Why the Russian self-propelled guns "Acacia" caused concern among Western experts


Russian self-propelled guns "Acacia", which is the basis of the artillery firepower of brigade and division units of the Russian army, seriously worried Western experts. In particular, specialists from the RAND research center came to the conclusion that the American ground forces in the field of artillery are significantly inferior to ours.


The installation, which was based on the artillery part of the D-20 howitzer, was created back in 1970. Over the entire period of operation of the 2C3, Akatsiya underwent three modernizations, which consisted mainly of improving communication and sighting equipment.

For the whole 44 years in the USA they did not pay much attention to our installation, since its characteristics did not exceed the American self-propelled gun M-109 Palladin. However, the “concern” of our potential adversary began to increase when the 2C3M3 model was created at the Ural Transport Engineering Plant, to the level of which all the Akatsias in service in the Russian army began to be upgraded.

It is worth noting that the latest improvements fundamentally changed the fire and self-propelled part of the domestic self-propelled guns. So, the firing range of "Acacia" has almost doubled from 17 to 30 kilometers. In addition, the assortment of 2S3M3 ammunition was replenished with a high-precision Krasnopol projectile, hitting a moving target with a first shot with a 90% probability. We add here the increase in patency by almost a third, the rate of fire of 9-10 rounds per minute instead of 7, and the increased ammunition increased from 40 to 46 rounds.

As a result, we get a domestic self-propelled guns, which in its characteristics significantly surpasses the American "Palladin" and at the same time is produced not from scratch, but is the result of relatively inexpensive modernization. For comparison, the latest version of the Paladin M109A7 costs the United States $ 7,5 million, while the 2S3M3 Akatsia, which is almost a quarter superior in combat capabilities, costs less than 3 million.

Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

5 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Dmitry S. Offline
    Dmitry S. (Dmitry Sanin) 6 July 2020 16: 07
    +4
    • 5
    • 1
    Once every two years I take my children to Verkhnyaya Pyshma - there, in my opinion, is the coolest museum of military equipment. My daughter loves tanks very much - the most favorite T-80. In Nizhny Tagil she was allowed to get into the T-90. To the questions "what and how" - I liked it! And burning eyes. In the T-34 does not want to climb. She was also launched into Mstu and the Coalition - delight alone. Why am I not 9 years old?
    1. AICO Offline
      AICO (Vyacheslav) 6 July 2020 20: 42
      +1
      • 1
      • 0
      They do not let me in - they are afraid that they will not steal!
  2. Yevgeny Mikhailov (Vyacheslav Plotnikov) 7 July 2020 12: 06
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Rare news that delights ... "Shoigu, sit down," five "!"
  3. shinobi Offline
    shinobi (Yuri) 8 July 2020 09: 21
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    The United States sticks its nose everywhere. It is clear that everything that this nose can pinch will cause them "anxiety." The Yankees have relied on aviation, which is true, but not all tasks are solved by aviation.
  4. Barmaley_2 Offline
    Barmaley_2 (Barmaley) 8 July 2020 12: 14
    -2
    • 0
    • 2
    And does this not compensate for the overwhelming superiority of Amers in aviation and in UAVs (I am silent in general for the Navy)?

Почему российская САУ «Акация» вызвала обеспокоенность у западных экспертов


Российская САУ «Акация», которая является основой артиллерийской огневой мощи бригадного и дивизионного звена армии РФ, серьезно обеспокоила западных экспертов. В частности, специалисты из исследовательского центра RAND пришли к выводу, что американские сухопутные войска в области артиллерии значительно уступают нашим.


Установка, в основу которой вошла артиллерийская часть гаубицы Д-20, была создана еще в 1970 году. За все время эксплуатации 2С3 «Акация» прошла три модернизации, которые заключались в основном в улучшении аппаратуры связи и прицельного оборудования.

На протяжении целых 44-х лет в США не обращали особого внимания на нашу установку, так как ее характеристики не превосходили американскую САУ М-109 «Палладин». Однако «обеспокоенность» нашего потенциального противника начала нарастать, когда на «Уральском заводе транспортного машиностроения» была создана модель 2С3М3, до уровня которой начали модернизировать все состоящие на вооружении в российской армии «Акации».

Стоит отметить, что последние улучшения в корне изменили огневую и самоходную часть отечественной САУ. Так, дальность стрельбы «Акации» выросла почти вдвое с 17 до 30 километров. Кроме того, ассортимент боеприпасов 2С3М3 пополнился высокоточным снарядом «Краснополь», поражающим движущуюся цель первым выстрелом с вероятностью 90%. Добавим сюда рост показателя проходимости почти на треть, скорострельность 9-10 выстрелов в минуту вместо 7 и увеличенный с 40 до 46 выстрелов возимый боезапас.

В итоге получаем отечественную САУ, которая по своим характеристикам заметно превосходит американского «Палладина» и при этом выпускается не с нуля, а является результатом относительно недорогой модернизации. Для сравнения, последняя версия «Паладин» М109А7 обходится США в 7,5 млн долларов, тогда как 2С3М3 «Акация», почти на четверть превосходящая его по боевым возможностям, стоит менее 3 млн.

5 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Дмитрий С. Офлайн Дмитрий С.
    Дмитрий С. (Дмитрий Санин) 6 июля 2020 16:07
    +4
    Я раз в два года везу детей в Верхнюю Пышму - там, на мой взгляд, самый классный музей военной техники. Моя дочь очень любит танки - самый любимый Т-80. В Нижнем Тагиле ей разрешили залезть в Т-90. На вопросы "что и как" - понравилось! И горящие глаза. В Т-34 не хочет лезть. В Мсту и Коалицию её тоже запускали - одни восторги. Почему мне не 9 лет?
    1. AICO Офлайн AICO
      AICO (Вячеслав) 6 июля 2020 20:42
      +1
      Не пускают - боятся, чтобы не угнали!
  2. Евгений Михайлов (Вячеслав Плотников) 7 июля 2020 12:06
    +1
    Редкие новости, которые радуют... "Шойгу, садись, "пять"!"
  3. синоби Офлайн синоби
    синоби (Юрий) 8 июля 2020 09:21
    +2
    США суют нос везде. Ясен пень, что всё, что этот нос может прищемить, будет вызывать у них "беспокойство". Янки сделали ставку на авиацию, что верно, но не все задачи решаются авиацией.
  4. Barmaley_2 Офлайн Barmaley_2
    Barmaley_2 (Barmaley) 8 июля 2020 12:14
    -2
    А подавляющее превосходство амеров в авиации и в БЛА (за ВМФ вообще молчу) это никак не компенсирует?