France 24: Russian Siberia fell into a vicious circle of irreversible consequences


Forest fires in Siberia in 2019, view from space


At the end of May, 21 thousand tons of diesel fuel spilled into the rivers of the Arctic part of Siberia. This was, according to scientists, the result of a vicious circle of changes in the Siberian climate. What is happening there affects the ecological situation of the entire planet. It is reported by France 24.

The owner of a thermal power plant near Norilsk, where the release occurred, blames the melting of permafrost. It, in turn, is the result of an increase in temperature caused by global warming. However, it itself can lead to accelerated climate change.

The permafrost contains a huge amount of carbon - about twice as much as today in the atmosphere. This carbon is frozen, protected, blocked. If permafrost thaws, carbon will be released into the air in the form of greenhouse gases - CO2 and methane. This will accelerate global warming, which will further unfreeze permafrost. All this will create a loop of irreversible consequences.

- said Antoine Sejourne, a geomorphologist at the Université Paris Saclay.

The negative effects of global warming are already visible in Siberia for several years. In particular, warm winters and mild spring cause numerous forest fires. The forest occupies those places where it was not there before due to low temperatures. Now, when it is getting warmer, there is more vegetation, however, the number of forest fires is also growing. Due to fires, the ability of boreal forests to absorb carbon dioxide and methane decreases, which further increases their concentration in the atmosphere.

Warming also contributes to the spread of invasive species of insects (that is, introduced by humans and expanded in new regions). One of them is Dendrolimus sibiricus - a silkworm capable of producing offspring that absorbs the leaves of a giant pine tree in a few hours.

What is happening in Siberia applies to all of us. If there are places that thaw and where carbon is released, temperatures are rising all over the world. A rise in temperature means an increase in the melting of glaciers and polar ice caps in Antarctica and in Greenland, which leads to a rise in sea level

- added Antoine Sejourne.
Photos Used: NASA
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

8 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. T. Henks Offline
    T. Henks (Igor) 17 June 2020 18: 45
    -2
    • 0
    • 2
    So carbon or carbon dioxide? Does methane have carbon? Maybe carbon pencils emit? And do not understand who is dumb and dumber. The scientist, however.
    1. Kristallovich Offline
      Kristallovich (Ruslan) 17 June 2020 19: 00
      +1
      • 1
      • 0
      So carbon or carbon dioxide?

      Is carbon dioxide not carbon?
      1. T. Henks Offline
        T. Henks (Igor) 17 June 2020 22: 33
        0
        • 1
        • 1
        CO2 carbon dioxide, C carbon.
        1. Kristallovich Offline
          Kristallovich (Ruslan) 17 June 2020 22: 41
          +1
          • 1
          • 0
          Carbon dioxide. There is no contradiction in the article.
  2. aleksandrmakedo Offline
    aleksandrmakedo (Dubovitsky Victor Kuzmich) 17 June 2020 20: 10
    +1
    • 3
    • 2
    Quote: T. Henks
    So carbon or carbon dioxide? Does methane have carbon? Maybe carbon pencils emit? And do not understand who is dumb and dumber. The scientist, however.

    Do not quibble. Here the terminology, which is not familiar to us, is to blame, and the translation of the article.
    For some reason, this fruit does not believe that nature has the ability to self-regulate. But in vain. Forests will burn - new ones will get clean territories freed from the very silkworm and the decaying surface of the earth, infecting unprecedented amounts of insects and all kinds of pests. For billions of years, nature has been living, changing, but within the framework of sustainability. Let these “scientists” argue what awaits us ahead - warming or a new glacial one. Theses, scum, bastards, scaring everyone and everyone.
    1. Grigory Lugovoi Offline
      Grigory Lugovoi (Grigory Lugovoi) 18 June 2020 13: 12
      0
      • 2
      • 2
      Excuse me, but do you really consider a natural process a 1000-fold increase in emissions from decades of human activity - factories, power plants, industrial enterprises, automobiles? Oh well...

      The ability to self-regulation in nature, of course, is. But a drop of unbalanced nicotine in the horse’s blood kills the horse. So you, on thinking, at the weekend the information ...
  3. aleksandrmakedo Offline
    aleksandrmakedo (Dubovitsky Victor Kuzmich) 18 June 2020 13: 37
    +2
    • 3
    • 1
    Quote: Gregory Lugovoi
    Excuse me, but do you really consider a natural process a 1000-fold increase in emissions from decades of human activity - factories, power plants, industrial enterprises, automobiles? Oh well...

    The ability to self-regulation in nature, of course, is. but a drop of unbalanced nicotine in the horse’s blood kills the horse. so, you, at the weekend think about the information ...

    If you ate only one chicken last year, and this year - two, then this is an increase of 200%. Or twice. To evaluate something, it is important to operate not with relative numbers, but also with absolute ones. Let's agree - 1000 times, but write here MUCH. Next is the total volume of the atmosphere. Further, a fraction of carbon dioxide with its content of 0,03%. Next - its absorption by vegetation and .... Further - the allocation of natural sources - swamps, vegetation, volcanoes, the water surface.
    See, this is VERY complicated - an assessment. Then, if you can’t do it, maybe it’s one-sided and you won’t write at all?
    A drop of nicotine. The emanation of plutonium 298 is more toxic than cobra poison by 50 thousand times. And in nature its hundreds of tons.
    If we compare the mass of bacteria that inhabit the surface of the planet with the mass of humanity, then we will lose with a crushing score in the ratio of millions of times. So, all human activity is a microdose of what powerful nature does. The defeat of the landscape in a limited area - yes, it is in human capabilities. And then, for a while.

    https://s7.lordfilm.org/150-film-zemlja-zhizn-bez-ljudej-2008.html

    See how quickly nature erases the traces of a person's stay on Earth.
    1. aleksandrmakedo Offline
      aleksandrmakedo (Dubovitsky Victor Kuzmich) 18 June 2020 13: 54
      +1
      • 2
      • 1
      I apologize. Plutonium 239.

France 24: Русская Сибирь попала в замкнутый круг необратимых последствий


Лесные пожары в Сибири в 2019 году, вид из космоса


В конце мая 21 тыс. тонн дизельного топлива вылилось в реки арктической части Сибири. Это стало, по мнению ученых, результатом замкнутого круга изменений сибирского климата. Происходящее там влияет на экологическую обстановку всей планеты. Об этом сообщает издание France 24.

Владелец теплоэлектростанции под Норильском, где произошел выброс, обвиняет во всем таяние вечной мерзлоты. Оно, в свою очередь, является результатом повышения температуры, вызванного глобальным потеплением. При этом оно и само по себе может привести к ускорению изменения климата.

В вечной мерзлоте содержится огромное количество углерода – примерно вдвое больше, чем сегодня в атмосфере. Этот углерод заморожен, защищен, заблокирован. Если оттает вечная мерзлота, углерод выделится в воздух в виде парниковых газов – СО2 и метана. Это ускорит глобальное потепление, что еще сильнее «разморозит» вечную мерзлоту. Все это создаст петлю необратимых последствий

– отметил Антуан Сежурне, геоморфолог из Université Paris Saclay.

Негативные последствия глобального потепления уже видны в Сибири в течение нескольких лет. В частности, теплая зима и мягкая весна становятся причиной многочисленных лесных пожаров. Лес занимает те места, где его раньше не было из-за низких температур. Сейчас же, когда становится все теплее, растительности становится больше, однако и количество лесных пожаров тоже растет. Из-за пожаров уменьшаются способности бореальных лесов к поглощению углекислого газа и метана, что еще больше увеличивает их концентрацию в атмосфере.

Потепление также способствует распространению инвазивных видов насекомых (то есть, занесенных человеком и расплодившихся в новых регионах). Одним из них является Dendrolimus sibiricus – шелкопряд, способный производить потомство, за несколько часов поглощающее листву гигантской сосны.

То, что происходит в Сибири, касается всех нас. Если есть места, которые оттаивают и где выделяется углерод, температура растет во всем мире. А повышение температуры означает усиление таяния ледников и полярных ледяных шапок в Антарктиде и в Гренландии, что ведет к поднятию уровня Мирового океана

– добавил Антуан Сежурне.
Использованы фотографии: NASA
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

8 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. T. Henks Офлайн
    T. Henks (Игорь) 17 июня 2020 18:45
    -2
    • 0
    • 2
    Так углерод или углекислый газ? А в метане есть углерод? Может, карандаши углерод выделяют? И не понять, кто тупой и ещё тупее. Учёный, однако.
    1. Кристаллович (Руслан) 17 июня 2020 19:00
      +1
      • 1
      • 0
      Так углерод или углекислый газ?

      А углекислый газ разве не углерод?
      1. T. Henks Офлайн
        T. Henks (Игорь) 17 июня 2020 22:33
        0
        • 1
        • 1
        CO2 углекислый газ, C углерод.
        1. Кристаллович (Руслан) 17 июня 2020 22:41
          +1
          • 1
          • 0
          Диоксид углерода. В статье нет противоречия.
  2. aleksandrmakedo Офлайн
    aleksandrmakedo (Дубовицкий Виктор Кузьмич) 17 июня 2020 20:10
    +1
    • 3
    • 2
    Цитата: T. Henks
    Так углерод или углекислый газ? А в метане есть углерод? Может, карандаши углерод выделяют? И не понять, кто тупой и ещё тупее. Учёный, однако.

    Не придирайтесь. Тут и терминология, для нас не привычная, виновата, и перевод статьи.
    Этот фрукт почему-то не считает, что природа обладает способностью саморегуляции. А напрасно. Сгорят леса - новые получат чистые территории, освобождённые от того самого шелкопряда и гниющей поверхности земли, заражающей невиданными количествами насекомых и всяких вредителей. Природа миллиарды лет живёт, изменяется, но в рамках устойчивости. Пусть эти "учёные" поспорят, что же впереди нас ждёт - потепление или новый ледниковый. Диссертаций, сволочи, наплодили, запугав всех и всем.
    1. Григорий Луговой (Григорий Луговой) 18 июня 2020 13:12
      0
      • 2
      • 2
      Простите, а 1000-кратный рост выбросов в течение десятилетий от человеческой деятельности - заводов, электростанций, промышленных предприятий, автомобилей - вы правда считаете естественным природным процессом? Ну-ну...

      Способность к саморегуляции у природы, безусловно, есть. Но вот капля несбалансированного никотина в крови лошади убивает лошадь. Так вам, на подумать, на выходных информация...
  3. aleksandrmakedo Офлайн
    aleksandrmakedo (Дубовицкий Виктор Кузьмич) 18 июня 2020 13:37
    +2
    • 3
    • 1
    Цитата: Григорий Луговой
    Простите, а 1000-кратный рост выбросов в течение десятилетий от человеческой деятельности - заводов, электростанций, промышленных предприятий, автомобилей - вы правда считаете естественным природным процессом? Ну-ну...

    Способность к саморегуляции у природы, безусловно, есть. но вот капля несбалансированного никотина в крови лошади убивает лошадь. так, вам, на подумать на выходных информация...

    Если вы в прошлом году съели только одну курицу, а в этом - две, то это рост в 200%. Или в два раза. Чтобы оценивать что-то, важно оперировать не относительными цифрами, а ещё и абсолютными. Давайте договоримся - 1000 раз, но впишите сюда ещё и СКОЛЬКО. Далее - общий объём атмосферы. Далее - долей углекислого газа при его содержании в 0,03%. Далее - поглощение его растительностью и.... Далее - выделение природными источниками - болотами, растительностью, вулканами, водной поверхностью.
    Видите, это ОЧЕНЬ сложно - оценка. Тогда, если вы это делать не можете, может быть, однобоко и вообще не станете писать?
    Капля никотина. Эманация плутония 298 более ядовита, чем яд кобры в 50 тысяч раз. И в природе его сотни тонн.
    Если сравнить массу бактерий, населяющих поверхность планеты с массой человечества, то мы проиграем с разгромным счётом в соотношении в миллионы раз. Так что, вся деятельность человека - это микродоза того, что делает могущественная природа. Поражение ландшафта на ограниченной территории - да, это в возможностях человека. И то, на время.

    https://s7.lordfilm.org/150-film-zemlja-zhizn-bez-ljudej-2008.html

    Посмотрите, как быстро природа стирает следы пребывания человека на Земле.
    1. aleksandrmakedo Офлайн
      aleksandrmakedo (Дубовицкий Виктор Кузьмич) 18 июня 2020 13:54
      +1
      • 2
      • 1
      Приношу свои извинения. Плутоний 239.