150 dollars per barrel: fast reality or science fiction?


The “oil war”, which took place against the backdrop of the coronavirus pandemic, brought down the price of “black gold”. Now the cost of a barrel is in the region of $ 40. Due to the increasing number of COVID-19 infections in the United States, quotes are gradually declining. Despite this, a number of experts, mainly Western ones, say that soon oil will rise in price to the level of 100-150 dollars per barrel.


These are very bold and optimistic forecasts, but they still have a certain reason. Today in the world market there is a strong overstock of cheap oil. The storages are full of it, and the demand for hydrocarbons as a whole has seriously sunk. This automatically entails a number of extremely negative consequences.

At first, as part of the OPEC + transaction, its participants had to drastically reduce their production. This means a very expensive conservation of deposits. At the same time, the American producers of shale oil were in the most favorable position, and it was easy enough for them to resume their production. The subsequent re-preservation of hard-to-recover deposits in Siberia in our country will be much more expensive. And, for example, Angola or Venezuela, according to experts, will not be able to reach the “pre-crisis” volumes at all. Many old deposits in different countries will never return to the market.

Secondly, a sharp drop in oil prices against the backdrop of a decrease in world production made the development of new fields unprofitable. This is especially true for the extraction of so-called hard-to-recover reserves. If such projects were launched today, then they could reach the set parameters in three to five years. Now, such investment programs are shelved.

With all the negativity, Western analysts see this as positive. According to their forecasts, just on the horizon of 2025, the weak will leave the market, and the remaining strong will divide it among themselves. At the same time, hopes for the restoration of production volumes and demand for hydrocarbons are associated with the program of monetary emission conducted by central banks around the world. In other words, financiers want to fill the fire of the global economic crisis with money. All this allows some experts to believe that oil prices may rise to 100-150 dollars in three to five years.

However, not everyone thinks so. Many Russian industry analysts call the forecasts of $ 100-150 per barrel an attempt by colleagues, as they say, to "hijack." And there are arguments for this.

First of all, this is the US shale factor. Many hastened to bury this American industry, but it still has its say. It is worth recalling that the United States, unlike, for example, Russia or Saudi Arabia, did not join the OPEC + deal. This means that they are not associated with any restrictions on production volumes. The reduction really happened, but this is due to objective factors in the global market. As soon as prices begin to rise, shale workers will quickly re-open their wells and occupy the share of those that have left. That is, ultra-high prices for "black gold" due to its deficit is still not to be expected.

There is one more consideration that concerns the Old World. The day before we told that Europe intends by 2050 to completely abandon the use of fossil fuels - both oil and gas. It is supposed to replace them with renewable energy sources, as well as with "green hydrogen" of German production. Yes, this program is designed for 30 years, but as it is implemented, there will be a decrease in the volume of imports of hydrocarbons. And this factor will be forced to "bear in mind" all market participants, implementing their investment programs and stretching pipelines.

It turns out that prices of 100-150 dollars per barrel, if they return in the short term, then not for long. And so they are already destined to go down in history as the time of “fat years”.
Photos used: https://siberia.transneft.ru/
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

150 долларов за баррель: скорая реальность или фантастика?


«Нефтяная война», происходившая на фоне пандемии коронавируса, обрушила цены на «черное золото». Сейчас стоимость барреля находится в районе 40 долларов. Из-за роста числа заражений COVID-19 в Соединенных Штатах котировки постепенно снижаются. Несмотря на это, ряд экспертов, в основном, западных, заявляет, что совсем скоро нефть подорожает до уровня в 100-150 долларов за бочку.


Это очень смелые и оптимистические прогнозы, однако некоторый резон в них все же есть. Сегодня на мировом рынке наблюдается сильнейшее затоваривание дешевой нефтью. Хранилища переполнены ею, а спрос на углеводородное сырье в целом серьезно просел. Это автоматически влечет за собой ряд крайне негативных последствий.

Во-первых, в рамках сделки ОПЕК+ ее участникам пришлось кардинально сократить свою добычу. Это означает весьма дорогостоящую консервацию месторождений. В наиболее выгодном положении при этом оказались американские производители сланцевой нефти, которым достаточно легко возобновить свою добычу. Последующая расконсервация трудноизвлекаемых месторождений Сибири в нашей стране будет гораздо более накладной. А, например, Ангола или Венесуэла, как считают эксперты, и вовсе не смогут уже выйти на «докоронакризисные» объемы. Многие старые месторождения в разных странах больше никогда не вернутся на рынок.

Во-вторых, резкое падение нефтяных котировок на фоне снижения объемов мирового производства сделало нерентабельным разработку новых месторождений. Особенно это касается добычи так называемых трудноизвлекаемых запасов. Если бы такие проекты были запущены сегодня, то на заданные параметры они могли бы выйти через три-пять лет. Теперь подобные инвестиционные программы отложены в долгий ящик.

При всем негативе, западные аналитики видят в этом и положительные моменты. По их прогнозам, как раз на горизонте 2025 года слабые уйдут с рынка, а оставшиеся сильные его поделят между собой. При этом надежды на восстановление объемов производства и спроса на углеводороды связываются с программой денежной эмиссии, проводимой центробанками по всему миру. Иначе говоря, финансисты хотят залить пожар мирового экономического кризиса деньгами. Все это дает некоторым экспертам полагать, что цены на нефть через три-пять лет могут вырасти до 100-150 долларов.

Однако так считают далеко не все. Многие российские отраслевые аналитики называют прогнозы в 100-150 долларов за бочку попыткой коллег, что называется, «хайпануть». И на это есть свои аргументы.

Прежде всего, это сланцевый фактор США. Многие поспешили похоронить эту американскую отрасль, но она еще скажет свое слово. Стоит напомнить, что Соединенные Штаты, в отличие от, например, России или Саудовской Аравии, не присоединились к сделке ОПЕК+. Это означает, что никакими ограничениями по объемам добычи они не связаны. Сокращение действительно произошло, но это связано с объективными факторами на мировом рынке. Как только цены начнут расти, сланцевики оперативно расконсервируют свои скважины и займут долю ушедших. То есть, сверхвысоких цен на «черное золото» из-за его дефицита ожидать все же не стоит.

Есть и еще одно соображение, касающееся уже Старого света. Накануне мы рассказывали о том, что Европа намерена к 2050 году вообще отказаться от использования ископаемого топлива – и нефти, и газа. Предполагается их замена на возобновляемые источники энергии, а также на «зеленый водород» немецкого производства. Да, эта программа рассчитана на 30 лет, но по мере ее реализации будет происходить снижение объемов импорта углеводородного сырья. И этот фактор будут вынуждены «иметь в виду» все участники рынка, осуществляя свои инвестиционные программы и протягивая трубопроводы.

Получается, что цены в 100-150 долларов за баррель, если и вернутся в краткосрочной перспективе, то ненадолго. А так им уже суждено уйти в историю как время «тучных лет».
Использованы фотографии: https://siberia.transneft.ru/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти