Military Watch: Why Egypt abandoned Abrams in favor of the T-90MS


Why Cairo decided to phase out the American M1A1 Abrams tanks in favor of the Russian T-90MS, the American Military Watch found out.


The Ministry of Defense and Military Industry of Egypt has signed a major contract with JSC Uralvagonzavod Scientific Industrial Corporation for the acquisition of 500 T-90MS tanks for the rearmament of its ground forces. The deal was concluded at the end of June 2020 and production of these tanks under license from Russian components should now be organized in Egypt.

Earlier in Egypt, the assembly of the M1A1 Abrams was carried out. Since 1992, the Egyptians have collected 1100 of these military vehicles, and all of them are now in operation. Now Cairo wants to expand its existing production capacity to produce the T-90MS.

The decision made by the Egyptians is determined by several important factors. M1A1 Abrams tanks are already pretty outdated and will gradually be withdrawn from the armed forces. In addition, there are quite cool relations between Washington and Cairo today. In 2013, the Egyptian military removed the West-oriented Islamist government, after which the United States imposed an arms embargo on Cairo, which significantly undermined the country's defense.

Therefore, Egypt decided to diversify arms supplies to reduce its dependence on the United States. Moreover, the T-90MS in a number of characteristics really surpasses the American tank.

Without a doubt, the T-90MS is now the most advanced tank in Africa, and Egypt will become, after Algeria and Uganda, the third country on the continent to have these military vehicles in service (T-90CA in Algeria and T-90C in Uganda).

T-90MS has a modern composite armor, as well as a complex of dynamic protection "Contact-5". In addition, the Russian tank is more suitable for desert terrain than the American Abrams, whose gas turbine engine is not adapted to high dust conditions. The lower weight of the T-90MS is also an advantage of the Russian combat vehicle.
  • Photographs used: JSC Uralvagonzavod Scientific Industrial Corporation
5 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. 123 Offline 123
    123 (123) 4 July 2020 13: 57
    +5
    In 2013, the Egyptian military ousted a West-oriented Islamic government,

    As it sounds - Islamists oriented to the West. good

    In general, the usual story is that citizens from behind a puddle as usual got into internal affairs, overthrew the government and put their monkey. And when the boomerang of fate rested on the tailbone, they were offended, they say, it’s not by the rules, and started an old song. Not that democracy, there are no human rights, few sanctions.
    1. Dmitry S. Offline Dmitry S.
      Dmitry S. (Dmitry Sanin) 4 July 2020 14: 23
      +1
      Very much delivered: "boomerang in the tailbone". Probably, this is the place where the main thought processes are? Did you usually get a boomerang in your head?
      1. 123 Offline 123
        123 (123) 4 July 2020 14: 26
        +1
        What they think, it flies there. hi
  2. Arkharov Offline Arkharov
    Arkharov (Grigory Arkharov) 4 July 2020 15: 54
    -3
    Modifications M1A1 for 40 years, once in any way you need to change. What is the second question.
    1. sgrabik Offline sgrabik
      sgrabik (Sergei) 4 July 2020 23: 26
      0
      Abrashka has long become obsolete, all of its modifications are already outdated, including the most recent ones; he certainly is not a rival.

Military Watch: Почему Египет отказался от «Абрамса» в пользу Т-90МС


Почему Каир решил поэтапно отказаться от американских танков M1A1 Abrams в пользу российских Т-90МС, выяснило американское издание Military Watch.


Министерство обороны и военной промышленности Египта подписало крупный контракт с АО «Научно-производственная корпорация «Уралвагонзавод» на приобретение 500 танков Т-90МС для перевооружения своих сухопутных войск. Сделка была заключена в конце июня 2020 года и в Египте теперь должно быть организовано производство этих танков по лицензии из российских комплектующих.

Ранее в Египте осуществлялась сборка M1A1 Abrams. Начиная с 1992 года египтяне собрали 1100 таких боевых машин, и все они сейчас находятся в эксплуатации. Теперь Каир хочет расширить имеющиеся производственные мощности, чтобы производить Т-90МС.

Принятое египтянами решение обуславливается несколькими важными факторами. Танки M1A1 Abrams уже изрядно устарели и будут постепенно выводиться из состава вооружённых сил. К тому же, между Вашингтоном и Каиром сегодня существуют достаточно прохладные отношения. В 2013 году египетские военные сместили правительство исламистов, ориентированное на Запад, после чего США ввели эмбарго на поставки оружия Каиру, что существенно подорвало обороноспособность этой страны.

Поэтому Египет решил диверсифицировать поставки вооружений, чтобы снизить зависимость от США. Тем более, Т-90МС по ряду характеристик реально превосходят американский танк.

Без сомнений, сейчас Т-90МС – самый совершенный танк в Африке, а Египет станет после Алжира и Уганды третьей страной на континенте, у которой эти боевые машины появятся на вооружении (Т-90СА у Алжира и Т-90С у Уганды).

Т-90МС имеет современную композитную броню, также комплекс динамической защиты «Контакт-5». К тому же, российский танк больше подходит для пустынной местности, нежели американский Abrams, газотурбинный двигатель которого не приспособлен к условиям большой запыленности. Меньший вес Т-90МС также является преимуществом российской боевой машины.
Использованы фотографии: АО «Научно-производственная корпорация «Уралвагонзавод»
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

5 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. 123 Онлайн
    123 (123) 4 июля 2020 13:57
    +5
    • 7
    • 2
    В 2013 году египетские военные сместили правительство исламистов, ориентированное на Запад,

    Как звучит - исламисты, ориентированные на Запад. good

    В общем, обычная история, граждане из-за лужи как обычно влезли во внутренние дела, свергли правительство и поставили свою мартышку. А когда бумеранг судьбы уперся в копчик, обиделись, дескать, это не по правилам, и завели старую песню. Не та демократия, нету прав человеков, мало санкций.
    1. Дмитрий С. Офлайн
      Дмитрий С. (Дмитрий Санин) 4 июля 2020 14:23
      +1
      • 1
      • 0
      Очень доставило: "бумеранг в копчик". Наверное, это по месту, где основные мыслительные процессы? Обычно бумеранг в голову прилетал?
      1. 123 Онлайн
        123 (123) 4 июля 2020 14:26
        +1
        • 2
        • 1
        Чем думают, туда и прилетает. hi
  2. Архаров Офлайн
    Архаров (Григорий Архаров) 4 июля 2020 15:54
    -3
    • 1
    • 4
    Модификации M1A1 уже 40 лет, когда-то по-любому менять надо. На что, второй вопрос.
    1. sgrabik Офлайн
      sgrabik (Сергей) 4 июля 2020 23:26
      0
      • 2
      • 2
      Абрашка давно себя изжил, все его модификации уже устарели, включая и самые последние, Армате он уж точно не соперник.