US Navy officer caught on the transfer of classified data to Russia


The American military sailor was caught transmitting classified data to Russia, writes The Virginian-Pilot.


The suspect is US Petty Officer Charles Briggs, who worked in the Information and of technologies at the Portsmouth Naval Medical Center. He is accused of transmitting to third parties information of a defense nature that he received from an office computer.

In addition, he is charged with obstruction of justice, as well as possession and viewing of child pornography (these are the most fashionable accusations in the United States, when there is no other evidence). At the same time, what kind of secret information is involved, how exactly Briggs contacted and with whom, it is said only briefly.

However, investigators insist that the sailor was fully aware that the information he received "could harm the United States and benefit another state." The materials clarify that the foreman had access to data related to national security, from October 2018 to January 2019. At that time, Briggs was at Offutt Air Force Base in Nebraska.

Briggs allegedly provided false information that he did not have “close and lasting relations” with citizens of other states. At the same time, he kept silent about the fact that he was familiar with the Russian and the Italian. He also deceived his leadership when he announced that he would spend his vacation in 2018 in Nebraska, and he went to Serbia.

Briggs is now in custody and awaiting formal charges, due July 22, 2020.

Note that since President Donald Trump settled in the White House in Washington, opponents have not ceased to accuse him of working for Moscow. The US Democratic Party staged a real “witch hunt”, seeking out “Kremlin agents” in all departments and at all levels of government in order to pay attention to Trump every time. Now in the United States, elections and under suspicion may fall any disloyal to the "democrats", even the junior officer rank, would be an occasion.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

11 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Vladimir Tuzakov (Vladimir Tuzakov) 18 July 2020 21: 14
    -6
    • 2
    • 8
    Another failure of the SVR of the Russian Federation. The head of the SVR Naryshkin has repeatedly proved his unsuitability to lead the SVR — for a decade there were only failures (recall A. Chapman and more than a dozen young people prepared for deep drilling, etc. ...) It seems that there are constant drains in the SVR with such systematic failures ...
    1. 123 Offline
      123 (123) 18 July 2020 22: 02
      +4
      • 5
      • 1
      I was very impressed by the deep analysis and assessment of the SVR's activities. Are you an hour not a veteran? winked Didn't you serve on the Kolchak fronts?
      1. General Black Offline
        General Black (Gennady) 18 July 2020 23: 24
        +2
        • 2
        • 0
        He is a Stakhanovite! Eternal!
      2. Vladimir Tuzakov (Vladimir Tuzakov) 19 July 2020 11: 56
        0
        • 1
        • 1
        Reading the media and drawing conclusions is enough. (All of today's intelligence is 90% based on the media).
        1. 123 Offline
          123 (123) 19 July 2020 12: 11
          +2
          • 2
          • 0
          Reading the media and drawing conclusions is enough. (All of today's intelligence is 90% based on the media).

          I would like to repeat the question about the Kolchak front. smile
          Are you sure that all the information you need gets into the media? Try to live for a year, guided by data about the world around you exclusively from the media. I think your life will change dramatically.
          1. Vladimir Tuzakov (Vladimir Tuzakov) 19 July 2020 12: 51
            0
            • 1
            • 1
            The keyword "think", and not all the yellow concoction and pornography should be read .. Talk about "serious" publications, where political events, interstate relations, military-economic reviews, etc. set out with responsibility ... Although sometimes a little curious slips in less serious publications. And, of course, there is no faith in everything, the principle is to consider the opposite materials and divide in half, somewhere the truth will be felt ...
            1. 123 Offline
              123 (123) 19 July 2020 13: 13
              +1
              • 1
              • 0
              The keyword "think", and not all the yellow concoction and pornography should be read .. Talk about "serious" publications, where political events, interstate relations, military-economic reviews, etc. set out with responsibility ... Although sometimes a little curious slips in less serious publications. And of course, there is no faith in everything, the principle is to consider the opposite materials and divide in half, somewhere the truth is groping ...

              Brilliant. good I'm really at a loss, how such a simple thought does not occur to specialists? what In the USA, for example, if I am not mistaken, 11 intelligence services are engaged in intelligence. They are now going to read the "Reporter" and switch exclusively to reading "serious publications". winked
              1. Vladimir Tuzakov (Vladimir Tuzakov) 19 July 2020 13: 18
                0
                • 1
                • 1
                By the way, at such sites they deliberately set a topic for discussion, especially military sites, and retirees and not only, they spread such that the intelligence services rub their hands ... Everyone thinks according to their own understanding, convincing is an empty idea ...
                1. 123 Offline
                  123 (123) 19 July 2020 13: 32
                  +2
                  • 2
                  • 0
                  By the way, on such sites, they deliberately set a topic for discussion, especially military sites, and retirees, and not only, spread such that intelligence services rub their hands ... Everyone thinks according to their own understanding, convincing is an empty idea ...

                  Retirees laying out "a", an occupation for counterintelligence and a psychiatrist. As a rule," retirees "are adequate people, they gave a signature, for violation, if anything, responsibility is provided, up to criminal.
                  About convincing of this, you are absolutely right, an empty idea. This idea did not take root even among the Balts, even they have intelligence, they do not limit themselves to reading the press.
                  1. Vladimir Tuzakov (Vladimir Tuzakov) 19 July 2020 13: 42
                    0
                    • 1
                    • 1
                    It seems to me that this dispute between an Egyptian and a Chukchi (a Jew with an Arab) is each according to his own interests ... Or rather, each has his own path ...
                    1. 123 Offline
                      123 (123) 19 July 2020 13: 44
                      +2
                      • 2
                      • 0
                      It seems to me that this dispute between the Egyptian and the Chukchi (Jew and Arab) is each according to his own interests ... Or rather, each has its own path ...

                      Apparently, yes. Work with open sources is not neglected by any intelligence, why you decided that it should be limited to this is not clear to me. request

Офицер ВМС США попался на передаче секретных данных России


Американский военный моряк попался на передаче секретных данных России, пишет издание The Virginian-Pilot.


Подозреваемым является старшина (Chief Petty Officer) ВМС США Чарльз Бриггс, который работал в департаменте информации и технологий в Военно-морском медицинском центре Портсмута. Его обвиняют в передаче третьим лицам информации оборонного характера, которую он получил из служебного компьютера.

Кроме того, ему инкриминируют воспрепятствование правосудию, а также хранение и просмотр детской порнографии (это самые модные обвинения в США, когда нет других доказательств). При этом о какой секретной информации идет речь, как именно Бриггс контактировал и с кем, говорится лишь мельком.

Однако следователи настаивают, что моряк полностью осознавал, что полученные им сведения «могут нанести вред США и принести пользу другому государству». В материалах уточняется, что старшина имел доступ к данным, которые касаются национальной безопасности, в период с октября 2018 года по январь 2019 года. В указанное время Бриггс находился на авиабазе Оффутт в штате Небраска.

Бриггс якобы предоставил ложные сведения о том, что у него нет «тесных и продолжительных отношений» с гражданами других государств. При этом он умолчал о том, что знаком с россиянином и итальянцем. А еще он обманул свое руководство, когда сообщил, что проведет отпуск в 2018 году в штате Небраска, а сам поехал в Сербию.

Теперь Бриггс заключен под стражу и ожидает официального предъявления обвинения, которое должно состояться 22 июля 2020 года.

Заметим, что с тех пор, как в Белом доме в Вашингтоне поселился президент Дональд Трамп, оппоненты не перестают обвинять его в работе на Москву. Демократическая партия США устроила настоящую «охоту на ведьм», выискивая во всех ведомствах и на всех уровнях власти «агентов Кремля», чтобы каждый раз обратить внимание на Трампа. Сейчас в США выборы и под подозрение может попасть любой нелояльный к «демократам», даже младший офицерский чин, был бы повод.
11 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Владимир Тузаков (Владимир Тузаков) 18 июля 2020 21:14
    -6
    Очередной провал СВР РФ. Начальник СВР Нарышкин не раз доказал свою непригодность руководить СВР, - десятилетием одни провалы (вспомним А.Чапмен и более десятка молодёжи, подготовленных на "глубокое бурение" и т.д. ...) Похоже, в СВР постоянные сливы при таких систематичных провалах...
    1. 123 Офлайн 123
      123 (123) 18 июля 2020 22:02
      +4
      Очень впечатлил глЫбокий анализ и оценка деятельности СВР. Вы, часом, не ветеран? winked На колчаковских фронтах не служили?
      1. Женераль Чернота (Геннадий) 18 июля 2020 23:24
        +2
        Он стахановец! Вечный!
      2. Владимир Тузаков (Владимир Тузаков) 19 июля 2020 11:56
        0
        Читать СМИ и делать выводы достаточно. (Вся сегодняшняя разведка на 90% строится на СМИ).
        1. 123 Офлайн 123
          123 (123) 19 июля 2020 12:11
          +2
          Читать СМИ и делать выводы достаточно. (Вся сегодняшняя разведка на 90 % строится на СМИ).

          Хочется повторить вопрос про колчаковские фронта. smile
          Вы уверены, что в СМИ попадает вся нужная информация? Попробуйте пожить с годик, руководствуясь данными об окружающем мире исключительно из СМИ. Полагаю, ваша жизнь круто изменится.
          1. Владимир Тузаков (Владимир Тузаков) 19 июля 2020 12:51
            0
            Ключевое слово "думать", и не всю жёлтую стряпню и порнографию нужно читать.. Разговор о "серьезных" изданиях, где политические события, межгосударственные отношения, военно- экономические обозрения и т.д. изложены с ответственностью... Хотя иногда проскальзывает в менее серьезных изданиях много любопытного. И, конечно, всему веры нет, принцип, - рассмотреть противоположные материалы и поделить пополам, где-то правда нащупается...
            1. 123 Офлайн 123
              123 (123) 19 июля 2020 13:13
              +1
              Ключевое слово "думать", и не всю жёлтую стряпню и порнографию нужно читать.. Разговор о "серьезных" изданиях, где политические события, межгосударственные отношения, военно- экономические обозрения и т.д. изложены с ответственностью... Хотя иногда проскальзывает в менее серьезных изданиях много любопытного. И конечно, всему веры нет, принцип, - рассмотреть противоположные материалы и поделить пополам, где-то правда нащупается...

              Гениально. good Я прямо-таки в растерянности, как такая простая мысль не приходит в головы специалистов? what В США, например, если не ошибаюсь, 11 спецслужб разведкой занимается. Это они сейчас "Репортер" прочитают и перейдут исключительно на чтение "серьезных изданий". winked
              1. Владимир Тузаков (Владимир Тузаков) 19 июля 2020 13:18
                0
                Между прочим, на таких площадках намеренно задают тему для обсуждений, особенно военных сайтов, и отставники и не только, выкладывают такое, что разведки руки потирают... Каждый мыслит по своему пониманию, убеждать - пустая затея...
                1. 123 Офлайн 123
                  123 (123) 19 июля 2020 13:32
                  +2
                  Между прочим, на таких площадках намеренно задают тему для обсуждений, особенно военных сайтов, и отставники, и не только, выкладывают такое, что разведки руки потирают... Каждый мыслит по своему пониманию, убеждать - пустая затея...

                  Отставники, выкладывающие "такое", занятие для контрразведки и психиатра. Как правило, "отставники" - люди адекватные, подписку давали, за нарушение, если что, ответственность предусмотрена, вплоть до уголовной.
                  Насчет убеждать в этом, Вы совершенно правы, пустая затея. Эта идея даже у прибалтов не прижилась, даже у них есть разведка, чтением прессы не ограничиваются.
                  1. Владимир Тузаков (Владимир Тузаков) 19 июля 2020 13:42
                    0
                    Мне кажется этот диспут египтянина с чукчей (еврея с арабом) каждый по своим интересам... Вернее, каждому своя стезя...
                    1. 123 Офлайн 123
                      123 (123) 19 июля 2020 13:44
                      +2
                      Мне кажется, этот диспут египтянина с чукчей (еврея с арабом) каждый по свои интересам... Вернее, каждому своя стезя...

                      Видимо, да. Работой с открытыми источниками не пренебрегает ни одна разведка, почему вы решили, что стоит этим ограничиться, для меня непонятно. request