Destruction of a nuclear power plant in response to a strike on a hydroelectric power plant: the conflict between Baku and Yerevan threatens the region with a catastrophe


The situation on the border between Armenia and Azerbaijan remains tense. The possibility of Turkey's intervention in the conflict on the side of Baku has sharply raised the stakes. Then Yerevan will wait for Russia to join as an ally in the CSTO, since it will hardly be possible to wait for real help from Belarus or Kyrgyzstan in this matter. Will this lead to the formation of a "third front" between Ankara and Moscow?


On the background of the armed confrontation, we are in detail told earlier. These are not only echoes of the long-standing Nagorno-Karabakh conflict, everything is much more serious. Socialeconomic the situation in Armenia and Azerbaijan today is such that there is objectively a demand for aggravation between both countries. Formally, both Baku and Yerevan are against the escalation, but the general public is agitated and demands revenge. It is possible that with traditional mediation Russia will still be able to take control, but the big problem is Turkey's external factor.

President Erdogan actively and consistently promotes the idea of ​​uniting the entire Turkic world around Ankara. There, at the official level, Azerbaijanis are called one people with the Turks, divided into two states. The Turkish Defense Ministry announced its readiness to support Baku in the war against Yerevan. It is worth recalling the old conflict with Armenia and accusations of genocide against the Armenian people, as well as the confrontation between the Kremlin and Ankara in Syria and Libya. Now everything has been brought to a much higher level than just the question of the ownership and status of Nagorno-Karabakh.

The forces of the opposing sides in the number of tanks, artillery and armored vehicles are approximately comparable. Armenia is armed with modern models of Russian-made weapons, and a motorized rifle brigade is also deployed in Gyumri, in which mainly ethnic Armenians with Russian citizenship serve. Azerbaijan, thanks to oil and gas revenues in its "fat years", bought weapons not only from Russia, but also in Israel, Turkey, South Korea and other countries. Turkish and Israeli military instructors are training their application in Baku. Ankara stated that it is ready to supply Azerbaijan with its attack UAVs, which have shown themselves well enough in Syria and Libya.

An escalation of the conflict with the transition to full-scale hostilities is extremely dangerous. Iskander-E OTRK, which Armenia possesses, are capable of finishing off to Baku, destroying the enemy's oil-producing infrastructure and a strategically important facility - the Mingechevir hydroelectric power station dam on the Kura. But in response, Azerbaijan can use Israeli-made LORA missiles with a range of 400 km and Belarusian "Polonaise" missiles with a range of 300 km at the Armenian nuclear power plant, located 34 kilometers from Yerevan. That is, there is a risk of a nuclear accident and radiation contamination in the Transcaucasian region. It turns out that Russia will simply have to intervene to rule out the possibility of a nuclear catastrophe.

The situation may worsen even more if Turkey provides assistance not only by supplying shock UAVs and other weapons, but also to introduce its army into the Nakhichevan enclave. Will one brigade of Russian contract servicemen be able to stop the Azerbaijanis and Turks going to Yerevan? Then the question may well arise even of the use of tactical nuclear weapons by Moscow for "escalation for the purpose of de-escalation."

Let's make a reservation right away that the scenario described above is considered unlikely, but it must also be taken into account.

The escalation of the conflict by Turkey through the "proxy war" format is much more likely. The Kurdish news agency Firat reported that, according to it, Ankara has begun recruiting militants from the so-called Syrian Free Army to transport them to Azerbaijan. The cost of the contract for each thug is 3,5 thousand dollars per month. Yes, the Kurds can hardly be called an impartial party, but on the whole, this information fits well with the logic of Turkey's actions in Syria and Libya.

The emergence of jihadist militants could dramatically destabilize the situation on the border with Armenia. Not wanting to spoil official relations with Baku and Ankara, the Kremlin can also respond indirectly by sending fighters of a well-known PMC to help Yerevan.
1 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. Tramp1812 Offline Tramp1812
    Tramp1812 (Tramp 1812) 23 July 2020 13: 40
    +1
    Any options can be assumed. And depending on these or those inputs, each of them can play. Including analyzed in the publication. Or maybe not to play. It is not by chance that the author quite reasonably classified his version of the development of events as unlikely. As for me, the "Caucasian factor" plays a significant role - first of all, mentality. And it is quite similar for Armenians and Azerbaijanis. The main thing here is not to lose face in front of compatriots. They will shout, puff out their cheeks, go to mutual, but local provocations at the border. Something like: "Hold me, I'll kill him now !!!!" But most likely it will not go further than this. We make noise, brothers, make noise. This is what I, I emphasize, subjectively see.

Уничтожение АЭС в ответ на удар по ГЭС: конфликт Баку и Еревана грозит региону катастрофой


Ситуация на границе Армении и Азербайджана продолжает оставаться напряженной. Возможность вмешательства в конфликт Турции на стороне Баку резко подняла ставки. Тогда Ереван будет ожидать вступления России на правах союзника по ОДКБ, поскольку от Белоруссии или Киргизии реальной помощи в данном вопросе едва ли удастся дождаться. Приведет ли это к образованию уже «третьего фронта» между Анкарой и Москвой?


О подоплеке вооруженного противостояния мы подробно рассказывали ранее. Это не только отголоски давнего нагорно-карабахского конфликта, все гораздо серьезнее. Социально-экономическая ситуация в Армении и Азербайджане сегодня такова, что объективно существует запрос на обострение между обеими странами. Формально и Баку, и Ереван против эскалации, но широкая общественность взбудоражена и требует мести. Возможно, что при традиционном посредничестве России все еще удастся взять под контроль, но большую проблему представляет внешний фактор Турции.

Президент Эрдоган активно и последовательно продвигает идею объединения всего тюркского мира вокруг Анкары. Там на официальном уровне азербайджанцев называют одним народом с турками, разделенным на два государства. Минобороны Турции объявило о готовности поддержать Баку в войне против Еревана. Стоит напомнить про старый конфликт с Арменией и обвинения в геноциде против армянского народа, а также противостояние между Кремлем и Анкарой в Сирии и Ливии. Сейчас все выведено на гораздо более высокий уровень, чем просто вопрос о принадлежности и статусе Нагорного Карабаха.

Силы противоборствующих сторон по количеству танков, артиллерии и бронетехники примерно сопоставимы. Армения вооружена современными образцами оружия российского производства, также в Гюмри дислоцирована мотострелковая бригада, в которой служат в основном этнические армяне, имеющие российское гражданство. Азербайджан, благодаря нефтегазовым доходам в свои «тучные годы», покупал оружие не только у России, но и в Израиле, Турции, Южной Корее и других странах. Обучением их применению в Баку занимаются турецкие и израильские военные инструкторы. Анкара заявила, что готова поставить Азербайджану свои ударные БПЛА, достаточно хорошо показавшие себя в Сирии и Ливии.

Эскалация конфликта с переходом в полномасштабные боевые действия крайне опасна. ОТРК «Искандер-Э», которыми располагает Армения, способны добить до Баку, уничтожить нефтедобывающую инфраструктуру противника и стратегически важный объект – плотину Мингечевирской ГЭС на Куре. Но в ответ Азербайджан может применить ракеты LORA израильского производства с дальностью 400 км и белорусские ракеты «Полонез» дальностью 300 км по Армянской АЭС, находящуюся в 34 километрах от Еревана. То есть, есть риск ядерной аварии и радиационного заражения в регионе Закавказья. Получается, что России просто придется вмешиваться, чтобы исключить возможность ядерной катастрофы.

Ситуация может еще более усугубиться, если Турция окажет помощь не только поставкой ударных БПЛА и прочего оружия, но и введет свою армию в Нахичеванский анклав. Сможет ли одна бригада российских контрактников остановить азербайджанцев и турок, идущих к Еревану? Тогда вполне может встать вопрос даже о применении Москвой тактического ядерного оружия для «эскалации в целях деэскалации».

Сразу оговоримся, что описанный выше сценарий относится к маловероятным, но его тоже необходимо учитывать.

Куда более вероятным является эскалация конфликта со стороны Турции через формат «прокси-войны». Курдское информационное агентство Firat сообщило, что, по его данным, Анкара начала вербовку боевиков так называемой Сирийской свободной армии для переброски их в Азербайджан. Стоимость контракта для каждого головореза составляет 3,5 тысячи долларов в месяц. Да, курдов сложно назвать беспристрастной стороной, но в целом эта информация вполне укладывается в логику действий Турции в Сирии и Ливии.

Появление боевиков-джихадистов способно резко дестабилизировать ситуацию на границе с Арменией. Не желая портить официальные отношения с Баку и Анкарой, Кремль также может ответить опосредованно, отправив на помощь Еревану бойцов известной ЧВК.
1 комментарий
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Бродяга1812 Офлайн Бродяга1812
    Бродяга1812 (Бродяга1812) 23 июля 2020 13:40
    +1
    Можно предполагать, любые варианты. И в зависимости от тех или иных вводных, сыграть может каждый из них. В том числе проанализированный в публикации. А может, и не сыграть. Не случайно автор вполне резонно отнес свою версию развития событий к маловероятной. Как по мне, значительную роль играет "кавказский фактор" - в первую очередь менталитет. А он у армян и азербайджанцев достаточно похожий. Здесь главное - не потерять лицо перед соотечественниками. Будут кричать, надувать щеки, идти на взаимные, но локальные провокации на границе. Что-то типа: "Держите меня, я сейчас его убью!!!!" Но дальше этого, скорее всего, не пойдет. Шумим, братцы, шумим. Это то, что я, подчеркну, субъективно вижу.