Is the US eyeing Russian icebreakers?


And again we return to the Arctic. US actively embarked on program building your own icebreaking fleet, which is necessary for the development of both poles of our planet. Americans know how to build ships, but many observers were attracted to President Trump’s Memorandum by mentioning the possibility of “buying” an atomic icebreaker. Who did the head of the White House mean: his shipbuilders or the “generous soul”?


Washington unexpectedly found itself in a lagging position on the issue of developing Arctic open spaces. The United States has only seven diesel icebreakers, and the most powerful of them, Polar Star, is also the oldest and literally forced to “devour” parts for the repair of its brother Polar Sea. Back in 2012, the Polar Security Cutter program was adopted, according to which three heavy icebreakers and three medium ones were to be built. The basis of the new American "conqueror of the poles" was taken by the modernized German icebreaker project Polarstern II, which surpasses the prototype in displacement and power.

Everything seems to be fine: there is a contractor, funds have been allocated, but eight years later, President Trump is radically revising the shipbuilding program. Suddenly it became clear that the characteristics of the icebreakers do not meet the new requirements of the US Navy: their capacity is only 33,7 MW, they are subjugated by ice 1,8 meters thick, and the autonomy of ice navigation is only 90 days. For comparison, the shaft power of the Russian icebreaker of the LK-60Ya Arktika project is 60 MW, and they break through ice up to 2,6 meters thick. In addition, our ships have a variable draft, which allows them to walk along the oceans and river beds.

And how can one not recall the promising domestic super icebreaker of the Leader project, which can break the ice cover up to 4,3 meters thick and leave behind a corridor up to 30 meters wide, suitable for large vessels to pass along the Northern Sea Route. "Leaders" should become our "prodigy" on the NSR, opening navigation even in the winter, when it is simply impossible. By 2033, the Zvezda shipyard is expected to launch three icebreakers of this class. The "Arctic" and the "Leaders" will provide Russia with "all-weather" dominance in the conditions of the Arctic Ocean.

It is obvious that Washington is no longer "seasonal" diesel-electric icebreakers. USA have the necessary Technology and able to build icebreakers, but they do not have experience in creating nuclear-powered vessels of this class. If you literally understand Trump’s statement about the possibility of "buying", then the icebreakers are also built by their allies from Canada and Finland, but they also do not make nuclear powered ships. China, showing interest in the Northern Sea Route, has recently begun construction of its first nuclear-powered icebreaker, suspiciously similar to the Russian Arctic. As a matter of fact, Russia and China are the very same potential suppliers for the needs of the US Navy. One can reasonably argue here, but what about our dominance in the Arctic, why do we give icebreakers to the Americans ourselves?

That's right, but we, unfortunately, do not have an exclusive monopoly on this region: other countries also have the legal right to use the Northern Sea Route as an international transport artery, and there are no ways to prevent this, except for the military. The only source of funding for Arctic programs is the federal budget, which has become "worn out" due to all kinds of "oil" and "gas wars", sanctions, the coronavirus pandemic, etc. Already when Russia took upon itself additional quotas for oil production in the framework of the OPEC + deal, it was said that new resource projects in the Far North would be called into question. At the same time, the Russian government confirmed its intention to gain a foothold in the region:

It is necessary to continue the development of a fleet of powerful modern icebreakers. This is an important and necessary work for the country.

It is worth recalling that one icebreaker of the Leader class is estimated at 127,5 billion rubles, it is possible that the final cost will become even greater. Dear pleasure. It seems, perhaps, incorrect that the further development and division of the Arctic will take place as part of the most unexpected alliances. We won’t be very surprised if the new domestic atomic icebreakers, with the permission of the government on a leasing program, then float to the West, where they will serve the American and international polar stations announced by President Trump. Money doesn't smell, right?
Photos used: Rosatom
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

7 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. letinant Offline
    letinant (Alexey) 16 June 2020 11: 05
    +4
    • 5
    • 1
    That's right, but we, unfortunately, do not have an exclusive monopoly on this region: other countries also have the legal right to use the Northern Sea Route as an international transport artery, and there are no ways to prevent this, except for the military.

    The Northern Sea Route passes through our territorial waters, therefore we not only can, but must also control it, in all possible ways.
    1. Natan bruk Offline
      Natan bruk (Natan Bruk) 18 June 2020 04: 06
      -1
      • 0
      • 1
      There are territorial waters, and there is an exclusive economic zone, it is impossible to engage in economic activity without permission, but you can simply walk through it without any permission. The ice in the North Pole region is being reduced as a result of global warming, and if there is a possibility of passage north of territorial waters, no one will ask Russia.
  2. Dmitry S. Offline
    Dmitry S. (Dmitry Sanin) 16 June 2020 12: 06
    +2
    • 3
    • 1
    We must also put on the wishes of the United States, but not the eye.
  3. orange Offline
    orange (ororpore) 16 June 2020 12: 30
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Who will buy the US icebreaker from? This is a fortune telling on coffee grounds.
  4. steelmaker Offline
    steelmaker 16 June 2020 12: 31
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    Other countries also have the legal right to use the Northern Sea Route as an international transport artery, and there is no way to prevent this, except for the military.

    It amazes me how our government "prays" for this international law. Even Ukraine “laid” it, since it is not profitable for it. And here are our borders! And if our government believes that the United States and others are free to walk along our border. Why are we indignant when the United States wants to deploy nuclear weapons along our borders? And the second one. 127 billion rubles is a lot of money. But we know that our government, and for less, will sell what they themselves do not yet have.
  5. aleksandrmakedo Offline
    aleksandrmakedo (Dubovitsky Victor Kuzmich) 16 June 2020 17: 18
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    Horseradish them grated, not an icebreaker.
  6. aleksandrmakedo Offline
    aleksandrmakedo (Dubovitsky Victor Kuzmich) 16 June 2020 17: 20
    +2
    • 3
    • 1
    Quote: letinant
    That's right, but we, unfortunately, do not have an exclusive monopoly on this region: other countries also have the legal right to use the Northern Sea Route as an international transport artery, and there are no ways to prevent this, except for the military.

    The Northern Sea Route passes through our territorial waters, so we not only can, but must control it. ALL POSSIBLE WAYS.

    A permanent presence at the North Pole secures the water area for a country in which such a presence is ensured. No wonder expeditions to the USSR were constantly thrown out there, changing each other as demolition by currents.

США положили глаз на российские ледоколы?


И снова мы возвращаемся к Арктике. США активно приступили к программе строительства собственного ледокольного флота, который необходим для освоения обоих полюсов нашей планеты. Американцы умеют строить корабли, но многих наблюдателей привлекло в Меморандуме президента Трампа упоминание о возможности «покупки» атомного ледокола. Кого же подразумевал глава Белого дома: своих корабелов или «щедрую душу»?


Вашингтон неожиданно для себя в вопросе освоения арктических просторов оказался в позиции отстающего. Соединенные Штаты располагают всего семью дизельными ледоколами, а самый мощный из них, Polar Star, одновременно самый старый и буквально вынужден «пожирать» на запчасти для ремонта своего брата Polar Sea. Еще в 2012 году была принята программа Polar Security Cutter, согласно которой должны были быть построены три тяжелых ледокола и три средних. За основу нового американского «покорителя полюсов» взяли модернизированный немецкий проект ледокола «Поларштерн II», который превосходит прототип по водоизмещению и мощности.

Вроде бы, все хорошо: имеется подрядчик, средства выделены, но восемь лет спустя президент Трамп радикально пересматривает судостроительную программу. Вдруг выяснилось, что характеристики ледоколов не соответствуют новым требованиям ВМС США: их мощность составляет всего 33,7 МВт, им покоряется лед толщиной в 1,8 метра, а автономность ледового плавания – всего 90 суток. Для сравнения, мощность на валу у российского ледокола проекта ЛК-60Я «Арктика» составляет 60 МВт, и они проламывают лед толщиной до 2,6 метра. Кроме того, наши корабли имеют изменяемую осадку, позволяющую им ходить и по океанам, и по руслам рек.

И как тут не вспомнить про перспективный отечественный суперледокол проекта «Лидер», который сможет ломать ледяной покров толщиной до 4,3 метров и оставлять за собой коридор шириной до 30 метров, пригодный для прохода крупных судов по Северному морскому пути. «Лидеры» должны стать нашим «вундерваффе» на СМП, открывающим навигацию даже в зимний период, когда она просто невозможна. К 2033 году на верфи «Звезда» ожидается спуск на воду трех ледоколов такого класса. «Арктики» и «Лидеры» обеспечат России «всесезонное» доминирование в условиях Северного Ледовитого океана.

Вполне очевидно, что Вашингтону уже недостаточно «сезонных» дизель-электрических ледоколов. США имеют необходимые технологии и способны строить ледоколы, но опыта создания атомных судов такого класса у них не имеется. Если буквально понимать заявление Трампа о возможности «покупки», то ледоколы также строят их союзники из Канады и Финляндии, но и они не делают атомоходы. Китай, проявляя интерес к Северному морскому пути, недавно начал строительство своего первого атомного ледокола, подозрительно похожего на российскую «Арктику». Собственно говоря, Россия и Китай и есть те самые потенциальные поставщики для нужд флота США. Тут можно резонно возразить, а как же наше доминирование в Арктике, зачем нам самим отдавать ледоколы американцам?

Все верно, вот только эксклюзивной монополии на этот регион у нас, к сожалению, нет: другие страны также имеют законное право пользоваться Северным морским путем как международной транспортной артерией, и способов воспрепятствовать этому нет, кроме военных. Единственным источником финансирования арктических программ является федеральный бюджет, порядком «истрепавшийся» из-за всевозможных «нефтяных» и «газовых войн», санкций, пандемии коронавируса и т.д. Уже при взятии Россией на себя дополнительных квот по добыче нефти в рамках сделки ОПЕК+ говорилось, что под вопросом встанут новые ресурсные проекты на Крайнем Севере. При этом правительство РФ подтвердило намерение закрепиться в регионе:

Необходимо продолжить развитие парка мощных современных ледоколов. Это важная и необходимая для страны работа.

Стоит напомнить, что один ледокол класса «Лидер» оценивается в 127,5 миллиарда рублей, не исключено, что конечная стоимость станет еще больше. Дорогое удовольствие. Создается впечатление, быть может, и неверное, что дальнейшее освоение и раздел Арктики будут проходить в составе самых неожиданных альянсов. Не сильно удивимся, если новенькие отечественные атомные ледоколы с разрешения правительства по программе лизинга потом уплывут на Запад, где будут обслуживать анонсированные президентом Трампом американские и международные полярные станции. Деньги не пахнут, верно?
Использованы фотографии: Росатом
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

7 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. letinant Офлайн
    letinant (алексей) 16 июня 2020 11:05
    +4
    • 5
    • 1
    Все верно, вот только эксклюзивной монополии на этот регион у нас, к сожалению, нет: другие страны также имеют законное право пользоваться Северным морским путем, как международной транспортной артерией, и способов воспрепятствовать этому нет, кроме военных.

    Северный Морской Путь проходит по нашим территориальным водам, поэтому мы не только можем, но и должны контролировать его, всеми возможными способами.
    1. Natan Bruk Офлайн
      Natan Bruk (Natan Bruk) 18 июня 2020 04:06
      -1
      • 0
      • 1
      Есть территориальные воды, а есть исключительная экономическая зона, в ней нельзя без разрешения заниматься хозяйственной деятельностью, а вот просто ходить через неё можно без какого-либо разрешения. Льды в районе Северного Полюса сокращаются в результате глобального потепления, и если будет возможность прохода севернее территориальных вод, никто Россию спрашивать не будет.
  2. Дмитрий С. Офлайн
    Дмитрий С. (Дмитрий Санин) 16 июня 2020 12:06
    +2
    • 3
    • 1
    Надо тоже положить на желания США, только не глаз.
  3. померанец Офлайн
    померанец (орорпора) 16 июня 2020 12:30
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    У кого купят США ледокол? Это гадание на кофейной гуще.
  4. сталевар Офлайн
    сталевар 16 июня 2020 12:31
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    Другие страны также имеют законное право пользоваться Северным морским путем, как международной транспортной артерией, и способов воспрепятствовать этому нет, кроме военных.

    Меня удивляет, как наша власть "молится" на это международное право. Даже Украина на него "положила", раз это ей не выгодно. А здесь наши границы! И если наша власть считает, что вдоль нашей границы могут свободно ходить США и другие. То почему возмущаемся, когда США вдоль наших границ хотят разместить ядерное оружие? И второе. 127 млрд руб - это огромные деньги. А мы знаем, что наша власть и за меньшее продаст то, что и у самих ещё нет.
  5. aleksandrmakedo Офлайн
    aleksandrmakedo (Дубовицкий Виктор Кузьмич) 16 июня 2020 17:18
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    Хрен им натёртый, а не ледокол.
  6. aleksandrmakedo Офлайн
    aleksandrmakedo (Дубовицкий Виктор Кузьмич) 16 июня 2020 17:20
    +2
    • 3
    • 1
    Цитата: letinant
    Все верно, вот только эксклюзивной монополии на этот регион у нас, к сожалению, нет: другие страны также имеют законное право пользоваться Северным морским путем, как международной транспортной артерией, и способов воспрепятствовать этому нет, кроме военных.

    Северный Морской Путь проходит по нашим территориальным водам, поэтому мы не только можем, но и должны контролировать его. ВСЕМИ ВОЗМОЖНЫМИ СПОСОБАМИ.

    Постоянное присутствие у Северного Полюса закрепляет акваторию за страной, у которой такое присутствие обеспечено. Недаром экспедиции в СССР там выбрасывались постоянно, меняя друг друга по мере сноса течениями.