Save Nord Stream 2: Germany will have a hard time deciding on retaliatory sanctions


Thunderclouds gather over Nord Stream 2. The US is preparing another pact of sanctions. In the Bundestag, Chancellor Merkel was called on to abandon the construction of a gas pipeline from Russia in connection with the murder of a Georgian citizen in Berlin last year, which our compatriot was accused of. Due to “personal circumstances”, the operating company Nord Stream 2 AG decided to leave its director Hennig Kote. Germany declares its readiness to protect this energy project from attacks, but is it really ready for this?


Berlin says they intend to give America an answer to sanctions against Nord Stream 2 at the European Union level. It sounds menacing, if you look, then in the end from this "roar" at the exit there can only be a "slurred whisper." What gives us reason to think so?

At first, about any pan-European sanctions against the United States can not be discussed in principle. Germany in this matter is hostage to the bureaucratic mechanisms of the EU, requiring unanimity. To imagine how, for example, Riga, Vilnius or Warsaw approve of any anti-American sanctions, is extremely difficult.

Add to this that specifically against Nord Stream-2 a broad coalition has formed, which includes not only Latvia, Lithuania and Poland, but also Estonia, Czech Republic, Hungary, Slovakia, Romania, Croatia. One vote against is enough to put an end to the "pan-European retaliatory measures" against the United States.

Secondly, causes great doubts and the readiness of Germany itself to lay breast on the embrasure for Gazprom. Yes, this gas pipeline is objectively beneficial to Berlin. The country is undergoing a "green revolution", it needs environmentally friendly fuel at a reasonable price. Yes, it’s in her interests to become a major regional gas hub, which will strengthen her economic influence on neighbors. But if you have to choose between Russian gas and access to the American market, then the choice will not be made in favor of Gazprom.

Germany has a powerful export-oriented economy. The US domestic market is critical for her, which is well understood in Washington. Using the example of an immeasurably more powerful China, President Trump has shown that he is ready to wage an exhausting trade war until victory. If Berlin imposes its national sanctions against the United States, they will respond much harsher.

It remains to wonder why, in general, in Germany brought up the topic of "otvetki" to the Americans?

The first thing that comes to mind is Chancellor Merkel’s attempt to save face. When European neighbors are guaranteed to bury her initiative for a consolidated response to Washington, she will be able to “turn the arrows” in the eyes of her constituents. And everyone understands this perfectly. There are practical considerations. The discussion on retaliatory restrictive measures may be the basis for a compromise between Berlin and Washington. Obviously, the United States will adopt a new set of expanded sanctions against Nord Stream-2. It is in Germany’s interests to withdraw from them its port business and other infrastructure, one way or another involved in the construction and maintenance of the Russian pipeline. Given the active position of the German partners, the Americans can meet them.

As a matter of fact, that’s the whole “formidable answer”, which may turn out in the end.
Used photos: http://kremlin.ru/
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

6 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Sergey Latyshev Offline
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 27 June 2020 12: 43
    -1
    • 1
    • 2
    Let us take an example. They will announce various empty-handed sanctions and be loudly saddened about the fate of the Amerov apple breeders, because of the sanctions that do not supply apples to Germany)))))
  2. steelmaker Offline
    steelmaker 27 June 2020 14: 16
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    The more articles about SP-2, Ukraine, Syria, the more visible the ignorance of our government and the thieving nature, in fact. And somewhere and corruption. Because, even any normal person, doing something, always asks himself the question: "What next?" If he is building a house, then - where, how, who and how much will it cost? After all, no one will build a house 100 km from the nearest store. And here is the politics! 100 steps forward should be thought out. To drive the Czech diplomats back, one had to think for two weeks! And what’s the most offensive and nasty, for those who understand, there are no perpetrators. Bandera themselves suddenly appeared out of nowhere, they suddenly began to kill Russians, about SP-2? Well, Putin and Miller did not know that they could get sanctions! You couldn’t even think!

    To start any business - think about it.
    Go down the stairs and get to the top.
    All the way in the mind, since the mind and strength are enough,
    I felt firmness in my thoughts, then do this thing,
    you are on the right way.
    To live without mistakes, one must think far
    arm yourself with consideration and win any battle.
    Think for yourself, do not complicate your life
    and everything will be fine.
    1. cmonman Offline
      cmonman (Garik Mokin) 28 June 2020 04: 07
      -1
      • 0
      • 1
      And here is the politics! 100 steps forward should be thought out!

      Today looked scary dock. 2018 movie - “When Siberia Will Be Chinese”

      https://www.amazon.com/When-Siberia-Will-Be-Chinese/dp/B079C5JRKY

      Terrible, because, having signed up to be a satellite of China, Russia fell into a alignment from which it was no longer possible to get out. The film shows interviews with Russian, Chinese businessmen, Russian politicians, scientists, bureaucrats, workers, both Chinese and Russian - the picture is dull for Russia. There is an open invasion of China in Russia. The Russian-Chinese company cutting down forests in Siberia and the Far East is well known. Her name is known - neither the level of business, profit, financial activity - everything is hidden. And the thought of one Russian scientist clearly explains why Russia doesn’t think beyond 100 steps - everything is tied to short-term successes / profits, no one is involved in the country for 10-15 years of investing and making profits in the country, including Putin - it is not profitable. It is disadvantageous for the simple reason that oligarchs do not know how many years they can be prosperous and when they can be swept away. Including the president.
      Therefore, we need to row grandmas now. In the film, one Far Eastern leader noted that the longer the project, the lower the percentage of completion - and nothing was punished. Of the project for 10 years in 10 years, 27% has been mastered, 3% of the project for 90 years.
      In short - learn Chinese, they learn Russian very successfully.
  3. Sidor sidorini Offline
    Sidor sidorini (Sidor) 27 June 2020 16: 59
    +2
    • 3
    • 1
    How would the United States not to overtake the struggle for wear. Apparently, US affairs are not as good as one might imagine.
    The main thing is that Russia choose the right path.
  4. Wanderer039 Offline
    Wanderer039 27 June 2020 18: 37
    +2
    • 3
    • 1
    Sooner or later, Germany will have to make a choice between independent politics, access to the Russian and Chinese markets and, in fact, the US occupation, which will sometimes throw Germans crumbs from their table, but milk more and feed Germany less. Well, Russia in this situation needs to seriously think about introducing serious sanctions against the United States and the Czech Republic.
    1. Natan bruk Offline
      Natan bruk (Natan Bruk) 27 June 2020 19: 58
      -1
      • 0
      • 1
      That's right, you give sanctions against the USA! Prohibit Americans from keeping money in Russian banks, forbid them to be treated in Russian hospitals and teach their children in Russian universities! That's how they howl!

Спасти «Северный поток-2»: Германии будет сложно решиться на ответные санкции


Грозовые тучи сгущаются над «Северным потоком-2». США готовят очередной пакт санкций. В Бундестаге призвали канцлера Меркель отказаться от строительства газопровода из России в связи с убийством в прошлом году в Берлине гражданина Грузии, в чем был обвинен наш соотечественник. По «личным обстоятельствам» компанию-оператора Nord Stream 2 AG решил покинуть ее директор Хенниг Коте. Германия заявляет о готовности защитить этот энергетический проект от нападок, но вот готова ли она к этому реально?


В Берлине заявляют, что намерены дать ответ Америке на санкции против «Северного потока-2» на уровне Европейского союза. Звучит грозно, если разобраться, то в итоге от этого «рыка» на выходе может остаться только «невнятный шепоток». Что же дает нам основания так думать?

Во-первых, ни о каких общеевропейских санкциях против Соединенных Штатов речи не может идти в принципе. Германия в данном вопросе является заложницей бюрократических механизмов ЕС, требующих единогласия. Представить, как, например, Рига, Вильнюс или Варшава одобряют какие бы то ни было антиамериканские санкции, крайне затруднительно.

Добавим к этому, что конкретно против «Северного потока-2» сформировалась широкая коалиция, куда входят не только Латвия, Литва и Польша, но также и Эстония, Чехия, Венгрия, Словакия, Румыния, Хорватия. Достаточно одного голоса против, чтобы поставить крест на «общеевропейских ответных мерах» против США.

Во-вторых, вызывает большие сомнения и готовность самой Германии лечь грудью на амбразуру за «Газпром». Да, этот газопровод объективно выгоден Берлину. В стране идет «зеленая революция», ей нужно экологически безопасное топливо по разумной цене. Да, в ее интересах стать крупным региональным газовым хабом, что усилит ее экономическое влияние на соседей. Но если придется выбирать между российским газом и доступом на американский рынок, то выбор будет сделан не в пользу «Газпрома».

Германия обладает мощной экономикой, ориентированной на экспорт высокотехнологичной продукции. Внутренний рынок США для нее критически важен, что прекрасно понимают в Вашингтоне. На примере неизмеримо более могучего Китая президент Трамп показал, что готов вести изнурительную торговую войну до победы. Если Берлин введет свои национальные санкции против Соединенных Штатов, те ответят гораздо жестче.

Остается задаться вопросом, зачем тогда вообще в ФРГ подняли тему «ответки» американцам?

Первое, что приходит на ум, это попытка канцлера Меркель сохранить лицо. Когда европейские соседи гарантированно похоронят ее инициативу о консолидированном ответе Вашингтону, она будет иметь возможность «перевести стрелки» в глазах своих избирателей на них. И все прекрасно это понимают. Есть и соображения практического толка. Дискуссия об ответных ограничительных мерах может быть базой для некоего компромисса между Берлином и Вашингтоном. Очевидно, что США примут новый комплект расширенных санкций против «Северного потока-2». В интересах Германии вывести из-под них свой портовый бизнес и прочую инфраструктуру, так или иначе задействованную в строительстве и обслуживании российского трубопровода. Учитывая активную позицию немецких партнеров, американцы могут пойти им навстречу.

Собственно говоря, вот и вся «грозная ответка», которая может получиться в итоге.
6 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 27 июня 2020 12:43
    -1
    Пусть с нас берут пример. Объявят о разных пустословных санкциях и громко загрустят о судьбе амеровских яблоководов, из-за санкций не поставляющих яблоки в Германию)))))
  2. сталевар Офлайн сталевар
    сталевар 27 июня 2020 14:16
    0
    Чем больше статей про СП-2, Украину, Сирию, тем больше видна необразованность нашей власти и вороватая натура, по сути. А где-то и продажность. Потому что, даже любой нормальный человек, что-то делая, всегда задаёт себе вопрос: "Что дальше?" Если строит дом, значит - где, как, кто и сколько будет стоить? Ведь дом никто не будет строить за 100 км до ближайшего магазина. А тут политика! 100 шагов вперёд должно быть всё продумано. Чтобы выгнать чехов - дипломатов в ответ, надо было думать две недели! И что самое обидное и противное, для тех, кто понимает, - виноватых нет. Бандеровцы сами вдруг ниоткуда появились, русских вдруг убивать начали, про СП-2? Ну не знал Путин с Миллером, что на санкции попасть могут! Вот даже подумать нельзя было!

    Чтоб начать любое дело - призадумайся.
    По ступенькам пробегись и до верху доберись.
    Весь в уме проделай путь, коль ума и сил хватило,
    в мыслях твёрдость ощутил, значит делай это дело,
    ты на правильном пути.
    Чтобы жить не ошибаясь, надо мыслить далеко,
    вооружись соображением и победишь в любом сражении.
    Каждый сам соображай, свою жизнь не усложняй
    и будет всё прекрасно.
    1. cmonman Офлайн cmonman
      cmonman (Гарик Мокин) 28 июня 2020 04:07
      -1
      А тут политика! 100 шагов вперёд должно быть всё продумано!

      Сегодня посмотрел страшный док. фильм 2018 года - “Когда Сибирь будет китайской”

      https://www.amazon.com/When-Siberia-Will-Be-Chinese/dp/B079C5JRKY

      Страшный, потому что, подписавшись быть сателлитом Китая, Россия попала в расклад, из которого уже не выбраться. В фильме показаны интервью с российскими, китайскими бизнесменами, российскими политиками, учёными, бюрократами, рабочими, как китайскими, так и российскими - картина унылая для России. Идёт открытое вторжение Китая в Россию. Российско-китайская компания, вырубающая лес в Сибири и на Дальнем Востоке - известна. Известно её имя - ни уровень бизнеса, профита, фин.деятельность - всё скрыто. А мысль одного российского учёного ясно объясняет, почему в России дальше 100 шагов не думают - всё повязано на краткосрочных успехах/прибылях, на 10-15 лет вложения и получения прибылей в стране никто не занимается, включая Путина - невыгодно. Невыгодно по той простой причине, что олигархи не знают, сколько лет они могут быть благополучными и когда их могут смести. Включая президента.
      Поэтому грести бабки надо сейчас. В фильме один дальневосточный руководитель заметил, что чем долгосрочнее проект, тем меньший процент выполнения - и ничего, наказанных нет. Из проекта на 10 лет за 10 лет освоено 27%, из проекта на 3 года освоено 90%.
      Короче - учите китайский, они русский осваивают очень успешно.
  3. Sidor Sidorini Офлайн Sidor Sidorini
    Sidor Sidorini (Sidor) 27 июня 2020 16:59
    +2
    Как бы США не надорваться борьбой на износ. Судя по всему, дела США не так хороши, как можно было бы представить.
    Главное, России выбрать правильный путь.
  4. Странник039 Офлайн Странник039
    Странник039 27 июня 2020 18:37
    +2
    Рано или поздно Германии придется делать выбор, между независимой политикой, доступом к рынку РФ и Китая и, по сути, оккупацией США, которые иногда будут бросать немцам крошки со своего стола, но больше доить и меньше кормить Германию. Ну и России в данной ситуации нужно всерьез задуматься о введении серьезных санкций против США и всяких Чехий.
    1. Natan Bruk Офлайн Natan Bruk
      Natan Bruk (Natan Bruk) 27 июня 2020 19:58
      -1
      Правильно, даёшь санкции против США! Запретить американцам держать деньги в российских банках, запретить им лечиться в российских больницах и учить своих детей в российских ВУЗах! То-то они взвоют!