What is happening in the Earth's mesosphere indicates the approach of the ice age


And again, we are forced to return to the topic of climate change and weather. According to the latest NASA data, a real anomaly is currently observed in the Earth’s atmosphere: in one of its layers, the mesosphere, the temperature dropped 50 degrees below average, reaching minus 140 Celsius. This phenomenon is given different estimates.


The mesosphere is the middle layer of the atmosphere, where the nitrogen content prevails over oxygen: 80% and 20%, respectively. The air there is so thin that it represents a real "dead zone" for aircraft. That is why this atmospheric layer is the most poorly studied, sometimes it is jokingly called the “ignosphere” in the scientific community. Together with the troposphere and stratosphere, the mesosphere, in fact, is a natural “heat insulator” of the planet from space cold. But right now, there is an abnormal cold that can last until the end of 2020.

This natural phenomenon is evaluated very differently. For example, James Renwick, professor of climatology at the University of Victoria at Wellington, believes that this marks the beginning of a new ice age:

Over the past two and a half million years, the Earth has experienced regular ice ages associated with slow changes in the Earth's orbit around the Sun and changes in the axis of rotation of the Earth. We are currently in one of the warm periods, but it is coming to an end.

Earlier, in February 2020, this specialist pointed out that the temperature in Antarctica rose another 1 degree from the last record recorded in 2015. On the one hand, cooling, on the other hand, is warming: at first glance, climatologists contradict themselves. In fact, it is considered more correct to speak not about “global climate warming”, but about “global climate change”.

As scientists explain, a sharp abnormal cooling in unaccustomed to such regions, is part of the process of increasing temperature on the planet. For example, last year, tourists from around the world were shocked by the sight of a frozen Niagara Falls. Due to the melting of the ice, the poles begin to warm up faster than other regions; the temperature difference between the polar and temperate latitudes is reduced. Taking into account the Earth’s rotation, the polar vortices begin to move faster, “wagging” when they come across high pressure areas, and move further south.

So the violation of the usual balance of atmospheric currents due to global warming can paradoxically lead to very severe winters throughout the planet. Even 10 years ago, experts from the Australian Antarctic Division studied the mesosphere using lasers. Climatologist Jeff Kampston, who investigated the so-called "silver clouds" in the team, then explained:

The dynamics of the atmosphere is such that heating of the troposphere is observed, in which we live. Its heating is associated with a phenomenon called global cooling in the mesosphere at an altitude of 50 kilometers. Therefore, we expect that as the mesosphere cools, the number of such clouds will increase.

Apparently, the processes are accelerating, which means that the weather will begin to present more and more unpleasant surprises, which should be prepared now.
Photos used: https://pixnio.com/
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

3 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. The comment was deleted.
  2. Bakht Offline
    Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 15 June 2020 15: 17
    +4
    • 4
    • 0
    Urgently call Greta Tunberg.
  3. Sergey Latyshev Offline
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 15 June 2020 15: 27
    -1
    • 1
    • 2
    And, the cut of money continues.
  4. Bulanov Offline
    Bulanov (Vladimir) 16 June 2020 08: 33
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Now it’s clear why Russia is actively building icebreakers ...

Происходящее в мезосфере Земли говорит о приближении ледникового периода


И снова мы вынужденно возвращаемся к теме изменения климата и погоды. По последним данным НАСА, в земной атмосфере в настоящее время наблюдается настоящая аномалия: в одном из ее слоев, мезосфере, температура упала на 50 градусов ниже средних значений, составив минус 140 по Цельсию. Данному явлению даются разные оценки.


Мезосфера – это средний слой атмосферы, где преобладает содержание азота над кислородом: 80% и 20% соответственно. Воздух там столь разрежен, что представляет собой настоящую «мертвую зону» для летательных аппаратов. Именно поэтому данный атмосферный слой наиболее слабо изучен, иногда его в шутку в научной среде называют «игноросферой». Вместе с тропосферой и стратосферой, мезосфера, по сути, является естественным «теплоизолятором» планеты от космического холода. Но именно сейчас там царит аномальный холод, который может продлиться до конца 2020 года.

Это природное явление оценивается очень по-разному. Например, профессор климатологии из Университета Виктории в Веллингтоне Джеймс Ренвик считает, что это свидетельствует о начале нового ледникового периода:

За последние два с половиной миллиона лет Земля пережила регулярные ледниковые периоды, связанные с медленными изменениями орбиты Земли вокруг Солнца и изменениями оси вращения Земли. В настоящее время мы находимся в одном из теплых периодов, но он подходит к концу.

Ранее, в феврале 2020 года этот специалист указывал на то, что температура в Антарктиде повысилась еще на 1 градус с последнего рекорда, зарегистрированного в 2015 году. С одной стороны, похолодание, с другой стороны, потепление: на первый взгляд климатологи противоречат сами себе. На самом деле, считается более корректным говорить не о «глобальном потеплении климата», а о «глобальном изменении климата».

Как объясняют ученые, резкое аномальное похолодание в непривыкших к такому регионах, является частью процесса увеличения температуры на планете. Например, в прошлом году туристы со всего мира были шокированы зрелищем замерзшего Ниагарского водопада. Из-за таяния льдов полюса начинают прогреваться быстрее, чем остальные регионы, разница температур между полярными и умеренными широтами сокращается. С учетом вращения Земли, полярные вихри начинают быстрее перемещаться, «виляя» при натыкании на области высокого давления, и смещаться дальше на юг.

Так нарушение привычного баланса атмосферных течений из-за глобального потепления может парадоксальным образом приводить к очень суровым зимам по всей планете. Еще 10 лет назад специалисты Австралийского антарктического подразделения изучали мезосферу с помощью лазеров. Климатолог Джефф Кампстон, исследовавший в команде так называемые «серебристые облака», тогда пояснял:

Динамика атмосферы такова, что наблюдается нагрев тропосферы, в которой мы и живем. Ее нагрев связан с явлением, которое называется глобальным похолоданием в мезосфере на высоте от 50 километров. Поэтому мы ожидаем, что при охлаждении мезосферы количество таких облаков будет увеличиваться.

Судя по всему, процессы ускоряются, а значит, погода начнет преподносить все более неприятные сюрпризы, к чему стоит готовиться уже сейчас.
Использованы фотографии: https://pixnio.com/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

3 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Комментарий был удален.
  2. Bakht Онлайн
    Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 15 июня 2020 15:17
    +4
    • 4
    • 0
    Срочно зовите Грету Тунберг.
  3. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 15 июня 2020 15:27
    -1
    • 1
    • 2
    А, распил денег продолжается.
  4. Буланов Офлайн
    Буланов (Владимир) 16 июня 2020 08:33
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Теперь понятно, почему Россия усиленно строит ледоколы...