How do you like this, Elon Musk: Soyuz-5 risks repeating the fate of Angara


Recently, the flow of new information about a promising Russian launch vehicle is only increasing. This is not difficult to understand: there are no other hopes for a revival of the space industry. However, even this one may turn out to be ephemeral.


The alignment of forces in the launch market


The personality of Mask and his SpaceX company can be treated differently: to idolize or vice versa, to criticize for frequent postponements. But the fact remains: now the Falcon 9 heavy launch vehicle is the most demanded in the space rocket launch market. The announced price of launching a commercial satellite weighing up to 5,5 tons into geo-transition orbit is 62 million US dollars. For comparison, the launch price of the heavy European Ariane 5 can reach 220-240 million dollars, depending on requirements and load. Located in the same class, the Russian Proton-M, which at one time favorably differed in price, is now losing the Falcon 9 in value, although not as much as the Arian 5.

The latter "takes" reliability, customers from all over the planet trust him, which can not be said about the new "Angara-A5", behind which there are only a few launches. And this is at twice the price than the Proton-M. The creator - the Khrunichev Center - promises to reduce the cost, but, as they say, to promise does not mean to get married. And things have been going on in this organization recently, to put it mildly, not very well.

These facts are well known and have been discussed many times. What is more interesting is another: why did this happen? The answer is both complex and simple. Progress cannot be stopped, and if the design school does not develop, competitors will sooner or later overtake it. And the point here is not at all about the notorious returning first stage (although about it too). Even without this concept, the Falcon 9 would be a highly sought after and modern rocket. A more significant role in its success was played by new methods of management and the organization of labor, the zeal of the Mask himself for the goal and support (or, rather, not an obstacle) from the state, and some other factors. And the creators of Falcon 9 have chosen a very successful monoblock scheme, which reduces the cost of the missile and simplifies its preparation for launch. Consisting of many modules "Angara" is obviously more complicated. The same applies to a number of other launch vehicles - direct competitors of the creation of the Mask.



Last hope?


In conditions of financial reductions that have become almost familiar in recent years, the position of Roscosmos can be described as very difficult. Leadership in the number of space rocket launches has long been lost, and the Americans may soon stop paying for space for astronauts by reorienting themselves to their own manned spacecraft. There is no doubt that they will soon put into operation "Orion", "Dragon" V2 and "Starliner" (CST-100). And then even the strange "Dream Chaser" can catch up.

In this regard news about the development in the bowels of RSC Energia of the Soyuz-5 rocket has become a kind of ray of light. In short, this booster should become very economical a two-stage middle-class missile that can bring up to 17 tons of payload into low Earth orbit. This is quite enough for the lion's share of commercial orders.



Let the name not be confusing: before us is not the next version of the “Union”, but a completely new product. The creators, however, used the developments on the Soviet “Zenith” and the unrealized project “Rus”, which is quite logical. Many experts, including Mask, consider Zenit to be the best domestic launch vehicle.

The first stage of the new rocket will receive the RD-171MV mid-flight engine, and the second - two RD-0124M. No revolution is planned here: Soyuz-5 will use the familiar fuel pair kerosene-liquid oxygen. The creation of full-fledged Russian methane engines, which experts now consider the most promising area, is still far away. By the way, SpaceX rockets also use the Merlin kerosene yet, but this is for now. For the new Big Falcon Rocket, the methane "Raptor" is already in full swing. Similarly, in the case of Blue Origin and its BE-4 engine, which they intend to apply for several types of missiles at once.

Reusability is also not planned, although it was previously stated that Energy is also working on this option on an initiative basis. It is important to understand here that, having no experience in creating partially reusable rockets (which is huge for SpaceX and Blue Origin), it is impossible to make an active launch vehicle with a returnable first stage from scratch. This requires many years of trial and error. And, of course, good funding. Together with a clear understanding of what you want to get in the end and what it will be used for.



It is noteworthy that some experts called the developer company a potential advantage of Soyuz-5 over Angara. Like, mired in scandals and in a state of reorganization, the Khrunichev Center is no longer capable of anything, but RSC Energia can fully manifest itself. In fact, this is only a fraction of the truth. The situation in the GKNPTS named after M.V. Khrunicheva is not unique and in many respects reflects the general state of the rocket and space industry in the post-Soviet space. When there is not enough funding, there are no goals and there is no prestige of such work. And there are clumsy state corporations that even survive with great difficulty.

A more real argument in favor of Soyuz-5 is the Russian-Kazakh project Baiterek, which requires a new middle-class launch vehicle. “Proton” is unsafe from the environmental side, the option with the Ukrainian “Zenith” was de facto covered. So there are not so many options.

The old Soyuz is better than the new two


It is noteworthy that the rocket itself was actively criticized even before its birth. And it’s not about “childhood diseases” inherent in any new technology. The question is more serious. Back in September 2016, they signed a contract involving the acquisition of Sea Launch by S7 Group. Also on the same day, a cooperation contract was signed between S7 Group and RSC Energia. It was supposed to receive a new economical missile to replace the Zenith, assembled at the Ukrainian enterprise Yuzhmash. From the outside, everything looked beautiful, but recently, the director general of S7 Space Transport Systems, Sergey Sopov, said that Soyuz-5 would become an expensive, grown and thickened version of the Zenit rocket. In his opinion, by 2022, when they plan to carry out the first launch, the launch vehicle is already out of date and can only bring Sea Launch losses.

This is a powerful argument, but there are others, no less significant. At the end of May it became known that the price of the Soyuz-5 development for the month increased by 14% and now amounts to 61,19 billion rubles. In total, according to RBC, over the year the rocket more than doubled in price: in the summer of 2017, Roskosmos reported that 30 billion rubles had been allocated for the creation. In addition, Soyuz-5 is criticized from a purely conceptual point of view. According to the supervisor of the Space Institute policy Ivan Moiseev, the creation of new missiles in Russia is "doubtful." “We have a well-known number of cargoes that we export, and it does not grow stably,” the specialist noted.

In general, there are so far more cons versus pros. In such circumstances, Roscosmos should have an example of the Angara, which managed to become obsolete before the first start and was not needed.
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Primoos Offline Primoos
    Primoos 7 June 2018 12: 23
    0
    Elon mask is a wonderful swindler, in fact, like the whole pin. Dostan administration. Everything they have is the best, and the cheapest. Lodge, whistle and propaganda. Who now believes pin.dosam? Only finished loshars, alas.
  2. ont65 Offline ont65
    ont65 (Oleg) 17 September 2021 10: 19
    0
    Meanwhile, Soyuz-5 could well become the Russian Falcon, including in the Super Heavy version. But he, like a mouse, was driven under a bench to Baikonur with the prospect of 1 - 2 launches per year, the manned version was taken away and in advance, without having given birth, they were deprived of the prospects. The weak Angara steers covertly and even hangs a piloted version, which suits her like a fur coat in a bathhouse for a naked woman.

Как тебе такое, Илон Маск: «Союз-5» рискует повторить участь «Ангары»

В последнее время поток новой информации о перспективной российской ракете-носителе только усиливается. Понять это не трудно: других надежд на возрождение космической индустрии нет. Впрочем, даже эта может оказаться эфемерной.



Расклад сил на рынке запусков



К личности Маска и его компании SpaceX можно относиться по-разному: боготворить или наоборот, критиковать за частые переносы сроков. Но факт остается фактом: сейчас тяжелая ракета-носитель Falcon 9 — самая востребованная на рынке ракетно-космических запусков. Заявленная цена вывода коммерческого спутника массой до 5,5 тонн на геопереходную орбиту — 62 млн долларов США. Для сравнения, цена запуска тяжелой европейской Ariane 5 может достигать 220-240 млн долларов, в зависимости от требований и нагрузки. Находящийся в этом же классе российский «Протон-М», который в свое время выгодно отличался по цене, сейчас уже проигрывает Falcon 9 по стоимости, хотя и не так сильно, как «Ариан 5».

Последний «берет» надежностью, ему доверяют заказчики со всей планеты, чего не скажешь про новую «Ангару-А5», за спиной у которой всего несколько запусков. И это при вдвое большей цене, чем у «Протон-М». Создатель — Центр Хруничева — обещает уменьшить стоимость, но, как говорится, обещать не значит жениться. Да и дела в этой организации идут в последнее время, мягко скажем, не очень хорошо.

Эти факты хорошо известны и обсуждались уже много раз. Куда интересней другое: почему так вышло? Ответ одновременно сложен и прост. Прогресс не остановить, и если конструкторская школа не развивается, конкуренты рано или поздно ее обгонят. И речь тут вовсе не о пресловутой возвращаемой первой ступени (хотя и о ней тоже). Даже без этой концепции Falcon 9 была бы весьма востребованной и современной ракетой. Более весомую роль в ее успехе сыграли новые методы управления и организации труда, рвение самого Маска к цели и поддержка (или, вернее сказать, не препятствие) со стороны государства, и некоторые другие факторы. А еще создатели Falcon 9 выбрали весьма удачную моноблочную схему, удешевляющую ракету и упрощающую ее подготовку к запуску. Состоящая из множества модулей «Ангара» заведомо сложней. Это же касается и ряда других ракет-носителей — прямых конкурентов творения Маска.



Последняя надежда?

В условиях финансовых сокращений, ставших почти привычными за последние годы, положение Роскосмоса можно охарактеризовать, как очень трудное. Лидерство по числу ракетно-космических стартов давно утрачено, а американцы вскоре могут прекратить платить за места для астронавтов, переориентировавшись на свои собственные пилотируемые космические корабли. Можно не сомневаться, что вскоре введут в строй «Orion», «Dragon» V2 и «Starliner» (CST-100). А дальше может даже странный «Dream Chaser» подтянуться.

В этой связи новость о разработке в недрах РКК «Энергия» ракеты «Союз-5» стала своего рода лучиком света. Если кратко, то эта ракета-носитель должна стать очень экономичной двухступенчатой ракетой среднего класса, которая сможет вывести на низкую околоземную орбиту до 17 тонн полезного груза. Этого вполне достаточно для львиной доли коммерческих заказов.



Пусть название не сбивает с толку: перед нами не очередная версия «Союза», а вполне себе новое изделие. Создатели, впрочем, использовали наработки по советскому «Зениту» и нереализованному проекту «Русь», что вполне логично. «Зенит» многие эксперты, включая Маска, считают лучшей отечественной ракетой-носителем.

Первая ступень новой ракеты получит маршевый двигатель РД-171МВ, а вторая — два РД-0124М. Революции здесь не намечается: «Союз-5» будет использовать привычную топливную пару керосин-жидкий кислород. До создания полноценных российских метановых двигателей, которые сейчас специалисты считают самым перспективным направлением, еще далеко. К слову, ракеты SpaceX тоже пока что применяют керосиновый «Мерлин», но это пока. Для новой Big Falcon Rocket уже вовсю создается метановый «Раптор». Аналогично в случае с Blue Origin и ее двигателем BE-4, который намерены применить сразу для нескольких типов ракет.

Многоразовости тоже не намечается, хотя ранее заявлялось, что «Энергия» в инициативном порядке прорабатывает и этот вариант. Здесь важно понимать, что, не имея опыта создания частично-многоразовых ракет (а у SpaceX и Blue Origin он огромен), сделать с нуля действующую ракету-носитель с возвращаемой первой ступенью невозможно. Для этого нужны долгие годы проб и ошибок. И, конечно же, хорошее финансирование. В сумме с четким пониманием того, что вы хотите получить в конечном итоге и для чего это будет применяться.



Примечательно, что потенциальным преимуществом «Союз-5» над «Ангарой» некоторые эксперты назвали компанию разработчика. Мол, погрязший в скандалах и находящийся в состоянии реорганизации Центр Хруничева уже ни на что не способен, а вот РКК «Энергия» может себя по полной проявить. На самом деле, в этом только доля истины. Ситуация в ГКНПЦ имени М.В. Хруничева не уникальна и во многом отображает общее состояние ракетно-космической индустрии на постсоветском пространстве. Когда нет достаточного финансирования, нет целей и нет престижа такой работы. А есть неповоротливые государственные корпорации, которые даже выживают с большим трудом.

Более реальным доводом в пользу «Союз-5» можно считать российско-казахстанский проект «Байтерек», в рамках которого нужна новая ракета-носитель среднего класса. «Протон» небезопасен с экологической стороны, вариант с украинским «Зенитом» де-факто прикрыли. Так что вариантов не так-то много.

Старый «Союз» лучше новых двух

Примечательно, что саму ракету активно начали критиковать еще до момента ее рождения. И речь вовсе не о «детских болезнях», свойственных любой новой технике. Вопрос более серьезный. Еще в сентябре 2016 года подписали контракт, предполагающий приобретение «Морского старта» компанией «S7 Group». Также в тот же день был подписан и контракт о сотрудничестве между «S7 Group» и РКК «Энергия». Предполагалось получить новую экономичную ракету на смену «Зениту», собираемому на украинском предприятии «Южмаш». Со стороны все выглядело красиво, но недавно гендиректор компании «S7 космические транспортные системы» Сергей Сопов заявил, что «Союз-5» станет дорогой, подросшей и потолстевшей версией ракеты «Зенит». По его мнению, к 2022 году, когда планируют осуществить первый запуск, ракета-носитель уже устареет и сможет принести «Морскому старту» лишь убытки.

Это весомый аргумент, но есть другие, не менее значимые. В конце мая стало известно, что цена разработки «Союз-5» за месяц выросла на 14% и теперь составляет 61,19 млрд руб. Всего же, как сообщил РБК, за год ракета подорожала более чем вдвое: летом 2017-го «Роскосмос» сообщал, что на создание выделили 30 млрд рублей. Кроме этого, «Союз-5» критикуют с точки зрения сугубо концептуальной. По мнению научного руководителя Института космической политики Ивана Моисеева, создание новых ракет в России «сомнительно». «У нас число грузов, которые мы выводим, достаточно хорошо известно, и оно не растет стабильно», — отметил специалист.

В общем и целом, пока больше факторов «против», чем «за». В таких условиях перед «Роскосмосом» по-хорошему должен стоять пример «Ангары», которая успела морально устареть до момента первого старта и оказалась не нужной.
Автор: Илья Ведмеденко
Использованы фотографии: http://www.kp.ru

Мнение редакции может не совпадать с точкой зрения автора публикации

Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Ctrl Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 1
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Primoos Офлайн
    Primoos 7 июня 2018 12:23
    0
    Илон маск замечательный аферист, собственно как и вся пин.достанская администрация. Всё у них самое лучшее, да самое дешевое. Лож, свистёж и пропаганда. Кто сейчас верит пин.досам? Только конченные лошары, увы.