The US has no methods of pressure on the Nord Stream-2


Washington continues to unceremoniously hinder the implementation of the Nord Stream 2 gas transmission project. July 15, 2020, the head of the US State Department, Mike Pompeo openly threatened to retroactively impose sanctions against Shell, Engie, Uniper, Wintershall and OMV, which are investors in the project.


Pompeo said that Washington intends to extend the law "On Countering US Enemies Through Sanctions" (CAATSA) to SP-2 and part of the Turkish Stream gas pipeline going to the Balkans. If Washington’s demand is not met, then the Americans promise to block the assets of these companies in the United States.

This means: stop working immediately or risk unpleasant consequences.

- said Pompeo.

It should be noted that new formidable statements followed from Washington at a time when Gazprom stepped up efforts to complete the pipeline. At the same time, the companies mentioned above have already invested € 4,75 billion in the project.

Each investor company has already invested € 950 million in the project. Thus, they have made their investments and simply can’t fulfill Pompeo’s requirement to “stop work immediately”, as this is equivalent to giving money to Gazprom. Moreover, the total project cost is estimated at € 9,5 billion. The remaining investments are Gazprom’s own funds.

The US has no methods of pressure on Nord Stream-2, so Mike Pompeo had to hurryly withdraw the reservation from the use of article 232 of CAATSA

- explained to the publication Kommersant Managing Partner of the Moscow office of Pen & Paper Anton Imennov.

He clarified that Pompeo did not voice new sanctions, but “well-forgotten old ones” that had not previously been applied to SP-2 and Turkish Stream. He recalled that under US restrictions, companies that participate in Russian gas projects for $ 1 million at a time or $ 5 million per year fall under US restrictions.

As the publication learned, investing companies were perplexed by information from the United States. The eventual imposition of sanctions in hindsight is what they call an unprecedented move. They do not understand what exactly Washington is seeking from them. Theoretically, they can officially announce the exit from the project and require Gazprom to return the money. But Gazprom, in any case, will retain the opportunity to complete the construction of SP-2.
  • Used photos: gazprom.com
3 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. bear040 Offline bear040
    bear040 16 July 2020 20: 43
    +2
    To nationalize ALL US property in the Russian Federation, in order to pay off the damage to the Russian Federation caused by US sanctions, and let Washington even eat their socks after that. It will be disgraceful for others ..
    1. Yuri Nemov Offline Yuri Nemov
      Yuri Nemov (Yuri Nemov) 17 July 2020 11: 00
      0
      Why socks? Amerikosy just do the same with Russian property in America, that's all. This is a hopeless move and will lead nowhere.
      1. bear040 Offline bear040
        bear040 19 July 2020 12: 19
        +3
        Property of the Russian Federation in the USA ?! And a lot of it there? Not many, but the private dachas of the Yeltsin family who were stealing, this is not the property of the Russian Federation and not a problem for Russia! But the USA on Sakhalin alone will lose very sensitively.

У США не остается методов давления на «Северный поток-2»


Вашингтон продолжает бесцеремонно препятствовать реализации газотранспортного проекта «Северный поток-2». 15 июля 2020 года глава Госдепа США Майк Помпео открыто пригрозил ввести задним числом санкции против компаний Shell, Engie, Uniper, Wintershall и OMV, которые являются инвесторами проекта.


Помпео заявил, что Вашингтон намерен распространить на «СП-2» и на часть газопровода «Турецкий поток», идущую на Балканы, закон «О противодействии противникам США посредством санкций» (CAATSA). Если требование Вашингтона не будет выполнено, то американцы обещают заблокировать активы этих компаний в США.

Это означает: прекращайте работу немедленно либо рискуете получить неприятные последствия

- сказал Помпео.

Нужно отметить, что новые грозные заявления последовали из Вашингтона в тот момент, когда компания Газпром активизировала усилия по достройке газопровода. При этом упомянутые выше компании уже инвестировали в проект €4,75 млрд.

Каждая компания-инвестор уже вложила в проект по €950 млн. Таким образом, они осуществили свои инвестиции и просто не могут выполнить требование Помпео «прекратить работу немедленно», так как это равноценно подарить деньги Газпрому. При этом общая стоимость проекта оценивается в €9,5 млрд. Оставшиеся инвестиции - собственные средства Газпрома.

У США не остается методов давления на «Северный поток-2», поэтому Майку Помпео пришлось спешно снимать оговорку с использования статьи 232 CAATSA

- пояснил изданию «Коммерсантъ» управляющий партнер московского офиса Pen & Paper Антон Именнов.

Он уточнил, что Помпео озвучил не новые санкции, а «хорошо забытые старые», которые до этого не распространялись на «СП-2» и «Турецкий поток». Он напомнил, что под американские ограничения подпадают компании, которые участвуют в российских газовых проектах на $1 млн единовременно или $5 млн за год.

Как узнало издание, компании-инвесторы с недоумением восприняли информацию из США. Возможное введение санкций задним числом они называют беспрецедентным шагом. Они не понимают, чего именно от них добивается Вашингтон. Теоретически, они могут официально объявить о выходе из проекта и потребовать от Газпрома вернуть деньги. Но Газпром в любом случае сохранит возможность достроить «СП-2».
Использованы фотографии: gazprom.com
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

3 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. медведь040 Офлайн
    медведь040 16 июля 2020 20:43
    +2
    • 4
    • 2
    Национализировать ВСЕ имущество США в РФ, в счет погашения ущерба РФ, нанесенного санкциями США, и пусть в Вашингтоне хоть носки свои съедят после этого. Другим неповадно будет..
    1. Юрий Немов Офлайн
      Юрий Немов (Юрий Немов) 17 июля 2020 11:00
      0
      • 1
      • 1
      Зачем носки? Америкосы просто поступят так же с российским имуществом в Америке, вот и все. Это бесперспективный ход и ни к чему не приведет.
      1. медведь040 Офлайн
        медведь040 19 июля 2020 12:19
        +3
        • 3
        • 0
        Имущество РФ в США?! И много его там? Не много, а личные дачки проворовавшейся семейки Ельцина, это не имущество РФ и не проблема России! А вот США на одном Сахалине потеряют весьма чувствительно.