One step closer to war: Ethiopia refused to wait for an agreement with Egypt on hydropower plants


The situation in northeast Africa is exacerbating. Three African countries - Ethiopia, Egypt and Sudan became one step closer to the war. Addis Ababa refused to wait for an agreement with Cairo and Khartoum regarding the Hidase (Renaissance) hydroelectric power station and decided to start filling up the reservoir without the permission of the Egyptians and Sudanese.


It should be noted that the mentioned hydroelectric power station is being built on the Blue Nile (the right tributary of the Nile) and will become the largest in Africa. It is located near the border with Sudan, on the territory of which the Blue Nile merges with the White Nile into one water artery, flowing to the Mediterranean Sea. At the same time, the more arid Egypt and Sudan, located downstream, are not enthusiastic about the construction, reasonably suspecting that they will receive less water and they will begin drought.

Despite this, Ethiopian Foreign Minister Gedu Andargachev said his country would begin filling the giant reservoir on its own schedule without the “blessing” of others. This will happen already in July 2020, regardless of the outcome of the consultations. This was reported by the Associated Press.

The Minister emphasized that Ethiopia would like to agree with Egypt and Sudan, but negotiations can last for years, and neighbors will simply try to delay the process of filling the reservoir and putting an important object into operation. But the 107 millionth Ethiopia really needs this hydroelectric power station, so Addis Ababa will not allow procrastination for it to remain idle for years.

We believe that the Egyptian side wants to dictate terms to us and control our use of our own river.

- Andargachev considers.

The head of the department said that the Ethiopians are not going to ask someone for permission to implement their projects based on their own resources. He added that all other options for his country are unacceptable from both a moral and a legal point of view.

Earlier, Ethiopia refused to discuss the agreement on the division of the Blue Nile water and refer this issue to the UN Security Council. Moreover, the Ethiopian military even threatened neighbors, however, those answered to them in return. Therefore, it is likely that in the near future a serious armed conflict may arise in this region.
  • Photos used: Facebook / Grand-Ethiopian-Renaissance-Dam
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

На шаг ближе к войне: Эфиопия отказалась ждать соглашения с Египтом по ГЭС


Обстановка в северо-восточной Африке обостряется. Три африканские страны - Эфиопия, Египет и Судан стали на шаг ближе к войне. Аддис-Абеба отказалась ждать соглашения с Каиром и Хартумом по поводу ГЭС «Хидасэ» («Возрождение») и решила начать заполнение водохранилища без разрешения египтян и суданцев.


Нужно отметить, что упомянутая ГЭС возводится на Голубом Ниле (правом притоке Нила) и станет крупнейшей в Африке. Она расположена недалеко от границы с Суданом, на территории которого Голубой Нил сливается с Белым Нилом в одну водную артерию, текущую к Средиземному морю. При этом более засушливые Египет и Судан, находящиеся ниже по течению, не в восторге от строительства, обосновано подозревая, что станут получать меньше воды и у них начнется засуха.

Несмотря на это, глава МИД Эфиопии Геду Андаргачев заявил, что его страна начнет заполнение гигантского водохранилища по собственному графику без «благословения» других. Это произойдет уже в июле 2020 года вне зависимости от исхода консультаций. Об этом проинформировало агентство Associated Press.

Министр подчеркнул, что Эфиопия хотела бы договориться с Египтом и Суданом, но переговоры могут длиться годами, а соседи просто попытаются затянуть процесс заполнения водохранилища и введение важного объекта в эксплуатацию. Но 107-миллионной Эфиопии очень нужна эта ГЭС, поэтому Аддис-Абеба не допустит проволочек, чтобы она бездействовала годами.

Мы считаем, что египетская сторона хочет диктовать нам условия и контролировать использование нами нашей же реки

- считает Андаргачев.

Руководитель ведомства уточнил, что эфиопы не собираются спрашивать у кого-то разрешение на реализацию своих проектов, основанных на собственных ресурсах. Он добавил, что все остальные варианты для его страны неприемлемы как с моральной, так и юридической точек зрения.

Ранее Эфиопия отказалась обсуждать соглашение о разделе воды Голубого Нила и передать этот вопрос на рассмотрение СБ ООН. Более того, эфиопские военные даже угрожали соседям, впрочем, те отвечали им взаимностью. Поэтому есть вероятность, что в ближайшее время в этом регионе может возникнуть серьезный вооруженный конфликт.
Использованы фотографии: Facebook/Grand-Ethiopian-Renaissance-Dam
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти