Why Rosatom has refused the Sea Launch


The floating launch site Sea Launch will not be sold to Rosatom. State corporations argued their refusal of the transaction, highlighting as many as five reasons for the unprofitability of such an acquisition.


The first concerns the inexpediency of building a unified information and space monitoring system for the Arctic zone using this complex. To implement the project until 2032, it is necessary to launch 19 satellites. It turns out that a maximum of 2 devices per year. In order for Sea Launch to at least achieve self-sufficiency, at least 4 launches per year will be required.

It would be possible to solve the first problem by attracting third-party customers. However, this option is also unpromising, since Rosatom does not have the relevant competencies, and hundreds of accident-free launches are needed to obtain them. At the same time, the floating spaceport is designed for no more than 6 launches per year.

The third reason in the state corporation called the senselessness of attempts to compete with Roscosmos. In this case, all that Rosatom can count on is launches “based on the residual principle”.

Ilon Musk also added fuel to the fire with his reusable missiles, which significantly reduced the cost of launching carriers in the commercial market. To take its place in the niche, Rosatom will have to invest heavily in creating a new competitive rocket.

And finally, the fifth argument for canceling the deal is that Sea Launch has already accumulated a lot of debts that require repayment. As a result, the potential cost of buying a floating spaceport can increase significantly.

Recall that last week in a number of media outlets reported that S7 was negotiating with Rosatom on the sale of the Odyssey platform and the assembly and command ship Sea Launch due to the lack of funding for the further development of the project. However, already at the beginning of this week it became known that the "saving" deal for the complex would not take place. Now, the floating cosmodrome, bought for 150 million dollars and relocated from the USA to Russia, is, at best, waiting for "conservation" for an indefinite period.
  • Photos used: John Murphy / flickr.com
1 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. 123 Online 123
    123 (123) 17 June 2020 20: 10
    +2
    Now, bought for $ 150 million and relocated from the US to Russia, a floating spaceport, at best, awaits "conservation" for an indefinite period.

    As far as I remember, they did not buy it, they bought a share in the project from American partners.
    What awaits the spaceport is not yet clear. In my opinion, the S7 does not have a normal development concept. What they were going to launch is not yet clear. While it all comes down to - the state, give me the money, we will develop it. Otherwise, what does the phrase mean:

    due to lack of funding for further development of the project

    Where are they waiting for funding?

Почему «Росатом» отказался от «Морского старта»


Плавучий космодром «Морской старт» не будет продан «Росатому». В госкорпорации аргументировали свой отказ от сделки, выделив целых пять причин нерентабельности подобного приобретения.


Первая касается нецелесообразности построения Единой информационно-космической системы мониторинга Арктической зоны с помощью данного комплекса. Для реализации проекта до 2032 года необходимо запустить 19 спутников. Выходит, максимум 2 аппарата в год. Чтобы «Морской старт» хотя бы вышел на самоокупаемость, потребуется как минимум 4 пуска в год.

Можно было бы решить первую проблему, привлекая сторонних заказчиков. Однако этот вариант также бесперспективен, так как у «Росатома» нет соответствующих компетенций, а для их получения необходимы сотни безаварийных пусков. При этом плавучий космодром рассчитан на не более, чем 6 пусков в год.

Третьей причиной в госкорпорации назвали бессмысленность попыток конкурировать с «Роскосмосом». В данном случае, все, на что может рассчитывать «Росатом» - это пуски «по остаточному принципу».

Подлил «масла в огонь» и Илон Маск со своими многоразовыми ракетами, которые значительно снизили стоимость запуска носителей на коммерческом рынке. Чтобы занять свое место в нише, «Росатому» придется инвестировать немалые средства в создание новой конкурентоспособной ракеты.

И, наконец, пятый аргумент отказа от сделки заключается в том, что «Морской старт» уже успел накопить массу долгов, которые требуют погашения. Вследствие чего потенциальная стоимость покупки плавучего космодрома может значительно возрасти.

Напомним, что на прошлой неделе в ряде СМИ сообщалось, что S7 ведет переговоры с «Росатомом» о продаже платформы Odyssey и сборочно-командного судна Sea Launch по причине отсутствия финансирования для дальнейшего развития проекта. Однако уже в начале этой недели стало известно, что «спасительная» для комплекса сделка не состоится. Теперь, купленный за 150 млн долларов и перебазированный из США в Россию плавучий космодром, в лучшем случае ждет «консервация» на неопределенный срок.
Использованы фотографии: John Murphy/flickr.com
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

1 комментарий
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. 123 Офлайн
    123 (123) 17 июня 2020 20:10
    +2
    • 3
    • 1
    Теперь, купленный за 150 млн долларов и перебазированный из США в Россию плавучий космодром, в лучшем случае ждет «консервация» на неопределенный срок.

    Насколько я помню, его не покупали, выкупили долю в проекте у американских партнеров.
    Что ждет космодром, пока не ясно. По-моему, у S7 нет нормальной концепции развития. Что они собирались запускать, пока не ясно. Пока все сводится к - государство, дай денег, мы будем их осваивать. Иначе что значит фраза:

    по причине отсутствия финансирования для дальнейшего развития проекта

    Откуда они ждут финансирования?