Treasure trove: why countries intensify the struggle for the Mediterranean


In recent years, the situation in the Eastern Mediterranean has become very complicated. Large world-class oil and gas companies, as well as countries of the region, such as Turkey, Greece, Cyprus, Israel, Lebanon and Egypt, entered the battle for oil and gas fields.


It should be noted that what is happening is directly reflected in various conflicts in the region. This can lead to a change in the balance of forces in the planet’s energy market, as well as affect the militarypolitical alliances. After all, the Eastern Mediterranean turned out to be a storehouse of treasures; therefore, states and private corporations intensified the struggle for their possession.

The first major gas field in its waters was discovered in 2001 in an exceptional economic zone of Israel ("Tamar" - 200 billion cubic meters). Then, powerful gas fields were discovered off the coast of Egypt (Zohr - 850 billion cubic meters) and on the shelf of Cyprus (Aphrodite - 200 billion cubic meters). Syria and Lebanon also announced their intention to begin exploration and production. At the same time, Ankara began to actively oppose Cyprus, saying that Nicosia’s actions directly harm the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus, which has complicated relations with Greece.

In November 2019, Turkey entered into two treaties with the Government of Libyan National Accord. The first implied militarytechnical cooperation between Tripoli and Ankara. The second - distributes sea zones in the Eastern Mediterranean in the way that is beneficial to Turkey, which caused an international scandal. In response, Greece stated that it was ready to defend its interests with the help of military force.

To strengthen its position, Turkey adopted the Blue Motherland doctrine. Ankara has assumed the right to intervene in conflicts in the region. After that, Turkey sent its aircraft to the territory of Libya, and the ships of the Turkish Navy began to patrol the western coast of this country.

Thus, Turkey took a direct part in the civil war in Libya, which since the spring of 2014 has been waged between the PNS and the Libyan National Army. Moreover, the LNA openly supports neighboring Egypt, which is ready to get involved in the ongoing conflict. Cairo has already deployed its navy to patrol the east coast of Libya.

The described indicates that an explosive situation has developed in the region. Whether the parties will aggravate or sit at the negotiating table, time will tell.
Photos used: Erik Christensen + Roarjo / wikimedia.org
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

2 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. steelmaker Offline
    steelmaker 23 June 2020 14: 20
    -2
    • 0
    • 2
    The bottom of the ocean, like the island of Monte Cristo,
    like a star in space, there is wealth for the people
    Enough for three hundred years, and maybe forever.
  2. Alexzn Online
    Alexzn (Alexander) 23 June 2020 14: 24
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Offshore alliance of Greece, Cyprus, Israel, Egypt against Turkey. Lebanon and Syria also want to take part in the division of the shelf, but their positions are still weak, they will have to confront both the alliance and Turkey. It seems that the countries of the southern coast will not only be able to provide themselves with gas, but will also begin to supply it to Europe.

Кладезь сокровищ: почему страны усиливают борьбу за Средиземноморье


За последние годы обстановка в Восточном Средиземноморье серьезно осложнилась. Крупные нефтегазовые компании мирового уровня, а также страны региона, такие как Турция, Греция, Кипр, Израиль, Ливан и Египет вступили в борьбу за месторождения нефти и газа.


Нужно отметить, что происходящее уже напрямую отражается на различных конфликтах в регионе. Это может привести к изменению баланса сил на энергорынке планеты, а также повлиять на военно-политические альянсы. Ведь Восточное Средиземноморье оказалось кладезем сокровищ, поэтому государства и частные корпорации усилили борьбу за обладание им.

Первое крупное месторождение газа в его акватории было открыто в 2001 году в исключительной экономической зоне Израиля («Тамар» - 200 млрд куб. м). Затем мощные газовые месторождения были обнаружены у берегов Египта («Зохр» - 850 млрд куб. м) и на шельфе Кипра («Афродита» - 200 млрд куб. м). Объявили о намерении начать разведку и добычу также Сирия и Ливан. При этом Анкара начала активно противодействовать Кипру, заявляя, что действия Никосии напрямую вредят Турецкой республике Северного Кипра, чем усложнила отношения с Грецией.

В ноябре 2019 года Турция заключила два договора с Правительством национального согласия Ливии. Первый подразумевал военно-техническое сотрудничество между Триполи и Анкарой. Второй – распределяет морские зоны в Восточном Средиземноморье так, как это выгодно Турции, что вызвало международный скандал. В ответ Греция заявила, что готова при помощи военной силы отстаивать свои интересы.

Для укрепления своих позиций Турция приняла доктрину «Голубая родина». Анкара взяла на себя право вмешиваться в конфликты в регионе. После этого Турция направила свои ВС на территорию Ливии, а западное побережье этой страны начали патрулировать корабли турецких ВМС.

Таким образом, Турция приняла прямое участие в гражданской войне на территории Ливии, которая с весны 2014 года ведется между ПНС и Ливийской национальной армией. Причем ЛНА открыто поддерживает соседний Египет, который готов ввязаться в идущий конфликт. Каир уже направил свои ВМС для патрулирования восточного побережья Ливии.

Описанное указывает на то, что в регионе сложилась взрывоопасная ситуация. Пойдут ли стороны на еще большее обострение или сядут за стол переговоров, покажет время.
Использованы фотографии: Erik Christensen+Roarjo/wikimedia.org
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

2 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. сталевар Офлайн
    сталевар 23 июня 2020 14:20
    -2
    • 0
    • 2
    Дно океана, как остров Монте-Кристо,
    как в космосе звезда, там богатства для народа
    хватит лет на триста, а может навсегда.
  2. AlexZN Онлайн
    AlexZN (Александр) 23 июня 2020 14:24
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Шельфовый альянс Греции, Кипра, Израиля, Египта против Турции. Ливан и Сирия тоже хотят принять участие в разделе шельфа, но их позиции пока слабы, им придется противостоять как альянсу, так и Турции. Похоже, страны южного побережья не только смогут обеспечить себя газом, но и начнут его поставлять в Европу.