 18: 14
    +1
    "Gasoline from the air" begin to produce in Germany

    Firstly, they don’t start, but are just about to start.
    Secondly, when at least one can of this gasoline is produced and its price is announced, then there will be something to talk about. In the meantime, it looks more like an attempt to absorb the funds allocated for environmental programs.
    And thirdly, that I personally do not understand, even if it will be cost-effective, why make gasoline? They would still do diesel fuel in this way! It would be the production of the most environmentally dirty fuel from environmentally friendly raw materials. Isn't it easier to synthesize gas? The same methane or ethane.

«Бензин из воздуха» начинают добывать в Германии


Стартап доктора наук Йельского университета Роба Макгиннинса Prometheus Fuels получил финансовую и организационную поддержку от компании BMW i Ventures (структурное подразделение BMW). Речь идет об инвестициях в размере 12,5 млн долларов, которые будут вложены в проект уже сейчас.


Суть разработки, заинтересовавшей немецкий концерн, заключается в синтезе полного аналога бензина, сырьем для выработки которого выступает отфильтрованный из воздуха углерод. Стоит отметить, что финансирование проекта «дочкой» BMW оказалось своевременным, так как запуск производства «нового-старого» топлива намечен уже на вторую половину текущего года.

Для BMW стартап Prometheus Fuels является крайне интересным, а главное, выгодным решением. Во-первых, топливо добывается из содержащегося в воздухе CO2. Следовательно, последующие выбросы при его сгорании автоматически «обнуляются», что полностью вписывается в современную «экологическую доктрину». Со слов доктора Макгиннинса, переход всех автомобилей на его «бензин из воздуха» снизит выбросы углекислоты в атмосферу на целых 25%.

Во-вторых, и это главное, новое горючее молекулярно идентично бензину, получаемому из переработки нефти. Это значит, что концерну не придется модернизировать существующие автомобили с ДВС. Более того, благодаря «экологичности» топлива от Prometheus Fuels, BMW может повременить с переориентированием производства на электромобили, что значительно сэкономит средства немецкому автогиганту.
Использованы фотографии: Calinex/wikipedia.org
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

13 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. сталевар Офлайн
    сталевар 11 июня 2020 13:42
    -5
    • 0
    • 5
    Интересная технология. Китай и Канада тоже её осваивают. А в России как обычно - зачем делать, когда можно купить! Барыги!
    1. aleksandrmakedo Офлайн
      aleksandrmakedo (Дубовицкий Виктор Кузьмич) 11 июня 2020 13:51
      +4
      • 5
      • 1
      И чем же она так вам стала интересна? Тем, что в атмосфере СО² =0,3%, и, если перевести на углерод, то его станет исчезающе мало? Для обеспечения в промышленных масштабах этого топлива нужны установки, подобные описанным в романе "Продавец воздуха" А. Беляева.
      Нужны новые де билы, охраняющие окружающую среду, и пекущиеся о исчезновении защитных свойств газа, являющегося строительным материалом всего живого, начиная с растений? Или для вас, чем бы ни газнул иностранец - духи?
      Что делает отсутствие образования в мозгах. Угля в мире - дерева - с солидным содержанием того самого полезного, сколько хочешь. Покупай метан - чем не чистое топливо, дающее при сжигании воду и тот самый СО²? Продадим. Достроим трубу-2, хватит на всё.
  2. сталевар Офлайн
    сталевар 11 июня 2020 13:58
    -4
    • 1
    • 5
    Вот поэтому из России все талантливые учёные и талантливая молодёжь и стараются уехать!! А проект стоит всего 12 млн $. А пускай уезжают, нам этого не надо! Государство богаче будет? Вас таких умных фанатов полно и в правительстве тоже.
  3. aleksandrmakedo Офлайн
    aleksandrmakedo (Дубовицкий Виктор Кузьмич) 11 июня 2020 14:11
    +2
    • 4
    • 2
    Цитата: сталевар
    Вот поэтому, из России, все талантливые учёные и талантливая молодёжь, и стараются уехать!! А проект стоит всего 12 млн.$. А пускай уезжают, нам этого не надо! Государство богаче будет? Вас таких умных фанатов полно и в правительстве тоже.

    Проект стоит гораздо больше. На два-три порядка, чтобы довести его до полупромышленной установки.
    Извиняюсь за свой прошлый пост, углекислого газа не 0,3%, а 0,03%. 0,3 - предельно допустимое содержание, отравляющее человека.
    Едут в заграницу не потому, что там платят много. Там реализация проектов проще и доступней. Но, от того, что туде сваливают прожектёры, в некотором смысле не плохо. Пусть напрягают бездарей в их конгрессе, неучей и местных ЕГЭшников.



    Там таких- пруд пруди. Болеющих за Айболита и Лимпопо.

    Суха теория, мой друг, а древо жизни вечно зеленеет

    Гёте. Фауст.

    Вашим именем не называли вашу разработку. Моим именем назвали. Унифицированная выемная панель для оборудования шахтного комплекса проветривания. Конструкция, состоящая из 14 наименований деталей и имеющая более 2,5 тысяч вариантов сборки.
    Я не прожектёр. Я конструктор. И этим горжусь.
  4. aleksandrmakedo Офлайн
    aleksandrmakedo (Дубовицкий Виктор Кузьмич) 11 июня 2020 15:00
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Цитата: сталевар
    Вот поэтому из России все талантливые учёные и талантливая молодёжь и стараются уехать!! А проект стоит всего 12 млн $. А пускай уезжают, нам этого не надо! Государство богаче будет? Вас таких умных фанатов полно и в правительстве тоже.

    Если хватит терпения и мозгов - читай, изучай основы.
    Здесь расписано для тех, кто не посещал среднюю школу. Совсем.

    https://bezgin.su
    1. Ром Ром Офлайн
      Ром Ром (Ром Ром) 11 июня 2020 19:13
      +2
      • 2
      • 0
      Если такая технология действительно появится, то установки будут ставить на дымовые трубы ТЭЦ. То есть БМВ хотят разделить квоту на СО с ТЭЦ. Какие энергозатраты будут на производство этого чуда топлива? Как бы не пришлось увеличивать выбросы СО на его производство.
      То есть: на его производство нужно больше энергии (а соответственно выбросов), чем просто сделать бензин из нефти.
  5. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 11 июня 2020 15:26
    -3
    • 0
    • 3
    На самом деле, статья явно все переиначила.

    ...концерну не придется модернизировать существующие автомобили с ДВС", "BMW может повременить с переориентированием производства на электромобили", " а главное, выгодным решением.".....

    Автор входит в директора BMW??? Раз все знает лучше них??
  6. Bakht Офлайн
    Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 11 июня 2020 21:22
    +4
    • 4
    • 0
    Я слышал, что из г...а можно сделать конфетку. Но из воздуха - бензин...? Хорошо, что в нацистской Германии до этого не додумались.
  7. aleksandrmakedo Офлайн
    aleksandrmakedo (Дубовицкий Виктор Кузьмич) 11 июня 2020 22:18
    +3
    • 3
    • 0
    Цитата: Ром Ром
    Если такая технология действительно появится, то установки будут ставить на дымовые трубы ТЭЦ. То есть БМВ хотят разделить квоту на СО с ТЭЦ. Какие энергозатраты будут на производство этого чуда топлива? Как бы не пришлось увеличивать выбросы СО на его производство.
    То есть: на его производство нужно больше энергии (а соответственно выбросов), чем просто сделать бензин из нефти.

    Прикинуть можно, сколько выдаёт СО² крупная ТЭЦ. Сбор этой гадости снизит КПД выработки тепла (энергии). Ибо, если что-то на трубы навесить, то увеличится сопротивление потоку. Сотни тысяч тонн этого не благородного газа и десяток тысяч тонн в год генерированного "бензина". Плюс затраты на оборудование, спецов, реагентов, ... Бензиновые заводы, дающие миллионы тонн продукта в год. И эта самодельщина. Как-то не впечатляет...
  8. aleksandrmakedo Офлайн
    aleksandrmakedo (Дубовицкий Виктор Кузьмич) 11 июня 2020 22:19
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Цитата: Bakht
    Я слышал, что из г...а можно сделать конфетку. Но из воздуха - бензин...? Хорошо, что в нацистской Германии до этого не додумались.

    А зачем? Они из угля делали бензин. Там, в угле, того самого углерода гораздо больше.....
  9. Georgievic Офлайн
    Georgievic (Georgievic) 12 июня 2020 01:20
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Вот глупость-то! Это ж сколько надо воздуха прогнать через установку, чтобы сконденсировать 0.3% СО2!!! Грубо говоря, КПД установки будет где-то около 1%!! Афёрой попахивает!
  10. aleksandrmakedo Офлайн
    aleksandrmakedo (Дубовицкий Виктор Кузьмич) 12 июня 2020 18:08
    +4
    • 4
    • 0
    Цитата: Georgievic
    Вот глупость-то! Это ж сколько надо воздуха прогнать через установку, чтобы сконденсировать 0.3% СО2!!! Грубо говоря, КПД установки будет где-то около 1%!! Афёрой попахивает!

    Попахивает защитой диссертации за счёт расходов бюджета. Есть множество способов генерации электричества. Например, беличье колесо, присоединённое к генератору. Толпа белок..... Чем хуже, чем это заумье? Разве тем, что за колесо 12 миллионов не дадут.
  11. Rasen Офлайн
    Rasen (Ярослав) 15 июня 2020 18:14
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    «Бензин из воздуха» начинают добывать в Германии

    Во-первых, не начинают, а только собираются начать.
    Во-вторых, когда произведут хотя бы одну канистру этого бензина и озвучат его цену, тогда и будет о чём говорить. А пока это больше смахивает на попытку освоить средства, выделяемые на экологические программы.
    И в-третьих, что лично мне не понятно, даже если это и будет рентабельно, зачем делать именно бензин? Они бы ещё солярку таким способом начали делать! Было бы производство самого экологически грязного топлива из экологически чистого сырья. Не проще ли синтезировать газ? Тот же метан или этан.