MiG-29 and F-16 aerial battle: who will win in the sky of Libya


Who won the battle for the sky of Libya, the Egyptian MiG-29M or Turkish F-16C, tried to find out the publication Military Watch.


Against the backdrop of the conflict in Libya, relations between Turkey and Egypt have deteriorated markedly. Ankara supports the Government of National Accord in the western part of the country, and Cairo helps the Libyan National Army Field Marshal Khalifa Haftar in the east. The development of the situation may lead to armed confrontation between Egypt and Turkey.

Turkey intends to deploy its F-16C fighters with AIM-120 air-to-air guided missiles (100 km range) in Libyan territory. At the same time, Egyptian F-16Cs use outdated AIM-7 missiles (range 75 km), since Cairo was denied the purchase of modern ammunition. Therefore, even with the same type of aircraft, Ankara has greater capabilities than Cairo.

So Egypt is unlikely to use its F-16S (140 pieces), and most likely will be used in air battles MiG-29M (14 pieces), since the French Rafale (24 pieces) are also deprived of modern air-to-air missiles. MiG-29M, in turn, are equipped with more powerful and long-range missiles R-27ER (range 130 km) and R-77 (range 110 km). In addition, the MiG-29M has a number of other significant advantages. It can rise to a height of 19 km, while the enemy is limited by a ceiling of 15 km. Also, a Russian-made fighter surpasses the F-16C in speed - Mach 2,25 versus Mach 2.

But the advantages of the MiG-29M in an air battle over the F-16C do not end there. The Russian car has better maneuverability and can carry more payload. But the most problematic factor for Turkey will be that Egypt is in close proximity to the theater of operations.

To compensate for the Egyptians' advantage in missile weapons, the Turks may purchase newer AIM-120C-7 missiles (range 120 km). However, the Egyptians are already awaiting the supply of Su-35 fighters, which have even greater advantages over American aircraft.
8 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. gorenina91 Online gorenina91
    gorenina91 (Irina) 30 June 2020 13: 09
    0
    - In this case ... it all depends on the training and professionalism of the pilots themselves ...
    - Turkish flyers are well prepared; and the Egyptian pilots can hardly reach their level ... - From this we can draw a "conclusion" ...
    1. Michael1950 Offline Michael1950
      Michael1950 (Michael) 30 June 2020 14: 34
      +1
      - There is such a thing as the probability of a missile strike. And it is very different for Russian missiles and American missiles.
      - There is such a thing as radar noise immunity. You will not believe: it is also different! lol
      - There is such a thing as the effectiveness of their RTR and EW tools. She is also different ...
      Etc. wink
    2. Boragl Offline Boragl
      Boragl (Boragl) 1 July 2020 23: 33
      +1
      Plus. The main thing is the preparation of the pilot, and not the difference, even if it is 50 km from the missile range .. but as for the best training for Turkish flyers ... I would not be so sure. The Turks are still those ... Although I also do not protect the Pharaohs ....
  2. 123 Offline 123
    123 (123) 30 June 2020 13: 58
    0
    I'll bet on the S-300. This is the same "forester" that will disperse the Germans and the partisans. There would be a desire ...
    1. Boragl Offline Boragl
      Boragl (Boragl) 1 July 2020 23: 35
      +1
      Only if our instructors are at the console ...
  3. Binder Offline Binder
    Binder (Miron) 30 June 2020 17: 09
    -4
    Undoubtedly, that side, pilots and other specialists who are better trained professionally wins in aviation, although, of course, the performance characteristics of combat vehicles are of great importance. In this regard, it seems to me a somewhat one-sided assessment of the author of the article, which unequivocally gives preference to the Russian MiG-29M over the American F-16C of the Turkish assembly. Let me remind you that various modifications of the F-16 aircraft have long been very successfully used in decomp. military conflicts, showed themselves on the positive side, this is a tried and tested warhorse, with the help of which many victories were gained in the sky. And the number of MiG-29 aircraft (14) among the Egyptians will not help them in any way in the fight against the more numerous Turkish F-16s. In addition, the Turks were able to unexpectedly surprise many specialists with their successful experiments in the use of UAVs against ground forces, who knows if they have something impressive in store against enemy aircraft?
    In general, it may still not reach the confrontation ...
  4. Don36 Offline Don36
    Don36 (Don36) 30 June 2020 17: 29
    +2
    Turkey is opposed not only by Egypt, but also by Saudi Arabia, France and Greece, so God only knows what ammunition Egypt can get, including from France, if the situation continues to heat up. It is possible that Greece will take advantage of the situation and open a second front against Turkey in Cyprus, and the Turks were not very lucky in battles with the Greek Air Force. The last battle of 4 F-16 Turkish Air Force, against 2 F-16 and 2 Mirage-2000 Greek Air Force, ended with the fact that the Greeks sent 2 Turks to swim in the Mediterranean Sea. The Greek fleet is also quite toothy and with good fighting traditions. The Greeks today retain the cruiser Averof as a museum, famous in 2 naval battles with the Turkish fleet, where the Greeks inflicted sensitive defeats on the Turks.
  5. Dmitry S. Offline Dmitry S.
    Dmitry S. (Dmitry Sanin) 1 July 2020 19: 59
    0
    The winner is the one who has air defense during the flying of various sorts of the enemy will not allow to his planes.

Воздушный бой МиГ-29 и F-16: кто одержит победу в небе Ливии


Кто одержит победу в битве за небо Ливии, египетские МиГ-29М или турецкие F-16C, попыталось выяснить издание Military Watch.


На фоне конфликта в Ливии отношения между Турцией и Египтом заметно ухудшились. Анкара поддерживает Правительство национального согласия в западной части страны, а Каир помогает Ливийской национальной армии фельдмаршала Халифы Хафтара на востоке. Развитие ситуации может привести к вооруженному противостоянию Египта и Турции.

Турция собирается развернуть на территории Ливии свои истребители F-16C с управляемыми ракетами «воздух-воздух» AIM-120 (дальность действия 100 км). При этом египетские F-16C пользуются устаревшими ракетами AIM-7 (дальность 75 км), поскольку Каиру отказали в приобретении современных боеприпасов. Поэтому даже имея однотипные самолеты, Анкара обладает большими возможностями, чем Каир.

Так что Египет вряд ли станет задействовать свои F-16С (140 штук), а вероятнее всего будет применять в воздушных боях МиГ-29М (14 штук), так как французские Rafale (24 штуки) также лишены современных ракет «воздух-воздух». МиГ-29М в свою очередь оснащены более мощными и дальнобойными ракетами Р-27ЕР (дальность 130 км) и Р-77 (дальность 110 км). Кроме того, МиГ-29М обладает еще целым рядом других существенных преимуществ. Он может подниматься на высоту до 19 км, в то время как противник ограничен потолком в 15 км. Также истребитель российского производства превосходит F-16С в скорости – 2,25 Маха против 2 Маха.

Но на этом преимущества МиГ-29М в воздушном бою над F-16С не заканчиваются. Российская машина обладает лучшей маневренностью и может нести больше полезной нагрузки. Но самым проблемным фактором для Турции будет то, что Египет находится в непосредственной близости от театра военных действий.

Чтобы компенсировать преимущество египтян в ракетном вооружении, турки могут закупить более новые ракеты AIM-120C-7 (дальность 120 км). Однако египтяне уже ожидают поставок истребителей Су-35, обладающих еще большими преимуществами над американскими машинами.
8 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. gorenina91 Онлайн gorenina91
    gorenina91 (Ирина) 30 июня 2020 13:09
    0
    - В данном случае ...всё зависит от подготовки и профессионализма самих лётчиков...
    - Турецкие летуны классно подготовлены; а египетские лётчики вряд ли могут дотянуть до их уровня... - Отсюда можно сделать "вывод"...
    1. Michael1950 Офлайн Michael1950
      Michael1950 (Michael) 30 июня 2020 14:34
      +1
      - Есть такое понятие, как вероятность поражения ракеты. И она очень разная у ракет российских и ракет американских.
      - Есть такое понятие, как помехозащищённость БРЛС. Вы не поверите: она тоже разная! lol
      - Есть такое понятие, как эффективность своих средств РТР и РЭБ. Она тоже разная...
      И т.д. wink
    2. Boragl Офлайн Boragl
      Boragl (Boragl) 1 июля 2020 23:33
      +1
      Плюсую. Главное - подготовка летчика, а не разность, пусть даже в 50 км дальности ракеты.. а вот насчёт лучшей подготовки турецких летунов... я бы не был так уверен. Турки ещё те ... Хотя и фараонцев я тоже не защищаю....
  2. 123 Онлайн 123
    123 (123) 30 июня 2020 13:58
    0
    Ставлю на С-300. Это тот самый "лесник", что и немцев, и партизан разгонит. Было бы желание.....
    1. Boragl Офлайн Boragl
      Boragl (Boragl) 1 июля 2020 23:35
      +1
      Только в случае, если за пультом будут наши инструктора...
  3. Биндюжник Офлайн Биндюжник
    Биндюжник (Мирон) 30 июня 2020 17:09
    -4
    Несомненно, в авиации побеждает та сторона, пилоты и пр. специалисты, в которой лучше подготовлены профессионально, хотя, конечно, ТТХ боевых машин имеют огромное значение. В этой связи мне представляется несколько однобокой оценка автора статьи, который однозначно отдает предпочтение российским МиГ-29М над американскими F-16C турецкой сборки. Напомню, что различные модификации самолета F-16 давно и весьма успешно используются в разл. военных конфликтах, проявили себя с положительной стороны, это испытанная боевая лошадка, с помощью которой было одержано немало побед в небе. Да и количество самолетов МиГ-29(14) у египтян никак не поможет им в борьбе с более многочисленными турецкими F-16. Кроме того, турки сумели неожиданно удивить многих специалистов своими успешными опытами применения БПЛА против наземных сил, кто знает, не припасено ли у них нечто впечатляющее и против авиации противника?
    А вообще - может до противостояния ещё и не дойдет...
  4. Дон36 Офлайн Дон36
    Дон36 (Дон36) 30 июня 2020 17:29
    +2
    Против Турции выступает не только Египет, но и Саудовская Аравия, Франция и Греция, так что одному богу известно, какие боеприпасы может получить Египет, в том числе из Франции, если обстановка продолжит накаляться. Не исключено, что Греция воспользуется ситуацией и откроет второй фронт против Турции на Кипре, а в боях с ВВС Греции туркам не слишком-то везло. Последний бой 4 F-16 ВВС Турции, против 2 F-16 и 2 Мираж-2000 ВВС Греции, окончился тем, что греки отправили 2 турок купаться в Средиземном море. Греческий флот тоже достаточно зубастый и с хорошими боевыми традициями. Греки и сегодня сохраняют в качестве музея крейсер Авероф, прославившийся в 2 морских сражениях с турецким флотом, где греки нанесли туркам чувствительные поражения.
  5. Дмитрий С. Офлайн Дмитрий С.
    Дмитрий С. (Дмитрий Санин) 1 июля 2020 19:59
    0
    Побеждает тот, у кого ПВО во время леталки разного рода противника не допустит к своим самолётам.