Railgun: future "god of war" or the salvation of mankind?


Artillery, as you know, is the “god of war”, but the railgun has every chance of becoming a weapon, which in its destructive power will be considered second after nuclear.


For the first time, the concept of an electric apparatus for dispersing a projectile was proposed by the French inventor Andre Viepli back in 1917. The development consisted of two copper rails placed inside the muzzle barrel over which coils of wire were hung. Despite testing innovative weapons in the same year, the project was eventually abandoned by the French government.

The undeniable advantage of the railgun is the speed of fire. So, if an ordinary powder shell can theoretically accelerate to 2,5 km / s, then the damaging element of the electric gun, again in theory, is unlimited in anything. Today, her projectile speed reaches 10 km / s.

The principle of the "weapons of the future" is extremely simple. Two parallel rails act as electrodes. The accelerated shell is also a conductor and is located between them. As a result, the Lawrence force turns electric energy into kinetic energy, pushing the damaging element with hypersonic speed.

It would seem an ideal weapon. But the railgun has several drawbacks. In particular, he is very "gluttonous" in terms of electricity. In addition, a material with maximum conductivity is needed to make the projectile. Otherwise, the latter will simply “evaporate” even before exiting the trunk.

However, various countries do not abandon attempts to solve the above problems and get at their disposal a “superweapon”. Today, the United States leads the race. So, General Atomics has already tested the Blitzer artillery railgun. The electricity needed to fire the shot is stored in special batteries of ultrafast capacitors. It is estimated that the hit of such a shell weighing 18-20 kg in an aircraft carrier will produce the effect of a nuclear strike. But at this stage, the ammunition for the Blitzer is much smaller.

There are also developments in Russia. Domestic engineers were able to create a railgun with a barrel length of 2 meters. At the same time used in the project technology allows you to get muzzle speeds higher than American.

Another promising holder of the railgun is China. However, China is still in the early stages of development.

There is no doubt that the electromagnetic gun will “get life” soon. But, fortunately, not all countries intend to use it as a weapon against humans. In particular, the scientific community proposes to use the railgun to save our planet from asteroids and comets.

Photos used: General Atomics
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

3 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Sergey Latyshev Offline
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 8 July 2020 14: 40
    -2
    • 0
    • 2
    About 3 years ago, allegedly, Yusa announced the beginning of their installation on ships. The star announced, it turned out - lied.

    They say for a long time, there is little sense. Price, reliability, efficiency is not enough ....
  2. delvin-fil Offline
    delvin-fil (Alex) 8 July 2020 14: 59
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Do not watch the video! The author is a dope.
  3. shinobi Offline
    shinobi (Yuri) 9 July 2020 21: 38
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    The speed limit for railguns is determined by the mass and density of the projectile. The higher the speed, the more it should be stronger. For a shell weighing up to 10 kg, the limit is 11,5 km / s. The shell simply burns out in the atmosphere, not reaching the target. The main unresolved issue at the moment are compact power supplies to ensure an acceptable rate of fire. All currently available samples are inferior to conventional naval artillery assault rifles.

Рельсотрон: будущий «бог войны» или спасение человечества?


Артиллерия, как известно, – «бог войны», но рельсотрон имеет все шансы стать оружием, которое по своей разрушительной мощи будет считаться вторым после ядерного.


Впервые концепцию электрического аппарата для разгона снаряда предложил французский изобретатель Андре Виепли еще в далеком 1917 году. Разработка представляла собой два медных рельса, размещенных внутри дульного ствола поверх которого были навешены катушки из провода. Несмотря на то, что в том же году были проведены испытания инновационного оружия, проект в итоге был заброшен правительством Франции.

Неоспоримым преимуществом рельсотрона является скорость обстрела. Так, если обычный пороховой снаряд теоретически может разогнаться до 2,5 км/с, то поражающий элемент электрической пушки, опять же в теории, неограничен ничем. Сегодня скорость ее снаряда достигает 10 км/с.

Принцип работы «оружия будущего» предельно прост. Два параллельных рельса выступают электродами. Разгоняемый снаряд также является проводником и располагается между ними. В итоге сила Лоренса превращает электрическую энергию в кинетическую, выталкивая поражающий элемент с гиперзвуковой скоростью.

Казалось бы, идеальное оружие. Но есть у рельсотрона и несколько недостатков. В частности, он очень «прожорлив» в плане электричества. Кроме того, для изготовления снаряда необходим материал с максимальной проводимостью. Иначе последний попросту «испарится» еще до выхода из ствола.

Однако различные страны не оставляют попыток решить вышеупомянутые проблемы и получить в свое распоряжение «супероружие». Сегодня в данной гонке лидируют США. Так, компания General Atomics уже провела испытания артиллерийского рельсотрона Blitzer. Электроэнергия, необходимая для осуществления выстрела накапливается в специальных батареях сверхбыстрых конденсаторов. Подсчитано, что попадание такого снаряда массой 18-20 кг в авианосец произведет эффект ядерного удара. Но на данном этапе боеприпасы для Blitzer значительно меньше.

Свои разработки имеются и в России. Отечественные инженеры смогли создать рельсотрон с длиной ствола в 2 метра. При этом используемая в проекте технология позволяет получать дульные скорости выше американских.

Еще одним «счастливым» обладателем рельсотрона обещает стать Китай. Однако Поднебесная пока находится на ранних стадиях разработки.

То, что электромагнитная пушка скоро «получит жизнь», сомнений нет. Но, к счастью, не все страны намерены использовать ее в качестве оружия против человека. В частности, научное сообщество предлагает использовать рельсотрон для спасения нашей планеты от астероидов и комет.

  • Использованы фотографии: General Atomics
3 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 8 июля 2020 14:40
    -2
    Года 3 назад якобы Юса объявила о начале установки их на корабли. Звезда анонсировала, оказалось - наврала.

    Говорят давно, толку мало. Цена, надежность, эффективность маловата....
  2. delvin-fil Офлайн delvin-fil
    delvin-fil (Alex) 8 июля 2020 14:59
    0
    Не смотрите ролик! Автор двоечник.
  3. синоби Офлайн синоби
    синоби (Юрий) 9 июля 2020 21:38
    +1
    Предел скорости для рейлганов определяется массой и плотностью снаряда. Чем выше скорость, тем он должен быть больше и прочней. Для снаряда массой до 10кг пределом является 11,5 км/сек. Снаряд попросту сгорает в атмосфере, не долетев до цели. Основным нерешенным на данный момент вопросом являются компактные источники питания для обеспечения приемлемой скорострельности. Все имеющиеся на данный момент образцы уступают обычным корабельным артиллерийским автоматам.