NI: Norilsk is not the last Russian disaster in the Arctic


Moscow is turning the Arctic into an environmental issue and, judging by what happened in Norilsk, this is not the last Russian disaster in this region, writes The National Interest, an American analytical publication.


Today, Russia has the largest population beyond the Arctic Circle among the countries of the world. Permafrost thawing is causing serious damage to an already poorly developed infrastructure, causing losses to the authorities.

The recent spill of 20 thousand tons of diesel fuel in Norilsk is just the last of a series of environmental disasters. Of course, this emergency is inferior to the wreck of the Exxon Walds tanker off the coast of Alaska in 1989, when 40 thousand tons of oil spilled from the ship, but the devil is in the details. The reason itself is important because of which the diesel spill occurred, and it is very insidious.

180 thousandth Norilsk recognized as the worst city in Russia in environmental terms. In 2016 there already took place ecological disaster, when the dam of the tailings of the Nadezhda Metallurgical Plant broke through. City enterprises emit 2 million tons of harmful gases into the atmosphere annually. According to NASA estimates, this city is responsible for 1% of global sulfur dioxide emissions.

The city is surrounded by a lunar landscape, smog hangs over it and acid rains regularly. Life expectancy there is 10 years lower than in Moscow, and the level of cancer is 2 times higher than in Russia. Norilsk was a zone of ecological disaster long before the ground under it began to thaw.

Norilsk is a good example of what is wrong with the Russian Arctic. It is located in a valuable region with the world's largest deposits of nickel and palladium, as well as large reserves of copper, cobalt, platinum and coal. But he is saddled with the legacy of the Gulag. The Arctic Council, a group of countries, including the United States, can help Russia solve these problems.

This is only one of the problem points in the north of Russia, but other cities also need help. However, belligerent Russia may abandon it. Then what happened in Norilsk will not be the last environmental disaster in the Arctic.
  • Photos used: https://www.eglin.af.mil/
5 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. aleksandrmakedo Offline aleksandrmakedo
    aleksandrmakedo (Dubovitsky Victor Kuzmich) 11 June 2020 17: 20
    +3
    Of course, the council, which will be ruled by the United States, will solve the environmental problems of the Russian Arctic. Without them, we, and everyone else, go nowhere. I even know what will be the first decree worked out by this "advice".
    I wonder how NASA signals its people about the state of the atmosphere in the areas of shale gas and oil production.
    I think satellite sensors are tuned only to the territory of Russia.
  2. Oyo Sarkazmi Offline Oyo Sarkazmi
    Oyo Sarkazmi (Oyo Sarkazmi) 11 June 2020 19: 04
    +1
    The million barrels of oil that spilled into the Gulf of Mexico did not become a disaster. Yes, they spoiled the beaches for several months, the birds died ... But several storms washed up new sand, birds flew in from other places - now no one remembers the "catastrophe".
    And then 20 thousand tons of diesel fuel. Russian Arctic fox.
    1. bonifacius Offline bonifacius
      bonifacius (Alex) 11 June 2020 22: 34
      +2
      The biological activity of the tropics is orders of magnitude higher than the similar ability of the Arctic. Here you have the whole scribe. And remember what kind of penalty BP paid.
  3. Alexey Grigoryev (Alexey Grigoriev) 11 June 2020 19: 08
    +1
    Americans generally need to be silent after they dirtied the Gulf of Mexico.
  4. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 11 June 2020 23: 27
    +2
    Taki Norilsk Nickel does not seem to be a Russian company. Registered offshore, oligarchs share it in London.

    Take yes to fine these foreign owners of billions by 5-10. As the Americans fined the owners of the tanker who spilled oil from the US.
    But alas, weakly ...

NI: Норильск – не последняя российская катастрофа в Арктике


Москва превращает Арктику в экологическую проблему и, судя по случившемуся в Норильске – это не последняя российская катастрофа в этом регионе, пишет американское аналитическое издание The National Interest.


Сегодня Россия имеет самую большую численность населения за Полярным кругом среди стран мира. Таяние вечной мерзлоты наносит серьезный ущерб и без того плохо развитой инфраструктуре, принося властям убытки.

Недавний разлив 20 тыс. тонн дизельного топлива в Норильске – это лишь последняя из серии экологических катастроф. Конечно, данное ЧП уступает крушению танкера «Эксон Вальдс» у берегов Аляски в 1989 году, когда из корабля вылилось 40 тыс. тонн нефти, но дьявол кроется в деталях. Важна сама причина, из-за которой случился разлив дизеля, и она весьма коварна.

180-тысячный Норильск признан худшим городом России в экологическом плане. В 2016 году там уже имела место экологическая катастрофа, когда прорвало дамбу хвостохранилища Надеждинского металлургического завода. Предприятия города выбрасывают в атмосферу 2 млн тонн вредных газов ежегодно. По оценкам НАСА, этот город отвечает за 1% мирового выброса диоксида серы.

Город окружает лунный пейзаж, над ним висит смог и регулярно идут кислотные дожди. Продолжительность жизни там на 10 лет ниже, чем в Москве, а уровень онкологических заболеваний в 2 раза выше, чем по России. Норильск был зоной экологической катастрофы задолго до того, как земля под ним начала оттаивать.

Норильск – хороший пример того, что не так с российской Арктикой. Он находится в ценном регионе с крупнейшими в мире месторождениями никеля и палладия, а также большими запасами меди, кобальта, платины и угля. Но он обременен наследием ГУЛАГа. Помочь России решить эти проблемы может Арктический совет, группа стран, в число которых входят и США.

Это лишь одна из проблемных точек на севере России, но другие города также нуждаются в помощи. Однако воинственная Россия может отказаться от нее. Тогда случившееся в Норильске не будет последней экологической катастрофой в Арктике.
Использованы фотографии: https://www.eglin.af.mil/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

5 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. aleksandrmakedo Офлайн
    aleksandrmakedo (Дубовицкий Виктор Кузьмич) 11 июня 2020 17:20
    +3
    • 4
    • 1
    Разумеется, совет, которым будет рулить США, решит экологические проблемы российской Арктики. Без них- мы, да и все остальные - никуда. Я даже знаю, каким будет первым декретом, выработанным этим "советом".
    Интересно, а как НАСА сигнализирует своему народу о состоянии атмосферы в районах сланцевой добычи газа и нефти?
    Думаю, датчики спутников настроены только на территорию России.
  2. Оё Сарказми Онлайн
    Оё Сарказми (Оё Сарказми) 11 июня 2020 19:04
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Миллион баррелей нефти, вылившиеся в Мексиканском заливе, катастрофой не стали. Да, испортили пляжи на несколько месяцев, птицы погибли... Но несколько штормов намыли новый песок, прилетели из других мест птицы - сейчас о "катастрофе" никто не вспоминает.
    А тут 20 тыс тонн солярки. Российской Арктике песец.
    1. bonifacius Офлайн
      bonifacius (Alex) 11 июня 2020 22:34
      +2
      • 2
      • 0
      Биологическая активность тропиков на порядки выше, чем подобная способность Заполярья. Вот вам и весь писец. И вспомните, какой штраф заплатила BP.
  3. Алексей Григорьев (Алексей Григорьев) 11 июня 2020 19:08
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Америкосам вообще молчать надо после того, как они загадили нефтью мексиканский залив.
  4. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 11 июня 2020 23:27
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Таки Норникель вроде не российская фирма. Зарегистрирована в оффшоре, олигархи делят ее в Лондоне.

    Взять бы да оштрафовать этих забугорных владельцев миллиардов на 5-10. Как американцы штрафанули владельцев танкера, разливших нефть у ЮСа.
    Но увы, слабо...