Americans intercepted cellular signals near military facilities of the Russian Federation


A group of scientists from the University of Mississippi (USA), where students from 70 countries study, monitored and intercepted cellular communications near military facilities in Russia, the American newspaper The Wall Street Journal writes.


Commercially available whereabouts are increasingly sought after by government law enforcement agencies. In early August 2019, the US military became interested in incidentthat took place at a naval missile range near the village of Nenoksa near Severodvinsk in the Arkhangelsk region.

The Pentagon funded the "research", and literally the day after the incident, the group headed to Russia. The main objective of the experiment was to demonstrate the benefits (usefulness) of publicly available data for the military and intelligence.

According to the WSJ, scientists have recorded 48 telephones at the designated test site. After that, their tracking began. It was found that after some time, the people using these phones returned to Moscow, St. Petersburg, Arkhangelsk and Severodvinsk.

In their work, the scientists used the Locate X program, developed by Babel Street, which specializes in creating intelligence software.

WSJ concludes that the relevance of such information to the US intelligence community has increased. At the same time, in the US intelligence community itself, for several years there has been debate about whether to highlight the analysis of public intelligence from the CIA.

Note that US law enforcement signed millions of dollars in contracts with Babel Street after it released a powerful tool that uses data from popular mobile apps to track people's mobile phone movements.
  • Photos used: https://pixnio.com/
2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. Dmitry S. Offline Dmitry S.
    Dmitry S. (Dmitry Sanin) 20 July 2020 05: 33
    +2
    Another proof that cell phones should be banned at sensitive facilities! And it is also necessary to prohibit going 15 km to the object with them.
    1. Bitter Offline Bitter
      Bitter (Gleb) 20 July 2020 10: 01
      +1
      ... approach with them 15 km to the object ...

      Why not 50 or 500? At sensitive facilities, you can put jammers for mobile communications, but not at 15 km, 500 meters from the fence or a kilometer is quite enough. For the rest, the personnel of the facilities themselves must or even must comply with security measures and compliance with the regime specified by the regulations.

Американцы перехватывали сигналы сотовой связи возле военных объектов РФ


Группа ученых из Университета Миссисипи (США), где обучаются студенты из 70 стран, отслеживала и перехватывала сигналы сотовой связи возле военных объектов России, пишет американская газета The Wall Street Journal.


Коммерчески доступная информация о местонахождении все чаще становится востребованной у государственных силовых ведомств. В начале августа 2019 года американские военные заинтересовались инцидентом, который произошел на морском ракетном полигоне возле населенного пункта Ненокса неподалеку от Северодвинска в Архангельской области.

Пентагон профинансировал «исследование», и буквально на следующий день после случившегося группа направилась в Россию. Главная цель эксперимента заключалась в демонстрации преимуществ (полезности) общедоступных данных для военных и разведки.

По информации WSJ, ученые зафиксировали на указанном полигоне сигналы 48 телефонов. После чего началось их отслеживание. Было установлено, что через некоторое время лица, пользующиеся этими телефонами, вернулись в Москву, Санкт-Петербург, Архангельск и Северодвинск.

В своей работе ученые использовали программу Locate X, разработанную компанией Babel Street, которая специализируется на создании разведывательного программного обеспечения.

WSJ подытоживает, что значимость подобной информации для разведсообщества США возросла. При этом в самом разведсообществе США уже несколько лет ведутся споры о том, следует ли выделить анализ общественной разведки из ЦРУ.

Заметим, что правоохранительные органы США подписали контракты на миллионы долларов с компанией Babel Street после того, как она выпустила мощный инструмент, который использует данные из популярных мобильных приложений для отслеживания движения мобильных телефонов людей.
Использованы фотографии: https://pixnio.com/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

2 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Дмитрий С. Офлайн
    Дмитрий С. (Дмитрий Санин) 20 июля 2020 05:33
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Очередное доказательство того, что сотовые телефоны на режимных объектах должны быть запрещены! И подходить с ними на 15 км к объекту тоже надо запретить.
    1. Bitter Офлайн
      Bitter (Глеб) 20 июля 2020 10:01
      +1
      • 1
      • 0
      ...подходить с ними на15 км к объекту ...

      Почему не на 50 или 500? На режимных объектах можно поставить глушилки мобильной связи, но никак не на 15 км, метров 500 от забора или километр вполне достаточно. В остальном, сам персонал объектов должен или даже обязан соблюдать определённые регламентом меры безопасности и соблюдения режима.